x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
Introduction:

So far, AT&T customers have been exposed to a healthy dealing of mid-range Android powered handsets. For those interested in a sub $100 priced smartphone, the Motorola FLIPOUT will instantly come to view with its intriguing form factor and entry level contract price of $79.99. Even with its inexpensive costs, it doesn't always necessarily translate to a deep and comforting experience.

Design:

Easily the most intriguing part of the Motorola FLIPOUT is its form factor, which is essentially a square shaped device with a swiveling front panel that exposes its QWERTY. Although it's constructed out of some cheap feeling plastic, there is a sense of charm that it exudes and blatantly stands out.

The Motorola FLIPOUT has a a twist-out form-factor - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
The Motorola FLIPOUT has a a twist-out form-factor - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
The Motorola FLIPOUT has a a twist-out form-factor - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
The Motorola FLIPOUT has a a twist-out form-factor - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review

The Motorola FLIPOUT has a a twist-out form-factor


Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review

You can compare the Motorola FLIPOUT with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

There's not much to say with the FLIPOUT's 2.8” QVGA (320 x 240) display with its support for 262k colors – it's visibly washed out looking and suffers from some poor viewing angles.

We're not particularly fond of its hard to press volume rocker and dedicated button. Thanks to the QWERTY, we didn't experience any issues accidentally pressing any of its capacitive buttons. In the rear, you'll find the 3.1-megapixel camera with self portrait mirror and a notch for its speaker phone. Finally, yanking off the rear cover will provide access to the SIM card slot, battery, and microSD card slot.

The Motorola FLIPOUT has 3.1-megapixel camera - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
The Motorola FLIPOUT has 3.1-megapixel camera - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review

The Motorola FLIPOUT has 3.1-megapixel camera



Just like the Motorola CHARM, we like the layout and feel of the FLIPOUT's physical keyboard. In addition, the prominent and decently sized buttons are more than acceptable in typing out a message.

The QWERTY keyboard of the Motorola FLIPOUT - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review
The QWERTY keyboard of the Motorola FLIPOUT - Motorola FLIPOUT for AT&T Review

The QWERTY keyboard of the Motorola FLIPOUT



13 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 22 Oct 2010, 09:36

1. itsthenew (unregistered)


So bad call quality, poor screen display, poor battery life, so so preformance, and a not so great response on the screen garners an 8?

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 15:01

5. Zorin (Posts: 152; Member since: 26 Jul 2010)


I thought the same thing? An 8!...maybe out of 100? lol.

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 11:46

2. anarkie (Posts: 48; Member since: 28 Jan 2009)


Yea, what gives. Basically you said in the review that it's full of suck. but you'll give it an 8 based on form factor and keyboard alone? Very disappointed. At an 8, I would almost have suggested this phone to a friend. But after RTFA, there's no way I would suggest this to anyone. A 5 or 6 at BEST based on what I read.

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 09:42

3. Daryl209 (Posts: 18; Member since: 27 Jul 2010)


I think Motorola hates AT&T. "Lets give Verizon the cool looking "Droid" models, then give T-Mobile and Sprint something decent, and AT&T....you can have the Flipout and the Backflip, enjoy!"

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 16:21 1

7. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1037; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


Motorola doesn't give AT&T bad phones. AT&T just chooses bad phones from motorola.

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 15:00

4. Zorin (Posts: 152; Member since: 26 Jul 2010)


Light users should edge out roughly one day of usage on a full charge, however, heavy users will want to constantly have a charger at hand.

Phone sounds like a pain in the a$$!

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 14:28

6. Treatati (unregistered)


i love how you make the this phone seem as vanilla as a manila envelope in a paper back in an empty room with four off white walls.... but you give it an 8....weird

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 23:52

8. canaderp (unregistered)


I feel obligated to say...
I got one of these from rogers for $30, (i was getting a data plan for my nexus one and figured for $30 i couldn't lose).

The keyboard is awesome. I liked the form factor and flip.
The screen resolution, touch responsiveness, call quality, rendering speed, camera, directional pad, battery life, motoblur, proximity of touch buttons are all terrible. The gallery is completely unusable (probably doesn't matter since the camera is junk)
The little tabs that hold the back on, break off easily... my back cover would not stay on.

It's not immediately apparent but if you watch the video you'll notice the dock is on the right side of the screen. The dock on android is normally on the bottom... the screen was rotated 90 degrees and is actually displaying in landscape mode all the time... this wreaks havoc with a lot of apps.
The notification bar will sometimes go to portrait mode in apps. (The left is actually the top of the display) It's confusing; but for example a note taking app might display on the screen sideways (portrait mode) making it impossible to use the keyboard... unless you like tilting your head)

I returned it for my $30... made samwich... forgot about it.
No one should get this.

posted on 25 Oct 2010, 08:30

9. PhoneArena Team (Posts: 238; Member since: 27 Jun 2006)


Hello,

Thanks to your valuable feedback, we reconsidered the rating we gave to the Motorola FLIPOUT, and decided to lower it a bit to 7 so that it represents the device's capabilities more accurately.

Thank you!

posted on 16 Nov 2010, 21:58

10. Boti95 (Posts: 162; Member since: 05 Sep 2010)


That is one ugly phone! Id rather have the Motorola Backflip or the Motorola Charm!

posted on 03 Dec 2010, 22:28

11. Boti95 (Posts: 162; Member since: 05 Sep 2010)


Well, now that I think of it, I like the Motorola Flipout! Its a nice compact phone.

posted on 25 May 2011, 02:56

12. UMM WAT EVER (unregistered)


Honestly i think this phone is sweet.

All you people are giving it $h1T while you are comparing it to more expensive phones. Easy Phone to use and i dont wanna give mine up.

posted on 12 Sep 2011, 12:51

13. kellynn22 (unregistered)


I am so upset right now. My 12 year old daughter's Motorola Flipout with AT&T just broke in half. I purchased it for her June 2, 2011 and it became loose at the swivel last week during school. I told her to give me until this Monday and I would call Warranty since it's only been 3 months. Well, AT&T Warranty gave me a bunch of crap about it not being covered under warranty since the phone split and is now in two pieces. I explained that my daughter never dropped it or damaged it in any way. It simply was used constantly with text messages and phone calls and her listening to music. I was expecting them to replace with another Flipout or a comparable phone. They said no and that it was not covered under warranty. I can't believe the phone was so cheaply made and that they won't honor our warranty contract. Not sure what to do now! Very sad!!

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display2.8 inches, 320 x 240 pixels (143 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
TI OMAP3410, Single core, 720 MHz, ARM Cortex-A8 processor
512 MB RAM
Size2.64 x 2.64 x 0.67 inches
(67 x 67 x 17 mm)
4.23 oz  (120 g)
Battery1170 mAh, 5.9 hours talk time

Latest stories