x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Review index

Comments
  • Options
    Close




Samsung Alias U740 Preview

0. phoneArena 28 Feb 2007, 06:28 posted on

We were quite disappointed in the U740. The only thing it has going for it is the slim size, but there are other slim phones that are a better choice. The 1.3MP camera is very outdated (considering the 2MP on the VX9900 and 3MP on the A990), the internal display is not QVGA

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Peter T. (unregistered)


Can the external keys be presses with a pencil or they have to be pushed with a finger?

posted on 07 Mar 2007, 20:44

2. yon178 (unregistered)


u dont have to use the keyboard, u can just dictate ur text messages - even better!

posted on 25 Mar 2007, 23:05

3. jay (unregistered)


the samsung is better for so many reasons. i'll jus give 3. 1. it's way innovative 2. not 2 bulky like the lg 3. it has speech to text so u can speak and it will write down for u

posted on 02 Apr 2007, 16:04

4. Rachel (unregistered)


the smsung has many faults. the durability of the hinge. the letter "p" is hard to press because of a bumper for the screen. its also not the first with speech to text. if you have ever used it, its horrible. you must be in a sound free inviroment for it to BARELY work. overall if you MUST MUST MUST have a full keyboard, then look at size, but the samsung has its drawbacks. you must look at the big picture when picking a phone.

posted on 05 Apr 2007, 16:33

5. Garrett (unregistered)


i like how the enV (VX9900) is thinner then the V (VX9800), the keyboard is spaced out, and the way that u can use it closed.. the SCH-u740 is a sweet phone.. but when i was doing some research on it, i found out that the key board buttons are very close together (then i looked at forums and found out that u get used to it), and that the 0-9, #, and * buttons are confusing when it is not in landscape mode.. HELP!!! i think i have to see both phones in person before i do anything.. thanks for the help.. -Garrett

posted on 05 Apr 2007, 16:35

6. Garrett (unregistered)


i love to text and right now i have a razr in verizon.. so thanks again. -Garrett

posted on 16 Apr 2007, 00:06

7. brian (unregistered)


i work for vzw so i get phones at a solid discount. ive had this phone for about three weeks and i really dont think the hinge is going to hold for a year. its not a bad phone but its got way too much going on for such a small phone. if youre a textaholic id go with the env or the xv6700 and avoid this or the q

posted on 04 Sep 2007, 14:38

8. brian (unregistered)


i don't have a problem texting with the small keys. i don't have a problem with the numbers being sideways cuz i've used a phone for 22 years and i know where the 0-9 keys are when dialing a number. this phone is sleek, and people find it neat how it flips from text to phone. i say the Samsung U740 is far better than the enV VX9900!

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 23:06

9. Mohammad (unregistered)


The U740 is designed for those of you you value text messaging more than anything else. It does not have the best camera but 1.3MP is all you need for a mobile screen. It has a good stereo speakers. And guess what, I have complard the key sizes to my BlackBerry 7250 and there isn't a lot of difference. I am glad that i have a full keyboard but dont have to pay for those expensive data plans. I adore this phone but there is a nasty trick that the manufacturer had played. You cannot use the full key board while using internet.

posted on 25 Oct 2008, 19:36

10. (unregistered)


With the samsung model sch-u740 can you play mp3's from the memory card.

posted on 04 Nov 2008, 20:15

11. (unregistered)


The U740 is really easy to use and turns out to be better in the long run for its slim size once you get used to the keyboard. It's really easy :)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories