x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA
  • Options
    Close






HTC EVO 4G LTE Review

0. phoneArena 14 May 2012, 07:39 posted on

The wait is over, the EVO 4G LTE is here. The name says it all; instead of going by the EVO One (in reference to its HTC One X bloodlines) or the EVO HD (a nod to the 4.7” 720p display), Sprint has chosen to stick with the EVO 4G nameplate and bill it as “a true successor to the original.” For a phone with such pedigree, this is a bold claim. Read on to see if HTC and Sprint can back it up!...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 14 May 2012, 07:50 23

1. eli577 (Posts: 84; Member since: 29 Jun 2010)


Nice review, but how come that the non-removable battery comes to the cons section unlike the iphone 4/4s. That is kind of weird, isn't it?

posted on 14 May 2012, 09:20 5

7. Jonathan41 (Posts: 532; Member since: 22 Mar 2012)


Idk but phonearena's reviews lack a certain consistancy that I would expect from such a otherwise carefully though out sight. Reviews seem inconsistent between reviewer and devices. Something that are cons for one device aren't for others. Sometimes more powerful international unlocked phones get lesser scores then their supsidized versions (this is especially peculiar when the only differance between the two is more powerful chipset of the international version). Sometimes the reviewer puts something into cons that's more opinon then actual fact. It's like PA reviews and comparisons are generally mostly based more on opinon then fact. During review they never actually test devices with benckmarks or test to compare statistics. You usually just hear the reviewer say 'this device feels/looks like it does xxxx better'. Meaning that however trained that reviews eye is we are still subject to their perspective on thing much less then actual device performance. PA attempt to tell the reader which device is better for day to day use. That's impossible to do without generalizing your audiance in someway and if each reviewer has a slightly different idea of what the readers want it's very hard to keep consistency between all the reviewer when scoring phones. I used to live buy pa review but I have grown weary. I love PA but, at times I see thing that seem like contradictions.

posted on 15 May 2012, 16:34

24. eli577 (Posts: 84; Member since: 29 Jun 2010)


That's why I diversify the sources which i read reviews from. No LTE network to.....whait, what?

posted on 16 May 2012, 18:09

26. QWIKSTRIKE (Posts: 1176; Member since: 09 Mar 2010)


Read the Phone Dog review and see how opposite things are with a video review. Phone Dog reports better than iPhone camera pictures!....just saying

posted on 14 May 2012, 09:46 3

9. robocopvn (Posts: 436; Member since: 10 Mar 2010)


I just wanted to say like you when I read the cons =DDD

posted on 14 May 2012, 10:16 3

10. androidsbiggestfan (Posts: 76; Member since: 09 Aug 2011)


It just looks like to me they were looking for things to put in there because:
1)It is not the devices fault that there is no LTE network to run on.
2)If the camera is as amazing as it is on the HTC One X and HTC One S then there reason that it is not "always up to par".
3)As you said, non-removable battery is not a con on iPhone devices or any other device that has a non-removable battery as far as the reviews I've seen.

posted on 14 May 2012, 16:55 1

17. htc_prep (Posts: 303; Member since: 09 Oct 2009)


Even though It may seem biased the reason it's in the cons pile is because of the history the EVO lines have of poor battery life (minus the shift) inking out 4-6 hours of battery life with standard use. Which is why many buy bigger batteries which need bigger cases or like me which purchases a couple spare batteries and an external charger to extended the life of USB port and batteries. Hopefully once user accounts come in and if the battery isn't an issue like anticipated hopefully they will do the correct update an pull that con

posted on 14 May 2012, 17:14 2

18. walterwood44 (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 May 2012)


I had to put a larger battery in my original Evo 4G to make it last the day. I would have already placed a preorder for the Evo 4G LTE if it had a replaceable battery. Since the battery cannot be replaced I will wait and see and may get a different phone. Definitely a Con for me.

posted on 27 May 2012, 21:54

31. jeno904 (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 May 2012)


unlike the iphone whose sincer start had the battery non removable, Android did. And while not new in the android comunity it is rather strange for a flagship phone to have non-removable battery, hence the moto rzr and than the max. I think its a fair scare based on what the phone delivers.

posted on 14 May 2012, 07:53 8

2. becazican (Posts: 52; Member since: 09 Nov 2011)


because no one is suppose to speak of the cons on iphone which is a great piece of technology but a lousy phone

posted on 14 May 2012, 08:14 12

3. AndroidTroll (Posts: 359; Member since: 05 Mar 2011)


You should not blame the lack of LTE service on the phone because it's Sprint's fault. I thought you were reviewing the phone, not the service provider?

posted on 14 May 2012, 08:53 1

4. QWIKSTRIKE (Posts: 1176; Member since: 09 Mar 2010)


To me 8.5 is just ok, but if it is the "best" Android device then it should have received a 9 at least.....just saying. It's like saying the best Android phone around is rated lower than its peer subordinates like the Galaxy Nexus or Galaxy S2. This rating makes no sense, but again it is what it is.....I'd still like to hear why its rated less than 9 if in fact it is the best Android device around. I think your rating system leaves a lot to be desired, because the Gnex is rated higher than this and only best this phone with a functioning LTE signal.

posted on 14 May 2012, 09:15 3

6. Crossblade (Posts: 211; Member since: 21 Apr 2005)


http://www.phonearena.com/howdowerate

"Release date: A phone released a year ago and rated as excellent should not be compared to a device that has just came out and has received the same rating. As the technology evolves, it is logical that the new models should meet higher expectations."

The Sprint Galaxy Nexus received 7.5/10http://www.phonearena.com/reviews/Samsung-Galaxy-Nexus-for-Sprint-Review_id3026/page/4

posted on 14 May 2012, 09:41 1

8. QWIKSTRIKE (Posts: 1176; Member since: 09 Mar 2010)


The fact that the phone has been awarded the best Android phone android around certainly suggest that it has met all of these "higher expectations".

The Evo 4G LTE has a better display, better performance, better camera, and better looks with less weight, and probably better antenna signal from the gripes against the GNEX, today as we speak. Therefore today the EVO 4G LTE has met these requirements of today, and the only lacking mentioned is no LTE.

The Sprint G Nexus rating was lame in my opinion, because it lacked a functioning LTE signal it should have been rated according to its peer on Verizon. However it it truely was rated according to the phones as of now the Evo is still underrated as the best phone to date it should have received a 9!

posted on 14 May 2012, 11:53 1

12. Commentator (Posts: 3709; Member since: 16 Aug 2011)


I don't understand how this wasn't rated higher than the ATT One X. Objectively, the removable storage, larger batter, and camera button should give it a few more points, or at least be considered a pro. Subjectively, the kickstand could also be considered a pro. Again, the lack of LTE shouldn't be chalked up as a con, as the phone at least has the ability, which makes it just as competent as the One X.

In my opinion, the Evo 4G LTE should be rated an 8.8, if only because it improves upon the ATT One X, which should be the standard that PA is comparing against.

posted on 14 May 2012, 09:10 2

5. CX3NT3_713 (Posts: 2283; Member since: 18 Apr 2011)


Wow...that battery ain't worth it. Same reason why i skipped the att HTC one x.

posted on 14 May 2012, 10:40

11. Commentator (Posts: 3709; Member since: 16 Aug 2011)


Heads up Brian: I think this article should probably make the headlines on the PA main page. I had to scroll through a bunch of recent articles to get this. Soon, nobody will know that you already reviewed this phone.

Also, looking at the benchmark results: holy crap! The Viper destroys the G-Nex in Nenamark! Kudos, LG.

ALSO (and my ability to continue editing this post minutes later is a testament to the fact that very few people probably know about this review), I believe you have mistaken the continuous shoot function with Samsung's version: you stated the Evo can shoot up to 20 continuously, when really it's 99, unless I'm terribly mistaken...

Finally (at least, I hope this is my last edit), it's nice to see a phone that actually makes superb phone calls, if only to shut up those people that come on here complaining that "people have forgotten the true use of phones."

posted on 14 May 2012, 12:01

13. QWIKSTRIKE (Posts: 1176; Member since: 09 Mar 2010)


To me some reviews I have read compare the lack of LTE signal as a reason not to own the phone, and one site suggested viewers to go to Verizon for LTE. I ran across another site and it had a Verizon add next to the review....talk about beyond biased promoting a competitor of a reviewed product telling the viewers to go to Verizon for LTE is some what misleading. I bet that add is bringing in big money as well since it is strategically placed for revenue.

posted on 14 May 2012, 12:17

14. walterwood44 (Posts: 2; Member since: 14 May 2012)


When comparing specs like benchmarks and memory, how about including the original Evo 4G. Since that is the phone that many will be upgrading from it would be handy to see a head to head comparison and what has been improved or remains the same.

posted on 14 May 2012, 13:01

15. rsiders (Posts: 979; Member since: 17 Nov 2011)


I just love the design and the YouTube link to the behind the scenes work is the kind of stuff I love and would one day love to do. These guys have the coolest jobs in the world.

posted on 14 May 2012, 14:31 1

16. ananya22 (Posts: 93; Member since: 23 Apr 2012)


This phone should've been the international version instead of the oneX. Seriously.

posted on 15 May 2012, 13:36

22. darac (Posts: 2156; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


i second that.
HTC shot itself in the foot

posted on 14 May 2012, 18:16

19. lsutigers (Posts: 820; Member since: 08 Mar 2009)


Beast of a phone, looks great too!!!

posted on 15 May 2012, 13:27

20. Jonathan41 (Posts: 532; Member since: 22 Mar 2012)


Removable batteries aren't really a deal breaker for me. Batteries last about 1 1/2 years . The phones out of date after 1 year. Just my opinion though.

posted on 15 May 2012, 14:02

23. Commentator (Posts: 3709; Member since: 16 Aug 2011)


With total equipment protection you don't have to worry anyways because you can just get the phone replaced.

posted on 22 May 2012, 22:13

29. moofoodooloo (Posts: 137; Member since: 04 Jan 2011)


For $100.. batteries aren't covered under a free fix with TEP.

posted on 06 Jun 2012, 23:57

35. htc_prep (Posts: 303; Member since: 09 Oct 2009)


What records have you checked. they are covered under the first year since they are under warranty sprint Will replace it, especially if you have insurance its free. once the warranty expires sprints ticket system won't allow a battery to be ordered. once its out of a year since the battery is embedded we techs can replace the phone free as long as you have insurance and 35 with out as long as there is no water damage. soon we will get allowance to open the phone so we can change the battery...
check facts yo.

posted on 15 May 2012, 13:32 1

21. darac (Posts: 2156; Member since: 17 Oct 2011)


I would take it over the SGSIII.
Love this phone!
And i think there's no way it's bigger battery than on the One X could have a shorter life.
If it really lasts shorter than One X's it's some software bug that HTC will fix, just like it did on the international version.

posted on 16 May 2012, 07:13 1

25. SonyFTW2020 (Posts: 311; Member since: 03 May 2012)


Bigger Screen ISNT better!! Balanced is whats BETTER!! stop making these mini tablets SERIOUSLY!! this phone would have been soo much better with a 4.3 in screen...

posted on 05 Jun 2012, 09:52

33. jubex7 (Posts: 1; Member since: 05 Jun 2012)


I agree - I've waited two years since the original Evo 4G to finally get a worthy upgrade. I rushed to pre-order this phone, and what I received wasn't very impressive. The processor / os may benchmark faster than the old Evo 4G, but you can hardly tell when using the phone. The size of the old Evo 4G is big enough, and unless you have gorilla hands, this phone will require constant two handed action. Android 4.0 is far superior to the predecessor, but this phone needs to be usable on a daily basis. I travel between office and home and move around a lot on the weekends, this phone is too long to keep in my back pocket and has become a constant headache to tote around. The battery on this phone is nothing to brag about and you can't replace it, so unlike the original Evo, expect to be stuck with a worthless battery for the second half of your 2 year contract. Overall, if you're looking at specs alone, then this phone is incredible. If you need a phone and not a tablet, I would keep looking. I've returned mine.

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories