x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




RIM BlackBerry Bold 9780 Review

0. phoneArena 23 Nov 2010, 09:08 posted on

Following up after the impressive Bold 9700, which was released around this time last year, its successor in the RIM BlackBerry Bold 9780 surely has its work cut out for itself. Now that BlackBerry OS 6 is starting to become more prevalent amongst RIM's lineup, it'll be interesting to see how it all will play out on a handset that's regarded as the bread and butter style of RIM's portfolio...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 23 Nov 2010, 09:19 3

1. kentuckyloan (banned) (Posts: 7; Member since: 28 Jun 2010)


Love it. Super Fast, Fantastic Battery, fits in pocket great, great looking screen. Email and messasging machine....Browser still needs work--also like uma for the tmobile blackberry

posted on 23 Nov 2010, 16:49

2. Flacco (unregistered)


8.5? To a mediocre call quality? Really?

posted on 24 Nov 2010, 04:20 1

3. OverRatedChild (unregistered)


Blackberries are the best, SUPER reliable and have all the features I need from a phone. If I want to play games or some other crap, I get my self an iPod Touch.
THREe things I want to see In the next Blackberry:
>Better Resolution (Maybe VGA - 640x480, over the current WVGA - 480x360)
>HD Recording
>Touchscreen (Like a hybrid, eg: Sony Ericsson Aspen, Nokia X3 Touch and Type)
Those Features, coupled with a good price = Best Phone..... ever.

posted on 25 Nov 2010, 10:57 1

4. Ebonyks (Posts: 20; Member since: 10 Nov 2009)


Changing the resolution of the blackberry would require a pretty massive overhaul of the apps market. It's not going to happen in the current blackberry OS, maybe the playbook OS being ported over to phones will change that.

Same thing with the touchscreen. The touchscreen blackberries have all been retrofitted to run blackberry OS, and they lack the features that make touchscreens so compelling in the first place, including heavy use of gestures.

That's the ultimate problem with blackberries, they keep building on a dinosaur of an OS. They're reliable, and have the best hardware keyboards in the world (I still miss that part of my curve 8900), and still have the best battery life in the business.

I just hope next year brings more change, because the torch wasn't enough to push RIM into the next generation. They're not trying with the 9780, but that's fine, they're filling a niche of business types who don't want to bother with learning a new OS and interface.

posted on 27 Nov 2010, 16:04 1

5. T-MoLoyalist (unregistered)


Actually the bold has a HVGA Resolution. I don't mind the loss of a touchscreen, we end up smudging it anyway. The QWERTY Keyboard is awesome, the browser is so much better, and the camera takes fantastic pictures. Future BlackBerries I hope there's a front facing Video Camera while, keeping it's current form. If it manages to do everything the competition can do while staying compact, it'll be a good day for RIM indeed.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories