x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

LG Dare Review

Posted: , by PhoneArena Team

Tags:

Go to page
LG Dare Review
This is a CDMA phone offered with Verizon.
Introduction:

LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review
LG has been a leader in the touchscreen non-smart phone market since 2007 with their introduction of the PRADA GSM model in Europe. Since then, they have developed and released additional touchscreen phones, such as the Voyager, Glimmer, Vu, and Viewty; each with their own unique features. The newest device to be released is the Dare, which is available through Verizon Wireless.

The Dare isn’t necessarily an upgrade to the Voyager, as both are targeted to different consumers. Unlike the Voyager, which has a large clamshell design with dual displays, mechanical QWERTY keyboard, 2MP Camera, and Mobile TV service, the Dare is much sleeker and sexier, with only one display, more robust user interface, multitasking, and 3.2MP Camera. It also comes on the heals of the release of the Samsung Glyde, which didn’t do so well under our testing last month. Not only is the Dare competing against those devices, but also with the Samsung Instinct for Sprint and Apple’s upcoming iPhone 3G for AT&T. The true winner here is the consumer, as they now have several options to choose from, with each new device trying to out-do the other.

The Retail Package includes the LG Dare phone, 1100mAh battery with cover, music management CD, and user manual. Instead of a standard wall charger, now included a new modular unit that plugs into the wall, but the cord can be disconnected, which turns it into a USB cable for PC connectivity. This is an interesting concept, but if you lose the USB cable, you can no longer use the wall plug unless you buy a new cable.


Design:

LG Dare Review

You can compare the LG Dare with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

The Dare is a slim and attractive candybar style phone, as it does not flip or slide open in any way, and is constructed mostly out of black plastic with chrome accents. The front is a fingerprint magnet, as one would expect, but the back features the same soft-touch coating that is used on the Voyager. Overall, the device it seems durable, with the exception of the rear battery cover, which is feels flimsy once removed. When holding onto the phone, it feels smaller and less cumbersome than the Voyager, and is also less noticeable and brick-like when placed in your pant’s pocket. This is a welcome change.

LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review
LG Dare Review

3 inch touch display - LG Dare Review

3 inch touch display

The front is dominated by the largest touch-sensitive display offered on a non-smartphone by Verizon, measuring 3” diagonal with a resolution of 240x400 pixels and supports up to 262K colors. When pressing on it, it is harder to the touch and better quality plastic than the display used on the Voyager, but still not as firm as the screens used on the Glyde or iPhone. Thanks to an intergraded light sensor, the display will automatically adjust its brightness based on the surrounding light levels. While in a dark room, it will dim
Front keys - LG Dare Review

Front keys

down, thus using less battery power, but when outside in the sun, the display will become brighter for better viewing. This works rather well and allows it to be visible under varying lighting conditions. Images and text both look excellent, due to the high pixel count and color depth. There is also a proximity sensory that will turn the display off if the phone is next to your face while you’re on a call.

The only physical buttons located on the front are for Send, Clear/VoiceCommand, and End/Power. They have a classy look to them, with shiny chrome and white backlighting. Along the left side are the lock and speakerphone buttons, microSDHC memory card slot and microUSB data port, and on the right side are the volume rocker and camera button. There is a 3.5mm headset jack on the top, and the 3.2MP camera and flash are on the back.

Left side - LG Dare Review
Right side - LG Dare Review

Left side

Right side

Top - LG Dare Review
Camera - LG Dare Review

Top

Camera





154 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 20 Oct 2010, 01:55

1. ChocolateGirl (unregistered)


No mention of the touchscreen's subpar performance? It is unresponsive at times, which especially makes messaging cumbersome. When using it I will touch the screen and it will vibrate and make a sound, but the action won't be taken. It only happens 10% of the time, but it is enough to frustrate you. My sister has the Venus and her touchpad does the same thing, which leads me to believe there is an underlying issue with LG's touch technology. Its annoying when navigating the menus, but it is utterly infuriating when trying to type messages and keypresses are missed despite feedback being given! Even if everything else was perfect (which it is not...very good, but not perfect), with the touchscreen issues alone I could not give this phone more than an 8/10. This phone is going back, I may have to give the Instinct a try or break down for the iPhone 3G.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 12:47

3. (unregistered)


Hold your touch for another 0.5 second, it will help.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 14:39

8. (unregistered)


0.5s doesnt sound like much, but i doubt my fingers are on the keyboard for even 0.25s when typing. a minimum threefold decrease in efficiency to make the screen work as it should is unacceptable. try the instinct, itll accurately keep up with even the fastest typers

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 15:57

10. (unregistered)


im curious to see how this touch screen responds in person. very few people have complained about its responsiveness but im sure ill become one of them based on how picky i am. i think it just takes some getting used to before you should return the device. i know people that hated the iphone when they first got it and now they cant put it down (i mention that b/c i think the iphone has a great touch screen response). the learning curve should kick in soon and you'll be typing fast again. if not...just return it, buy a real qwerty phone, and wait until technology catches up so that touch screens are more bearable.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 17:34

14. (unregistered)


Try calibrating with a stylus, it helps!

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 18:18

16. atakid (unregistered)


have you ever considered the fact that you may have a deffective handset? if it something like what you descrided were to occur, sites like these would tell you about them.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 09:00

26. (unregistered)


I also calibrated mine with a stylus and have had none of the touchscreen problems described by Chocolategirl... i've texted my face off, set up mobile e-mail and surfed the net alot and have had touch problems less than 1% of the time, and those extremly rare issues only happened for the first day or so as i was getting used to my first touch screen phone...glad she managed to get that I-Phone plug in though, wouldn't be a good thread around here without it also, when the reviewer mentioned his dissapointment that Mobile e-mail didn't offer Corporate capabilities he apparrently didn't browse the phone applications for "remote Sync" which allows you to recieve corp e-mail on the Dare

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 14:41

51. ata_isbankrupt (unregistered)


atakid, you have deffective spelling. by what you've descrided, i think you meant "defective" and "described". and yes i spelled them wrong the first time on purpose and for clarification.

posted on 10 Jul 2008, 19:14

63. jd (unregistered)


I'm interested in getting the Dare. I've heard that it's a good thing to calibrate it with a stylus for better touchscreen accuracy...but do you HAVE to use it with a stylus or can you still use your finger or thumb and get accurate results? Thanks!

posted on 11 Jul 2008, 22:38

67. (unregistered)


it's nice, responsive but the signal is not as good

posted on 11 Jul 2008, 22:39

68. (unregistered)


calibrateif u want to work right for your finger

posted on 19 Jul 2008, 04:29

96. (unregistered)


yea you can still use your finger cause i do and i love my new dare and i dont kno why so many people are haveing problems with it but it is a GREAT phone to have

posted on 17 Aug 2008, 16:24

133. (unregistered)


Yeah, if it vibrated like it registered the touch but nothing showed up, that means you missed the button. Trust me, I've tested the hell out of that theory. If you hit the button on the side of the key, chances are as your finger pulls up, the last past that gets registered is an area outside of the button. Therefore, it acknowledges that you touched the screen, but since at the last moment you finger was no longer in the button, it do do what you though it would. This can vary a lot depending on your calibration. So try recalibrating and test it again.

posted on 20 Sep 2009, 18:27

151. vaan144 (Posts: 7; Member since: 24 Jun 2009)


you can press for any amount of time, just hard enough and in the right spot. sometimes my callibration is off so touching the screen misses the icon and i just get haptic feedback.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 12:44

2. Mr LaZy (unregistered)


Does this phone have the ability to turn off Vibrate on touch like the Voyager? I wouldn't see a problem with the touchvibe and no response if I turned it off. You'd never notice anything except the fact that you have to touch it again.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 13:31

6. XxTNTxX (Posts: 12; Member since: 12 May 2008)


yes you can turn off the haptic feedback on the Dare

posted on 20 Sep 2009, 18:31

152. vaan144 (Posts: 7; Member since: 24 Jun 2009)


yes it is you can turn off the feedback or turn it to a different level of vibration or even type of vibration. so yes, you definetly can turn it off...

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 12:55

4. (unregistered)


this faired better then i thought, but people will always complain about the touch technology in phones, there getting better but they wont be perfect for some time, not to mention this isnt a smartphone so it isnt going to have that awesome touch tech seen on smartphones...bet in like a year or 2 the touch screens will be near perfect

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 13:28

5. (unregistered)


the iphone is perfect, and the instinct is damn close. the dare doesnt compare to them

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 17:12

13. (unregistered)


having a heat sensitive touch screen does not depend on the phone beinng a smartphone or not. Most smartphones have almost dont even have heat sensitive touch. If LG probably can put it in but I think they are too sprung on the haptic feedack thing. The original chcolate was heat sensitive, and it wasn't a smartphone. I know that they are two different types of technology but I don't think that heat sensitive touch screen and heat sensitive keypad are too far off from each other.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 18:16

15. JODON (unregistered)


THE PROBLEM WITH HEAT SENSITIVE KEYS AND SCREENS IS THAT THEY LOSE CALIBRARTION WHEN DROPPED FROM ANY HEIGHT. AFTER HAVING TALKED TO MY MANAGER, THE DARE IS SUPPOSED TO BE A TOUCH SENSITIVE SCREEN AS OPPOSED TO A HEAT SENSITIVE SCREEN LIKE THE GLYDE. HOWEVER, LIKE ANY TOUCH SCREEN, PDA OR NON, ANY CRACK AND THE SCREEN CAN BECOME USELESS. THE SITES I'VE CHECKED FOR RESEARCH ARE GIVING NOTHING BUT RAVE REVIEWS WITH THE OCCASIONAL VERIZON BASHER. AND YES, THE PEOPLE WHO GIVE THE WORST RATINGS ARE USUALLY TRYING TO GET PEOPLE AWAY FROM WHATEVER COMPANY THEY DON'T LIKE. THE ONLY THING I CAN RECOMMEND IS GOING INTO A STORE AND TRYING ONE OUT. THATS WHY THEY HAVE DISPLAY MODELS.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 19:51

17. (unregistered)


TALKING in all capitals is incredibly obnoxious, not to mention makes it much harder to read.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 01:37

22. (unregistered)


yes iPhone has really responsive screen ... and so does any headset with physical (not capacitive) touch display

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 07:40

25. Chupacabra (unregistered)


iPhone uses Capacitive type screen (as such it works only with bare fingers), most other phones use a resistive type (like the HTC Touch Diamond, and basically most windows mobile smartphones).

posted on 19 Jul 2008, 04:31

97. (unregistered)


NO your dead Wrong The DARE is the Bomb and the iphone is big and UGLY SO is THE INSTINCT

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 14:08

7. 8lias (unregistered)


Only if it comes with Mobile TV, it'll be more desirable. I can trade Verizon network and employee pricing over the iPhone (although I covet the iPhone). As of now...I think I am sticking with the Voyager for its Mobile TV, QWERTY keyboards, and nice speakers. Oh well...there's always something better come out next month...and if you keep waiting for the better...you'll never be satisfy....just enjoy the one today.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 15:51

9. (unregistered)


"just enjoy the one today" you couldnt have said it any better. i think everyone perusing these sites are obsessed with trying get the best phone that money can buy. in reality, once you get a device and become accustomed to it, you end up loving it. so do what 8lias said...just choose one and enjoy. im completely obsessed with tryin to decide between phones at the moment and im about sick of it. i almost want to buy the zach morris phone and call it quits, lol.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 16:28

11. (unregistered)


I agree to an extent. My last phone purchase was the original Chocolate. It was so horrible I reactivated the previous phone I had only a year into my 2 yr plan. I decided to do more research before I buy next time, which is why I'm here. I have a month left before I can use my new every 2, and am leaning towards the Dare. If the rumors are true and it's out within the next few months, I'll probably be going with the touch diamond. It's always a good thing to stay informed on your purchases.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 16:43

12. 8lias (unregistered)


agreed on being informed and well researched.....it's lucky to be me...i can purchase a new phone whenever and however many i want...no contract whatsoever...except we can't get them until a month later after it released...the Diamond looks great....but have you heard of the Diamond 2?...haha...teasing....

posted on 07 Jul 2008, 12:18

40. (unregistered)


i can get a new phone whenever, however many i want, and get them as soon as they are released in stores. i pay retail, but with 3k min, unlimited txt/pix vz nav and half off vcast and downloads, for about $20/month, they pay for themselves :)

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 14:45

52. are u serious (unregistered)


are you serious? why watch tv on a phone on that tiny freaking screen when you can get it on a bigger, better screen with more choices?

posted on 15 Jul 2008, 10:31

82. (unregistered)


How do you manage that?!?!?

posted on 22 Oct 2008, 15:43

147. (unregistered)


The Mobile TV chip was put inside the Dare. It must be your lucky day, if you take your LG Dare to any Verizon story, they can upgrade your firmware to access it. :)

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 20:05

18. (unregistered)


For reals though initially I was disappointed with the Dare but the more I use it the more I love it. Given it does not have multitouch and the Iphone in that aspect blows it away. But I don't need PDA features. Most phone have the iphone don't. I wanted a good camera with editing options, internet access, and good u.I. The Dare totally delivered all of this. If you are thinking about it, Verizon gives you the worry free guarantee to try the phone out for 30 days and if you don't like it take it back with no gay restocking fee....

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 20:23

19. wkuiktuyghdkkhg124 (unregistered)


The lg dare has a 3.2megapixel camera the iphone 3g camera is 2.0megapixel it also u can drag items from ur menu on your desktop and when your listening 2 music u can set it so that it will play while your texting or on the internet browser

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 21:19

20. (unregistered)


I think the coolest thing that the dare has is the camera and video options/editing. But thats about it. The dragging and dropping thing might be new, but it doesn't seem that necessary. especially when 11 shortcuts are one tap away. The rearranging in the main menu is kind of stupid too. I would probably hide the vcast video icon under something else because I will never use it. but I do think that the favorites part of the Dare is pretty cool. I think it was smart to be able to have the top 6 people you call in one area. This is the only place where the dragging and dropping is really necessary and useful. But the music player isn't really all that awesome. Its basically and edited version of the Venus. Lg's attempt to copy the cover art thing really really sucked. And I hate how the lists of songs are showed. It seems so messy and unorganized.

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 14:47

53. oxymoron (unregistered)


i'm sorry, "good u.i." and verizon don't go together in the same sentence.

posted on 03 Jul 2008, 23:07

21. The Man (unregistered)


The only stand out feature is the camera. The accelerometer is usless, it isn't compatible with lots of games, why do you need to drag if you only have 11 apps? the iPhone allows drag of icons because of the number of icons you can have. It looks less masculine than the Voyager. If it is a sunny, bright day, you are screwed. Why would you wanna change icons around anyways. A lot of the features are "Wow! I'll brag this to my friends!" The accelerometer is usless unless they have apps to take advantage of that. It has too many novelties compared to the usefulness of the Voyager. But that's just me. Enjoy it today! Cuase the minute you open the box, it's obsolete.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 02:09

24. (unregistered)


The accelerometer is used to recognize when you've rotated the phone thus it is not completely useless it just doesn't serve your purpose of games (and if you rate phones based on how they play games...). And I have found that the dragging ability is quite useful I have like 3 icons that I primarily use. It might look less masculine than the Voyager however I prefer not to have a brick in my pocket so I'll choose the Dare over the Voyager any day. In the end I believe it's probably the best phone on Verizon that isn't a smartphone however that's personal preference and anyone can disagree with me.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 01:44

23. blackberry boib (unregistered)


just got the dare 5 hrs ago and added it to a family share plan, of course i had to keep my curve, after playing with the phone for 5 staight hous I LIKE IT ALOT MORE THAN I DID AT FIRST, WHY YOU ASK? THE LEARNING CURVE,ITS A DIFFERENT ANIMAL THAN NORMAL PHONES, AND PLEASE DONT COMPARE THIS PHONE TO THE SPRINT INSTINCT, THE INSTINCT SUCKS BECAUSE SPRINT SUCKS!!!!!!! PLAIN AND SIMPLE. SCREW THE IPHONE BECAUSE CINGULAR SUCKS ALSO, IVE HAD ALL CARRIERS AND VERIZON BLOWS ANY AND ALL OUT OF THE WATER!!! HOW CAN YOU COMPLAIN ABOUT THE DARE , GREAT CAMERA, DECENT HTML, GREAT 3IN SCREEN, AWSOME MUSIC PLAYER AND EDITING CAPABLE VIDEO, OVERALL ITS A GREAT PHONE FOR THE PRICE, AND ITS ON THE NATIONS BEST NETWORK, HOW CAN YOU GO WRONG FOR UNDER $200 AND IF YOU GET IT THIS WEEKEND BEFORE MONDAY, YOU GET THE $100 8 GB MICRO SD CARD FREE, IN CLOSING, IF YOU GIVE THIS PHONE SEVERAL HOURS OF YOUR TIME, YOU WILL MOST LIKELY LOVE IT

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 09:55

27. Mr LaZy (unregistered)


Now when you say this, is this memory stick free from in stores or online?

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 13:35

28. BLACKBERRY BOB (unregistered)


YOU CAN GET THE CARD IN STORES OR ONLINE OR TELE-SALES, BUT KEEP IN MIND THAT THESE EMPLOYEES ARE NOT EXACTLY BRILLIANT, SO TELL THEM ABOUT IT AND THEY WILL RESEARCH AND GIVE IT TO YOU, ONLINE THEY WILL OFFER IT TO YOU, AS WELL AS TELE-SALES, BUT IN THE STORES YOUR PROBALLY GOING TO HAVE TO MENTION IT

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 16:26

29. (unregistered)


this phone seems pretty decent. I'm giving away my Voyager to my sister and I'm going to try to get the iphone 3g because I think that's the phone to get now (no offense to Dare/Instinct users). But if for some reason I'm not able to get the iphone 3g (mom might not want to pay for expensive data plan), the I'll be SATISFIED with the Dare.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 22:32

31. (unregistered)


that's a funny comment....I work for Verizon and we have merchandising advertising the 8 GB cards and customers STILL don't know about. i have to the them....then there was the brilliant customer today that was playing with the Dare and when I asked him if he needed help he asked me where the Dare was....the general public is less than brilliant and they prove it everyday.

posted on 05 Jul 2008, 02:36

32. blackberry bob (unregistered)


the problem is that nobody knows how to function with these advanced products , and until our society catches up, they will remain far behind, so I ask of you good , but lacking individuals to give it up and wait until the razor 5 comes out before to your next blog. yours truly, THE NETWORK

posted on 29 Jul 2008, 18:55

122. (unregistered)


He's right because Sprint has bad service and also it's a more like a busness company while apple think they can get away with anything like the itunes conflict when the 3g came out. The 3.2 is the best your gonna get on any phone right now.

posted on 04 Jul 2008, 19:50

30. fhnhm xf mdxj (unregistered)


Don't get it, u have 2 pay a special plan to get the iPhone 3G and it is not that different from the regular iPhone

posted on 21 Jul 2008, 12:20

110. (unregistered)


iphone 3G is a joke and their plans suck who cares about iphone on here anyways?

posted on 05 Jul 2008, 13:33

33. (unregistered)


The browser is actually pretty decent -- one trick I found that makes it very useable is to zoom in using the + and - volume keys on the right side of the phone while viewing a page -- which I don't even think is a documented feature but works great !!(makes it much more readable and easier to click on links with one's finger) -- you can also make it full screen -- zooming with the volume keys plus going full screen makes the browser work excellently ....Plus Youtube mobile (and other 3gp streaming websites) works great ! The phone has lots of undocumented or poorly documented features which you will discover after time spent playing with it (and which many reviewers haven't noted) Thank you for submitting your feedback!

posted on 05 Jul 2008, 14:31

34. vzwemp (unregistered)


if you are having problems w/ the touch, take it back. They have been selling like crazy in the store, and I have yet to see a single one with anything less than an extremely responcive touch screen with NO lag. Overall this is one impressive phone.. it almost makes me want to give up my voyager, but im not quite yet ready to give up my keyboard.

posted on 21 Jul 2008, 12:19

109. (unregistered)


IMO Dare's virtual keyboard is much better especially considering enormous amount of bulk. I never liked Voyager I am so glad I never got it or Glyde. Dare is just the best :-)

posted on 06 Jul 2008, 07:56

35. (unregistered)


this phone is a toned down version of the LG Viewty...

posted on 10 Jul 2008, 17:50

61. (unregistered)


no its not

posted on 06 Jul 2008, 09:04

36. Brent (unregistered)


I've been waiting for months to buy a new cell phone and while I hear the Instict is fantastic. I don't have anyone who i know who has sprint. The Camera is awsome, it has editing features that few phones have. You can crop and paste on the phone. Amongst many other features. It puts the Voyager to shame. Initially, I had a little learning curve, to scroll through the menu's. I so wanted to scroll down instead of up. Once you had this for 2 days , you know how to use it. Right now the Rigtone application is not available tentatively July 10th. You can still manage and download rigtones online. Verizon told me to be patient. Its such a new phone that things like games, and rigtone application is still being developed. I played demo's of several games, and they look much crisper and sharper than on my old phone. Putting the SD card in and out requires a bit of effort. Particularly taking it out, women have an advantage using a finger nail, i simply use a pen to eject. I had to do this because i was transfering pictures from one phone to another. Which required me to format my micro sd card. It really is everything you want in a phone but mobile TV. The Menu system is wonderful. I suggest putting a shortcut or two on the desktop. Its helpful to watch the You Tube Video. Transfering files once you have the SD card in place is easy. It clearly is the Best phone Verizon has, so if your staying with Verizon get this phone. The Iphone has an expensive data plan, and the camera is not as good. For Mobile T.V. Lovers I would choose the AT&T LG VU. There are only 4 phones worth talking from the major carriers. Instict, Iphone 3G, LG VU, and LG DARE. (Voyager is good only if you feel you need the keypad otherwise. LG DARE Rocks. The applications will be ready soon enough, and the camera is just superior than all camera phones in the U.S. The review here is very accurate.

posted on 21 Jul 2008, 12:17

108. (unregistered)


Yeah camera is the best that I have seen to date :) Best phone without a doubt worth leaving lousy Sprint or AT&T. I heard instinct sucks and I am not crazy about iphone either.

posted on 06 Jul 2008, 16:28

37. (unregistered)


is it hard to use the keyboard?

posted on 07 Jul 2008, 01:43

39. 8lias (unregistered)


you'll adapt to it...at first it might be hard...practice makes perfect.

posted on 07 Jul 2008, 12:22

41. (unregistered)


it helps greatly if you calibrate the phone holding it sideways like when you use the full qwerty to text. This transformed the phone from alright for texting to amazing. I am just as fast now as I am on the env2, and I have had the original V, enV as wel.

posted on 08 Jul 2008, 14:28

50. (unregistered)


That helps alot! Thanks

posted on 21 Jul 2008, 12:15

107. (unregistered)


Calibrate it with your stylus and it will work just like a physical keyboard.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Display3.0 inches, 240 x 400 pixels (155 ppi) TFT
Camera3.2 megapixels
Size4.10 x 2.20 x 0.50 inches
(104 x 56 x 13 mm)
3.76 oz  (107 g)
Battery1100 mAh, 4.66 hours talk time

Latest stories