x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




LG Optimus 3D (Thrill 4G) Preview

0. phoneArena 29 Jun 2011, 06:52 posted on

The LG Optimus 3D, expected to arrive as the LG Thrill 4G for AT&T stateside, does one thing most other handsets can't do – glasses-free 3D on a 4.3-inch screen. But if you think that 3D is just a gimmick, the handset will not zealously try to convince you of the opposite…

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 29 Jun 2011, 08:35 1

1. SinSilla (unregistered)


Which software version had the device you were previewing?

From the looks of the pictures and videos i think you had an old build (since i have seen way better quality shots from the O3D).

posted on 29 Jun 2011, 12:58 2

2. MpowerSkills (Posts: 36; Member since: 19 Feb 2011)


Why can't Verizon get the super cool phones ever?

posted on 29 Jun 2011, 18:09

3. UMMWhoCARES (unregistered)


I've already seen and played with the evo 3d and that phone was lame. It was laggy when scrolling pages and the 3d was lame at the same time gave me a headache. Now this phone is even worst spec so I say "FAILED" just like how I said to the evo 3d FAILED.

posted on 22 Jul 2011, 14:12

8. twenti7 (Posts: 152; Member since: 09 Jul 2011)


You must have played with a broken EVO 3D, cuz that phone is blazing fast. It blows the iPhone 4 out of the water. (even my iFan friend says so) And the 3D is just an added feature, like using the LEDs as a flashlight. If you really don't like it, you don't have to use it.

The way I see it, there is no reason to get this phone over the EVO 3D (unless you're in love with ATT). it's July 2011, there's no reason that a phone should be released without Gingerbread. Not to mention worse screen/resolution, and a worse processor.

posted on 01 Jul 2011, 16:17 1

4. chinakidoliver.iab (Posts: 75; Member since: 07 Dec 2010)


id personally would rather have this then the htc evo 3d

posted on 03 Jul 2011, 08:54

5. ddialogue (unregistered)


I've been patiently waiting for something better to come along at at&t. This phone looks nice and the size/weight doesn't bother me at all. I think 3D is a gimmick...I certainly hope the 2D camera quality improves because that just won't pass in today's competitive handset market.

posted on 08 Jul 2011, 00:43

6. makken (unregistered)


We should not forget that this LG O3D is the first 3D phone in the world and after some time passed after its announcement it did not lose its advantages even HTC came out with similar phone. LG needs to quickly issue update to Android 2.3 to keep the interest to the phone.

posted on 12 Jul 2011, 08:30

7. jacky1234 (unregistered)


I was hoping that the 3D would be more used in the machine.
From what i've seen, this phone only uses the 3D for the camera while adding a little with the 3d Carousel UI.
For example, they could've 3D-ified the whole user interface, having a 3D music player with 3D visualizations. 3D widgets, 3D wallpapers, 3D app drawer and updated 3D icons.

This phone seems like the same as any other LG android phone with that 3d camera added.

posted on 06 Oct 2011, 10:39

9. darkfox1009 (unregistered)


I have this Phone, and the HTC is s**te compared to this. Also the Qualcomm Snapdragon CPU has latentcy issues and runs almost .5 GHZ less efficient than what it's really producing. This phone is better hands down. The viewfinder on the LG is even more crystal clear than this. Don't listen to these hacks about the HTC having a faster CPU because i doesn't.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories