x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




LG Octane Review

0. phoneArena 18 Nov 2010, 10:53 posted on

The LG enV series has been quite popular and successful for Verizon Wireless, as we saw last year with the of the LG enV3 and enV Touch models. But since then the landscape has changed and smartphones are now all the rage, though there are still plenty of consumers looking for a basic QWERTY messaging phone, without having to get a smartphone or data plan. Now we have it - the LG Octane VN530...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 15 Aug 2011, 19:28

1. Recent Calls (unregistered)


The only thing I don't like about this phone is that you cannot view "Recent Calls" from the external screen, so no easy call backs or nothin.

posted on 13 Dec 2011, 18:52

4. stanman (Posts: 1; Member since: 13 Dec 2011)


I can on mine, just hit the send button and it gives you all calls from newest to oldest.

posted on 02 Sep 2011, 08:46 1

2. LGFan85 (unregistered)


Recently got the phone and love it but the 2.5 mm jack is a complete let down. If a company does decide to go to the mini jack like on this phone they should inclue a pair of headphones to go with it at the least.

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 07:04 3

3. M-Walsh (Posts: 7; Member since: 02 Sep 2011)


I've only had this phone one week but so far, I love it. I upgraded from the LG EnV ... which I had for 3 yrs (at least). My contract had expired and my carrier kept sending me reminders to upgrade. But I loved my EnV, it was perfect, and I didn't want to upgrade! Until last week that is. The "Pwr/END" key stopped working on the face of the phone. Let me preclude that by saying, the "Pwr/End" key on the inside keyboard had konked out about 5 months ago.

So here I was, unable to end a call (the "clear" key doesn't work). I had to wait for the person I was talking to, to hang up first ... and if I called someone and their VM picked up, I would need to leave a message and pop the battery off in order to hang up! I couldn't deal with that anymore so I had to part with my beloved phone. And into my life, came the Octane. So far, it reminds me of the EnV, which makes me happy. It's sturdy, the clarity is great, and while I'm not a huge text fanatic- I do love the keyboard.

There were a few things I needed to tweak (like my text mailbox, it didn't show an in-box or sent box) but this phone is very user friendly. Figured it all out within the first day. Happy, happy, joy, joy. I will not be bullied into a SmartPhone. I don't want a data plan. I can use my home computer for web surfing but when I'm out in public, I don't want to be anti-social.

I just want a phone to make calls when needed, with the ocassional ability to text so I can remind my husband to pick up milk on the way home (although, I do believe that if you're truly determined to have web access, the Octane would allow it also)! Thanks for reading!

Lastly, If you will buy this LG Octane I suggest for best deal at:www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B0047T74X6/phonearena.com-offer-20

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories