x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




HTC Surround vs Apple iPhone 4

0. phoneArena 22 Oct 2010, 07:11 posted on

In a classic clash of titans in the industry, we're witnessing two relevant devices showcasing their respective platforms as they attempt to gain visibility amongst the crowded mix of smartphones out there...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 15:37

1. android_hitman (Posts: 594; Member since: 07 Jul 2010)


excellent comparison

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 08:42 1

2. techsican (unregistered)


I like the new Windows Phone. I rather see the comparison between the iPhone4 and the Samsung Focus. When is that going to happen, if at all?

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 10:05

3. Gabriel (unregistered)


Man , can you share your iphone 4 wallpaper ?
thanks

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 11:39

6. jovel16 (Posts: 53; Member since: 05 Oct 2008)


I've said it before, but you can download the wallpaper by using the "Wallpapers HD" app. Check it out, they have wallpapers optimized for the Retina Display.

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 10:17

4. Lazarus (Posts: 1; Member since: 22 Oct 2010)


iphone 4 is a clear winner

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 10:29

5. jeremy (unregistered)


Sorry, but why wouldn't you compare the Focus to the iphone? I could have told you how this was going to go strictly by the reviews of the HTC surround.

posted on 22 Oct 2010, 21:10

7. Joshing4fun (Posts: 1047; Member since: 13 Aug 2010)


I don't really like the iphone but i still think it wins.

posted on 24 Oct 2010, 08:20 1

8. Arturo Bandini (unregistered)


Obviously you should have use the Samsung FOCUS rather than the crappy HTC surround.

- The Focus has a better screen. Indeed S-AMOLED is fantastic and better than Retina display, and of course better than the old LCD screen used by HTC.
- The Focus has a slot for microSD cards, that allows the user to get up to 40GB of storage! Which is more than the 32GB storage of the iPhone.
- The Focus, contrary to the HTC, with its quality camera allows very nice pictures and videos.

A comparison between Samsung Focus v iPhone 4 would have been more honest and objective.

posted on 24 Oct 2010, 12:06

9. Drewidian (unregistered)


I agree with Arturo. The Focus is a better competitor to the iPhone. WP7 was designed in part to take advantage of the AMOLED screen. Battery life is better, as well as the contrast. A comparison to the Dell Lightning or the HD7 would have also been appropriate.

Hardware aside,
I think that pinned items, hubs, and data aggregation should have been covered more. Apple is just about apps and what they do individually, and has none of this functionality. App hopping has always been a problem with their platform, where WP7 looks to address that. To leave out the strengths of a platform seems to be unfair. you talked about the retina display and fluidity of both platforms; however when you got to the map applications, you left out that you could pin locations to the start screen of WP7. To anyone trying to get to a saved location or itinerary quickly, this is a huge advantage on WP7 where you don't have to open the app and then search or use a favorite or recently searched list. not to mention the other pinned items you can have. with every iPhone app you HAVE to open the app first then go to the section for the data you want.

one last thing.. XBOX LIVE... nuff said.

posted on 24 Oct 2010, 14:46 1

10. JonDoe (unregistered)


For the length of the review it was pretty basic... I would have liked to see a review that talks about how each OS differentiate each other from the other. For instance... he never even opened up the people hub or talked about the hub strategy at all! He never mentions voice control via tellme service in wp7, nor mentioned pinning tiles. He never talks about local search, resturant reviews, whats near by in the search experience (lol or mentioned the cool effect of zooming in on bing maps). In Zune player, he never showed the cool screensaver of zune while playing music and didn't even mention the zune pass being able to access 7 million songs whenever you want!

I'm not a iphone user so I'm not sure what specifc features it has over wp7 besides the talked to death ones like copy and paste and mulittasking (which the reviewer mentioned) but I assume there must be other (not hardware features but software). To be fair i think the review did a good job reviewing the hardware, although other reviews have commented that the Surround speaker isn't so great on quality... i guess its something you have to hear for yourself.

All in all, i hope there are other reviews with other devices (focus, hd7, venue pro) that compare to iphone4. Like Android, the beauty of wp7 is choice! There a phone thats right for you... physical keyboards, 5-8MP cameras, 3.6-4.3 inch screens amoled, slcd screens kickstands, speakers, sd card slots etc....

posted on 25 Oct 2010, 06:30

11. iphone-user (unregistered)


I do not like the not-colorful menu of the WINDOWS 7 OS. Yes, it is different! but ... it is minimalistic-ugly and confusing.

There are moments when you are wondering - is this ON or OFF, is this an option or what, etc.

There are some good phones - hardware-wise - but this OS is not mature enough. For me, clear winner is the iPhone and then the good Android phones.

posted on 25 Oct 2010, 23:25

12. Mike (unregistered)


Does the Surround have a plastic screen or a glass screen?

I'm considering getting the Surround or the LG Optimus 7 (Telus, in Canada), but my Vogue and TP2 had cracked LCD screens (leaving me with the multi-coloured liquid-under-the-screen-rectangle I'm sure many of you have seen).

posted on 26 Oct 2010, 06:24

13. drewsadik (unregistered)


@Lazarus why is the iPhone a clear winner? are you another fan boy? i mean windows phone 7 is clearly a more modern and innovative OS while iPhone is too prideful to change so its stuck in the past

posted on 26 Oct 2010, 06:25

14. drewsadik (unregistered)


the FOCUS would have been easier to compare and also has higher consumer interest. . . consider doing SAMSUNG FOCUS vs. SAMSUNG CAPTIVATE for android

posted on 28 Oct 2010, 05:29

15. GL (unregistered)


I miss a comparison of the soundquality out of the 3.5mm jack, using some high-end headphones. I think a lot of people uses their phones as music-players on the go. So for me, soundquality through the jack-plug matters a lot. Any thoughts on this?

posted on 26 Nov 2010, 00:33

16. Guest (unregistered)


Thank you for the VERY complete and informative review, it was way better than the first 15 comparisons I found online. Keep up the good work, and thanks again.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories