x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Motorola DROID 2 vs. HTC Droid Incredible

0. phoneArena 18 Aug 2010, 09:37 posted on

Looking at the current selection of Android smartphones in the US market, there is no arguing that Verizon Wireless is in possession of some of the best ones out there right now – with each new release seemingly outdoing the previous. It was only a few months ago when the HTC Droid Incredible was hailed as the next flagship Android device for Big Red, but as we've seen many times already since then, the tide quickly changed as the carrier was indomitably graced with additional devices with the DROID moniker. The Motorola DROID 2 quickly ...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. lewislee (unregistered)


great review htc incredible owns

posted on 18 Aug 2010, 22:07

2. Joe12304 (unregistered)


Good review. I don't even use the keyboard on my Droid 2, but the Droid X is to big, and I REFUSE to buy HTC's cheap plastic junk.

posted on 18 Aug 2010, 23:12

3. TheNatster (unregistered)


What a great review. Thank you for being this thorough. I was in the store today and the Verizon guys insisted that the displays are exactly the same when they are not. Thanks for clearing that up. Both are great phones (hence the tough choice). I'm gonna go with Droid 2.

posted on 19 Aug 2010, 14:00

4. bucky (Posts: 1387; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


carefully with the reception issues though. Id wait it out for a few weeks to see what the issue is with the droid 2

posted on 19 Aug 2010, 16:19

5. brian (unregistered)


i can`t wait to get my new phone

posted on 21 Aug 2010, 11:50

6. Droid2 Owner (unregistered)


Excellent review of the most key features a customer would want to know about. Great job guys. I bought the Droid 2 and I'm extremely pleased with it.

posted on 22 Aug 2010, 08:31

7. lp067 (unregistered)


This review is very informative. I'm going from a Treo 755p to a Droid and am really struggling with this decision. I'm leaning toward the Droid 2, as it's hard to imagine not having a keyboard at all.

posted on 23 Aug 2010, 08:48

8. G-Nyce (unregistered)


I went from a Palm Treo 800w to the Droid 2. I chose it over the Incredible mainly for the qwerty, which I do use more than the on-screen keyboard. This review is spot-on. I absolutely love my Droid 2!!! As for the connectivity issues that have been reported, the only time I've dropped a call in the 9 days I've had it is in my apartment, in which other Verizon phones also get a low signal. The signal strength is way stronger than on my partner's LG Envy Touch, which must be used by a window and held just so in order to keep a call from dropping. I can use my Droid 2 anywhere in the apartment. Another thing worth mentioning is the customer service I got at the Verizon store. As a long-time Sprint customer, with extensive customer service experience to boot, I was totally blown away! They were able to move my contacts from the Sprint Treo to the Droid 2, and even put on the case and screen protector I purchased. At Sprint, you're extremely lucky if they can move your contacts, even between two of their own phones! Mind you, I got that Treo a month after it came out, while I got my Droid 2 the day after it came out. Sprint said they didn't yet have the software to help me. Pffffbht.

posted on 31 Aug 2010, 13:15

9. NJBillyv (unregistered)


I love my Droid 2, excellent phone. Very solid feel to it, it feels like it should cost $200. I've had it for a month and have had zero problems. Phone works great, very clear sound and no dropped calls. Keyboard with direction arrows rocks. Very fast interface and fast browser. Voice recognition is excellent too. I'd hightly recommend it.

posted on 01 Sep 2010, 07:07

10. jawse (unregistered)


Do not go by this review, the incredible now has android 2.2 and 720P video recording, so it has a better camera now

posted on 03 Sep 2010, 15:25

11. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1047; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


The Droid 2 will probably be getting 720p also tho.

posted on 12 Sep 2010, 01:10

12. DDR (unregistered)


I've had my Droid 2 for a week now. I've been trying to wait til at least 30 days before giving a review on this thing and maybe it might because I'm coming from a FAR inferior Samsung that's giving me such a huge impression on the Droid 2 but I have to give the Droid 2 my highest recommendation.Definitely agree with the comments on the Droid 2's build quality over the Incredible. It feels solid. I chose the Droid 2 over both the Incredible and the Droid X because of the physical keypad. But in actuality, I haven't put the keypad to much use - I've grown quite fond of the swype feature. Though it's just nice to have option of the keypad available as opposed to the X and the Incredible. In my opinion, as much as I'm loving the Droid 2, i think it's just going to boil down to personal preference for a physical keypad. The other differences between these 2, as well as the X are negligible. They're both great choices.

posted on 28 Sep 2010, 09:05

13. CorpHandHeldTech (unregistered)


Loved your review, but do not totally agree with your conclusion. IMHO, HTC has just done a better job at implementing the Android OS, has a better user experience than the Motorola has, and since the rollout of Android 2.2 Froyo to the Incredible there isn't that much difference in the two. The Incredible performs slightly better, and has a nicer camera, and overall, I'm still recommending the HTC- unless the physical keyboard is important. The Moto just hasn't done enough to push the design in my opinion.

posted on 18 Oct 2010, 08:30

14. LBB (unregistered)


Despite the effort to maintain neutral, the review is clearly written by a serious Droid fanboi. My feeling is that if you need the physical keyboard, there's something wrong with the i/f (and trust me, I've been burned by bad touchscreen implementations before -- can you say "Glyde" -- so I'm hard to win over). Having a keyboard to back up a touch screen that you can't really make work seems backwards somehow. 2.2 is on the Incredible now, so that's irrelevant. I really appreciate the thorough review, and I think I'm probably going to choose the Incredible, but I want a little more time in the shop playing with both models to figure out which one has more friendly edge buttons (yeah, it's probably going to come down to that -- seriously, badly placed edge buttons will make you want to kill yourself...can you say "Glyde").

posted on 19 Oct 2010, 00:14

15. eazyduzit (unregistered)


Really great review. Thank you for expanding all the details for both phone. I currently have an HTC Eris but will most likely upgrade to the Droid 2. Thanks again--I will definitely save this website on my favorites.

posted on 21 Mar 2011, 09:54

16. Huskee (unregistered)


I own the Incredible, upgraded from the eris and it is "incredible", very aptly-named. From this review it sounds as if they each have one little thing here and there that the other outperforms it on. That tells me that if the two phones were in the super bowl they'd hit quadruple overtime and the fans would just leave. They are equals! Decide if you want a slide-out keyboard to collect dirt, or not. I use Swype beta on my Incredible, and it is undeniably THE fastest way to type. 8mp camera on the Incredible means you can tweak the pic on your pc and print a higher-resolution 8x10 from this phone than the droid 2. Colors? well, I tweak my pics anyway, regardless.
I'm an Incredible.

posted on 06 Oct 2011, 14:02

17. dcv (unregistered)


Ive had two droid 2s in the past yr and at first i loved them but i get to get a new one due to a bootloader error. not happy so i got another one and the same thing happened to that phone. these phones were not damaged or dropped and not used very much. and verizon would not give me a replacement on either phone so i spend over a grand on phones that crapped out in under a yr hopefully the incrediable is better

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories