x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.
  • Options
    Close




Dell Streak Review

0. phoneArena 18 Nov 2010, 09:15 posted on

Even though some would argue that the massive sized displays of the HTC EVO 4G and the Motorola DROID X can be regarded as almost tablet-like, out comes the Dell Streak pushing forward and inevitably commences Android's presence into the tablet market. In actuality, the Dell Streak slams accurately down to earth as it records a display that's 5 inches of pure screen love...

This is a discussion for a review. To read the whole review, click here

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 19:28

1. slymi2005 (Posts: 18; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


Hopefully you guys will update the review once it is upgraded to Froyo 2.2 next month. Also why didn't you include a video in the review?

http://en.community.dell.com/dell-blogs/Direct2Dell/b/direct2dell/archive/2010/11/15/android-2-2-fro yo-and-the-dell-streak-details-on-how-the-upgrade-will-work.aspx

posted on 18 Nov 2010, 19:29

2. slymi2005 (Posts: 18; Member since: 04 Jun 2010)


http://en.community.dell.com/dell-blogs/Direct2Dell/b/direct2dell/archive/2010/11/15/android-2-2-fro yo-and-the-dell-streak-details-on-how-the-upgrade-will-work.aspx

posted on 26 Nov 2010, 16:44

3. Korapati (unregistered)


Dell streak phone looks good if something went wrong but very problematic handset .Especially with dell after sales team. Worst nightmare with them.

Pros:
Very little to say about Dell Streak as I have used the phone only for 2days after purchase. Phone looks great, has good technical specifications.

Cons:
Dell streak has lot technical problems like split screen, some times phone switching on problems say if you switch on the phone some times it will switch on properly but most of the times it won't. some times white or dark blank screen appears, nothing to see on screen. I purchased Dell streak on 03/11/2010, once after receiving the product I have used only for 2 days, that's it the above mentioned problems started coming on. I phoned dell technical service and they offered me repair service, and they took the peice back on 09/11/2010 and returned the piece back on 24/11/2010. They haven't checked the piece properly again the same problems persisiting on. So I phoned the technical services again and asked them to replace the handset. The women I have spoken to is a superior in the technical service department, she is very arrogant and reckless. She said that she can't replace the product. But I have mentioned the problems and requested again. But she said no. I told her that I have 1year warranty for whole unit to replace. This is where she gone nuts!!!! and told me "there is no warranty and replacement service in UK, it is only for USA customers". I told her that I have the invoice infront of me stating that I am covered, but she told it is a mistake. Tell me, how would some one can buy a product with out warranty for a price £479. I asked her to refund my money as I want to return the piece back to dell. But she said I was out of the cooling off time i.e., 14days from the date of purchase. I told her that the phone is with dell repair centre through out that cooling off period, then I asked how would I liable for that if the peice is not with the customer?. She told, it is not dell's problem, and mentioned it is my responsibility to send the piece back to dell within 14days. Very pointless arguing with her. Little common sense, she did'nt even think about that the piece is with dell within that period. Finally she offered only 2nd repair service.Lets see what happens this time!!!. This is worst nightmare with that technical customer service. No proper respect, no proper response for the problems and finally no proper care for after sales.

Review:
First place, I would not recommend anyone to buy dell streak, if someone really fancy buying it I would definetely not recommend them not to buy from Dell website. Very very poor after sales care and poor customer service. Some of my friends already told me not to buy from dell as they have poor customer service, but I thought it won't happens in all cases. But now I believe that "it is true - dell's is very bad customer service".

posted on 25 Dec 2010, 07:57

4. celldude (unregistered)


bigger is better...............best after android 2.2 update.............

Want to comment? Please login or register.

Latest stories