x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Samsung Juke Review

0. phoneArena 23 Oct 2007, 10:50 posted on

The Juke has clearly been designed for the under-20 demographic, looking for an inexpensive MP3 player that is also capable of being used as a phone. The swivel form-factor is truly unique and sets its self apart from any other phone available from Verizon. As a music player, the Juke does its job well, with 2GB of internal memory, stereo earbuds, and an excellent user interface with a wide variety of options. Unfortunately, as a phone, it is lacking in reception and sound quality. We feel that the Juke’s ideal buyer is someone that is looking to use it as a music player 75% of the time, and as a phone 25% of the time. However, if you are looking for a phone first, and that is also capable of playing music, then the LG Chocolate VX8550 would be better suited for your needs.

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. elgee02 (unregistered)


I got this phone through work and been using it a lot, mostly as an mp3 player but I have made a few phone calls with it. Reception on the phone was not a problem, but that has more to do with VZW having great coverage were I live, but where I disagree with you guys most is sound quality. While I don't think it has amazing sound quality, I haven't found it to be near as bad as your review says. I have really had no complaints using this as a phone. But you are right that this thing does truly shine as an mp3 player. My only complaint there is the 2gig size, as my music collection is upwards of 8,000 songs and I can only fit about 500 on the phone. Oh well. I still like it.

posted on 06 Nov 2007, 07:46

2. (unregistered)


Been using the Juke for about 2 weeks now - BIG PROBLEM with the swivel not staying open. The "switchblade" action works fine, but once opened, it doesn't stay in a locked and upright position, it now has some wiggle. Makes it very difficult to use a phone now!

posted on 12 Nov 2007, 19:04

3. Joe (unregistered)


I am really excited i am going to get this phone on youtube everyone. The sound sounds fine to me

posted on 20 Nov 2007, 18:09

4. Ed (unregistered)


your spelling and grammar is horrible. Just reading this review annoyed me. How old are you, do you even use spell check? What about an editor of any kind? It's hard to phone arena serious when people who write these reviews have junior high english skills at best.

posted on 10 May 2008, 12:21

6. (unregistered)


u better check ur spelling and grammar first there buddy

posted on 01 Jan 2008, 17:42

5. Emma (unregistered)


about the phone ,,, do people like that phone? doesit work good? does it last long? if any body knows let me know!

posted on 25 May 2008, 01:26

7. Justin Slocum (unregistered)


I would've personally given the phone a better review. Yes, the phone lacks a lot of features that tekkie might want but if you just want a phone with a really nice mp3 player that plays through your bluetooth headset then I would have to say this phone is great for it's price point. As far as not being able to surf the web on my phone, I couldn't care less. I'd much rather use my laptop when i'm at a wifi hotspot. Excellent basic phone, and amazingly small. Does everything I could possible want to do with a phone. I'll do my business on my laptop, instead of a smart phone.

posted on 15 Jul 2008, 11:31

8. Andy (unregistered)


i got this phone in like november. i love the phone and everything about it but its starting to open more and more and it really annoying. instead of opening 180 degrees its like 195 degrees which sucks

posted on 25 Aug 2008, 09:23

10. (unregistered)


mine did that too and it won't stay completely closed anymore either. I think the phone's swivel spring is junk on these phones. It makes it difficult to use.

posted on 23 Aug 2008, 10:48

9. no1 (unregistered)


does anyone know if this phone will be out in the UK? does anyone know if this phone will be out on pay as you go? please help me. i LOVE this phone but i just need someone to tell me this cheers

posted on 09 Feb 2011, 18:28

11. Justin Bieber (unregistered)


The earphones won't work properly :/

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories