x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

T-Mobile myTouch 4G Slide User Reviews

8.8 Based on 4 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed9/10
Camera10/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery7/10
Reception8.8/10
Display9.3/10
Build quality9/10
Text input8/10
Everyday usage8.8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

genocidepie
posted on 29 Nov 2012, 17:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Nov 2012)

9

Long Due Review.

genocidepie has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got this phone in August of 2011, when it was the most kick-ass phone on the market. It's November of 2012 now and writing a long-term impressions review. Keep in mind, this phone has been out for over a year.

*Build Quality: Very nice. After several bumps and nicks, nothing has broke and nothing has been affected. The phone is still heavy and is still thick due to the keyboard however.
*Reception: Awesome reception! You'll get reception everywhere that isn't a castle with 4 foot thick walls or in the middle of nowhere land.
*Call Quality: Disappointtingly average call quality, but it is made up by extremely good reception and connectivity. 0 dropped calls so far.
*Internet: Extremely fast data speeds. Functional and Fast default browser. Can't say it's the prettiest or most unique thing, but it's great.
*Multimedia: Overall great experience. Music player has no equalizer and video player has trouble with certain codecs.
*Camera: The huge bump located on the back of the phone. Crazy camera for a phone this old. High res pictures and literally no shutter lag. At 8mp it's still up to parr with the cameras of phones today.
*UI Speed: Very responsive UI. HTC Sence 3.0 lacks compatibility with several games however. WTF! Also, wish i could update to Ice Cream Sandwich :(
*Everyday Use: Small, thick, long, beast camera and powerful. As time went on, that was how i started thinking about my phone. Still awesome though!
*Text Input: Text keyboard, virtual keyboard and swype built in....  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Great Camera
  • 4G
  • Physical Keyboard
  • Great reception
  • Satisfying build quality

Cons

  • Bulky
  • Heavy
  • 480x800 display
  • Gets very hot during intensive tasks (mostly games)
  • Battery needs to shoot itself

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NateAdam8
posted on 17 Feb 2012, 17:51 (Posts: 204; Member since: 17 Feb 2012)

9

Needs Update

NateAdam8 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Best Android phone I've had it's been enough to make most of my friends and family want one, It takes awesome pictures and is my favorite phone but I'd love to get Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich on it

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Awesome Camera, Full Keyboard with .com key

Cons

  • Battery sucks ass

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aanarchyy
posted on 30 Aug 2011, 14:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Aug 2011)

8

Best phone I've ever owned.

aanarchyy has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I got this phone the day after it hit the market after a long line of Blackerries. This being my first Android or touchscreen phone it is an entirely different experience. The quality of the screen is phenomenal, very sharp images. Video playback is very smooth, even playing hi-def videos. Very happy I can play my netflix on it too. The audio quality from the speaker seems really wimpy though and I need to almost hold it to my ear even at full volume. The physical keyboard I am not too impressed with either, you really have to mash the keys and it still offers very little tactile feedback when a key is pressed. The camera is amazing! Takes beautiful sharp pictures. I love double click feel of the dedicated shutter button, gives it a real camera feel. Maybe I am just used to long battery life from my BB, but the battery in this thing sucks! After about 10 hours of mild to moderate usage im down to about 20%. I have already ordered a 1900mah Anker battery that will hopefully remedy this problem. The back of this phone gets pretty hot when you start doing anything processor intensive, but i suppose that's what will happen when that dual core 1.2Ghz processor starts cranking away. The phone is slightly on the heavy side, but I actually kinda like that, gives it a good solidly constructed feel to it. I like how they gave it the optical trackpad, but it doesn't seem to work very well. Aside from the battery life, I am thoroughly impressed with this phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Great Camera
  • Very fast connetion
  • Snappy UI

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Poor speaker quality and volume

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

VerizonRefugee
posted on 21 Aug 2011, 14:33 (Posts: 0; Member since: 21 Aug 2011)

9

Very good smartphone with very few drawbacks

VerizonRefugee has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I just recently came over to T-Mobile from Verizon because I was tired of getting financially raped and of not being able to use voice and data simultaneously. I started out with a MyTouch 3G Slide and just upgraded to the khaki 4G Slide recently.

This is a nice device. It's larger and heavier than the 3G Slide, both of which, I think, are good things. Reception is usually good, though it can struggle with getting a good data signal in certain indoor environments. Call quality is pretty good: not amazing, but good enough. Internet browsing is a breeze. For multimedia, it's really impressive. The music player works well, and imitates the functionality of an iPod Touch. The FM radio (which requires you to plug in headphones) works amazingly well and gets great reception. Videos and YouTube play clearly and without any problems. Photos display clearly and can be edited with many options. The hype over the camera is 100% deserved. It really has zero lag, and takes AMAZING pictures for a phone's camera. The UI is fast and has no detectable lag (whereas the 3G could be really sluggish, and even get on the verge of freezing, especially when trying to write text messages). For everyday usage, it is a great phone, and I've so far not felt unhappy with it. Text input is the only gripe I have. On screen options are fine, but the physical keyboard's keys are unresponsive and barely elevated. Clear, vibrant display. Battery is surprisingly good.

A great phone, overall.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 6/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Good battery
  • Multimedia
  • 4G speeds (where available)
  • Fast processor

Cons

  • Physical keyboard sucks and will take getting used to

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories