x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

Posted: , by John V.

Tags:

Go to page
HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
Introduction:

Conveniently aiding Android’s permeation to the masses approximately a year ago, the HTC DROID Incredible helped usher the beginnings of high-end Android love with its better than average specs at the time. Fast forward to a year later, we’ve seemingly witnessed a major shift in the landscape as Verizon is embarking on yet another journey to the top with their top shelf offerings. Although it’s basically the same as the HTC Incredible S that we reviewed over a month ago, the HTC DROID Incredible 2 comes out of the gate bringing some improvements over its predecessor­­­ – while being retaining its global stature as a CDMA device. However, it’s coming in at a time when we’re seeing devices like the HTC ThunderBolt and Samsung Droid Charge taking precedence with their next-generation hardware. Is it too late for the DROID Incredible 2 at this point? Let’s find out!

HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The package contains:

  • HTC DROID Incredible 2
  • 16GB microSD card
  • microUSB cable
  • Wall Charger
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Product Safety & Warranty Brochure

Design:

If you checked out our HTC Incredible S review, you’re not in for any surprises with the DROID Incredible 2 since its design is absolutely identical. Naturally, being slightly larger than its predecessor, the minimalistic design style is once again evident as it completely looks clean in the front, while being complemented with a subtle soft touch feel around its back. Even more, we see that the unmistakable contoured rear pattern design is in play once again as it gives the handset its sprinkling of character. Sure it’s one solid feeling handset, but it doesn’t come off as anything remarkably impressive since it follows in traditional fashion to other recent HTC smartphones of late.

The HTC DROID Incredible 2 is one solid feeling handset - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 is one solid feeling handset - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 is one solid feeling handset - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

The HTC DROID Incredible 2 is one solid feeling handset


HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

You can compare the HTC DROID Incredible 2 with many other phones using our Size Visualization Tool.

Rather than finding it using an AMOLED panel like its predecessor, we’re instead presented with a larger sized 4” Super LCD display with WVGA (480 x 800) resolution. Still quite polarizing on its own with its iridescent color production, it’s actually more natural looking and doesn’t have the overly saturated presentation of some other AMOLED displays out there. Additionally, its size and resolution combine well to deliver a sharp image, while viewing angles and outdoor visibility are also pretty good.

The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

The HTC DROID Incredible 2 boasts a 4” Super LCD display


Again, the other one unique distinguishable item about the HTC DROID Incredible 2 is the fact that its usual set of capacitive Android buttons will actually rotate accordingly to the orientation. Definitely a nice touch indeed, we still find ourselves accidentally pressing them since they’re positioned very close to the edge of the handset.

Capacitive Android buttons - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

Capacitive Android buttons


Much like other contemporary high-end smartphones, the HTC DROID Incredible 2 sports a front-facing 1.3-megapixel camera that makes it convenient for shooting self-portraits or video chatting with friends. Also, the LED indicator is hidden beneath the right side of the wide looking earpiece grill.
 
On the left edge, we find its microUSB port for charging and data connection purposes, while the thin looking volume rocker offers a reasonable amount of feedback when pressed. Meanwhile, the 3.5mm headset jack, second microphone, and dedicated power button are located on the top side of the phone. Thankfully, the power button is slightly raised to offer an adequate amount of feel, while still packing a moderate response.

The sides of the HTC DROID Incredible 2 - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The sides of the HTC DROID Incredible 2 - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The sides of the HTC DROID Incredible 2 - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The sides of the HTC DROID Incredible 2 - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

The sides of the HTC DROID Incredible 2


Taking a look at the rear, its 8-megapixel auto-focus camera with dual-LED flash and speakerphone grill are placed towards the top area of the handset. And even though the lens of the camera is recessed a tiny bit from its surroundings, we don’t necessarily feel confident in placing the device flat on its back due to the fear of the lens potentially being scratched.

The back hosts the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The back hosts the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
The back hosts the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

The back hosts the 8-megapixel auto-focus camera


In addition to finding the microphone in its usual location on the bottom edge of the phone, we also have a notch that allows us to easily yank of the rear cover – thus giving us access to its 1,450 mAh battery, SIM card slot, and spring loading microSD card slot (16GB card preloaded).

Below the battery cover - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review
Below the battery cover - HTC DROID Incredible 2 Review

Below the battery cover



HTC DROID Incredible 2 360-degrees View:



14 Comments
  • Options
    Close




posted on 02 May 2011, 09:43 1

1. cheeseycheeser (Posts: 382; Member since: 24 Mar 2011)


Not that this is a bad phone. But I'm kinda confused about what HTC was thinking releasing this so close to the Thunderbolt. I mean, I guess this is a high-end phone, it has all the same specs as the Thunderbolt (except the screen size, and 4G), but I think this would have done better at the sub $150 price point. It seems like it should be marketed as a cheaper alternative to phones like the Thunderbolt and Charge. But that might cut into sales of the Thunderbolt and Charge. See why I'm confused? I think they might have been better off replacing the Eris with something like the new Wildfire, or even the Salsa!

posted on 02 May 2011, 09:56 1

2. snowgator (Posts: 3205; Member since: 19 Jan 2011)


World phone. That is the only logic behind this device that I can see. It is a solid device I am sure, but unless you are a globe-hopper, I have no idea the advantage to selecting this device over some others.

posted on 02 May 2011, 10:58

3. celljrod (Posts: 82; Member since: 07 Apr 2011)


It's a good solid phone. I can easily see someone new to smartphones, or doing an upgrade in a non 4G area choosing this phone. Would I trade my Droid Incredible in for the update? No. But I can see this device being very successful.

posted on 02 May 2011, 17:48 1

6. AAABall (unregistered)


I think many people don't see anything wrong with getting a good 3G phone now, and going to 4G at the next upgrade, by which time Verizon should have all the bugs worked out.

$299 for a phone with serious battery issues and technology that has not even been built yet in my area? I'll pass.

posted on 10 Sep 2011, 01:04 2

12. M-Walsh (Posts: 7; Member since: 02 Sep 2011)


I am a former Droid 1st gen owner and have really enjoyed it for the past two years. I had naturally intended to upgrade to the Droid 3 but after reading some pretty dismal reviews about the pentile screen, low quality camera and overall heaviness, I decided to do some comparing with other Droids and ultimately settled upon the Incredible 2. I was a little hesitant to get another HTC, as a former Touch Pro owner, I had found it to be just cheap and buggy and it just didn't last that long.

HTC has stepped up it's game with the Incredible 2. It is very light, yet it is built like a tank. It feels great in my hand and is amazingly fast. It may not have a dual core processor, but it does have a 2nd gen 1 Ghz Hummingbird processor accompanied by 768 MB of RAM. I don't care how many cores a processor has, if you only give it 512MB of RAM it isn't going to live up to it's full potential. That would be like filling a Ferrari's gas tank with 87 octane. In the Incredible's case, the processor matched with 50% more RAM makes it fly through apps and screens with no issues.

The biggest part of making the switch to the Incredible 2 was the lack of physical keyboard. I've always loved using a physical keyboard and thought I was going to have issues using the on screen keyboard on the Incredible 2 but it's actually really easy to get used to and use. The 4 inch Super LCD screen makes it a breeze to type on and I really don't miss the Droid G1 keyboard at all now. HTC's Sense UI is really fast, easy to use and doesn't bog down the phone like I've read about with the Motoblur/Ninjablur UI that is on the Droid 3.

All in all, the Incredible 2 is thin, fast, built rock solid and has an amazing screen, an awesome camera and is more than two ounces lighter than the Droid 3. I'm really glad I decided to give HTC another try and go with the Incredible 2.

P.S. If you will buy this smartphone I suggest at:www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B004WKBW60/phonearena.com-offer-20

posted on 02 May 2011, 13:22

4. Thick (unregistered)


Sync'd my phone on sunday, screens changing fast. woke up monday & now it sucks. looking for some quick answers or I phone her I come.

posted on 02 May 2011, 17:42 1

5. AAABall (unregistered)


"Seeing marked improvements in various categories, it’s still one great all around handset at $200 on-contract, but its arrival on the scene feels ever so late and seems as though it’s past its prime already."

Doesn't a 7.5 seem a bit harsh? Will the above statement apply to all non 4G phones that come out now, or just the ones that come out after February?

posted on 06 May 2011, 10:38 1

7. ohnoezDx (Posts: 3; Member since: 03 Apr 2009)


I agree. I think 7.5 is a bit harsh because the device is really good even without 4G capabilities. It deserves at least an 8.

posted on 11 May 2011, 08:19 1

8. jabo75 (unregistered)


I just really don't understand how this smart phone (as well as many more out there now), hugely sacrifice call quality and signal strength compard to most inexpensive non-smartphones, and few seem to care! "Hollow audio..REASONABLE enough to hear voices", crackling speakerphone.

Why can't these companies make phones that sound at least close to as good as my old StarTac? Am I the only one that buys a SmartPhone to primarily use as a phone?

Even if I were going to use this primarily for data the statement "the handset is painstakingly atrocious with retaining signal strength" would certainly give me concern. Dropped calls AND data connections. I think I'll pass.

posted on 19 May 2011, 00:23

9. jenn05 (Posts: 14; Member since: 24 Jun 2010)


Android is still laggy, buggy, and a battery destroyer.....I'll stick with my iphone. But I do agree with the comments about call quality and 4G. Call quality is VERY IMPORTANT even in this the digital age. Also, who cares about 4G when there is none in my area or even close to me???? Not to mention the extra cost that I am sure Verizon will be implementing soon for those folks with the 4G phones whether you use it on 4G or not (i.e. Sprint).

But my absolute biggest gripe with Android is the battery life! I have had lots of Android phones and none of them can compare with the battery life of my iphone. Sure I have to charge it every now and then more than just once at nite, but I don't have to have it connected to a charger all day for any kind of use. Some things are just worth the extra money now so I am not having to pay for an extended battery that won't even let the phone fit in normal cases. I did have a Samsung Fascinate that had good battery life, but as soon as it got the Android 2.2 update, it went down to about 50% of the life I was getting before the update.

What's the point of having a smartphone that goes dead all the time?!?

I have not used the DInc2, but I have a feeling the battery life is similar to the rest of the "Droids."

posted on 26 May 2011, 09:36

10. JohnC (unregistered)


Thanks for reviewing a phone you don't use and know nothing about.

Given that you don't know that phone and know very little about the OS, I'll set you staight. I have both iOS and android devices. Neither is laggy, but Android devices can actually multitask. An iOS device bogs down when trying to do so. iOS apps are much much buggier now. They crash much more often than android apps. My iPad requires daily reboots because it bogs down from updates and multitasking for example.

So instead of spewing BS and Trolling, stick to your Jobs approved ifanboy sites, like a good little girl.

posted on 04 Sep 2011, 16:40

11. BJB (unregistered)


I need help. I am not up on all the newest things, but do use my cell a lot in nursing. My 2yr contract is up next month and i am due for an upgrade, or just continue with what i have LG flip open, these comments are somewhat mixed. Do i even consider the droid incredible, or try an iphone 4 ? I charge my LG every nite as it is, i don't feel burdened by that. anything helpful?

posted on 02 Oct 2011, 18:03

13. mary (unregistered)


I think groom Droid 3 to HTC Incredible 2 the HTC is a better choice

posted on 22 Nov 2011, 15:36

14. axmad (Posts: 2; Member since: 22 Nov 2011)


HI isnt htc droid incredible 2 the same as htc incredible s.I live in Sweden and they dont sells droid incredible 2 here.Anyway i want to buy an HTC Incredible S but i dont know if its good as htc droid incredible 2.PLS HELP ME

Want to comment? Please login or register.

HTC DROID Incredible 2

HTC DROID Incredible 2

OS: Android 2.3.4 2.3 2.2
view full specs
Display4.0 inches, 480 x 800 pixels (233 ppi) S-LCD
Camera8 megapixels
Hardware
Qualcomm Snapdragon S2 MSM8655, Single core, 1000 MHz, Scorpion processor
768 MB RAM
Size4.75 x 2.52 x 0.48 inches
(121 x 64 x 12 mm)
4.77 oz  (135 g)
Battery1450 mAh, 6.5 hours talk time

Latest stories