x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Samsung AIRAVE Review

0. phoneArena 25 Aug 2008, 05:56 posted on

As the world becomes increasingly reliant on their mobile devices quality of service has become a great differentiator. 'Can you hear me now?' and to a lesser extent 'more bars in more places' have become company pillars, but T-Mobile was the first to actively address in-home coverage when they launched their Unlimited HotSpot Calling (ex HotSpot @Home) service nationwide last summer ...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. (unregistered)


Reviews for this thing are hit and miss, good review though

posted on 26 Aug 2008, 15:40

2. (unregistered)


Use it all over the world? Hello, Sprint doesn't have coverage outside the US.

posted on 27 Aug 2008, 09:33

5. (unregistered)


the airave creates signal. sprint service is not required for the airave to work, hence it could theoretically be used anywhere in the world.

posted on 28 Aug 2008, 17:02

7. (unregistered)


yea they do..canada, mexico, puerto rico, bahamas

posted on 29 Aug 2008, 08:21

9. oldsprintuser (unregistered)


it theorectically could work anywhere had they not put a GPS chip in the device to determine where in the world the airave is working from

posted on 31 Aug 2008, 16:33

13. HACK (unregistered)


Some of you computer programming nerds need to hack the GPS chip to render it either uneccessary, or fool the location to make it work. I am talking to YOU XDA and PPCGeeks!!

posted on 26 Aug 2008, 16:22

3. (unregistered)


The very big problem that the airave can cause is if anyone you do not list in the 50 numbers comes in your area there phone will not work at all. Big problem in lets say a apartment building. There phone will find the strongest signal (the airave) and will say restricted area.

posted on 29 Aug 2008, 08:19

8. oldsprintuser (unregistered)


#'s comment is incorrect - this is only for people who wish to restrict it's use - say in an office building or somewhere that a lot of phones may try and pick it up. if you do not designate any #'s on your list, all of the phones are able to access the device to get excellent coverage

posted on 26 Aug 2008, 16:26

4. (unregistered)


#2 your comment is correct about sprints coverage. However it will work in the usa where sprint does not offer coverage. It uses your computer for phone like vonage but works with alot of different handsets.

posted on 28 Aug 2008, 02:12

6. (unregistered)


can it work with verizon phones?

posted on 30 Aug 2008, 09:25

11. (unregistered)


um, no. why would it work with "we give you coverage everywhere". verizon putting out this device would be going against their marketing campaigns

posted on 29 Aug 2008, 08:25

10. oldsprintuser (unregistered)


I am so excited about this product - especially as a customer of Sprint. Think of all the money that Sprint now can save from not having to penetrate every little nook and cranny of everyone's basement in every city by building redundant towers and paying massive lease fees to do it. Now they can spend their money to build out the rural areas that don't necessarily have the broadband access required to set up these femtocell devices and reach a broader population and not have those deadspots that are all-to-common with every carrier out there. $5 a month on top of the already best priced plans out there is nothing to get PERFECT coverage in my house, thank you Sprint for bringing this to market!

posted on 31 Aug 2008, 11:33

12. stuntz (unregistered)


im getting one soon. 5 bucks a month isnt as bad as they make it.

posted on 03 Sep 2008, 14:23

14. argensfinest (unregistered)


the $5 is no big deal at all. however, it would be awesome if it did EVDO and wasn't limited in where it could be used. i can imagine cruise ship companies putting femtocells on the boats, or the extremely wealthy putting them on their private yachts (yeah a satellite phone would be easier for travel, but also, most wealthy people want to use a fashionable phone like an iPhone or instinct, not a big ugly satellite phone) sprint's coverage is HORRIBLE in my neighborhood. if this thing at least did EVDO, i'd put one in my house. $5 a month is worth it for my blackberry to work right in my own house, especially since mine is set up with AIM and skype, so i don't have to stay at my computer to IM or skype people. but not 1x speeds, please no.

posted on 04 Jul 2011, 16:48

16. budgreen (unregistered)


Just got mine ordered today no monthly charge or activate fee and equipment was also free. I came from Verizon where I could take my phone 20000 leagues under the sea surf the web watch video and send texts to sprint where I couldn't make or receive a call from my home. Even tho sprint shows my area as good service they went ahead and took care of us anyway free of charge. Kudos sprint I love Verizon but cupstomer service makes all the difference keep it up ill be a customer for life even with your lacking 4g coverage in my area (Detroit) cough hint hint cough lol :-)

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories