x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Nokia 6555 Review

0. phoneArena 05 Oct 2007, 11:17 posted on

So, is the 6555 a great multipurpose phone at the end? Well, yes. Okay, so it may not get any awards or attract you from that iPhone or BlackBerry but that’s not what its goal is. The 6555 is there to get you through the day and still provide you with plenty of features in case you find yourself without say your MP3 player, internet connection, or camera. When you consider its price low price, the deal seems that much better...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. (unregistered)


I have had the phone about a week and love it (that is comng from someone that changes phones like some do shoses) I have not used the internet or music features but found it to be great as far as texing, call quality and reception.

posted on 22 Apr 2008, 07:19

2. Jon Stafford (unregistered)


I dislike this phone intensely. Despite the fact that it is a flip phone, the keyboard locks when it is closed, and there is a delay before it unlocks upon opening it. So you can't just flip it open and start dialing -- you always have to wait. Similarly, I have found that you have to wait a tick upon answering it before you say "hello" or the person at the other end won't hear you. You have to scroll through multiple screens to put it in silent mode -- a major irritant when going to movies, etc. When IN silent mode, there is no beep to tell you when the call has been dropped, leading to many instances of my chattering away, only to find that there is no one there. The exterior screen has a very long delay before going black after closing the phone, which on many occasions has led me to believe that I had a message when I did not. Finally, the smooth, glassy surfaces of the casing attract grease and fingerprints like a polished grand paino in a household of toddlers. It always looks dirty. All in all, a disappointing phone.

posted on 24 Jun 2008, 08:58

5. (unregistered)


To put the phone in silent mode, all you have to do is press and hold the pound key.

posted on 09 Jun 2008, 14:18

3. Clarence (unregistered)


I haven't owned many phones so I can't say how many of them give you a "one button push" silent mode. I know My Motorolla v3xx doesn't. It does, however, have a one button push for vibrate mode - just like this phone. Is that what you meant Jon? Maybe not. If it is on silent mode, why would any phone make an audible beep to let you know you missed a call? It's SILENT. If you place it in vibrate mode, at least you know when someone is calling you. I don't even own this phone - yet, but I know it has a one button vibrate mode just by looking at the photos of the keypad supplied by this review. There's probably many other things this phone can do if one takes the trouble to read the user manual.

posted on 10 Jun 2008, 13:28

4. Shoe (unregistered)


Ptt button sucks. Every time I pull my phone out of my pocket, there is a screen asking me if I want to use PTT and that charges will apply. There is no way to disable this button and no, I don't want to lock my keypad. This is a terrible design flaw.

posted on 24 Jun 2008, 09:01

6. (unregistered)


Any ptt phone has the button on the side. Maybe that is something you should ask about before you buy the phone.

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 10:00

7. JubJub (unregistered)


You should still be able to reassign the button?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories