x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

Motorola W755 Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
Motorola W755 Review
This is a CDMA phone offered with Sprint.
Introduction:

Motorola W755 Review
Motorola W755 Review
The Motorola RAZR line has been one of the best selling labels for Verizon of the past few years, beginning with the V3c and followed by the V3m. When the more advanced RAZR2 V9m was released, many began to wonder what would happen to the original RAZRs. They have now been discontinued and replaced with the new Motorola W755. It is considered a mid-level phone, with a higher resolution internal display and camera than the W385. Its main competition are the LG VX8350 and Samsung U550, and is targeted to the consumer looking for an easy to use device with some added features and style, without having to jump to a high-end device.

The Retail Package includes:
  • W755 phone
  • 940mAh battery with cover
  • wall charger
  • user manual.


Design:

The W755 is a standard flip phone that incorporates a more consumer-orientated appearance than the V3m, as it is available in two color options (black and purple), with soft-touch paint and silver trim. Current RAZR users will immediately notice that the construction has been greatly improved with a sturdier hinge, better designed keypad, and an overall felling of durability. However, these improvements come at the cost of having a device that is slightly thicker and heavier.

Motorola W755 Review

You can compare the Motorola W755 with many other phones using the Size Visualization Tool.

Motorola W755 Review
Motorola W755 Review
Motorola W755 Review

External display and buttons - Motorola W755 Review
1.3-Megapixel camera - Motorola W755 Review

External display and buttons

1.3-Megapixel camera

Located on the front is the 1” diagonal 96x80 pixel CSTN display and 1.3MP camera, which are similar to the ones used on the V3m. This is a disappointment, as there is plenty of space for a larger external display and a 2MP camera could have been used. Surrounding the display and Motorola logo are five touch sensitive buttons for music playback control, changing between vibrate and audible ringtone, and for turning Bluetooth power on and off. This is the first device to offer Bluetooth and ringtone controls on the front, without having to flip open the phone. Located on the right side are the speakerphone button and 2.5mm headset jack, with the volume rocker, smart button, and miniUSB port on the left. All of these buttons are raised from the sides to allow for easy locating while in low light conditions. The microSD slot accepts up to 4GB memory cards, but still requires the removal of battery to gain access. We would encourage Motorola to change this design and use a more consumer friendly side-loading memory card slot, so that the device would not have to be powered off.

Right - Motorola W755 Review
Left - Motorola W755 Review
Motorola W755 Review

Right

Left

 

When opening and closing the flip, the hinge operates smoothly without any creaking noises. No changes have been made to the resolution of the internal display, which is still 170x220 pixels and only supports up to 65K colors. However, both the VX8350 and U550 offer up to 262K color support. Even though the user can select from different brightness settings on the W755, the display can still be difficult to see in direct sunlight, which is a problem common among many phones. Located on the bottom flip is the white backlit keypad, which is easy to view against the black color of the keys, but when going into an application (such as the camera or music player) the backlighting changes color to blue. The circular d-pad is located at the top and is simple to use for accessing different parts of the phone’s software. The numeric keys are easy to use for dialing and text messages, thanks to their size and larger numbers and letters. They provide your finger with good tactile feel, since they are raised from the rest of the keypad, and also produce a noticeable “click” sound when pressed.

Internal display - Motorola W755 Review
D-pad - Motorola W755 Review
Numeric keypad - Motorola W755 Review

Internal display

D-pad

Numeric keypad



10 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Guybrush (unregistered)


I wasn't at all impressed with this phone. I know not too much can be expected from a phone you get for free with a contract agreement, but there were a few items that pretty much sunk it for me. The battery life is abysmal. Pair that up with poor receiver strength and you've got yourself a phone you've got to charge every single day. I never had any trouble getting signal at my workplace with my LG Chocolate (even though I hated it). The W755 was constantly searching for a signal, which in turn caused the battery to drain extremely fast. I ended up returning it, and purchasing an LG enV2, which so far has been an exceptional phone, and definitely worth the extra $50.

posted on 23 Jun 2008, 11:43

2. (unregistered)


I bought two, MOTO W755 and returned them 4 days later. My wife and I were not receiving calls. I had my daughter call my phone to test it (we were in the same car at the time) and I never received the call. I finally received the voice mail she left a HOUR later. The final straw was when I I kept getting a "call lost" message when I tried to place calls. My wife was having the same problem of calls not coming through. This phone is the worst phone I have ever owned! Complete junk.

posted on 30 Jun 2008, 21:41

3. pedreiro (unregistered)


Also bought two phones (one for me and one for my wife). I am not one to post much online, but I figured I owed it to the rest of the potential Verizon customers to read an honest review about the W755 before they committed to buying one. Basically, the phone has a nice feel to it, nice features, I good camera, works well with hearing aids and is compact. HOWEVER.....the battery life is TERRIBLE and reception is TERRIBLE. I compared both units (just to be sure I didn't have a faulty handset) side-by-side with my old Nokia 6236i candybar and there was no comparison--the Nokia had two bars in the basement of my work building, while the Moto W755 could pick up anything. Even on Interstate 95 near Mystic, CT my wife's phone couldn't pick up a signal, whereas the old Nokia worked every time. If you live somewhere with excellent Verizon signal, don't worry...but if you live in a place with good to mediocre signal, don't risk getting a Motorola. I swear that I will never ever ever own again a Motorola!!!

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 10:09

4. motoman117 (Posts: 15; Member since: 22 Jun 2008)


I'm sorry to hear that, but I can assure you, not all Motorola phones are like that. The V9m, Z6tv, Z6c, and Razr Maxx Ve are all excellent phones, and it is too bad that Moto released a below average phone with the W755.

posted on 09 Jul 2008, 09:51

5. (unregistered)


I am a verizon agent and ill agree with the fact that motorola has not released any decent phones in a while. the 755 is no different than the razr. bad reception and no battery life. motorola need to revamp their phones very soon if they wanna compete with LG and Samsung!!

posted on 15 Jul 2008, 11:06

6. normbal (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Jul 2008)


Ouch. I've carried a Motorola RazrV3c for over two years. Only complaint was the battery life. Had to plug it into a charger almost daily. I bought an extended battery which defeated its most redeeming feature - thin - BUT I only needed to charge the phone about every 3 days. Now to the W755. It goes back Friday. Battery life? Fully charged, ONE ten minute conversation, one wake-up alarm, charge me screen showed up barely 26 hours later. Tried it again yesterday, dying this morning. One bar on the battery indicator. By all reviews the phone's supposed to have what, over FOUR hours talk time and 300 hours STANDBY? Can I sue for false and misleading advertising? Screen is small but legible to these 51 year old eyes - I'm still young enough to appreciate technology, old enough to resent it. MAJOR problem is the buttons/click wheel. I have to use my fingernail to select functions and even THAT's iffy. No software supplied for Windows XP and even when you DO register for and download the driver from the Motorola Developer's site (developer.motorola.com), using the phone as a peripheral device you STILL can't get the photos or phone book off the thing. You CAN transfer MP3 files however. Rhapsody also works but only for MP3s. Tried using bluetooth, I can SEND files to my computer, CAN'T push files TO the phone. Reception - even with max bars - is crappy. Kind of a weird dropout effect like a subtractive sine wave none of our other phones has this special feature. Seller assures me there's nothing wrong with the phone. Having the same problem as another poster, and a problem with the RAZR: I get notices that I have voicemail or missed messages but the phone didn't ring. Sometimes I get the notice HOURS after the network's gotten the message in its system. Our LG phones don't have that problem. Or any others for that matter. What else... Oh, the 4GB limit on the microSD is a joke. As is the location (UNDER the battery). Who thought of THAT one? Audio jack is 2.5mm, NOT industry standard 3.5mm and although the phone store will sell you a clunky (huge) dongle for the phone to plug into the USB port to use your 3.5mm plug, not only is it expensive ($12), but now your power/USB port is blocked so you can't use the phone as an MP3 player in your car with a charger. The little plastic plugs covering the USB and phone jacks are hard to pull out (you need good fingernails or a pocket knife) and very likely over time - maybe weeks - break off which will make the jacks look like the original RAZR anyway so why the mfr even bothered is beyond me. PROS: small, light, can change the displays and actually SEE the clock on the outside of the flip cover. Upset? Yeah. Disappointed. I don't think this was thought out very well. Oh, and why Friday? The LG Dare is back in stock. Verizon doesn't carry the iPhone, and this is a good compromise, at least for the next two years.

posted on 22 Jul 2008, 06:55

7. (unregistered)


I wish I had read these reviews (or ANY reviews for that matter) on the w755. I got mine just about a month ago and am so disappointed. First is the weak vibrate feature. I have to keep mine on vibrate at work and I can barely feel it when it goes off. I set the remind alert for every 2 minutes but that doesn't seem to work. Poor poor poor signal. I don't get it either, my bottom-of-the-line LG had fantastic signal at home, work, on the road... everywhere. This phone just plain does not pick up signal. It is constantly "searching for service" in places that my old phone had full signal, like HOME for example. The horrible battery life is no joke. Send two pix and a dozen messages and you've lost one bar of life.And be very aware of your signal. If it is "searching for signal" for any amount of time it will deplete the battery. I actually don't talk much so I can't vouch for talk time. I have to charge it every day though. I guess I am being nitpicky with the next few things... The camera is decent but has no flash. No Flash? Even the most basic camera phones have a flash. No front camera display either. There's no way to delete the pre-set Verizon photos in the album. They don't take up much room per say but I still don't want anyone's pix but mine.

posted on 06 Oct 2008, 14:09

8. lolzitstegan (unregistered)


I really like this phone a lot, I always have service everywhere. Even though my house is a dead zone for other peoples company's. Verizon is the only company that really works out here in the woods. But this phone does great for me. The camera works really well all you have to do it edit the picture and it clears the fuzz right out of it. I don't listen to music on any phone. Thats just a retarded thing if you have a real MP3 Player. I just don't like the ring tone choices they are boring. The new menu is awesome. The videos are great. I sometimes don't get everyones texts and if i do they come WAY later then they should. But thats normally when I send messages to other company's like AT&T & sometimes they don't get my pictures.

posted on 20 Oct 2008, 12:45

9. (unregistered)


I hate this phone. My text alert is set to every 2 min but does not work. Went to verizon and they said they were waiting on motorola to release updated software because they knew it was a problem with the phone, but it would be a while and id have to go back to the store. I miss my LG.

posted on 28 Jul 2009, 18:01

10. Napi123 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Jul 2009)


I purchased my W755 approximately 3 months ago. I never had any reception problems. However, the battery life is TERRIBLE. I took the phone back to Verizon twice. Once they adjusted my settings and the second time they replaced the battery. I still have to charge my phone almost EVERY night. I only have to charge it EVERY OTHER night if I don't use it at all. In addition, since purchasing the phone, I found 3 other people who have exactly the same problem as well as reading other complaints on the internet and this website. Forget contacting Motorola Customer Service. They are useless. One of the individuals I know got EXACTLY the same lame response from Motorola as I did, typos and all!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display1.9 inches, 176 x 220 pixels (148 ppi) TFT
Camera1.3 megapixels
Size3.90 x 1.90 x 0.68 inches
(99 x 48 x 17 mm)
3.60 oz  (102 g)
Battery950 mAh, 3.66 hours talk time

Latest stories