x We have placed cookies on your device to make your experience better. Find more info here.
x PhoneArena.com наема във Варна! Ако технологиите са в кръвта ти и имаш перфектен писмен английски,
ние ти даваме възможността да станеш част от екипа ни. - виж повече

LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
One year ago, Verizon launched the LG Chocolate VX8500, which is now known for being one of their best selling music phones. Since then, LG has expanded the Chocolate line by adding additional color variations (Black, White, Pink, Green, and Red). Despite the color options available, we felt that the phone was quite lacking in several key areas: Voice Quality, Music Playback, Speakerphone, and Camera. /LG Chocolate Review/



On July 9 of this year, the new replacement model VX8550 (Chocolate 2) will officially go on sale. The VX8550 is essentially the same as the original VX8500, but there have been several updates to the style and functionality.



The VX8550 remains a slider phone, but is sleeker looking, due to the more rounded edges and chrome accents. It is available in three color choices: Original Black, Black Cherry, and Blue Mint. All three colors keep the same glossy fingerprint-magnet finish that plagued the original Chocolate. The overall size of the phone remains practically the same, but the weight is down from 3.53oz (vx8500) to 3.24oz (vx8550).




Model

Dimension (Inches)

Dimension (MM)

Weight (OZ)

Weight (Gramms)

LG VX8550

3.85" x 1.87" x 0.67"

97.8 x 47.5 x 17

3,24

91.8

LG Chocolate

3.8" x 1.9" x 0.7"

96.5 x 48 x 17.5

3,53

100

Motorola RAZR maxx Ve

3.9" x 2.1" x 0.59"

101.4 x 53 x 15

3,88

110


LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

Scroll Wheel (more images in the Gallery) - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
Scroll Wheel (more images in the Gallery) - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
Scroll Wheel (more images in the Gallery) - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

Scroll Wheel (more images in the Gallery)

On the font of the phone, the Touch-Sensitive Navigational Pad has been replaced by a metal Scroll Wheel, which can functions in two different ways. You can move your finger in a circular motion and actually move the wheel (which has red LED lights around it) to select different menu options, or you can simply press and click on the Top, Bottom, Left, and Right areas of the wheel to make your menu selections. Between those two methods of use, we found that the press and click method to be the easiest and most reliable, since moving the wheel with you finger does not work all that well. In the center of the wheel a small metal Selection/OK button that you press to access the main menu. The only Touch-Sensitive buttons are for the Left & Right Soft Keys, Speakerphone, and Clear.


LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

Sliding open the phone will reveal the main keypad. The Send, End, and Camera keys have been moved to the top of the keypad and are much easier to access, than having the End and Camera keys on the side on the phone and the Send key being touch-sensitive, as they were on the VX8500. The buttons on the keypad are slightly larger than on the VX8500 and are not slippery to the touch. This makes dialing and Text Messaging easier with less accidental key-presses. Despite these changes, the keypad remains completely flat, which makes dialing by touch alone nearly impossible.



Right side - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
Left side - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

Right side

Left side


The left side of the VX8550 now features a 2.5mm headset jack, so you no longer have to use an adapter. Directly below it are the Volume Up/Down and Voice Command buttons, as well as the Charger/Data port. The right side has the Music button, Lock slider button (to lock and unlock the keypad), and MicroSD card slot (which now supports up to a 4GB MicroSD card). The Display remains the same QVGA 320x240 Pixel 262K Color TFT, but it is easier to view since the protective plastic over it no longer has the “speckle” look to it.




LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 Chocolate Review



LG VX8550 and VX8500 Chocolate phones comparison - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 and VX8500 Chocolate phones comparison - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 and VX8500 Chocolate phones comparison - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review
LG VX8550 and VX8500 Chocolate phones comparison - LG VX8550 Chocolate Review

LG VX8550 and VX8500 Chocolate phones comparison


21 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. Danny (unregistered)


Just wanted to let everyone know that come July 9th the 8550 will be capable of using the GIN program Mobile Email which is a POP/IMAP E-mail App.

posted on 10 Jul 2007, 15:22

2. Kevin (unregistered)


Just as a follow up to the comment above, the 8550 will have email capabilities and can track up to 10 different email inboxes and with the new premium plans there will be no charge for doing so. The mentioned 1 for corporate use should be adjusted with the correct statistic.

posted on 12 Jul 2007, 22:54

3. Rocky (unregistered)


Does anyone know if you use music from the SD Card as a ringtone?

posted on 28 May 2008, 23:05

10. Roc (unregistered)


No, You Can't

posted on 19 Jul 2007, 09:06

4. Wes (unregistered)


I would also like to know if you can use your MP3's as a ringtone.

posted on 01 Aug 2007, 02:30

5. ... (unregistered)


i have the old chocolate. and i hate it. on the old one you cant but music from yur SD card as a ringtone. you have to buy them. how has lg upgraded this phone other than the looks? i mean. on the ond chocolate the battery life is absolutely horible! is the battery on this one any better?? and what are the other changes made to improve the phone

posted on 12 Aug 2007, 11:19

6. Kim (unregistered)


Yes. Create a pix message, attach the MP3 and send it to yourself. Then open the SAVED message and save it from there. It worked when I bought this phone and other phones through my past. I returned this phone however. LG still has terrible reception and it's WAYYYYYYYYYYY too touch senstive. I'm a female with my slim fingers, it was difficult to even take a picture because of the touch pad. Good luck.

posted on 17 Aug 2007, 12:18

7. Eric (unregistered)


The new chocolate is way better than the old one. The scroll wheel replaces the old touch sensitive buttons, and is more accurate and less of a hastle. The send and end keys moved to the key pad and the music player is also upgraded for a better look and easier navigation. I work for Verizon have had both chocolates. I myself hated the previous version, it felt cheap and always broke. I replaced it three times before I got one that held battery life and got good reception. I got the new chocolate the day they came out and havent had one bit of trouble. Bettery and reception are flawless.

posted on 10 Sep 2007, 16:18

8. Kayla (unregistered)


I definitely like this phone... I've had it about a month and it gives me zero problems and great service....I still sometimes have a gbit of trouble with the vibrating key pads but it is a cool phone with a lot of pretty cool settings.... you can set up your clock/calendar different and choose how the navigation wheel lights up around the outside when you get a phone call....pretty decent camera as far as camera phones go....not so great in darkened rooms....fingerprints really easy but you can just wipe it off...i like it it's a decent choice

posted on 07 Apr 2008, 14:38

9. Brittany!! (unregistered)


my new lg chocolate is a piece of crap!!!...when i turn it on and then open it it just restarts. every once in a while i will get lucky and get it to work when i open it. i really don't see how people can like it...i guess besides it being a piece of crap the overall body is pretty cool.....but i would highly NOT recommend people to buy it...=]]..i'm getting ready to go get a new phone so..bye!

posted on 02 Jun 2008, 19:27 1

11. Nick1214792 (unregistered)


The New Chocolate is an awesome upgrade to the old one, but it isn't the best phone.The upgrade to a spin wheel is way less touchy because you click to use the buttons instead of tons of touchy buttons. It also has different display themes and different types of calenders, but no screen savers like the MotoRZR. It takes great pictures in well-lighted areas, and you can also rotate and resize the image, but you cannot use the Fun Stuff like on the MotoRZR. But on the other hand, it has very quick response to commands. On the MotoRZR, once it is about 1 1/2 years old it will slow to a halt. I have had my chocolate for 1 year and it is still as fast as when I first got it, even with lots of memory used up. But the reception isn't to great. You need to be in close range to [your carrier] store or tower. If you live in the woods this isn't the best phone for you. Mobile Web is very fast if you have good signal. Also, if you're a game lover, this phone has 3D game capabilities. I would rate this phone 7 1/2 out of 10. Hope this review helped!

posted on 06 Jun 2008, 17:48

12. alex_corm (unregistered)


hey, i have bought the new LG Vx 8550 through telus the other day..love the phone but i'm having issues when puting ringtones on my phone...i use Bitpim and it does go on the phone and will play but as soon as i try and set it as a ringtone it tell me that it's a "non-DRM protected file" i get what this means but is there a way around it? i used Audicity to crop the file as well as other programs thinking it was the the program. Is there a way to crop a downloaded file and have it work as a ringtone on the LG chcolate spin VX8550.

posted on 23 Jul 2008, 18:50

13. (unregistered)


how is the service on this phone???

posted on 10 Sep 2008, 17:34 1

14. (unregistered)


i just bought the new chocolate spin it is AWESOME.. i love it is the greatest phone

posted on 19 Sep 2008, 16:26

15. (unregistered)


Hi, I have had this phone for about a year and even though my upgrade isn't due yet, ready to get rid of it. I want to get the Juke. To answer everyone's questions: You can use MP3's as ringtones, buying them from VZW Store, or going towww.funformobile.com, and you cannot anymore record a voice recording and use it as a ringtone, this rule applies for all 2007-on VZW phones. In response to one of the recent comments, the phone's scroll wheel is irritating and a hassle. So are the touch buttons. Plus, after about 30 seconds, the number keys lockup, so the phone is not ideal if you're going to be calling automated payment systems on it. And, lastly, the new Chocolate is a Piece of Crap phone. I hate it, and would never get another Chocolate.

posted on 20 Nov 2008, 10:32 1

16. (unregistered)


i love the new chocolate i have had mine for over a year and its been through college spring break, a toliet and my many accidents and it still hasnt given me any trouble!

posted on 26 Nov 2008, 19:59

17. melanovaaa (unregistered)


i got this phone about a month ago from verizon unwillingly because qwest no longer will have wireless services. i only got this phone because it was a slider like my old phone and it was free. well first, i had the samsung m520 from qwest a slider music phone like the chocolate. the only pro here from the samsung phone is that you can listen to music whil using other apps such as text. second, i get horrible service along with battery life with the chocolate; something i've never really had to deal with when i had qwest. for me, i live in a basement with many windows and go to school in a building near many other businesses and many windows. i still struggle to get service in these places and maybe it's just the phone but who knows. third, the touch buttons are really inconvenient. while i enjoy using the scroll wheel, the touch buttons often get in the way when i barely even touch them - this is while the sensitivty setting on low! it also can be a little slow to respond when using the touch keys which isn't that big of a deal but still a con. it also scratches easily even when dropped from a couple feet from the ground and is a fingerprint magnet! some pros that i do like about the phone is the accent lights on the keys and click wheel that light up when people call and the speaker is loud and clear when listening to music. if i was to grade ths phone on a scale of 1-10, i would place it somewhere between 6-7. definitley not he best phone for me, hopefully this will help you!

posted on 28 Nov 2008, 21:06

18. (unregistered)


terrible. do not buy. im on my 7th one. i had the first generation and recently got the new addition. they all break really easily and have alot of flaws. they fixed alot of the problems of the origional generation but it still has problems. its just not worth it

posted on 24 Feb 2009, 20:14

19. martii_X (Posts: 1; Member since: 24 Feb 2009)


i have had the original version of this phone for almost 2 years and have broken it 22 times(: joy right? the non full keyboard sucks and it is sooooooooooooooooo slow. it takes forever for it to load. it has a really bad battery that always runs out of battery and i hate it. :b

posted on 16 Jul 2013, 01:10

20. Dmurry (unregistered)


I just received my LGVX8550 on July 13. I love the phone look and speed, I love the lights, and I recorded my own ringtones from music that I had already. This phone does not come with good ring tones. The first day I used it the left and right and clear buttons starting sticking this is very annoying. Also when I'm texting my the phone itself sends the text even before I finish typing. It has done this a few times. These are the problems Im having right now and the wheel sticks sometimes too. I am mailing the phone back to where I purchased it and they are going to fix it and if they cant they will give me another phone or refund if I want it. Even with these problem I still love the phone and I will keep it either way and just purchase another phone later. I have learned from purchased this phone though that I wont buy another phone with with buttons on the screen that are flat and that click. They would work better if they had made them with a little bump sticking up a portion of the regular buttons on just a regular key button. Verizon should make another one and change the buttons that you use for texting, menu, and clearing mistakes. It would work better.

posted on 18 Oct 2013, 08:23

21. Dmurry (unregistered)


I have received my new LGVX8550 and I havent had in problems with it. I really love this phone.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display240 x 320 pixels TFT
Camera1.3 megapixels
Size3.85 x 1.87 x 0.67 inches
(98 x 47.5 x 17 mm)
3.24 oz  (92 g)
Battery800 mAh, 4.16 hours talk time

Latest stories