x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Huawei IDEOS X5 Preview

0. phoneArena 24 Jan 2011, 07:51 posted on

Somewhat overshadowed by the plethora of big name handset announcements during CES, the Huawei IDEOS X5 quietly arrived on the scene with its mid-range specs in tow. Although we had some brief hands-on time with the upcoming Android 2.2 Froyo smartphone during the event, we're getting some intimate one on one time with a prototype unit...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 19 Mar 2011, 19:32

1. XProflmfao (unregistered)


It would be definitely interesting to watch how this phone plays out in the USA. Huawei is taking stake by getting serious about their American handsets, as evident by this mid-range smartphone.

posted on 12 Apr 2011, 20:44

2. JJ (unregistered)


Having bought my first smart phone back in January, a Ideos U8150, I instantly fell in love with the whole Android/Google setup (My wife even bought one). Being able to sync all your contacts, birthdays, tasks and calendar with the phone and the web is fantastic. So 2 weeks ago I upgraded to the X5. While I loved the little U8150, the X5 is so much better, not only the larger screen/resolution, but the speed as well. And Android Market is amazing, so many apps, both free and to buy. I've downloaded about 12, including Poweramp, Lookout, Quickpic, Batterychecker, iSyncr to name a few.
At NZ$549 it was the best value for money on the market. This model from 2 Degrees came with a 2gb internal card, and I fitted the 8gb card from my old phone, more than enough room for my photos and music. And no it doesn’t have a radio, but I’d never use it because you need the corded headphones to act as a aerial, I much prefer my Bluetooth head phones (no dam cords to get tangled). If you are thinking about getting a smart phone, don't hesitate, they're not that hard to operate (I'm no spring chicken and I didn't have any trouble) and I would highly recommend the X5 to anyone.

posted on 21 Sep 2011, 22:08

3. Said (unregistered)


very dood

posted on 14 Oct 2011, 07:22

4. Boy (unregistered)


Can it be upgraded to android 2.3 gingerbread?

posted on 19 Dec 2011, 19:49

6. georgenz (Posts: 1; Member since: 19 Dec 2011)


Yes it can, I recently loaded 2.35 beta and instantly noticed a performance increase, and battery life improved by at least 50% even with gps and bluetooth turned on.
Apparently ful version of 2.35 Gingerbread is due to be released 31st Dec 2011 but the beta works great.

posted on 16 Oct 2011, 18:55

5. Ree1 (unregistered)


I bought the X5 last weekend - quite surprised myself with the $349 spend, but am very pleased I did. My son now has my old phone and I am learning to become a savvy user of the android. I like the smooth look with only 2 external buttons and find the touch-screen responsive and easy to navigate. Camera is great quality although shutter speed is a little slow -maybe I just need to practise more. Love the phone and would recommend to anyone without an iPhone budget. Using 2degrees is awesome too.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories