x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Motorola RIZR Z6c Review

0. phoneArena 23 Jan 2008, 07:55 posted on

The RIZR Z6c is a World Phone, combining CDMA/EV-DO for domestic usage and GSM for usage overseas. In design and features it is similar to other Motorola slider phones, and its features are typical for its class ...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Shooter (unregistered)


I was seriously considering this phone for something to take overseas with me but after reading this I'm a bit worried about the SIM. I had called Verizon and talked with a customer service rep. I asked, and I quote: "So, I can bring this phone to China and buy a SIM card there and use it?" The Rep answered yes. Now, according to this article you must buy a Verizon SIM. I guess it wouldn't be the first time I got a Rep that didn't know what they were talking about. In any case, I wonder if the phone could be unlocked and the use of other SIMs would be possible? Otherwise I'm better off buying a cheap phone overseas and having two phones, which is what I was trying to avoid in the first place...

posted on 23 Jan 2008, 15:58

2. LordObento (unregistered)


Verizon has a SIM for you, but the Phn can be unlocked. Difference? Verizon SIM you keep the same Phone # no matter where you go. Unlocked SIM, you get a phone # for whatever SIM you use.

posted on 27 Jan 2008, 14:24

3. BostonFan (unregistered)


I got this phone primarily because it's a decent phone. Should I travel to anywhere where GSM is support will be a bonus. Call quality is excellent, very clear on both sides. Even my father who always complains when I call on my cell didn't complain with this call :). The phone's reception is good. I live in a fringe area and it still gets a couple of bars (that's really good here!) The menus and screen are clear and legible even for aging eyes. The form factor is nice (first slider that I've had) Keys are a little narrow, but because of the grid between keys, very manageable.

posted on 08 Feb 2008, 15:43

4. Roadie (unregistered)


I too was told by Verizon that I could buy a local sim, ala a unlocked phone then use the phone from a foreign GSM network. After getting the phone they told me they don't even offer a SIM for Canada, and the one that came with the phone (I got none) would have to be used further abroad.

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 14:14

5. (unregistered)


Why does Verizon have SO MANY versions of the RIZR? They have the RIZR Z6c, RIZR z6cx, World Edition z6, and World Edition z6cx. Why don't they just discontinue the World Editions and only have the RIZR z6c?

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 16:45

6. Art (unregistered)


I've had the phone for a week now and like it. But...I use it as my home phone as well - which is to say I never turn it off. So I went on-line and have been trying to buy an extended battery - I can find the extended battery (BK91) but no extended battery doors! Every place I looked I keep finding that the doors sold with the BK91 battery supposely don't fit my Moto Z6c World phone. I will have to go to the store to try on a door from the Z6 or the Z6tv and see if it fits. If it does then maybe I can find an extended door for them. On the Verizon web site - they supposely sell the BK91 battery and door for $50. But since NO ONE else has an extended door to fit - I'm beginning to wonder even if I paid $50 to verizon - will it fit???

posted on 11 Aug 2008, 19:36

7. (unregistered)


can the sim card be from another country

posted on 11 Oct 2008, 22:18

8. backhome (unregistered)


I have the same question, can I buy a local SIM card, plug in and get a new phone number in the local GSM network?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories