x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Motorola DROID 2 vs RIM BlackBerry Torch 9800

0. phoneArena 20 Aug 2010, 07:43 posted on

Capping off to what's being regarded as one of the busiest summer seasons ever to be witnessed in the mobile industry, both the BlackBerry Torch 9800 and Motorola DROID 2 decided to have an old fashion showdown at the O.K. Corral...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. mbabasmrtphnz (unregistered)


i liked this a lot. great review. id love to see the palm pre plus (gsm version) vs. the torch see that they have a similar form factor. that would be interesting.

posted on 20 Aug 2010, 16:27

2. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1052; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


The palm is so old now but would still probably win especially cuz of the price tag it has: free!

posted on 20 Aug 2010, 20:04

3. testman22 (Posts: 337; Member since: 03 Nov 2009)


Its nice to see phone arena is picking clear winners in these battles

posted on 21 Aug 2010, 00:06 1

4. DroidCLH (unregistered)


I'll save you the trouble, Droid 2 Wins because the torch is using a screen from 2005 and processor from 2008.

posted on 21 Aug 2010, 09:34

5. Sniggly (Posts: 7178; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


So while the Torch's response time, when up and running, is all well and good, I'm curious: does it still take ten minutes to power up like every other Blackberry phone in the history of ever?

posted on 16 Dec 2010, 19:30

9. RT @jimmyontheradio (unregistered)


I have a Torch and that was a worry, but it powers up very quickly, unlike past BBs.

posted on 25 Aug 2010, 18:31

6. Concerned (unregistered)


Great Phone! However, can you be completely sure that Motorola won't leave you with an obsolete phone by denying you an OS upgrade in no time?

posted on 06 Sep 2010, 08:42

7. cc16177 (Posts: 312; Member since: 09 May 2010)


They just updated the Droid 1 to 2.2 and that phone came out almost a year ago...

posted on 30 Sep 2010, 03:50

8. phonebunny (unregistered)


Seriously the best review I've seen in a very long time. No bias, clear and clean categories and definite conclusion. Nice job!!!

posted on 16 Dec 2010, 19:36

10. RT @jimmyontheradio (unregistered)


I kinda figured I knew where this review was headed, but I like that both sides are heard out. I've been fortunate enough to use both the Torch and the Droid 2 and I would say I am a little torn, myself. I wish RIM would put something out with the memory and processing speed of any Droid. I love RIM's OSes - they're just so crisp with little to no flaws. Everything makes sense after you play with it enough, plus the Torch keyboard is just the best I've ever used. I don't like the apps running in the background of the Droid. That is and will be my main gripe about the Droid until there's a permanent solution. You'll be happier with either phone, but if you aren't in a huge city, go with Verizon since they have coverage everywhere. AT&T lacks in you aren't in NYC or San Fran.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories