x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

Posted: , by Victor H.

Tags:

Go to page
LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
Introduction:

The LG Optimus 3D, expected to hit AT&T shores as the LG Thrill 4G, aims to deliver more than most other high-end devices do. With its dual-core processor, dual cameras and dual-channel memory, it scores a triple double, but will this be enough for it to get noticed in the packed high-end Android space? The dual-core TI OMAP4430 chip is one of the most capable dual-core performers we've seen and coupled with 512MB of dual-channel memory it makes the Android experience buttery smooth. Then there's 3D – the 4.3-inch screen does an excellent job of displaying glasses-free 3D, while the two rear cameras will help you create your own three dimensional content. Factor in full HD 2D video recording, and you get the strengths of the Optimus 3D, but it has its weaknesses as well – it's bulky, comes with Android Froyo instead of Gingerbread and the overall photo quality disappoints.


Design:

The LG Optimus 3D tips the scales at 5.93 ounces (168g) and has a considerable girth of 0.47 inches (11.9mm). Sure, the tri-dual muscle justifies this to a certain extent, and the bulkiness does make it look solid in the hand, but the phone definitely feels obese by today's standards.

The LG Optimus 3D looks solid in the hand - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The LG Optimus 3D looks solid in the hand - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The LG Optimus 3D looks solid in the hand - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

The LG Optimus 3D looks solid in the hand


LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

You can compare the LG Optimus 3D with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The 4.3-inch LCD screen with resolution of 480 x 800 pixels is key to the success of the 3D-centric phone. After all, it's one of the front-runners of 3D parallax displays on a phone along with the HTC EVO 3D. When in standard 2D mode, the screen has good viewing angles, but a slightly disappointing direct sunlight legibility.

But how does glasses-free 3D work? A long press on the 3D button on the right triggers the magic and the screen activates the parallax barrier to feed your eyes with 3D images and videos,  which you can see without glasses. The parallax technology works through an extra slit plate atop the standard screen, which blocks part of the picture for each eye, so you see a slightly different variation of the same image with each of the eyes. It yields great results with some limitations - you'll have to be willing to sacrifice quality as you only get to see half of the horizontal resolution and you have to look straight at the screen. Looking from the side, you'll only see shades and won't get a sense of depth, which means that only one person at a time can enjoy 3D.

The parallax display - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

The parallax display


We got to show the 3D effect to unprepared viewers and the initial reaction was extremely positive. But while initially everyone is impressed with the added depth and realism of a 3D image or video, after spending a couple of minutes looking at 3D content feelings were mixed. We felt slightly tired after a couple of minutes, down to really dizzy after a couple more, so we ended up not using the feature extensively and relying more on the traditional 2D mode. The reaction to 3D seems to vary across people with some more tolerant, while others less tolerant to those after-effects, so we'd recommend you spending a couple of minutes with either the handset or the samples below to see how you handle 3D.

Taking your eyes off the screen, you'd notice the plastic build of the LG Optimus 3D. It comes with a soft-touch coating on the back and a brushed metal-like finish up front. Those cover ups make it feel less plasticky, which is a good thing. Below the screen there are four capacitive buttons giving you solid haptic feedback.

Front side - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
Capacitive buttons - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
Earspeaker - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

Front side

Capacitive buttons

Earspeaker


Summing up the design, the phone looks big, bulky, but well built and almost too serious with its down-to-business looks and boring grayish colors. If you don't mind its obese waistline and considerable heft, you'd be rewarded with a phone packing plenty of muscle and functionality.

Left side - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
Right side - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

Left side

 

Right side


Top - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
Bottom - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

Top

Bottom


The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review
The back of the LG Optimus 3D - LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Review

The back of the LG Optimus 3D



LG Optimus 3D 360-degrees View:



24 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 15 Jul 2011, 08:35 1

1. sotos73 (Posts: 17; Member since: 03 Jul 2011)


Galaxy s2 or lg 3d tell me please !!!!!,

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 09:39 5

3. vette21man (Posts: 351; Member since: 06 Apr 2011)


Easy choice: choose Galaxy SII. Choose the LG if you want to impress your friends for 10mins with the gimmicky 3D (that's about how long your battery will last). The Galaxy SII is a beast with future-proof features and no gimmicks...clearly the winner.

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 11:10 3

4. KingK (unregistered)


What future-proof features?

It has no features that no one else has. Meanwhile missing some its self.

Both these phones will be obsolete this year anyway.

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 17:23 3

6. bastian890 (unregistered)


About samsung gs2 i don´t like the fact that it doesn´t have stereo speakers or stereo mics for video and i always disliked android icons and widgets and i´m not a fan of samsung either.But with dual core 1.2ghz speed, a processor that delivers the best benchmarks so far, 1gb ram, 4.3 super amoled plus without the pentile arrangement as the previous model, codecs support, mhl and usb on the go, bluetooth 3.0, it´s certainly future proof and won´t be obsolete in at least three years. It´s even hard to imagine better features. I can only think of camera improvements, quad core processor, foldable screen... by the way i don´t own a gs2.

posted on 22 Jul 2011, 15:56 2

14. twenti7 (Posts: 152; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)


No phone is future proof. No matter what features or specs it has, there will be a phone out within 6 months that is just a little bit better, with many others following suit.

Granted, it will still be a great phone for another year or more, much the same way that the EVO 4G is still a great phone, despite no longer being the best.

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 08:58 1

2. remixfa (Posts: 13903; Member since: 19 Dec 2008)


if u want battery, performance, camera, and higher rez screen, go SGS2. If you want performance and 3d go for the LG.

Personally I think after a few XDA mods the LG battery could be made to last quite a while.. it will need a gingerbread rom and probably removal of the 3d stuff to do it though. The phone is a large screen powerhouse though.

posted on 22 Jul 2011, 15:59

15. twenti7 (Posts: 152; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)


The SGS 2 has a lower res screen than most new HTC and Moto phones. And if you want performance and 3D, definitely do not go with the LG. The EVO 3D is better all-around.

posted on 14 Aug 2011, 07:54

20. Trick (unregistered)


SGSII and LG Optimus 3d have same screen size and resolution, 4.3" 800X480.

On certain benchmarks like flash the LG optimus g2x beats the SGSII in performance. The G2x is essentially the same hardware as the 3D without the 3D. In other cases (sunspider for instance) the SGSII comes out the better. Check Andandtech's Review.

Battery life sucks on all smartphones. My wife and I shoot for about 15 hours of life on our Captivate and Inspire4g phones and often we are disappointed.

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 15:10 1

5. sotos73 (Posts: 17; Member since: 03 Jul 2011)


Is the evo 3d better??

posted on 20 Jul 2011, 18:14

12. Starfleet Captain (unregistered)


They gave the EVo 3D a 9/10. This phone got an 8/10

posted on 15 Jul 2011, 21:17

7. megamrambo (Posts: 37; Member since: 19 Jul 2010)


Strange accent, I wounder what kind?

posted on 16 Jul 2011, 06:07

8. Eingild (Posts: 203; Member since: 19 Apr 2011)


With all due respect, but canPA ask John to do the video reviews? Seriously, the guy (whoever he is) is so boring. Hearing his voice make me sleepy, and is also too biased towards apple. Please make John your chief reviewer. That guys is awsome and unbiased like the one making this video

posted on 21 Jul 2011, 06:47

13. Motto Pubies (unregistered)


I think whoever does the written reviews also does the video portion. That being said, I agree with you. John V is the best video reviewer on PA and should do all of them even if he just reads what somebody else wrote. The other video reviewers here are pretty bad actually, and I have a tough time even finishing the video.

posted on 16 Jul 2011, 17:41

9. lockscreen (unregistered)


lol the lockscreen looks awful compare to sense3

posted on 17 Jul 2011, 22:55 2

10. CX3NT3_713 (Posts: 1816; Member since: 18 Apr 2011)


They gave this phone a 8? Wtf suppose to be a 10 :) and the sg2 is too plane and boring.. IMO

posted on 19 Jul 2011, 12:03

11. okmasta (Posts: 2; Member since: 19 Jul 2011)


balky? it's only 11.4mm thick..

posted on 31 Jul 2011, 15:52

17. dontneedaname (unregistered)


It's wide and tall for a phone with this size of screen. even the Evo, which is known to be a massive phone is shorter and narrower.

posted on 23 Jul 2011, 16:49

16. jthiagesan (Posts: 104; Member since: 20 Apr 2011)


im poor in comparing cameras. Can someone of you please explain me the red lines that appear on these pictures?

posted on 03 Aug 2011, 16:08

19. Illusionist (unregistered)


Ahhhh..that's going to be really annoying..every couple of weeks finding a new "killer" phone with tons of new features and glossy structure,buyers need some break!

i have the LG 3D 47" LED..and i can say the whole 3d technology is little boring and sometimes crab..i don't think it can be the fashion for the next ten years.
any how..this device is an invention it self ,but not every invention is a great product,

i experienced the brand new Sammy G S II and it's an amazing device..a real miracle.
isn't it?!

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 10:14

21. arun rawat (unregistered)


i like this phone . its look is so nice and good.

posted on 06 Sep 2011, 17:56

22. LGNoob (unregistered)


I purchased an LG Thrill and am completely disappointed. I've read a bunch of reviews about it and none have discussed the true downsides of the device. It's as if they used the phone long enough just to make the review. This is what I've found:

The phone is glitchy. The home screen will restart and redraw my icons and widgets so there are times when I hit the home button that I'm presented with a temporarily blank screen and left waiting. Not to mention that pretty much anything that LG has made software-wise has either frozen/crashed or reset on me with normal use. There are even times when I can't seem to unlock the phone because the swipe screen only goes up a little bit and then resets so I have to try over and over until it finally unlocks (and yes I know you have to grab the bottom of the slider).

Hardware wise seems to be solid, however things like the gyroscope stopped working on me so I had to reset the phone to get it to detect and change from portrait to landscape mode. The speaker when listening to phone calls distorts constantly with higher pitched voices until you turn the volume down under half volume which is not as high as I'd like because I don't push the phone directly against my ear.

Of the 4 stock icons on the bottom, at least 2 are stupid but you cannot change them to what you actually want there. I rarely use the phone icon and I never use the 3D icon.

3D isn't just kinda stupid, it's terrible. You get this terrible looking picture (because it's 1/2 the resolution streeeeetched out) that never looks quite right. The games inputs change from tilting to pushing the screen because you can't tilt the device without losing the 3D image. And the reason each person has a different experience is that each person's eyes are at different distances from eachother on their heads. Also, the flash does not function in 3D capture mode. The 3D is a complete waste and should not be the sole reason to buy this phone.

It's really freaking heavy. I'm not used to LG or Motorola devices so to me this thing feels like a brick.

The battery life does suck bigtime. I left my phone completely idle from a full charge just to see how quickly the battery would drain... after 4 hours I was down to under 80% charge which means it should only last at MOST 20 hours total. It reminds me of my old Palm Pre.

The build and finish of this phone is top notch though. I LOVE the feel of the back cover and the brushed panels on the front are a nice touch.

I hope this review helps potential buyers.

posted on 11 Sep 2011, 08:49

24. salim (Posts: 1; Member since: 18 Aug 2011)


you can change the 4 stock icons on the bottom and the battery life isn't that bad it can last with me more than 30 hours with moderate use. I didn't face any of the problems you mentioned so I think its a very good phone after all... ;)

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 22:22

23. Damon (unregistered)


I am looking for a tough phone that will work well and download fast. I think the LG Thrill sounds great! There is a lot to love on this phone, mainly the dual-core processor and 4G. I love streaming movies so with all of these features, the Thrill should have no problem keeping up with me. The app that I use to stream is the DISH Remote Access app. I love this app because it lets me stream movies and TV shows anywhere I am in clear HD! As a customer and employee of DISH Network, I have been using the DISH Remote Access app for a long time on my previous phone, and I know that it is going to work great on the LG Thrill once I get it!

posted on 15 Oct 2011, 18:33

25. azhan (unregistered)


the galaxy s2 and the lg optimus 3d is the same.the difference between them is 3D.some people i agree that battery is terrible but i'm sure that lg will under estmate this and will make powerful battery like the same standard as galaxy s2 really if you want a phone that has a long lasting battery and does the same speed as the galaxy s2 plus do 3D than your best option is the HTC EVO 3D trust me thats a beast

Want to comment? Please login or register.

LG Optimus 3D

LG Optimus 3D

OS: Android 2.3 2.2
view full specs
Display4.3 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (217 ppi) TFT
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
TI OMAP 4430, Dual core, 1000 MHz, ARM Cortex-A9 processor
512 MB RAM
Size5.07 x 2.68 x 0.47 inches
(128.8 x 68 x 11.9 mm)
5.93 oz  (168 g)
Battery1500 mAh, 4 hours talk time

Latest stories