x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Intensity II Review

Posted: , by FAUguy

Tags:

Go to page
Samsung Intensity II Review
Introduction:

Samsung Intensity II Review
When Samsung introduced the original Intensity U450 last year, we weren’t too impressed by its features, or lack thereof, but it did help fill a gap in Verizon’s line-up for an inexpensive messaging phone with full sliding QWERTY keyboard. Since then, there have been plenty of other devices in that category, most recently with the LG Cosmos VN250 and Pantech Jest. Now Verizon has introduced the new Samsung Intensity II U460, as it has some upgrades from last year’s model, but is it enough to warrant an upgrade from current Intensity U450 owners? Let’s take a look.

Included in the retail package is the Samsung Intensity II U460 phone, 1000mAh battery, wall charger with detachable microUSB cable, and user guide.


Design:

The Samsung Intensity II U460 follows closely in the footsteps of the Intensity U450, as both share a similar design. The Intensity II is offered in a standard gray and metallic blue color, and fits comfortably in the hand or pocket, thanks to its curved edges and sleek profile. Even though the device remains constructed out of plastic, the Intensity II feels sturdier and not a cheap as the original model.

Samsung Intensity II U460 follows closely in the footsteps of the Intensity U450 - Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II U460 follows closely in the footsteps of the Intensity U450 - Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II U460 follows closely in the footsteps of the Intensity U450 - Samsung Intensity II Review

Samsung Intensity II U460 follows closely in the footsteps of the Intensity U450


Samsung Intensity II (left and bellow) next to Samsung Intensity (right and above) - Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II (left and bellow) next to Samsung Intensity (right and above) - Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II (left and bellow) next to Samsung Intensity (right and above) - Samsung Intensity II Review

Samsung Intensity II (left and bellow) next to Samsung Intensity (right and above)



The display has been improved, and now measures 2.2” with a resolution of 320x240 pixels and supports up to 262K colors. When looking at the display on both models, you can clearly see the improvement with the Intensity II, as images and text are sharper and not pixelated. This is a welcome change. Below the display is the standard d-pad, which is now square instead of being circular, which does make it easier to use with your thumb. Unfortunately, the surrounding buttons, such as the left & right soft key, speakerphone and back key are still smaller than we would like and feel cramped together. The design of the numeric keypad has also changed, though not for the better, as the keys are now smaller and closer together, which allow for frequent misdials. The LG Cosmos does better here, as its numeric keypad is larger and easier to use with big hands. Located on the sides of the Intensity II are the volume rocker, microUSB port, 2.5mm headset jack, voice command and camera key, and microSDHC memory card slot that supports up to 32GB cards.

Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II Review
Samsung Intensity II Review


The sliding QWERTY keyboard retains its 4-rows, though its layout has changed some, as the directional arrows now have their own dedicated keys, and there is also a dedicated left and right soft key that is at the top. But the keyboard isn’t the best that we’ve used, as the buttons feel cramped and are perfectly flat, providing almost no tactile feel at all. Once again, the LG Cosmos does better here, as its keys are raised from the surrounding plastic and have some space between them, allowing for a better typing experience.

The keyboard of Samsung Intensity II isn’t the best that we’ve used - Samsung Intensity II Review
The keyboard of Samsung Intensity II isn’t the best that we’ve used - Samsung Intensity II Review
The keyboard of Samsung Intensity II isn’t the best that we’ve used - Samsung Intensity II Review

The keyboard of Samsung Intensity II isn’t the best that we’ve used



Samsung Intensity II 360 Degrees View:


13 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Zorin (Posts: 152; Member since: 26 Jul 2010)


Man, I was looking fwd. to the typical FA video at the end. WTF, guys?

posted on 10 Aug 2010, 10:14

2. Sniggly (Posts: 6474; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


It'll still probably be a fantastically reliable phone which users will get a lot of value out of, esp. if they have no need for the internet on their phone.

posted on 10 Aug 2010, 13:19

3. ihaveaquestion (unregistered)


is this phone good enough if the only internet usage i will be using is going on facebook mobile and checking sports scores and weather? thats all.

posted on 10 Aug 2010, 15:40

4. cupcakeY (unregistered)


uhmm.. it's Pantech Jest, not Blitz..

posted on 16 Aug 2010, 00:14

5. AE (unregistered)


It appears this phone allows you take pictures, but you can't records videos on this phone, also no java. Personally this phone sucks and I plan to return.

posted on 15 Sep 2010, 12:17

7. MJ (unregistered)


Had this phone a month and it won't hold a charge on standby for more than 1.5 - 2 days. Had the battery replaced and no difference. Anyone else having similar problem?

posted on 07 Dec 2010, 08:54

8. Snarkyside (unregistered)


I'm one of many having problems with the phone freezing and locking up. Customer-no-service is worthless at the cell phone company. I see where some have gone through having 2 and 3 phones handed out to replace problem phone and it still craps out. Don't get this phone. Aside from all the other problems I've read about on other review sites and those mentioned on here, it'll just lock up or shut itself off for no reason while sitting immobile on a counter. Software or phone design issues.

posted on 11 Jul 2011, 18:01

9. natz13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 11 Jul 2011)


if i accidentally connect to the internet on this phone with no data plan will it charge me money even if i exit out of it before it loads?

posted on 08 Sep 2011, 10:44

10. ooooo (unregistered)


4:20am you guys know whats up

posted on 13 Sep 2011, 11:11

11. macchiofan20 (unregistered)


i just started noticing this problem: whenever i try to send a text message, the phone shuts off by itself. dont ask me how, it just shuts off by itself without me doing anything. this has happened for a total of 9 times. does anyone else have this problem?

posted on 18 Nov 2012, 10:11

14. llliiivvv (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Nov 2012)


Yes. I would be in the middle of a text message and it would power off. But I'm stuck with it until my contract runs out. :(

posted on 10 Oct 2011, 17:10

12. Thisonesucks... (unregistered)


This phone sucks. It freezes up very often, and it randomly shuts off. This is a do not buy! the Intensity 1 was better than the Intensity 2. I promise you, you'd be better off getting a different phone. Also, it is very hard to hear the conversation through the earpiece, so I leave it on speaker even when there shouldn't be necessary. DON'T BUY.

posted on 24 May 2012, 17:02

13. kikikissy (Posts: 1; Member since: 24 May 2012)


This phone is mildly glitchy & after a year of use, I can barely get a whole day out of the phone. When I first bought the phone I had no problem getting 1.5 to 2 days out of it, which was all I ever expected that so that wasn't a disappointment to me.

I don't use internet of any kind on my phone, so I have no comments on that.

The only time the phone has restarted for me was when I was trying to send & receive a text simultaneously. It's a bit irritating the first time, but after you realize it's going to happen, you just have to chill a minute while it restarts. Pain in the ass? Yes. But not a deal-breaker for the $20 (after rebate) I paid for the phone.

This is the first phone that I've had to text on, and also the first to have a slide out keyboard. Because this is the only keyboard I am used to, I don't mind it. When I was first learning how to text, it was difficult, but now people are amazed at how fast I can type. It's really just a matter of getting used to it.

I do accidently start up the camera quite often because of the location of the camera button on the side. This is probably the most irritating thing.

Also, I bought a case for it and because of the design of the hard cover, the front piece broke from sliding the keyboard open within the first month. I still have the back cover & I believe that it is helping protect my phone, but it wasn't worth the $20 I spent to "protect" my phone.

Overall, it's super basic. If you just want to text and make phone calls, it is a cheap option. If you want more than that, you'll just have to pay for another phone.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.2 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (182 ppi) TFT
Camera1.3 megapixels
Size4.29 x 2.09 x 0.61 inches
(109 x 53 x 15 mm)
4.10 oz  (116 g)
Battery1000 mAh, 5 hours talk time

Latest stories