x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




HTC One VX Review

0. phoneArena 27 Dec 2012, 05:31 posted on

Balancing out its offerings, veteran smartphone maker HTC recently introduced its entry-level device in the HTC One VX for AT&T. The One VX is aimed to give basic end users something to drool about without being much of a bothersome in the wallet. Sure, it’s not an intimidating tour de force like some of the Taiwanese based company’s arsenal, but regardless of that, let’s just hope it can at least give some value to entry-level minded consumers without sacrificing a whole lot in terms of features and performance...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 27 Dec 2012, 05:54 5

1. XPERIA-KNIGHT (unregistered)


Really Good review John but I have one thing that I think is worth mentioning because it seems to be a bit of a minor nit pick with most of HTC devices in reviews that I've come across. I seem to have noticed that reviewers tend to point out that there is a bit of a sluggish performance (minimal lag) when it comes to sense's UI due to its animations. Just today I happen to stumble into my settings just looking around, and I found that you can TURN OFF the animations! And when i did, it seemed to do COMPLETELY away with that minimal lag that is brought up in almost every review.......So while its still something HTC users would have to do "manually"(running ics that is) I think it is still very much WORTH mentioning so users can have the option to "speed" things up if they want to.....Hope you guys take notice of this :)

posted on 05 Jan 2013, 07:13 1

9. emes360 (Posts: 12; Member since: 16 Sep 2012)


You have to consider that turning the animations off makes navigating through the phone a less... pretty (?) experience, and that phones from other companies don't lag with animations turned on.

posted on 30 Oct 2013, 13:49

13. XPERIA-KNIGHT (unregistered)


Like which "other" companies for example?

posted on 27 Dec 2012, 11:47 2

2. babyboy14622 (Posts: 29; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)


htc one vx. what a joke.

posted on 27 Dec 2012, 14:07 2

3. RiseAgainst94 (Posts: 273; Member since: 03 Mar 2012)


Or. You could get a Lumia 920 from Amazon for the same price.

posted on 28 Dec 2012, 08:33

4. g2a5b0e (Posts: 2426; Member since: 08 Jun 2012)


Decent phone, but there is no good reason why a phone with 1.5Ghz Dual-Core Snapdragon Plus & 1GB RAM should be debuting with ICS right now. The phone benchmarks better than the One S which has already received the JB update. I wouldn't expect this phone to release with 4.2, but why not just release it with 4.1 & save themselves the headache of at least one update this phone will deserve?

EDIT: Also, this trend of companies having a micro-SD slot on their mid-rangers & not flagships is just asinine. No reason why a flagship shouldn't have all the features of a little brother & more. I've noticed Nokia has been doing the same.

posted on 01 Jan 2013, 09:58

6. oxygen22 (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Jan 2013)


Does the vx come with a scratch resistant glass like a gorilla?

posted on 04 Jan 2013, 17:06

7. Charlie_boy (Posts: 62; Member since: 04 Jan 2013)


The phones with specs that come close to this would be the Samsung Galaxy S III Mini and HTC's own HTC One SV..

The mid-range Samsung S III gets an 8.9 while the (supposedly) entry-level HTC One VX gets only 7.5

Why is that?

posted on 04 Jan 2013, 18:50

8. Charlie_boy (Posts: 62; Member since: 04 Jan 2013)


Edit: The mid-range Samsung S III "Mini" gets an 8.9

posted on 08 Jan 2013, 00:07

10. kabhijeet.16 (Posts: 654; Member since: 05 Dec 2012)


Amazingly no reviewer talks about the bugs of Sense UI. HTC has changed the android multitasking which is a pain in the ass. Sense kills apps in background very aggressively. This is being done to achieve a hassle free & lag free experience with better battery life. However, none of these has been achieved in any of HTC devices. The webpage reloading in HTC phones while toggling between apps is another major issue no reviewer talks about. Dont think these Smartphone reviewers are SMART. May be I should become a "Smartphone Reviewer".. :)

posted on 15 Mar 2013, 10:19

11. SkiilerCheatham (Posts: 1; Member since: 15 Mar 2013)


Well I just received my vx this week and it is my first android phone have been using the iPhone for a minute and the vx kills the iPhone

posted on 18 Mar 2013, 18:43

12. Charlie_boy (Posts: 62; Member since: 04 Jan 2013)


which iPhone? 5?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories