x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

T-Mobile myTouch Q User Reviews

5 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed3.3/10
Camera5/10
Multimedia6.3/10
Internet5/10
Call quality5.3/10
Battery6.7/10
Reception6/10
Display6/10
Build quality6/10
Text input6.3/10
Everyday usage6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

saint_satin_stain
posted on 09 Dec 2012, 16:25 (Posts: 10; Member since: 09 Dec 2012)

3

Now this myTouch Q is worse phone I've ever had, including

saint_satin_stain has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

my old Ericsson T19LX, Virgin Oystr, Arc, and T-Mobile Tap, because it threatens to do much, to do more, better, and doesn't. It takes more than two minutes to start up, slower than the others; my Blaze starts up less than 30 seconds.
I believed since I'm an old codger, 20th Century and country, I'd need a hardware keyboard. That keyboard difficult to make out the shifts to special characters and numbers in low light, or light at wrong angle. The call quality was not as good as some of my more primitive mobile phones. It has less talk time than some of them too. I keep it because it's a good paperweight. It has enough RAM to be a good paperweight. Even after I rooted it, removed the bloat, it still took about two minutes to boot up. It has some many strange glitches, unresponsivenesses, and downright freaky behavior that I began to believe I had bought an Alpha.
Sure the processor is fast, swift to glitch, quick to force close.
I can mention that the Music worked, sure. The video okay, not near what I discovered in other phones it could be and should be. But okay.
It is heavy, folk, especially old folk, like me, you dont need a hardware keyboard; it just adds more moving parts to malfunction, more weight, and does not make it easier unless on a tablet. I get angry with myself, with LG, and with T-Mobile, because when it worked it worked well, but has too many performance issues. I understand now why T-Mobile changed manufacturers for this series, too much money for the...  

Build quality 1/10
Reception 4/10
Call quality 3/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 5/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 4/10
Display 3/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Fast processor, though sometimes
  • Introduced me to possibilities of Android

Cons

  • swift to a glitch
  • Does not deliver in the execution

saint_satin_stain alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

dosmastr
posted on 09 Oct 2012, 17:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Oct 2012)

4

A new nadir for the mytouch line

dosmastr has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

the phone just isn't very good outside of battery life. The phone freezes during every day tasks such as switching from home screen to dialer. Google play randomly exits, android browser also randomly exits. Try to report anything that FC and then google play requires a FC. No ICS update though one was promised many many months ago.

The keyboard is offset to the right so that the left thumb has to hit more keys (can't see it from looking at it but goto store, pick one up and try to type blind -- you will quickly see what I mean)

Get something else.

its one year newer than the HTC devices by the same name but has the same specs.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 3/10 camera is awful unless lighting is very good
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 7/10 screen is bright and clear, and can crank up birghtness to see in sunlight
Battery 9/10 Battery lasts all day and sometimes 8 or 10 hours into next day

Pros

  • Battery lasts all day and sometimes 8 or 10 hours into next day
  • seems solidly built

Cons

  • camera is awful unless lighting is very good
  • phone freezes
  • glitchy even after update
  • keyboard was designed by a monkey
  • wont ring half the time
  • phone will say it has signal without telling you its roaming (then when you make a call it says it has NO signal.

dosmastr alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

cellophone
posted on 07 Jul 2012, 14:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2011)

8

Overeall Pleased

cellophone has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

ive had the phone for almost 2 months now and overally am relatively pleased with the phone. little things such as occasional 2-3 second delay to return to homescreen or answer/end calls, 4g is not always as fast as id hope, camera quality is decent, low res screen, and uneven lighting of keyboard lower the overall phone. however, the keyboard is EXCELLENT, for the resolution the screen is nice, the LG UI is great, and the genius button do make the phone nice for the price. anyone looking for a nice 4g smartphone for under $100, this is the way to go!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • excellent keyboard
  • genius button
  • LG UI

Cons

  • no front facing camera
  • 5 megapixel camera is okay
  • not all keys on the keyboard light up equally
  • slow processor

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories