x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview

Posted: , by Ray S.

Tags:

Go to page

Our Samsung Galaxy Tab Review is now published - click here to read it.

Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
Introduction:

Ever since Apple introduced and launched its iPad (a revolutionary and magical device that can even get girls interested in you), we've seen quite a few other manufacturers, including LG, RIM, Motorola, Acer and HP, announce their plans (or let them slip) to enter this newly-formed tablet business. Hm, wait a sec, someone's suspiciously missing from the list. Oh, of course! It's Samsung, which has already confirmed its Android 2.2-powered Galaxy Tab tablet for a Q3 launch. And it is exactly the Tab that will be the focus of this preview. We are just as impatient as you are, so let us not waste time in introductory blabbing and get right to the point.


Design:

The Samsung Galaxy Tab is more compact than the Apple iPad (we'll be often comparing the Galaxy Tab to the iPad, as we consider it the standard for the moment). This is due to the fact that the Galaxy Tab is housing a 7-inch screen, as opposed to the iPad's near 10 inches. While we are not really into losing screen real estate, we can go with it here, as it makes the tablet somewhat more "pocketable". Anyway, the device feels pretty solid in the hands, thanks partly to its significant weight. Its back and sides are made of light gray-colored plastic, which at one point almost led us to believe it is actually aluminum. Holding the Samsung Galaxy Tab with only one hand, while reading something, for example, will quickly tire your wrist and you'd want to hold it with two hands or place it on a surface/dock. Unfortunately, we still don't know if a dock would be present in the box.

The Samsung Galaxy Tab feels pretty solid in the hands - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
The Samsung Galaxy Tab feels pretty solid in the hands - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
The Samsung Galaxy Tab feels pretty solid in the hands - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview

The Samsung Galaxy Tab feels pretty solid in the hands


Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview


The 7” screen is using LCD TFT tech, and not Samsung's vaunted Super AMOLED. As a whole, we like the image quality very much – viewing angles are decent, colors are still quite good and the resolution is high enough at 600x1024 pixels. The screen is of course capacitive and features multi-touch. Another good thing is that it is viewable under bright sunlight, though not in its full beauty. By the looks of it, 7 inches are still quite good for a tablet, though you might find yourselves switching to horizontal mode when viewing the web quite often.

Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview

Above the display you'd like to know that there are a 1.3MP video chat camera and light sensor, while at the bottom portion of the front you get four capacitive buttons: Menu, Home, Back, Search, which may sometimes annoy you due to accidental presses. On the top is a 3.5mm jack, on the right you'll find the power/lock key, volume rocker, microSD and SIM card slots, while on the bottom are the speakers and proprietary charging port, which reminds of Apple's proprietary port (it is actually a 30-pin connector). The back owns a 3MP autofocus camera with an LED flash.

The sides of Samsung Galaxy Tab - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
The sides of Samsung Galaxy Tab - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
The sides of Samsung Galaxy Tab - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview
The sides of Samsung Galaxy Tab - Samsung Galaxy Tab Preview

The sides of Samsung Galaxy Tab



So let's recap here, at the end of the design part of our Samsung Galaxy Tab preview. The Galaxy Tab is a smaller tablet than the iPad, although it is pretty close to Apple's product in terms of appearance. It has a smaller, 7-inch screen, which has a wider aspect ratio and pretty good image quality on the whole. While not feeling as high-end as the Apple iPad, the Samsung Galaxy Tab still hides some tricks up its sleeve, by packing a 3MP camera, as well as front-facing one for video chats.

17 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. lu (unregistered)


it actually has touchwiz on top of android witch looks so much prettier.. folks at engadget have a hands on preview where you can see that.. (http://www.engadget.com/2010/09/02/samsung-galaxy-tab-preview/)

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 06:46

2. sm (unregistered)


this tab's backside looks different than the one previewed by engadget and gsmarena.

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 09:27

3. narley21 (unregistered)


FAIL... Samsung once again you've copied Apple and added nothing. just like you're "Galaxy S" series that is in no way like the iphone.

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 09:51

4. xq10xa (unregistered)


Have you even used a Galaxy S?. I can actually find numerous ways a Galaxy S is like an iPhone. I own both and love both but really. ADDED nothing....geeze. this is why i hate fan boys.

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 15:56

7. Izoe (Posts: 114; Member since: 02 Sep 2010)


Actually i think the screen size of the samsung tab is more "typing" friendly as you dont have to strain to reach any key. and the fact that u can just throw anything u like on the phone without having to sync through a particular application on your computer makes it more like a mobile computer. Divx playback is definitely a plus for me, so is the expandable memory and sim support meaning i dont havine to go looking for a wifi hot-spot before i can browse. IMO thats a lot that they have added... and before iphone fans start bashing me i own a 3gs on ios 4.0.1

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 19:34

8. Mightymack (Posts: 74; Member since: 16 Jul 2010)


umm....did you not see the two cameras? plus its android! i mean come on!

posted on 05 Sep 2010, 13:12

9. joepiedepoepie (unregistered)


At least the price isn't a copy :))) You get more for almost half the price. I dont wanna mix in the discussion iphone 4 vs Galaxy s, Galaxy S users already know. :))

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 11:09

5. arqjavsa (unregistered)


The people of phonearena said it a lot on the preview IS NOT THE FINAL VERSION that why it looks different,then the one on gsmarena. I think is a really good divice hopes it does well whit good advertisement I'm sure it will.

posted on 02 Sep 2010, 12:44

6. Jeradiah3 (Posts: 1009; Member since: 11 Feb 2010)


It looks like something i would buy when its released. it will compete with the iPad and it should with what it has under the hood. i like the fact tht u can make phone and video calls on it. im not too impressed with the current android market, but they are improving with the quality of apps which is good. my only concern is price because the iPad is too expensive to pay for and i hope tht the samsung tablet doesnt follow suit

posted on 06 Sep 2010, 15:20

11. Dood (Posts: 269; Member since: 23 Mar 2009)


iPad (a revolutionary and magical device that can even get girls interested in you), I guess PA really is biased....from now on I will call it iPhoneArena.

posted on 06 Sep 2010, 17:05

12. iPHONE Arena (unregistered)


iPHONE Arena!!! nice & humorous - not a iphone fan boy

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 11:59

16. Ciayko (unregistered)


@Dood: "iPhoneArena"...ROTFL :)))

posted on 15 Sep 2010, 14:51

13. BigRed83 (Posts: 142; Member since: 19 May 2008)


Looks interesting, possibly a new paradigm on the personal communications device. Personally, I can't wait to see the Tricorder app running on this little beauty...

posted on 25 Sep 2010, 22:58

14. John123 (unregistered)


Well, what really stunned me is 'While the iPad has no camera, the Galaxy Tab has two -- including a front-facing camera for video conferencing. It's also a phone.' So awesome! Hmm, just considering to buy one or not, as Im also really happy with my fantastic iPad, For work, the iPad does almost all of the things an average user needs, and with a much much nicer U/I. Easy of use, fast, and efficient. For entertainment, now with one of the top features of iPad --- movie watching, Im totally sucked in enjoying kinds of videos and movies with iPad, though some times need in the help of iPad video converter from iFunia for lack of flash support. Ugggggg!!!!

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 11:19

15. XxVerbalxX (unregistered)


the review seems kinda pointless if the software overlay isnt there and the actual camera is going to be 3 mp not 3.2. ur reviewing a version of the device that will never exist to the consumer. what the hell is the point of this?

posted on 01 Nov 2010, 14:20

17. cameron white (unregistered)


how much memory has the samsung galaxy tab have and what should i get an i pad or galaxy tab

posted on 10 May 2011, 18:46

19. Amfyr (unregistered)


FINALLY a review that covered the phone feature of the Galaxy Tab!

Looking forward to your review of the new releases of 10.1 and 8.9. thanx!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung Galaxy Tab

Samsung Galaxy Tab

OS: Android 2.3.3 2.2
view full specs
Display7.0 inches, 1024 x 600 pixels (170 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
Single core, 1000 MHz
512 MB RAM
Size7.48 x 4.74 x 0.47 inches
(190.1 x 120.45 x 11.98 mm)
13.40 oz  (380 g)

Latest stories