x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

LG Voyager Preview

Posted: , by Nanko R.

Tags:

Go to page
LG Voyager Preview
This is our LG Voyager Preview. For In-Depth Review, please click here


LG Voyager Preview
Introduction:


One of the most highly anticipated handsets offered by Verizon Wireless this holiday season is the new LG Voyager VX10000. The Voyager is considered a major upgrade from the enV that was introduced one year ago. Most noticeable, the external touch-screen is a first ever by Verizon, even though LG has used it on their Prada and Viewty GSM phones.

We received our Voyager unit today and have put it through some testing over the past few hours. Listed below are our preliminary findings, so please check back for our Full Review that will be posted in the upcoming days.


LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
Design:


The Voyager is a clamshell style phone, just like the enV, constructed mostly out of black plastic with chrome accents. It feels durable and solid, measuring 4.46”H x 2.12”W x 0.71”D and has a weight of 4.69 oz.

The front is dominated by the unprecedented 2.81” 400x240 pixel touch-sensitive display that is used for all phone functions and menu navigation. The screen is bright with images being shown at 262K color depth. It works in similar fashion to the iPhone, but does not allow for multiple fingers and “pinching” of images and web pages.

A simple tap is all that’s required on the “lock” icon to unlock the display and to begin using it. You are given 4 icons at the bottom of the screen: Messages, Phone, Menu, and Contacts. You can also tap the center of the screen, which brings up a list of 12 shortcut icons: Unfortunately, these shortcut icons cannot be replaced or modified, so you must be deal with the ones that are pre-selected.

Using the touch-screen for simple one-touch input works without problems, such as dialing a phone number, but when you have to press & scroll through a menu list, its doesn’t work as well. For example, the Settings & Tools menu has eleven selections in a list, but only 5 are shown at a time. You must press your finger down on the bottom of the screen and slide it upwards to scroll the list up. We found that this can take several attempts before it works as it should.

The only real buttons on the front are for Send, Clear/VoiceCommand, and End/Power. Along the left edge is the volume rocker, camera button, and sliding lock button, which can also be used to lock and unlock the display. On the right side is the 2.5mm headset jack and MicroSD slot that can use up to 8GB memory cards. The data/charger port is on the bottom edge, as well as the retractable antenna, which is use for Mobile TV reception. The 2MP autofocus camera is on the back, right above the 950mAh battery.

LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
the Antenna - LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
 

the Antenna

 


LG Voyager Preview
LG Voyager Preview
Opening up the Voyager works just like the enV, with a two-stop hinge. The internal display is the exact same size and resolution as the external, with the only difference being that it is not touch-sensitive. Located on either side of it are the two stereo speakers.

The bottom half is where the full QWERTY keypad is located. It has been redesigned with larger buttons, which make for fast and easy text messaging. On the right is the 5 way navigational D-pad, which is also slightly larger and has better designed “OK” button in the center. You can use the D-Pad for menu navigation with the internal display.

LG Voyager Preview
Voyager and Venus - LG Voyager Preview
enV, Voyager, Venus and V9m - LG Voyager Preview
 

Voyager and Venus

enV, Voyager, Venus and V9m



18 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. LG Dude (unregistered)


I had a chance to play with The Voyager and The Venus yesterday evening at my local verizon wireless store. I, personally think that the phoneare nice. I am awaiting the arrival(at my doorstep) of my Voyager. The touchscreen works pretty good. I didnt really get to get down into it, becausethe rep at verizon was watching me like a hawk. I tell you, you will be impressed by it. Sorry for not being able to go all the way with it. When I go back I will tell you more.

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 08:38

2. Janet (unregistered)


Yeah, I had my hands on this device as well and it's a pretty sweet phone. the touchscreen does take a little bit to get used to, but once you do, it's easy as pie...but other than that, it's a keeper.

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 11:46

3. trikster2 (unregistered)


One of the reason I don't own an enV is that you can not use the speakerphone with phone closed. Has this been "fixed" or can you only use the super duper voyager's speakerphone when it is open? Thanks!

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 12:31

4. ryan (unregistered)


the phone is great I played with it last night the screen is to die for its soooooo big. if you train the phones touchscreen it works 99%, and its loaded with goodies that the I-phone does not

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 16:09

5. 5tealth (unregistered)


I personally have the EnV and i luv it... I also had a chance to play with the Voyager and it blew my phone out of the water. I effortlessly typed on the external screen qwerty keyboard to find music in V Cast! You also can change the calibration of the touch screen anytime you like! The camera quality is equally as good as the ability to txt at lightining speed! I called my mom in down south and she thought i was standing next to her! To add to that i was in a mall with chattering children all around me. It's excellent and i wish that Verizon blows the slow dial up speed non battery replacement no # pad keyboardless i-pod away!

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 17:23

6. god (unregistered)


I played with the phone at the store and it leaves some things to be desired. It has good size and feel but the navigation sucks

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 19:21

7. elgee02 (unregistered)


VZ Nav is absolutely wonderful. Pinpoint GPS directions and very convenient point of interest listings. During my visits to San Francisco and NYC my VZ Nav came in soooo handy. I can't wait to see it on the Voyager!

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 20:22

8. Nice phone (unregistered)


Nice phone. It should keep "some" people interested in the iphone that don't want to leave Verizon to stay which is a good thing. Overall it's the best non-pda that "Verizon" has to offer. There are of course better phones offered but if you want to stick w/ Verizon you have to take what they give you.

posted on 17 Nov 2007, 20:39

9. Erik (unregistered)


Ok...whats the deal...people who pre order the voyager do we get the phone relased to us on the 19th, and get it on the release date of the 21st due to Verizons 2-day shipping...Or does it ship out to us on the 21st and we get it 2 days after its been in the stores....Hell...Ive already received all my accessories for the phone via internet sales...Talk about putting the carriage before the horse.. anybody know exactly?

posted on 18 Nov 2007, 11:54

10. VZWGuy (unregistered)


I have a questions about recording calls. I was able to play with this device here @ VZW a few weeks ago. But forgot to check. Can you record live calls. and if so is this easy to do while on a call? Can you guys give me some insight on this?

posted on 18 Nov 2007, 12:51

11. FAUguy (unregistered)


Yes you can record calls. Once a call is connected, you have to click on the "Lock" icon to unlock the screen, then Options, and scroll down to Voice Record. So its not as simple as other phones where there is button on the side that you can press.

posted on 18 Nov 2007, 15:47

12. vzwguy (unregistered)


i have had some good hands on with this phone. One thing the reviewer failed to mention was that the speaker quality on the voyager is far superior to the envy. I was thuroughly empressed with the clarity/fidelity from a phone.

posted on 18 Nov 2007, 22:06

13. Kyle (unregistered)


I work for Verizon and this phone is great!!!! It does everything the I-Phone does and more. Nav, e-mail, send/recieve pic, full HTML browser etc... and the best thing. Internet and all that jazz is only 15 bucks a month (vcast)!!!!! How much do you pay for the data at ATT, i think like 20-40... that sux

posted on 18 Nov 2007, 23:41

14. Sammo or Bolo (unregistered)


I have sat here and read everyone's positive feedback on the Voyager and I must be completely honest as far as my opinion goes. This might sound crazy but I am not too thrilled that this device, like the ENV, has that dual hinge design. Remember the LG 9800? I have that now(I know I need the upgrade so bad) but honestly, I don't like the feel and hold of the phone. I guess that will come in time. I like the big phones though. The screen size is not as big as I thought on the inside but it's good even though I think they could have made it bigger. How much bigger? I don't know. Looking at these pics, they make it look huge but when I had the phone in my hand, it was not that huge. But still amazingly big and huge. Oh man, I still can't wait! Other than that, the features are insane! Thank god, you don't have to get some bullshit data plan for this like AT%T forces you to get some retarded $40 a month data plan. Well, have fun, and I hope everyone enjoys this phone.

posted on 19 Nov 2007, 11:27

15. VZWemp (unregistered)


After playing with the phone for a few days I have to agree with the Phone Arena review. The touch screen is not very good unless you are touching an icon. It is virtually impossible to scroll down using the touch screen, you have to open the phone and use the down direction. Browsing the web is very slow, it doesn't seem like the phone is using EVDO even with full service. Hopefully that would be fixed when the phone is released. Not really much of an improvement from the EnV except for the touch screen, but even then you find yourself opening the phone and using the d-pad to do things and the browser doesn't seem to be operating at full speed.

posted on 19 Nov 2007, 14:55

16. vzwemp (unregistered)


i had no problems getting it to scroll properly. Once you get used to how it feels, it scrolls just as intended. The Iphone opened the gates to high priced non-PDA phones. The Voyager is a great step forward. It does almost everything (though why it still cant multitask and play music and do other things is a mystery).

posted on 22 Nov 2007, 00:26

17. trikster2 (unregistered)


Just spent some time playing with the voyager. Major disappointement! Sorry I waited for this, should have just purchased a Q or i760 last month. Screen is weak, kind of squishy. Did not have a solid feel like the competition. Speaker phone is weak compared to the Q/i760 and even the chocalate. Speakerhone can't work when closed like the venus and i760. Speakerphone only works when opened. Ackward to walk around with an open phone. Speakerphone volume is hard/impossible to control. Only controls I could find are on the side and it's hard to get to the buttons while the phone is open. Demo unit in the store the screen was all scratched/dorked up and it's only been out a day. The touch on the touch screen was awful. Very hard to get it to work. Blech was my overall impression of the interface. Scrolling between pictures was not seemless, still a pause as it figured out how to display each picture. Only played with it a few minutes. First day of release, the store was fairly busy but no one seemed to care about the venus/voyager but me. If this is Verizon's answer to the iphone, houston we have a problem.....

posted on 03 Dec 2007, 20:59

18. Travis (unregistered)


hey i was just wondering if anybody knew if you could text from the front screen?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories