x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Samsung Conquer 4G Review

0. phoneArena 15 Aug 2011, 09:27 posted on

The Samsung Conquer 4G is billed as the first budget 4G device, and the spec sheet is actually quite similar to the EVO 4G in a smaller package and all for under $100 on contract. Alright, there are some cutbacks such as the 3.5” 320x480 display and 3.2 megapixel main camera, but you still get a 1GHz S2 (second generation) Snapdragon processor, 1GB of memory and 4G WiMAX data...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 15 Aug 2011, 17:03

1. Mandroid96 (Posts: 3; Member since: 14 Aug 2011)


Wow that's incredible, 1gb of RAM along with 1ghz 2nd gen snapdragon on a small display must make this thing the most powerful mid-range phone out there. If they increased the camera to 5mp I would definitely consider buying this. Pretty cool...

posted on 21 Aug 2011, 13:22

2. Simon Belmont (unregistered)


I am amazed at it having 1GB of RAM and a second generation Snapdragon CPU. That thing must fly in the benchmarks. It has so few pixels to push at that resolution and screen size too. Wow, had I known about this, I might have pushed this towards my wife for her upgrade last month instead of the Sprint HTC EVO 4G that she got (and loves), but it was only $30.00 at RadioShack, so I can not complain.

The camera is low on the megapixels compared to the Sprint HTC EVO 4G, but that hardware is pretty awesome otherwise. Nice job, Samsung.

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 22:32

3. Damon (unregistered)


I like that the Samsung Conquer is a relatively low in price compared to other 4G phones, and can do almost the same things as the others. It should be a popular phone since it can access the 4G network, and isn’t as expensive. One app that I use and that I definitely say to get if you have DISH Network is the DISH Remote Access app. I love this app because it lets me stream live TV and recorded shows from my 922 SlingLoaded receiver to my Galaxy S phone anywhere I am! It is awesome. As a customer and employee of DISH, I have been using the app for a long time and I say to give it a try! It will work wonders on the Conquer!

posted on 09 Sep 2011, 17:38

4. GeekMovement (Posts: 1499; Member since: 09 Sep 2011)


As of now there are 3 other 4G sprint devices that have the same price as this: HTC EVO 4G, HTC EVO Shift 4G, & Samsung Epic 4G. All priced at $99 on 2-year contract. All with bigger screens (which I understand is not necessarily everybody's cup of tea) & better cameras. I think I have better options, but if this phone's price dropped to around the same price as the Nexus S (now $29 on contract), it would be a decent 4G phone for starters.

Personally I'm not very fond of the design & the physical buttons below, but if it works for you, I guess that's what matters.

posted on 16 Oct 2012, 19:33

5. scsa852k (Posts: 272; Member since: 16 Oct 2012)


I've had this phone for a little over a half year now, and I gotta say I'm a bit surprised by the 8.5 review score.

I haven't had any serious issues yet with this device, but Sprint's dismal 4G network coverage doesn't let this device run freely on 4G. And Battery will die very very quickly on 4G obviously.

Most of the apps run pretty smoothly but a lot of the latest games will lack badly which is expected for a pretty cheap smart phone.

But that's the selling point of this device. It's cheap. And I have to say it's a great value to grab a pretty decent mid-range gingerbread device.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories