x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Motorola CITRUS Review

Posted: , by Brian K.

Tags:

Go to page
Motorola CITRUS Review
Introduction:

Motorola CITRUS Review
How things have changed in just a year. Roll back to late 2009 and Android was making its debut on Verizon. The Motorola DROID and HTC DROID Eris took Big Red by storm, with top of the line spec sheets and tons of hype. Android was shiny, new and exclusive. Fast forward to the holiday season 2010 and Android is no longer in rarified air. Sure, there are still high end phones like the Samsung Fascinate and HTC DROID Incredible, but now it also occupies the low end as well, and there is no better example right now than the Motorola CITRUS. This entry-level model offers a 3” capacitive display, microSD expansion and a 3 megapixel camera. The CITRUS ships with a 2GB microSD card and combo USB/AC adapter charger.


Design:

The Motorola CITRUS is an eco friendly phone, made out of recycled plastics and is PVC and BFR free. Unlike previous eco friendly phones, notably from Samsung and LG, the CITRUS feels cheap. The back door has sharp edges and the plastic feels quite subpar. This feeling continues when you look at the 240x320 TFT display. It is grainy, hard to view in direct sunlight and colors look bland and washed out. It’s quite bad, to be blunt. Overall the phone feels like a pebble, kind of like a closed Pre if it were made out of cardboard.

The Motorola CITRUS is an eco friendly phone, made out of recycled plastics - Motorola CITRUS Review
The Motorola CITRUS is an eco friendly phone, made out of recycled plastics - Motorola CITRUS Review
The Motorola CITRUS is an eco friendly phone, made out of recycled plastics - Motorola CITRUS Review

The Motorola CITRUS is an eco friendly phone, made out of recycled plastics


Motorola CITRUS Review

You can compare the Motorola CITRUS with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The right side of the Motorola CITRUS has the volume rocker and camera key while the left simply has the microUSB charging/data port. The power button and 3.5mm headphone jack is on the top. There is a channel running around the phone, which serves more to accentuate the sharp edges of the battery door. The back has the 3 megapixel camera and a Backtrack pad like we first saw on the Motorola BackFlip. There are two physical keys below the screen - send and end - and the four standard Android navigation keys are capacitive.

The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review
The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review
The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review
The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review
The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review
The sides of the Motorola CITRUS - Motorola CITRUS Review

The sides of the Motorola CITRUS


There is no other way to say it, the CITRUS feels pretty awful. We racked out brains, but couldn’t think of a non-knockoff handset that felt this bad. The materials are low grade, the display is poor and build quality is suspect. It’s not that we think the CITRUS will fall apart necessarily, but it definitely feels like it might dissolve if you drop it in a glass of water.

Motorola CITRUS 360-degree View:



13 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 08 Dec 2010, 20:50 3

1. mr. droid (Posts: 278; Member since: 21 Aug 2010)


this thing is a waste of plastic, but it is for the kids, they want a piece of the android pie, like mom and dad have, so why not give it to them.. not a bad idea, just dont do it with the citrus. the LG vortex is twice the phone for pennies over two years of having a pile of rubbish like this citrus crap.

posted on 09 Dec 2010, 15:47

2. Zorin (Posts: 152; Member since: 26 Jul 2010)


batt...good, batt. bad...can anyone give a consistent response to the talk/standby times?

posted on 10 Dec 2010, 07:35

3. Sniggly (Posts: 6781; Member since: 05 Dec 2009)


Sadly, my impression of the Citrus fits this review pretty spot on. After making such great high end phones, and especially after the disappointment of the devour, I was hoping that Motorola would stop using left over designs from before Jha's tenure.

posted on 26 Dec 2010, 01:13

4. Boti95 (Posts: 162; Member since: 05 Sep 2010)


Think it many times over before you buy this phone. The LG Vortex is a way better option. Unless if you dont want, get the LG Vortex. You can have this phone prepaid if you buy it in a VW store or Wal-Mart.

posted on 01 Jul 2011, 20:07

5. OmyFlippngosh! (unregistered)


I have been on the internet for 15 minutes trying to find out how to put a ringtone for incoming text messages instead of this unaudible sound that is in my new Citrus phone.I hate everything about this phone.I am going to take the night classes they offer for the phone to understand how to use it.I hope they offer a " Social Electronic Suicidal Prevention just about ready to tape four pounds of C4 to the phone" degree for finishing the course.I should have stayed with a basic phone(two cans and a string") instead of getting into all this technology.Once you have committed to these phones it's like being in the Hotel California! News at eleven! Man jumps off bridge with a Citrus phone taped to his &^%%$$ %&$ ! Coroners autopsy finds phone twelve centimeters up the mans &*@.

posted on 18 Jul 2011, 22:16

6. butface (unregistered)


this phone is a peice of crap dont try to even attempt to use it!!! Every time i try to go on the the internet it just loads i just get to watch the load bar for 2and half hours!!! what fun!!!

posted on 01 Sep 2011, 09:38

7. megan (unregistered)


crap! This phone is being delivered to me today, it was available for free for my early upgrade, now I guess I know why it was free....thank goodness for the 14 day return policy if I dont like it

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 09:49

8. Citrussucks (unregistered)


The phone sucks. Freezes constantly, takes hours to load and shuts off for no reason. Of course Verizon screwed me and now i am stuck. Why do you think they are giving them away for free?

posted on 26 Sep 2011, 08:15

9. crazybaby (unregistered)


i have to disagree with everyone who has posted. The citrus has been improved a great deal. I haven't encountered any problems. The screen is very easy to see and changing ringtones is a breeze. It has awesome capabilities and I believe with some more updates this phone will be well worth being called an android. Love the phone. Really I've had no problems with it at all!!

posted on 28 Sep 2011, 11:59 1

10. GODLYWOMAN (unregistered)


Thank God, someone said something good about the phone because mine will be here tomorrow, and i know it has to be good for something and i wont give up on it so easily just because of what others say and it was FREE :-)!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted on 04 Oct 2011, 07:50

11. kshell1 (unregistered)


hahaha have fun with tht POS i had it problems all over the place

posted on 09 Oct 2011, 18:44

12. HATETHECITRUS (unregistered)


This phone is the worst ever. Verizon screwed me into getting me. On second phone in three weeks and three is on the way. And they are refusing to honor it. CANT WAIT FOR THIRD ONE TO DIE!

posted on 03 Nov 2012, 11:09

13. keith50t (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Nov 2012)


I have had no problems with this phone. The 3G is fast. I even raced someone with an IPhone and beat him loading videos. I was going to buy a more expensive phone after I learned smartphones but changed my mind. This is perfect.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 320 pixels (133 ppi) TFT
Camera3 megapixels
Hardware
528 MHz
Size4.09 x 2.32 x 0.59 inches
(104 x 59 x 15 mm)
3.88 oz  (110 g)
Battery1150 mAh, 6.33 hours talk time

Latest stories