x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Radar 4G Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC Radar 4G Review
Introduction:

After a year of checking out Windows Phone devices, we're about to embark on a new journey as Mango flavored smartphones are finally coming to market. The HTC Radar 4G is coming to T-Mobile on November 2nd for the two-year contract price of $100. Knowing that other mango devices are expected to arrive shortly, will the HTC Radar 4G have what it takes to stay on radar?


HTC Radar 4G Review
HTC Radar 4G Review
The package contains:

  • HTC Radar 4G
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Start Guide
  • Terms & Conditions

Design:

Donning the same exact design as its European counterpart, the HTC Radar 4G employs the typical solid design characteristics that we tend to see out of HTC's camp. Specifically, it's one of the more compact Windows Phones that we’ve checked out – while maintaining a solid design thanks to its unibody aluminum construction. Additionally, it's white and silver paint job manages to offer a nice contrasting look.

The HTC Radar 4G employs the typical solid design characteristics that we tend to see out of HTC's camp - HTC Radar 4G Review
The HTC Radar 4G employs the typical solid design characteristics that we tend to see out of HTC's camp - HTC Radar 4G Review
The HTC Radar 4G employs the typical solid design characteristics that we tend to see out of HTC's camp - HTC Radar 4G Review

The HTC Radar 4G employs the typical solid design characteristics that we tend to see out of HTC's camp


HTC Radar 4G Review

You can compare the HTC Radar 4G with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Strangely, the displays used by HTC's Windows Phones were never really of great quality, but they managed to hit the mark dead on with HTC Radar 4G. Even though its 3.8” WVGA Super LCD display is nothing to write home about, especially when we know there is a 4.7” monster lying in wait, we're still mesmerized by the fact that colors are extremely deep with its tones and vibrant. Add to that its high brightness output and great viewing angles, it's remarkably well-equipped in being able to be seen in outdoor conditions.

The HTC Radar 4G has a 3.8” WVGA Super LCD display - HTC Radar 4G Review
The HTC Radar 4G has a 3.8” WVGA Super LCD display - HTC Radar 4G Review
The HTC Radar 4G has a 3.8” WVGA Super LCD display - HTC Radar 4G Review

The HTC Radar 4G has a 3.8” WVGA Super LCD display


Below the display, we find the usual set of Windows Phone capacitive buttons. Meanwhile, on the opposite side, it's wide looking earpiece grill sits above the display – with a front facing camera nearby. However, it's only used for taking self-portraits since there's no native video chatting application yet.

Windows Phone buttons - HTC Radar 4G Review
Front facing camera - HTC Radar 4G Review

Windows Phone buttons

Front facing camera


On its sides, we find a microUSB port, 3.5 mm headset jack, dedicated power button, volume rocker, microphone, and two-level shutter key. Unfortunately, the dedicated power button and volume rocker are extremely flat – making them very difficult to feel out.

Right - The sides of the HTC Radar 4G - HTC Radar 4G Review
Bottom - The sides of the HTC Radar 4G - HTC Radar 4G Review
Left - The sides of the HTC Radar 4G - HTC Radar 4G Review
Top edge - The sides of the HTC Radar 4G - HTC Radar 4G Review

Right

Bottom

Left

Top edge

The sides of the HTC Radar 4G


microUSB port - HTC Radar 4G Review
Power and volume keys - HTC Radar 4G Review
Camera shutter - HTC Radar 4G Review

microUSB port

Power and volume keys

Camera shutter


Peeking at its backside, we find its 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash – with some notches nearby for it speakerphone. Because of its unibody design, there is no way to remove the battery, however, the bottom plastic piece can be slid off to gain access to the SIM card slot.

On the back we find the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - SIM card slot - HTC Radar 4G Review
On the back we find the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - SIM card slot - HTC Radar 4G Review
On the back we find the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash - SIM card slot - HTC Radar 4G Review

On the back we find the 5-megapixel auto-focus camera with LED flash

SIM card slot - HTC Radar 4G Review
SIM card slot - HTC Radar 4G Review

SIM card slot



HTC Radar 4G 360-degrees View:



14 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 31 Oct 2011, 03:17 3

1. santaclaus (Posts: 52; Member since: 20 Jul 2011)


i still prefer the photos on lumia 800 but at the price point lumia 710 still better than radar

so i choose Nokia ! ^_^

posted on 18 Apr 2012, 05:07 1

15. Leonard-Davis (Posts: 5; Member since: 13 Mar 2012)


I was an early Android adopter. I bought the very first Android phone that hit the market, and the HTC Radar was my replacement.

The user interface is silky-smooth. No lag, no stuttering. Instant feedback. My android device was always jerky, laggy, and stuttering. I recently stopped in an ATT store to check out the latest top-end Android phones. Same problem.

With gentle use, I can get THREE DAYS of battery life! I don't know anyone with a smart phone that can match the battery life of my Radar. When I go on weekend road trips, I don't plug the phone in. Ever. Not in the car, not in the hotel. It works until I get home. Everyone else is scrambling for their chargers on the first day! My old HTC Dream was lucky to make it through 12 hours on one battery!

The body is solid. I've dropped this thing on concrete and pavement multiple times while holding it, and no damage. It has a few scratches in the plastic. The solid metal body is still flawless.

I am not wild about the camera. I've taken identical shots with other smart phones, and compared the results. My Radar shows more noise than the other phones. This is using all default settings - I haven't played with the ISO of the camera or anything.

The Radar might have "last year's hardware" in it. That's fine by me - it's fast enough for everything I've done, and the battery life makes it worthwhile. Lastly, it's a PHONE. It's not a high end computer. I don't want or need a multi-core processor running at a blistering clock speed. I'm not using this thing for number crunching. It's a phone not a super computer! A phone shouldn't NEED that kind of hardware just to provide a great user experience.

How about Windows itself? I like it. Live Tiles area great. It's incredibly simple and easy to use. There are few apps missing, that I'd like to see (Words with Friends).

I've had the phone since it launched, several months ago. Overall, I am extremely happy with the purchase.

*Note, if you're will buy this HTC Radar 4G, I suggest you have to check for best deal before you decide at: Amz4deals.info/HTC-Radar-4G

Hope this helps.

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 03:29 3

2. SpanishDeveloper (Posts: 43; Member since: 25 Aug 2011)


Yeah, I agree with you Dear Santa Claus (lol)

I'm almost sure that I will buy the brand new Nokia Lumia 800 instead of another Windows Phone Smartphone.

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 10:38 2

5. ledbetterp3 (Posts: 466; Member since: 31 Aug 2011)


The Nokia Lumia 800 is a WP7 smartphone...?

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 15:07 2

6. Nathan (Posts: 84; Member since: 14 Jul 2011)


You can either get it in Windows Phone 7.5 OS or Meego OS.

posted on 01 Nov 2011, 09:53 1

9. Pdubb (Posts: 239; Member since: 08 Aug 2011)


That's not the same phone. The Meego flavored phone is called the N9 and it has different specs than the WP7 model. It even has a ffc and a bigger screen. Definitely not the same phone even though they look similar.

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 04:59 2

3. redmd (Posts: 882; Member since: 26 Oct 2011)


" you can still save
up the money for something else bigger and better down
the road."

i miss those times when PA reviews actually name the alternatives.

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 05:14

4. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


Bigger and better? What? IPhone?
It's a quite good mid range phone. For most users...what else could they possibly want from phone?
Good phone. Period.

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 15:08 3

7. Nathan (Posts: 84; Member since: 14 Jul 2011)


Its a baby HTC Flyer. xD

posted on 31 Oct 2011, 22:12 1

8. snowgator (Posts: 3205; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


You know, there are a ton of mid-range Androids still coming out with single core processors and lower specs. Can not recall those being referred to as "specs are last generation" in the cons section. This is a mid-range phone. I agree it is a strange offering to try and kick off the Mango Generation. I am okay with the review, but as in the European model it seems like a very positive review to get a rating below 8.

posted on 02 Nov 2011, 22:36 1

10. Coolaaron88 (Posts: 6; Member since: 20 Jun 2011)


The difference is that all of the Windows Phones that come out that are mid or high end dont lag

posted on 28 Nov 2011, 23:47

12. rayjones09 (Posts: 149; Member since: 16 Dec 2010)


I actually love this phone. It's small but so enticing I must say. I can't put it down when I use it. However I must ask, where is the HTC Titan review? There is no review of it all here and I'm waiting on Phonearena. I favor their reviews the most.

posted on 30 Nov 2011, 06:44 1

13. jackhammeR (Posts: 1548; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


Don't get it.
Silky smooth performance but in cons I can see: outdated specs.
If it works silky smooth and is great in daily basis who cares about specs?????
Get a t-shirt "I got dual core and 1 gig of ram".
That's the way you're looking at phones.
And it's sad. And stupid.

posted on 11 Dec 2011, 23:36

14. rigo (Posts: 8; Member since: 13 Jan 2010)


really like this phone more than I had thought, this is really the perfect size, and works great with Mango already install this is already up there with the Iphone,......would have been nice if MS or even HTC would have come out with an app for the front camera just like Apple's face time...also a dual core would have been nice, even feel guilty for negecting my Nexus One,.... bad boy" hope the next update gets some more animations.......
thank you

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC Radar

HTC Radar

OS: Windows Phone 7.5 Mango
view full specs
Display3.8 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (246 ppi) S-LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
512 MB RAM
Size4.74 x 2.42 x 0.43 inches
(120.5 x 61.5 x 10.9 mm)
4.83 oz  (137 g)
Battery1520 mAh, 10 hours talk time

Latest stories