x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




LG Voyager Review

0. phoneArena 22 Nov 2007, 11:28 posted on

The Voyager shows a step in the right direction. It combines almost every feature you could want integrated into one device. The external touch screen can be tricky to use some times, however after a while it becomes easier. The web browser displays HTML sites properly, but ...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. trikster2 (unregistered)


For me the the biggest conns are: The speakerphone only works with the phone flipped open and is disabled when the phone is closed. This is not mentioned anywhere in the review and it really should be unless your audience is only LG afficionados or enV users. Or am I wrong? Is there a way to use the speakerphone with the phone closed? I was very disappointed with the volume and qaulity of the speakerphone. Your review mentions that the speakerphone sounds better at a lower volume and I did not try that... because I found it almost impossible to adjust the volume of the speakerphone. The only controls I could find are on the side and they are almost unreachable when the phone is open. Am I missing something? How do you adjust the volume of the speakerphone while in a call? Did I miss an accessible volume control when the Voyager is open? Given that at max volume the phone is fairly soft compared to the competition, I'm not sure lowering the volume is an option but I do want to try it at the lower volume when I check it out again tomorow. Also I could not figure out how to listen to music while doing something else such as texting. I believe that feature is available on less featureful phones such as the venus/chocalate. This fact is burried in the 9 pages of the review but I believe it deserves a "CON" as it's a big disappointment not to include such basic functionality in this flagship phone. You cover the touchpad and says using it gets better. I sure hope it does because at first touch it is simply horrible. The best way to explain it is that it feels like the screen is not touch sensitive but that something behind the screen is. It feels like you have to push through the screen (which squishes) to get to the touch pad. Thanks for the extensive review. I really wanted to like the voyager but my first impression of the things that count (touch screen, speakerphone, usability, speed etc) was a big blech. I'm honestly suprised of the almost universal love given to the voyager in the initial cnet and phonearena reviews. Given the buzz and the cost I expected the phone to wow me at first touch. Perhaps I need to spend more time with the device to appreciate it.

posted on 23 Nov 2007, 07:19

2. VZWRep (unregistered)


The Mobile E-mail program does automatically check for new messages, and alert you when you have received them, with no interaction required. The article incorrectly states that you must manually check for messages. The update is not instantaneous, but usually reports new messages within 5 minutes of receipt.

posted on 12 Nov 2008, 18:44

23. (unregistered)


thats with the new hardware update. they made this a while ago.

posted on 23 Nov 2007, 11:12

3. RJT185 (unregistered)


Will there ever be a MightyPhone like app for this phone? It's a great phone, but there is no mention of any syncing capabilities with Microsoft Outlook.

posted on 24 Nov 2007, 21:45

4. jocelyn (unregistered)


This phone does have wireless sync available as well for 19.99 a month. You can use the pc monitor option to be able to sync your outlook with this phone-the only downfall to that would be that the computer you want it to sync with would have to be on to get the updates.

posted on 08 Dec 2007, 10:03

5. (unregistered)


I'm a Verizon employee and as far as the scrolling i have had that issue. but as far as the youtube mobile website i've seen the whole chocolate rain video (which btw is hilarious). Going back to the touch screen though. Using a stylus is def better then using you finger. I've tried both and the stylus def worked way better! The Mobile email i can't say much about becuase i use the 8830 world edition for that. So theres no comparison to Blackberries in that aspect. But yea i find it to be an overall good phone.

posted on 15 Dec 2007, 18:28

6. (unregistered)


i love my voyager! im obsessed with the mobile tv function, i would agree that the speaker phone option should be available while the phone is closed but other than that I haven't had problems with this phone at all, I wish they came out with this sooner

posted on 11 Feb 2008, 01:50

7. vzemployee (unregistered)


as an employee in a store they furnish us with a phone that the employees can mess with. i got it for about 4 days and was very happy and impressed with it. the touch screen responsiveness does leave something to be desired (ie scrolling) but overall is great. this is an env on steroids(if tested has a better chance of passing than barry bonds or roger clemens) as an employee i still cannot order this phone which sucks. we knos nothing in advance of more than a month of launch but there is a samsung that looks like it may be their answer to the voyager for us which i like more

posted on 05 Mar 2008, 18:56

8. (unregistered)


YouTube has a mobile verison of the site that can found at m.youtube.com. Videos can be played on the Voyager from this site.

posted on 21 Mar 2008, 09:31

9. BTD (unregistered)


I have worked for Verizon for 9 years now and have had over 100 differant phones in the last few years. My oppinion on the Voyager isnt a very good one. I went through 4 of them in less than a month. Main problem being the touch screen shorting out. I would not recommend this phone to anyone. Hopefully the 9700 and U940 coming soon will be better phones and have the bugs worked out!

posted on 05 May 2008, 07:12

14. max (unregistered)


I am getting a new phone soon and I was thinking about getting the voyager and I want to know what the problems are exactly.

posted on 20 Jul 2008, 20:31

16. phire (unregistered)


I've seen dozens of them, and haven't seen any complaints like this. I don't doubt you saw 4 bad ones, but perhaps you were just extremely unlucky? The ratio of phones that work to the ones that don't definitely aren't in your favor.

posted on 03 Apr 2008, 17:12

10. The Dude (unregistered)


I love this phone. I have 3 different emails forwarded to this phone and regularly check facebook. I am a fulltime student and vzw employee and I utilize almost every function of this phone and have not been let down yet. The only problem is the sounds quality when a full volume. But who cares, Im over it. I also bought this phone for my mother. She is typically computer illiterate, but she cannot get enough of the html optimized browser, song ID, and VZ Nav. this phone is unstoppable! also, txting compared to the iPhone, o wow, there is no contest, the Voyager spanks it. I would honestly recommend this phone to all. =)

posted on 09 Apr 2008, 13:33

11. Tiffany (unregistered)


I recently purchased the voyager as an upgrage from the palm treo, I have to say what a big mistake. The volume not audible when the case is closed so 90% of the time I miss my calls. Also when you listening to the music that's all you can do you cannot access any other features on the phone.

posted on 22 Apr 2008, 14:32

12. phoner (unregistered)


the thing VZW has enjoyed deceiving people about is that the voyager is at all a competitor with the iPhone. And what is supposed to make it comparable? Because it has a touch screen. I'm sorry, but the sole impressive feature of the iPhone is not that it has a touch screen. The Voyager is a phone, not a smart phone, or a PDA, or any of the other devices that actually should be compared to the iPhone (or that the iPhone should be compared to) I work for VZW and I like the network, but it seems pretty obvious that people are mostly right about VZW's phone selection. I personally own an enV and (shhhh!) an iPod Touch. The Voyager is trash. Oh, and so is the xv6900.

posted on 04 May 2008, 00:28

13. ConsideringVoyager (unregistered)


I am considering the Voyager when I am due for an upgrade this Summer. I heard when the Voyager first came out that you could not use the music player and receive calls at the same time. Is that still true? What happens if you are listening to music and then receive a call? Thanks!

posted on 20 Jul 2008, 20:33

17. phire (unregistered)


Your music will pause and the incoming call screen will appear and give you the opportunity to take or ignore the call. If you ignore it, your music should resume.

posted on 14 Jul 2008, 12:07

15. dan (unregistered)


is it true that you MUST pay $15 extra into your plan for web browsing even if you don't use it?

posted on 20 Jul 2008, 20:34

18. phire (unregistered)


Nope, not at all. It's optional with the Voyager.

posted on 22 Jul 2008, 16:48

19. hailey (unregistered)


i had the krazor and it broke. :p so i was thinking about getting the voyager and my concerns were if the touch screen breaks when you drop it, cause i have heard that

posted on 24 Aug 2008, 21:11

20. Cam (unregistered)


The voyager is so awesome i think its the best since the iphone

posted on 21 Sep 2008, 21:40

21. BMWFisherman (unregistered)


I love my voyager. I havent had one problem with it. and if you want a touch screen phone that makes calls & txt 's then this phone is perfect for you.......but if u are like some ppl thinking they can run their company off of their phone and talk bad about it because its not a supercomputer, then go get a laptop.

posted on 10 Nov 2008, 16:17

22. Aubrey (unregistered)


its the enV...only with a touch screen.

posted on 01 Dec 2008, 15:53

24. (unregistered)


I want a voyager

posted on 31 Mar 2009, 18:56

25. ReduceGadget (Posts: 1; Member since: 23 Dec 2008)


This review has been linked from ReduceGadgetEnvy.com. http://www.reducegadgetenvy.com/Item.aspx?i=15

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories