x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

Posted: , by Nick T.

Tags:

Go to page

Our Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Review is now published - click here to read it.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Introduction:

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Wow, has it been six months already since the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 was officially announced? Boy, how time flies! Feels like it was yesterday when we checked out the tablet's initial variant at MWC 2012. We said initial since Samsung postponed the device's release so that it could alter its design and specifications, in case you've forgotten.

Instead of the dual-core processor that was initially planned, the Galaxy Note 10.1 now boasts a powerful quad-core Exynos chip, the main camera has been bumped up to 5 megapixels, and last but not least, a slot for the device's S Pen has been added. Yup, you read that right! The tablet is tailored to work with the S Pen, which looks and acts kind of like a stylus, but it is actually a bit more advanced than those obsolete toothpicks. But more on that later!

Now, before we begin our preview, allow us to stress that the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 that we have today is a prototype unit. Still, despite the kinks, it works well enough to give us a general idea as to how the finalized version of the tablet will behave, so without further ado, let us fire it up and see what it has to impress us with.


Design:

No surprises here, folks. Samsung has chosen to go with plastic for the construction of the Galaxy Note 10.1, which is why the device looks pretty ordinary and won't really make any jaws drop with its appearance. In fact, its design is more or less identical to that of the Galaxy Tab 2 (10.1), save for the addition of an LED flash for the camera on the unit's back and the slot for the S Pen, located on the device's bottom right hand corner.

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

On the top edge of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 we see the lock key and the 2-button volume rocker. They respond with a nice click when pressed, and since they are well exposed, one can effortlessly find them with a single finger. Also on top reside the 3.5-millimeter headphone jack and the slots for the microSD and SIM cards, both of which are protected by easily removable plastic covers. Not to be forgotten is the IR blaster, which allows the tablet to be used as a remote control for TV sets or other home appliances. On the bottom side we see a microphone and Samsung's own proprietary port, which is used for charging and transferring data between the tablet and a computer.

Back - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Camera - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

Back

Camera


The stereo speakers are located on the front side of the tablet, which is a design choice we quite like. Their placement allows for sounds to be directed at the user, so the upper frequency range is not lost as it is with tablets that have their speakers on the sides or at the back.

Top edge - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Bottom edge - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Stereo speakers - The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

Top edge

Bottom edge

Stereo speakers

The sides of the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1


The Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 weighs 600 grams (21.6 oz) and has a thickness of 8.9 millimeters (0.35 inches), which are figures typical for today's 10-inch tablets. Still, due to its weight and dimensions, the device has to be held with two hands during prolonged use, unless you have something you can rest it against. Even in portrait mode, the strain on the wrist is a bit too much to bear for a long period of time, which can be annoying if you are on the go and need to write something down using the S Pen.


S Pen:

The S Pen is what makes the Galaxy Note 10.1 special – special in a good way, that is. As we mentioned above, the accessory seems to act as an old-school stylus, but it is actually sensitive to pressure. The harder the S Pen is pressed against the tablet's surface, the bolder the strokes will be when drawing or writing. It may not sound like much, but it makes your digitized handwriting or artwork look a bit more “human”. Besides, Draw Something is much more fun when you have pen-like input at your disposal! There is a button that resides on the side of the S Pen. Holding it down and touching the accessory to the tablet's display takes a screenshot, and double-tapping opens the S Note application.

The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way - Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview

The S Pen is what makes the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 special in a good way



Display:

Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 Preview
Samsung has chosen to equip the Galaxy Note 10.1 with one of its very own Super PLS LCD displays. Theoretically, this display technology is superior to IPS LCD due to the increased viewing angles and brightness output, not to mention that the panels are cheaper for Samsung Display to produce.

The screen on the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 measures 10.1 inches in diagonal and has a resolution of 1280 by 800 pixels (149 ppi), which is nothing out of the ordinary, and far from what one would expect to see on a flagship device. In fact, it is somewhat underwhelming to have a tablet that is meant to suit the needs of digital graphics artists, among other niches of users, and yet sporting a screen with such low pixel density. Nevertheless, when the tablet is held at a sufficient distance, things look smooth enough for the average consumer to be satisfied.

29 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 14 Aug 2012, 09:15 5

1. Mercenary (Posts: 61; Member since: 21 Oct 2011)


Video please...

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:05 3

6. Phullofphil (Posts: 801; Member since: 10 Feb 2009)


That would be nice.

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 18:06 4

20. The_Godfather (Posts: 158; Member since: 26 Apr 2012)


This is called awesomeness. You are the best Sammy :)

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 09:18 3

2. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


Why just a preview PA? Isn't the final unit out already?

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:03 3

4. Phullofphil (Posts: 801; Member since: 10 Feb 2009)


Yeah it is they just wanted to waste time and preview (not review but preview) a beta version and skip the one that's going into production so they can let you know about a product version that never will be for sale. That was some early morning sarcasm. Lol

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:42 2

10. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


lol. anyway, I'm hoping someone would do a comparison between the Note II, Note 10.1 and S3 when they're all available... and which suits different persons best.

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 11:45 1

14. Phullofphil (Posts: 801; Member since: 10 Feb 2009)


I am glad there are still people on this site that take a joke. You my friend are awesome.

I bet that there will be a comparison like that. It is a good idea and there usually a comparison on every posesable combo on the high end models

posted on 15 Aug 2012, 03:22 1

21. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


a lot of people lost patience with the lawsuit. it turned them into warfreaks. :))

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 09:53 3

3. itiswhatitis (Posts: 423; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)


How I wish i buy this instead of iPad!

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:04

5. steelicon (Posts: 313; Member since: 02 Apr 2011)


PhoneArena please don't forget to include in your video review the Native 3G Video and Voice call between capable Samsung devices and the Samsung Galaxy Note 10.1 3G as well as VoIP Video and Voice call, SMS and MMS. Thanks! :-)

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:36 2

9. bobfreking55 (Posts: 866; Member since: 15 Jul 2011)


and if you can use other accessories like earphones (bluetooth etc) for calling and if it can be used as a daily driver phone!

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:12 1

7. quryous (banned) (Posts: 106; Member since: 07 Mar 2012)


Well, the projects I had in mind would have greatly benefitted from a much higher resolution screen. I think I'll just keep looking until I find something actually suitable.

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 10:26 1

8. sonisoe (Posts: 336; Member since: 06 May 2009)


how's the Ui responsiveness despite its a preview unit... i've had hands on with a number of samsung tabs, i cant remember which ones as there're so many versions of 'em, but they all lag... homescreen, app tray just stuttery... the fact that people buy them (not as many as ipad tho) just baffles me...

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 11:51 1

15. Phullofphil (Posts: 801; Member since: 10 Feb 2009)


I think it is the operating system that is the culprit on the lagging not the hardware most of the time. The biggest culprit is usually the darn bloatware and the skins such as touchwiz and sense that do the lagging. I hope jelly bean does as good on these bigger tablets on lagging as it did with my galaxy nexus

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 13:04 1

19. aoikemono27 (Posts: 177; Member since: 27 Feb 2012)


You are aware this tablet is utterly useless if it weren't for the "bloatware" of S Pen applications and multitasking panels? If it can't fly smoothly with the basic suite of productivity apps built especially for the S Pen on top of Touchwiz, then it just goes to show that Android can't handle ANY sort of enhancements beyond barebones vanilla. If Android can't be enhanced by anyone else without it lagging, than the whole open platform thing is pretty meaningless, if you HAVE to have it lag-free that is. Because currently Android can't carry anything beyond its own weight, so it's really no better than iOS or anything else.

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 11:16 1

11. ftyler223 (Posts: 140; Member since: 06 Aug 2012)


Sonisoe so true. You're right. I've noticed the same thing. This tablet is chunk if crap! Sammy needs to step it up

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 11:17

12. ftyler223 (Posts: 140; Member since: 06 Aug 2012)


Is a chunk of *

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 11:43 1

13. zekes (Posts: 213; Member since: 14 Aug 2012)


for 200$ its a hit

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 12:04 2

16. Mr_Carter2 (Posts: 13; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)


Keyboard reminds me of the ios keyboard on the iPad. Seems like a good tablet though.

posted on 14 Aug 2012, 12:55 1

18. aoikemono27 (Posts: 177; Member since: 27 Feb 2012)


Oh great another "its a prototype and we aren't saying jack" preview. You know you can still comment on a prototype right? This was basically a spec and software rundown of things everyone already knew. Didn't even say jack about the quality of the PLS display other than talk about the resolution, which is just a spec rundown. If its suppose to be superior to IPS, is it or not? The prototype excuse doesn't fly for a prototype this late in the game. The display is not gonna magically get better one month before release, nor 3 or 4 months, because it is a hardware part that requires setup and manufacturing time.

The only things of worth are the pictures and camera samples and video. I really would like reviewers to cut the BS about "these are not final images" crap. They are final images. It may change here or there with software tweaks, but 99% of the quality is gonna remain the same. The video isn't gonna change either. It even uses the same crap audio capture of the GS3. Anyone who has read prototype reviews, and especially written prototype reviews, should know by now that these late prototypes don't change much at all when it comes to the camera. If it was so screwed up late in the production cycle that the last spurt would dramatically change image quality, it would have to be software based since the optics were decided and sourced long ago, and that would be even more troubling because it would be like Samsung was building their very first camera phone or tablet, ever.

Man I could have written this article without even having a Note 10.1.

posted on 15 Aug 2012, 05:19 1

22. tiara6918 (Posts: 1528; Member since: 26 Apr 2012)


The note 10.1 could have been better if samsung went on with a 1080 display and a metalic back cover(even though most people use cases I would still prefer a metalic one as it is nice to hold on to). Looks like sammy made the front design a bit identical to the galaxy tab 10.1n to avoid hearing another thing from iSue...

posted on 15 Aug 2012, 08:41 2

23. Raymond_htc (Posts: 430; Member since: 06 Apr 2012)


iPad... PREPARE TO GET VANQUISHED!

posted on 15 Aug 2012, 11:17

24. ftyler223 (Posts: 140; Member since: 06 Aug 2012)


raymond youre an idiot. how is this piece of s**t gonna vanish the ipad? the ipad is superior to this plastic toy. get it together and read the article. the ppi is extremely low. too low to compete with the ipad. you idiot!

posted on 15 Aug 2012, 11:32 1

25. ramoman (Posts: 17; Member since: 12 Apr 2012)


please !!! what is your video camera you are using kind (the camera you use to make review videos)

posted on 16 Aug 2012, 15:34 1

26. kingstandup (Posts: 30; Member since: 24 Oct 2011)


This look legendary! I can't wait to get my hands on one!

posted on 18 Aug 2012, 12:59 1

27. WakaFlakaD (Posts: 370; Member since: 30 Apr 2011)


I am waiting for touch sensitive buttons on the edge on these tablets. Something different than the iPad, so no companies will get accused for copying... something different please!

posted on 19 Aug 2012, 06:49 1

28. SamsungIsLikeHeroin (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Aug 2012)


Confused. Does this have a phone or not? (Not Skype but a real phone ap...and if so, why isn't it attached to a carrier? Can't seem to get a straight answer out of "Google Search"... thanx!

SILH

posted on 19 Aug 2012, 12:22

29. Briandb (Posts: 2; Member since: 19 Aug 2012)


Hi, i read that the Samsung Galaxy S4 will released in March, 2013. reference:http://www.plonki.com/news/samsung-galaxy-s4-die-super-iphone-konkurrenz-steht-in-den-startloechern,463301.html. please can anybody let me know if this is true?!

Thanks a lot in advance & Rgds

* Some comments have been hidden, because they don't meet the discussions rules.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Samsung GALAXY Note 10.1

Samsung GALAXY Note 10.1

OS: Android 4.4 4.1.2 4.1 4.0
view full specs
Display10.1 inches, 1280 x 800 pixels (149 ppi) Super PLS LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Samsung Exynos 4 (4412), Quad core, 1400 MHz, ARM Cortex-A9 processor
2048 MB RAM
Size10.31 x 7.09 x 0.35 inches
(262 x 180 x 8.9 mm)
21.16 oz  (600 g)

Latest stories