x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Review index

Comments
  • Options
    Close




LG VX8700 Preview

0. phoneArena 11 Apr 2007, 08:50 posted on

Overall we consider the VX8700 a good upgrade from the VX8600. The metal body, 2MP Camera, and QVGA are all welcome improvements. However, the call quality, speakerphone, and MP3 playback was not as good as the enV, A990, or older VX8300.

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Dre Liz (unregistered)


Although I havn't used the phone, I have held and played around with the dummy version of the 8700. The phone felt very solid, like no other phone I have ever held before. I'm very dissapointed to hear that it has poor call quality, and a poor quality speaker. LG is usually very good in making reliable phones. The reason as to why the Micro SD port is behind the battery, although annoying, is because we are supposed to power off the device before removing or entering the Micro SD card, this will actually protect the information on the card. I guess people should know that, if they read the manual.

posted on 18 Apr 2007, 08:42

2. JC (unregistered)


The design of the phone is similar to the Razr,but it looks more stylish. Does anyone know the full retail price of this phone without a contract extension?

posted on 30 Oct 2008, 10:24

13. (unregistered)


MY 8700 was 430 but that was around christmas last year

posted on 20 Apr 2007, 15:12

3. TM (unregistered)


I purchased the 8700 as my "new every two" upgrade. It arrived yesterday and I must say, I am fully impressed. It looks good, feels solid in your hands, and, despite what the review said, the call quality is fine. I haven't noticed any background noise. I also haven't toyed around with the mp3 functions much yet, so there is still more to explore. PS: The images just don't do the phone justice. You can't fully appreciate how slick this phone is until you feel it in your hands, and see it in person. There is a reason it's part of the "Shine" family.

posted on 21 Apr 2007, 14:15

4. Liz (unregistered)


JC- the regular price according to Verizon is $229.99. They are also showing an instant rebate of $50.

posted on 26 Apr 2007, 17:09

5. Ryan (unregistered)


Try exchanging the phone. Maybe you got a faulty one. Mine works great and I've had it for about a week now. Highly recommended.

posted on 30 Apr 2007, 21:59

6. JJ (unregistered)


I just got this phone yesterday and noticed a weird buzzing/hizzing/vibrating sound coming from the earpiece. Its almost like my voice resonates through the stainless steel making an odd background sound in the speaker. I see a similar comment by the website review. Has anyone else had this problem and been able to fix it? After all, this is a cell phone so call quality is the most important aspect of it. :(

posted on 01 Jul 2007, 06:28

7. Margaret (unregistered)


I purchased the LG8700 in May and had to exchange it after my speaker went out within a few weeks; now again, the speaker is out in this 'new' 8700 as well. Is anybody having this problem as well? Other than not being able to actually use my phone for its intended purpose, I have loved it.

posted on 04 Mar 2008, 13:33

8. Tom K (unregistered)


I have had my phone 4 months and I am going to stop at the store again tonight. I am currently on my 3rd phone, and this one is also failing. I cannot keep my bluetooth headphones connected. I have a Jawbone and a Sony stereo headset, and they either will not pair, connect, or drop out all the time. I have literally had my phone 6 inches from the bluetooth, and it would not connect.

posted on 19 May 2008, 18:52

9. (unregistered)


It's a good phone. but it only has one speaker on the whole phone which is kinda stupid if ur speaker goes out u cant talk or hear anything another annoying thing is the memory card slot is under the battery so u gotta tale the battery out 2 put it in or take it out. the only way 2 get good reception is 2 turn on the speaker phone. The music sounds good on it. by the way I've had 4 of these phones so if u want a phone dat tears up alot u'll want the LG vx8700.

posted on 10 Jul 2008, 18:32

10. (unregistered)


Mine won't keep a bluetooth connection at all! I'm on my 2nd phone and 2nd headset. This phone does not come with a plug in for a traditional wired headset so the only choice of hands free (law in CA) is to use the bluetooth and it simply will not stay connected. I am very disappointed in this phone. We used to be in love but now its over.

posted on 26 Aug 2008, 20:54

12. spitlube (unregistered)


mine has similar problems - tried a replacement - still not working - actually worse - took them back - they gave us a lower model (my friend didn't know to check the specs first).. now we're pissed at the phone (not it's fault) and the store for downsizing us knowingly.grrrr...may move on to AT&T and chuck verizon..

posted on 19 Aug 2008, 15:23

11. (unregistered)


My previous phone was a Motorola RAZR v3, so I bought the VX 8700 because it seemed like a stylish alternative with better features. I've had it for a few months now, and on the whole I've been pleased with it. I don't like gimmicky phones, as generally the fewer features crammed into a device, the better, but the camera on this is actually pretty good. Coupled with a $20 2GB SD card, you fairly long video clips can be recorded, and hundreds of images stored. Compared with the RAZR, the software on this phone seems more stable and it's much quicker. Call quality and battery life are in my experience on par with the RAZR, so there aren't any real compromises to be made in those areas. However, there are a few issues: - The keypad, while similar to the RAZR's in style, is much more difficult to accurately type with. The keys almost seem overly-sensitive, leading to quite a few mistyped letters and numbers. This was never a problem with the RAZR, and as such, it has become a minor annoyance. - Both the screen on the outside of the clamshell and the one on the inside are bright, but they're utterly useless in the sunlight. Again, this issue wasn't as bad with the RAZR, and this too is a minor annoyance. - Finally, unlike the anodized aluminum of the RAZR, the brushed stainless steel of the VX 8700 gets smudged, and quite easily at that. But that's a small price to pay for the conservative, classy style of this phone. None of these issues are enough to make me want to get rid of the phone, it should be said. However, if you've got a good working RAZR and have no wish for a change in style or for the removable SD memory and improved camera, I'd say save your money and stick with the Motorola.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories