x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC Desire S Review

Posted: , by Basil K.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC Desire S Review
This is a global GSM phone. It can be used with T-Mobile USA and AT&T, but without 3G.

Introduction:


The HTC Desire is widely regarded as one of the most pivotal handsets of recent times in Europe, doing for Android what Google had hoped their own Nexus One would, and catapulting HTC to infamy beyond tech circles and WinMo aficionados alone. In hindsight, the original hit the balance between affordability, availability, usability and attractiveness, so what's the HTC Desire S got to add to the mix? HTC have gone for incremental improvements across the board with the HTC Desire S, offering better battery life, a slimmer and lighter unibody chassis, video calling, and a good helping of Gingerbread on the inside of the phone as well as HTC Sense 2.1. Is it enough to make the HTC Desire S stand on its own two feet or was the HTC Desire just a one hit wonder?
 

Design:
 
The HTC Desire S sports the same form factor as its predecessor, only this time rolls out an aluminum unibody chassis. Undeniably robust in the hand with great weighting, in terms of design and ergonomics, HTC has come up trumps with this contender.
 
The HTC Desire S is undeniably robust in the hand with great weighting - HTC Desire S Review
The HTC Desire S is undeniably robust in the hand with great weighting - HTC Desire S Review
The HTC Desire S is undeniably robust in the hand with great weighting - HTC Desire S Review

The HTC Desire S is undeniably robust in the hand with great weighting


HTC Desire S Review

You can compare the HTC Desire S with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.
 
The screen is uninspiringly similar to that of the original HTC Desire, measuring in at 3.7 inches and adopting Super LCD technology with a resolution of 480x800 pixels. Nevertheless, with good viewing angles and brightness / contrast levels, this isn't a bad screen. In fact, it's still pretty good, with perfect touch registration.
 
The screen of the HTC Desire S measures in at 3.7 inches - HTC Desire S Review
The screen of the HTC Desire S measures in at 3.7 inches - HTC Desire S Review
The screen of the HTC Desire S measures in at 3.7 inches - HTC Desire S Review

The screen of the HTC Desire S measures in at 3.7 inches


Atop the screen is an in call speaker nuzzled under a sexy looking grill, next to a front facing camera for video calls. On the left of the unibody is a volume-rocker and a microUSB port and on top sits the 3.5mm headphone jack and power button with a notable absence of HDMI connectivity on the HTC Desire S. Flip over the phone and you'll find the 5MP autofocus camera and single LED flash. Sadly though, there's no shutter button, which makes taking photos a bit awkward.

The sides of the HTC Desire S - HTC Desire S Review
The sides of the HTC Desire S - HTC Desire S Review
The sides of the HTC Desire S - HTC Desire S Review
The sides of the HTC Desire S - HTC Desire S Review

The sides of the HTC Desire S


Back - HTC Desire S Review
Back - HTC Desire S Review
Back - HTC Desire S Review

Back



20 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 01 Apr 2011, 07:54 4

1. big ballzer (unregistered)


still smokes the iphone! iphone is so dated. there is some secret society of fanboys that controls these cell phone news sites that has a golden rule of not elevating ANY cellphone above the ibore4. Almost like they are being played by the same set of rules as the news peeps. How ironic! don't you think?

posted on 01 Apr 2011, 10:35

5. bucky (Posts: 1560; Member since: 30 Sep 2009)


why even mention it if it isnt on your mind?

posted on 14 Apr 2011, 18:40 2

11. PHONE_FREAK (Posts: 51; Member since: 20 Oct 2010)


The iPhone is so dated, yet it keeps up with other current phones in terms of performance. The iOS is pretty boring, but you do have the best apps. That can't be argued. That's what most people care about - apps. Ever wonder why most phone comparisons involve the iPhone? It is a very solid device as long as your not talking purely specs. In the long run, specs only provide bragging rights if they don't improve the user experience.

posted on 01 Apr 2011, 08:33 1

2. dblue45 (Posts: 77; Member since: 26 Aug 2009)


What's up with phonearena and dual core chipsets? Gosh after they are released not having them just seem to a big downside for every phone!! What the heck?!! Normal 1 Ghz processors are more than enough for such phones to run smoothly!... SO Not having a dual core chip set isn't really supposed to be a disadvantage

posted on 01 Apr 2011, 10:21

4. loolcom (Posts: 13; Member since: 15 Feb 2011)


If am buying a new phone I would rather pay some extra money and get a dual core phone ...... of course single core is not a down side but it is not an advantage point for a new phone

posted on 05 Aug 2011, 14:35

19. rawa989 (Posts: 1; Member since: 01 Aug 2011)


You are right dblue... this phone is very tender and don't having dual core is not a cros.

posted on 01 Apr 2011, 08:55

3. foxstertail (unregistered)


"Sadly though, there's no shutter button, which makes taking photos a bit awkward."
What's that? Sounded like an apple fell off its tree.

posted on 01 Apr 2011, 11:49

6. B (unregistered)


An excellenyt phone no doubt but for those with the origional desire and an upgrade immenent this is not gonna to do htc any favours as its pretty much the same phone. Luckily the joy of android is the large selection of options available for upgrades from lots of various manufacturers all looking to have the top of the range phone and thus android fans don't and won't have to settle forking out lots of money each year for a minimal upgrade like apple saps do.

posted on 02 Apr 2011, 00:05 1

7. RORYREVOLUTION (Posts: 3042; Member since: 12 Jan 2010)


Dual core processors can't even live up to their potential until androids operating system is compatible. Which won't be for a long time and there is what only like one or two dual core phones on the us market right now? It's not like its standard on phones yet. Get over your dual core fetish and stop downgrading phones that come out today for features that won't be available until the future.

posted on 04 Apr 2011, 01:49

8. JC (unregistered)


I miss indoor samples with flash. Is one part of your reviews i love so much cos helps me figure out how good the camera is.

posted on 06 Apr 2011, 14:55

9. Markison22 (unregistered)


Data values, also known as Minecraft item ids are known as a list of blocks and other items in world,chests and inventory makred with numbers in Minecraft video game.http://minecraft-itemid.cz.cc/

posted on 12 Apr 2011, 17:09

10. Javad (unregistered)


What is your obsession with dual core processors about ?!

posted on 14 Apr 2011, 18:43

12. PHONE_FREAK (Posts: 51; Member since: 20 Oct 2010)


People think that more is always better. Just like with cameras, there is more to a phone than numbers. Some people just don't understand that. I'm not bashing Phonearena. It is natural to want the phone to keep up with the current rage in high end devices. That rage is now dual core processors, even though they don't really add that much to the experience yet.

posted on 02 May 2011, 04:54

13. nishant (unregistered)


I got the delivery one day before the committed date. However, that's where things started going bad.
The handset I received, would not start for full 30min. It kept rebooting. Even when it could boot properly once, the phone kept crashing and rebooting every few minutes. This is not exaggeration! SO much so that within 3 hrs of delivery, I had made up my mind to return it. For the next 2 days till i got the Dead on Arrival certificate from HTC service center, the OS kept crashing though the frequency came down. Some contacts would randomly disappear from phonebook. SD Card data would appear and disappear at its own will as well!
Even the Dead on Arrival certi was not easy to obtain. The service center person was trying to act funny and asking me to deposit the phone with him for a few days, so that they could check and repair the phone!
This is going to be my first and last HTC handset ever!
I just hope that Flipkart returns my money in time and doesn't add to the horrible experience!

posted on 02 May 2011, 04:55

14. nishant (unregistered)


I got the delivery one day before the committed date. However, that's where things started going bad.
The handset I received, would not start for full 30min. It kept rebooting. Even when it could boot properly once, the phone kept crashing and rebooting every few minutes. This is not exaggeration! SO much so that within 3 hrs of delivery, I had made up my mind to return it. For the next 2 days till i got the Dead on Arrival certificate from HTC service center, the OS kept crashing though the frequency came down. Some contacts would randomly disappear from phonebook. SD Card data would appear and disappear at its own will as well!
Even the Dead on Arrival certi was not easy to obtain. The service center person was trying to act funny and asking me to deposit the phone with him for a few days, so that they could check and repair the phone!
This is going to be my first and last HTC handset ever!
I just hope that Flipkart returns my money in time and doesn't add to the horrible experience!

posted on 13 May 2011, 12:07

15. ryq (unregistered)


people like to bash iphone and yet its selling like hotcake. it could sell even more if not for the hefty price. it just goes to show that majority of people buy phones dont know anything about single core or dual core or whatever, most dont even care as long as it looks good and majority are swept away by good ad campaign.

posted on 20 May 2011, 22:35

16. tanknelson (unregistered)


When will it hit the USA? And will it go to sprint? Please say yes to both of them.

posted on 08 Jun 2011, 00:23

17. Alodeh (unregistered)


I boought the desire s 10 days ago, I already had a few problems with it. The battery drains very fsat no matter what I do, even with the app killer app. most of The applications on the android market are incompateble, including skype for android. 5 days after I bought the device it stopped charging. Know my set is with dealer for the past week and no news. Overall a very poor device and very poor aftersale support.

posted on 20 Jul 2011, 17:45 1

18. ss (unregistered)


This phone has been one of the best handsets ive used and trust me ive had many. Its a direct rival for iphone4 and even beats it in some ways. Camera isnt as good as iphone4 however plus only cmes with 8gb card. The price is half of iphone4 where im from so its a no brainer for me.

For those who complain about battery life, stop watchng porn videos 24/7 please. Im a moderate to hard user and gets about 2-3 days wthot charging. I dont use a task killer as the phone hasnt been laggy ever.

posted on 30 Aug 2011, 19:29

20. ZIZO (unregistered)


IS IT HD ?

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC Desire S

HTC Desire S

OS: Android 2.3.5 2.3.3
view full specs
Display3.7 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (252 ppi) S-LCD
Camera5 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8255, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
768 MB RAM
Size4.53 x 2.35 x 0.46 inches
(115 x 59.8 x 11.63 mm)
4.59 oz  (130 g)
Battery1450 mAh, 9.83 hours talk time

Latest stories