x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Jet S8000 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Jet S8000 Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with AT&T and T-Mobile USA but without 3G.

Introduction and design:


There are 365 days (generally), 8,760 hrs or quite a few minutes and seconds a year. Thousands of things happen in that amount of time, even in the cooped up world of cell phones. The truly significant events, however, are scarcer than hen´s teeth. There are several major exhibitions, where manufacturers fall over backwards to show off their new creations, the latest iPhone follow-up and a dozen of less noteworthy happenings, where top of the range devices put up a first appearance. That´s why there is no way that something like the Samsung organized “Unpacked” go unnoticed. It took place in three major cities around the world and the end result was the announcement of the Samsung Jet S8000. Well, the official info showed up shortly before the actual event came about, but still, the whole thing was interesting enough to follow.

Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review
So, that´s how the Jet was born – with quite a noise and massive hype coming from the manufacturer. They call it “smarter than smartphone”, emphasizing on its snappy processor (800 MHz), multitasking capabilities and Microsoft Exchange support. With a 3.1-inch display, 5-megapixel camera, DivX/Xvid support, Wi-Fi and 2 GB built-in memory, the device comes with features qualifying it as a modern, mid-range handset. It also sports a special menu, made after a 3D cube. As a whole, what it delivers make it a direct competitor to the LG ARENA KM900 in the category of feature, multimedia-rich cell phones.

So, let´s recap – decent features, lots of promises and big words. Does the Samsung Jet S8000 live up to the expectations though? We´ve got a final, retail version in our hands and we intend to answer the question. Let´s first take a look at what´s in the box.

The Samsung Jet S8000 comes wrapped up in what´s become quite characteristic of major manufacturers lately (save Acer), i.e. a really small box. Well, we need to think about the environment and be economical of our means and all that after all, don´t we? Aside from the phone itself, what you also get in the pack is a software CD, manual, microUSB cable to connect it to a computer, charger, earphones (with adapter that allows to control sound volume and answer calls). Oh, we almost forgot to tell you the best part – there´s a leather case. We do fancy the thing, because it´s well-made and strewn with Swarovski crystal beads. No, not really. We just like it because it´s designed in such a way that you will be able to actually use your phone for calls without having to take it out, although this also means you won´t be able to find out who´s calling you until you´ve answered. There is a small hole for the earphone, loudspeakers are not covered as well, another small gap lets you press the middle phone button and the location of both send and end keys is marked onto the sheath itself. Well, all this comes in pretty handy, because everyone´s missed a call or two while struggling to pull the phone out. Plus, you can also use the case if your hands are wet or greasy and you don’t want any stains on your precious Jet.

Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review

And truth be told, the handset simply loves dirt. A lot. Basically, most of the people would be like “Wow, what a beauty, so cool, can I touch it!” followed shortly by “Jeez, I got the thing in fingerprints all over, hang on, let me wipe it clean”. Both reactions would be caused by one and the same thing – the handset´s made of glossy plastic and is almost pitch black. Of course, this makes it look stylish, appealing and smaller than it really is. Actually, it´s a bit taller than the LG ARENA KM900 and of almost identical size as the Viewty Smart GC900, although this doesn’t mean it won’t fit into your hand or pocket perfectly.

Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Samsung Jet S8000 Review

Samsung Jet S8000 Review

You can compare the Samsung Jet S8000 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Fingerprints are quite a problem with the LG Crystal GD900 as well, although it comes in a lighter color, hence they´re harder to notice. If you ask us which of the two looks more appealing, well, you will definitely give us a hard time. The Crystal sports an impressive, transparent keypad, but the Samsung Jet S8000 has a really… sexy back. Actually, the Jet was the first model of the manufacturer to feature red, light-reflecting elements. The OmniaPRO B7610 also has them and we do hope Samsung keeps lending color to their designs in the same manner.

The back side of Samsung Jet S8000 - Samsung Jet S8000 Review

The back side of Samsung Jet S8000


Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Speaking of screens, we must say that hands down, the Jet takes the cake. The phone comes with a 3.1-inch, AMOLED screen with WVGA resolution that supports 16 mln colors and image quality is really good – we did take pleasure in just browsing pictures, enjoying all the image details - the high resolution and the warm colors contribute to a slightly romantic overall feel. Fortunately, the handset remains completely usable outdoors. The light sensitivity sensor react instantaneously and images become somewhat worn out and less appealing to look at, but you won´t need to search for the nearest shady spot to read your message, that´s for sure.

The phone display utilizes resistive technology and you can navigate through the menus using whatever object, but unfortunately, the handset doesn’t feature multitouch. As a whole, the sensitivity is really great and failures to activate what you have pressed happen quite rarely. This is also accompanied by slight vibration and sound feedback (can be turned off) that contribute to the ease of use and perhaps it´s only the iPhone and G1/Magic that have more sensitive screens. The fingerprint problem is especially evident here as well.

The spectacular mid-button is another design element that lends color to the overall look of the Samsung Jet S8000. It reflects light beautifully and is really easy to press. Its basic function is to call up the main menu from within running applications. Keeping it pressed opens the multitasking menu that we will talk about later on. Send and end keys are on either side and are both comfy to press - they are large, prominent and have enough travel.

The prismatic button of Samsung Jet S8000 - Samsung Jet S8000 Review

The prismatic button of Samsung Jet S8000


The same goes for the other handset buttons as well. While the keys of the LG ARENA KM900 are flush with the phone body, so as not to spoil the design appeal of the phone, keys here are prominent enough, easy to feel with your fingers, comfy to press and you need just a few moments to get used to their location. As a whole, the buttons on either side of the Samsung Jet S8000 feature an ergonomic design and don’t spoil the overall impression. The volume rocker is on the left hand side, while the phone lock, along with a double button are on the opposite. The more prominent part of the latter is actually the camera shutter and the other one calls up the 3D cube on screen, but we will tell you more about the cube in the multimedia section.

Right side - Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Left side - Samsung Jet S8000 Review
Top - Samsung Jet S8000 Review

Right side

Left side

Top


Samsung Jet S8000 Review
The good news is that the Samsung Jet S8000 sports standard connectors only that are all located on the top side of the phone – 3.5mm jack, microUSB port protected with a small flap and we disliked having to open the back cover to gain access to the microSD slot (supports expansion cards of up to 16GB). At least the whole thing feels quite easy thanks to the dedicated rabbet at the bottom.


As a whole, the Samsung Jet S8000 is a really good looking device and this doesn’t seem to come at the expense of decreased functionality. Our only gripe is that the handset love fingerprints with unfaltering passion, because the black, glossy surface is a real magnet for them. Still, the LG Crystal GD900 remains our primary choice of a trendy gadget to bring along with us if we need to impress a lady at a night club. Why? The Jet is comparatively less noticeable, because the fancy red elements on its back are only visible in proper light.


Samsung Jet S8000 360 Degrees View


12 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. yiqitt (Posts: 2; Member since: 25 Jul 2009)


Get me one !

posted on 28 Jul 2009, 23:59

2. behold--me (Posts: 650; Member since: 22 Jun 2009)


awesome.

posted on 25 Aug 2009, 13:44

3. Thijs (Posts: 1; Member since: 25 Aug 2009)


After reading a lot about the Jet, Arena and Omnia, I bought the Jet a few weeks ago. Because I'm one those gadgetfreaks who cares about details there is a few nuances I'd like to point out (to Samsung if there 'listening') - The camerafunction has lots of options, but when I select one of the situation-scenes, like portrait I can no longer put the flasher on, what's up with that? - Unaware that there is a new connector on the market called MicroUSB besides MiniUSB, like used on digital cameras, some more info on that could be handy. - Activating Divx via VOD on divx.com doesn't work, I've tried it several times. (Xvid-videos do work) - Getting a GPS signal for Samsung Navigation takes a long time, like 10 minutes. (anyone know how to solve this?) - I was looking forward to the TV-out option/connectivity. I have tried to connect several mini-jack to the three tulip yellow, white&red-cables from Jet to a TV. All did not work. I called up Samsung if there is a special cables available(like with the first Omnia), they replied "No, and we don't know when it will be available..." If anyone knows more about this cable please let me know. Besides these details the Jet is really fast, on internet aswell. Taking pictures during the day is good, great shutter speed. Texting in wide screen is handy. Because we can't check how a cellphone functions in a store; Phone Arena: thanks for the preview & reviews of cellphones! Grts

posted on 26 Aug 2009, 15:13

4. sunkadam (Posts: 2; Member since: 26 Aug 2009)


nice phone..

posted on 27 Oct 2009, 04:37

5. mjpower4 (Posts: 7; Member since: 27 Oct 2009)


Good for a feature phone - it isn't a smart phone so cannot be compared to that but in it's class feature wise it is really good. Tried it on Vodafone in the shop and it is a little slow so jet by name not by nature. The way the widget goes to the website for facebook etc instead of a specific app is disappointing as surely this could have been incorporated without too much difficulty which is odd as it is targetted at the social networking crowd

posted on 10 Nov 2009, 05:57

6. olip74 (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Nov 2009)


Don't buy it!!! I sent this phone back after two days as it is severely compromised. The screen is beautiful and a nice novelty but the main problems are as follows: * The touch screen is resistive, not capacitive and is nowhere near as good as iPhone or HTC products. It was painful to use, sometimes I had to press 3 times to register a touch, other times I would select something while trying to scroll. Also there is no multi-touch support. * The widgets are huge! Once you've added two or three to a screen you can't fit anything else in. They could at least have provided smaller 'shortcuts' to the apps or something. * With a 16GB card full of music the phone lagged badly when browsing. Unlike the phone book the menus in the music player do not support search or alphabetical indexing, this means browsing through the entire song list took more than 7 minutes - made worse by the touchscreen issues mentioned above. The list doesn't loop back either, meaning you need to browse all the way down to a song beginning with W for example. * Playlist support is abysmal. You can only add tunes from the song list (see above) and the artist is not displayed so you can't see what version of a song you are selecting. Once you select your tunes they are added to the playlist in reverse alphabetical order and you can't reorder them - no kidding!!! This kind of feature is important to me but the implementation on the Jet is no use at all. * The sync software kept dropping the connection when transferring large amounts of music or media. Also if you drop media files onto the card in mass storage mode the media player will not pick up the tags (everything shows as 'unknown'), basically forcing you to use the sync software. * There are absolutely no apps available for this phone!!! The biggest buzz in the mobile world at the moment is around apps - the iPhone app store, the Android marketplace. Samsung has nothing, about 18 apps in total, none of which are very good. The official Samsung app site and their Jet Facebook page have gone silent and I couldn't find any statement from Samsung about addressing this glaring gap. I could go on but these were the worst aspects for me. The phone looks nice, has a lot of gizmo features and was heavily hyped by Samsung at launch but the user experience is fundamentally flawed. I sent mine back and got an HTC Hero on similar terms - the contrast is like night and day!

posted on 18 Nov 2009, 11:52

7. olip74 (Posts: 2; Member since: 10 Nov 2009)


...to follow up on that last point, Samsung have finally set up a passable apps store. So far there are just over 500 apps there, but most look pretty useless and those that look useful are pretty pricey compared with the Android marketplace. e.g. * There is a remote control app (for playing files on your computer) but it's £2.50 , Gmote for Android is free. * No FTP client (e.g. FileDroid on Android, free) * No torrent app thin client (Transdroid on Android, again free) * No iPlayer, Spotify, Imeem, Pandora apps * Etc, etc

posted on 15 Apr 2010, 13:45

8. mob (Posts: 3; Member since: 15 Apr 2010)


After using the Samsung Jet for one month, here is exactly what I get: THE GOOD: very good screen resolution and colors, but only in the shade. THE BAD: extremely weak battery life. Half a day in average usage. The phone EATS the battery in a very high rate. Screen not visible in sunshine. Phone restarts by its self, this happens during using its menus. I have tried 2 phones same result. Touch screen is not sensitive and phonebook freezes in the first 2 or 3 touch trials then responds easy. Very annoying. (don’t even think of comparison with iphone). Extremely weak GPS, almost useless. Also you have to pay to use Route 66 GPS navigator. No light color theme, all very are in dark background. Browser does not re-arrange pages after enlarging. Very difficult to read pages after enlarging. I did not succeed in opening a single flash file. Power point files are not supported. Body is very slippery it will fall from your hand for sure (someday). It is not quick as expected, even with the 800mhz processor on board. The NEW PCSTUDIO will not be installed on your computer if you are using Win7. A Final word, this phone is not reliable, too much advertisement but reality is totally different

posted on 26 Apr 2010, 14:17

9. RAMG (Posts: 4; Member since: 26 Apr 2010)


After 2 months of my Jet, its audiojack get f*cked up suddenly, and it has not repair! What I most did in it was listening to music, so I threw away my money in this cheap shit. This phone is a big CRAP!

posted on 04 Sep 2010, 11:21

10. Carogers (unregistered)


I would like to say that this is one of the CRAPIEST phones ever made by samsung!!! nothing on it works proprely!!! the touch screen is slow, the camera functions are crap aswell ( but samsung are the best for the photos)!! to send a msg it takes you ages coz you have to press the buttons twice, i even had to buy a mobile pen for it so maybe it would work better,.................. STILL CRAP!!!! no apps available!!!! the navigation doesnt work!! if you have alot of photos on it u cant get into facebook, a 2gb memory card is useless, has to be over 8gb!! Whats the point of offering a smartphone without alot of memory!!! i have always bought samsung, but this is the last time!! i had about 6 different samsung all good, and they last for ages, but PLEASE SAMSUNG, when u offer a smart phone, see that it is SMART!!!! worst phone ever!!! FOR EVERYONE WHO WANTS A PROPER SMART PHONE BUY THE i-PHONE 4G OR HTC EVO, nothing more, those are the proper ones

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 06:39

11. OverratedChild (unregistered)


I've had this phone for about 2 years now, since I had a contract. I got it for free, so no real money lost. I do have a few things to say about the fone tho.
1. Crappy Screen sensitivity / Resistive technology SUCKS
2. Lack of app support / goto a hundred different Web Forums to find a working touch game
3. HORRIBLE SPEAKER! Sound descriptions: Rock= Dying Cat,
Techno/RnB= Drowning Cat, Rap= Dying Rapper with a Lung disease
4. NO OFFICE SOFTWARE! WTF kind of smartphone, doesnt have office software pre-installed, or at least available for download.
5. For some reason, despite having a 800MHz proccesor, this phone is friggin laggy. I can be scrolling through my emails fine, then when i open the settings app, and start scrolling it starts to lag. Sometimes its the other way around.
6. Not very User friendly. You have to have used it to understand what I mean.

posted on 16 Dec 2010, 11:02

12. Spiridon (unregistered)


It's all about commercial... TouchWiz is so ridiculous. 800Mhz - c'mon, in combination with ressistive touch screen it's sometimes can be frustrating. Not to mention that Samsung stoped supporting it long time ago. I bought Jet 6 months ago,and I was hoping that project Jetdroid will be succesfull,now I have lost my hope. Switcing to Nokia X6, so we will se :)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.1 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (301 ppi) AMOLED
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
800 MHz
Size4.29 x 2.11 x 0.47 inches
(108.9 x 53.5 x 11.9 mm)
3.88 oz  (110 g)
Battery1100 mAh, 8.2 hours talk time

Latest stories