x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

T-Mobile myTouch 3G User Reviews

7.1 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed6.8/10
Camera5.4/10
Multimedia7.2/10
Internet8/10
Call quality8.4/10
Battery7/10
Reception9/10
Display7.4/10
Build quality9/10
Text input7/10
Everyday usage7.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

CaffeineTripp
posted on 16 Sep 2011, 07:46 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Sep 2011)

6

Save your money

CaffeineTripp has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Initially, the phone is excellent. I had chose this phone with the audio jack over the normal myTouch 3G for the sheer fact of being able to listen to music with headphones in, however, battery life does not seem to last long.
As a phone, battery life is just fine, but once you start using applications, 3G/WiFi network, or install another 'desktop' (such as ADW), the life of the battery drains down surprisingly fast. Less than a day between full charges.
The display is excellent, bright colors, vivid.
Camera taking quality is horrible due to the phone not having a flash. Pictures will come out dark, in blue and green hues, and blurry. Forget about even using the video camera.
Reception, even where I live (where there's not true T-Mobile area coverage), is excellent.
Call quality is good when I'm in T-Mobile's area coverage, however there is pinging and echoing while piggy-backing AT&T's network, but not a big deal and something that I can live with.
Applications are slow to load, slow to use, and slow to shut down. While using a program, such as Dolphin Mini Browser, the phone's RAM and processor are maxed out, seemingly, as there is much lag.
With Swype being the main text input that I use, it does just fine, though, as stated above about programs, can be very laggy as well. When Swype doesn't lag, it tends to come up with a tutorial often about what to do when a different word is selected. And it can't be gotten rid of. Having the T-Mobile myTouch 3G Slide would have...  

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 6/10 Eats up the system performance.
Multimedia 4/10 Slows down phone immensely when browsing pictures, listening to music. Cannot even watch videos on the phone that were taken with the phone.
Camera 4/10 When lighting is perfect; bright, no shadows, and movement is perfectly still, the camera may work, but a flash is needed to get anything that can be dubbed 'quality'.
UI speed 5/10 Laggy, due to hardware.
Everyday usage 6/10 Every day usage this phone would be fine, but if you want internet on-hand all the time, use the phone as it's intended; smart, then move to an upper-end phone.
Text input 7/10 Swype is neat, though doesn't seem to be available anymore. Even though Swype can be a hassle, it's much more streamlined than some of the other text input applications available on the Market.
Display 8/10 Clear display, shows great quality in pictures on the wallpaper and icons are crisp.
Battery 4/10 Needs constant charging. Even for a smart phone, the battery is lacking.

Pros

  • 3.5 MM headphone jack
  • Display
  • Home, Menu, Back, Search, trackball buttons
  • Android 2.1 OS
  • Up to 16GB miniSD Input
  • Loud, clear speakerphone

Cons

  • RAM, processor, Android 2.1 OS
  • Battery life
  • Less multimedia-friendly than suspected

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mlhazan
posted on 17 Jul 2011, 07:40 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Jul 2011)

9

The best Android phone for reliability

mlhazan has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

In the early age of Android, it really had battery issue.Most of the android used to drain the battery as hell.But this one is awesome.i checked by installing battery monitor widget and it hardly exceeds 2mAh.It used to go 3.5 days with regular usage(Not in 3g and not with data plan,I used to check wifi in the morning and evening ,just to check couple of email ).
It was a reliable phone for me.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 Because of small display, hard to use internet
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Battery efficient

Cons

  • Could not manage high graphics game and Camera resolution was bad for the price

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

damien
posted on 16 Jun 2011, 16:57

7

Good starter phone

damien has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is a good starter phone, but lags behind most android devices. Most of the applications will work with this phone but many will not. My wife has a MyTouch 4G and there are many applications that I cannot download or cannot run because of the slow processor speed. The camera is below average (no flash). Overall, it's been decent. It's durable and call quality is good.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 4/10
Display 6/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • Android Operating System
  • Music Player
  • Durability

Cons

  • Processor Speed
  • Camera

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kingjames15
posted on 01 Jan 2011, 20:49 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jan 2011)

9

pretty good phone

kingjames15 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is great. I love android phones, the touch screen is good i had the phone less than a year and it works has a lag but it gets my apps.I would get the samsung vibrant great phone great amoled display and everything overall this is a good phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

beachem
posted on 13 Nov 2010, 05:34

7

mytouch 3g

beachem has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When i first got the phone coming from a sidekick lx i was so happy it was a whole new look feel and experience. More memory better apps and just and overall upgrade from my previous phone love android os better then apple os in my opinion. But after time it became slow none responsive and irritating. Now that all these phones with 1Ghz processor came out my phone is accient. Also Takes along time to go to dialer hope i never need to call 911.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 4/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

beachem alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

mike24611
posted on 22 Apr 2010, 18:06

4.3

Mytouch3g

I was happy when I first got it, but when I realized that t mobile was going to completely ignore the buyers of the original, I was not so happy. The phone lags and the non 3.5mm jack is horrendous. It forces you to purchase an adapter to use a 3.5mm headset and the adapter has a tendency for a short lifespan. and let us not forget that the newer mytouches have 2.0 android and the originals only run 1.6. T mobile has been lacking in information as to the update to the originals. Overall. if i could go back I would never buy this phone

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 3/10

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

TEA
posted on 14 Mar 2010, 19:33

9.7

great phone

This phone is great..I think most people are mistaking it for the original mytouch..This is the updated version with bigger ram onboard..I do not have any of the problems that anyone is speaking off...A lot of apps people download cause problems because people dont set the apps to save information as far as the cache to the sd card..Also instead of fully coming out of apps or shutting thenm down (dont need taskiller) they just press the home key in which the phone now attempts to close the program and load up the home screen..Also people never clear there internet cache and leave hundreds of text messages from threads...Think about it when u have text someone back and forth and have 500 text messages to one person where does that information get stored...I you dont take the time to learn your phone then do us all a favor and stick to your non-smart flip phone!!!! lol By the way I posted this from my mytouch 3G 1.2

Design 9/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • smooth and fast.....google!!!!....small and lightweight...android OS is great

Cons

  • if you like physical keyboard it could be a problem, but once u get used to it like me its really not a problem

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

starrgo
posted on 05 Mar 2010, 14:18

6

 It is slow phone. Sometimes it takes forever to get back to Home screen. And the Home screen crashes often. I do like the phone and Android OS, I just with it is faster. I sort of understand it is first generation of Android phone, but I wish it is faster. 

Design 7/10
Features 8/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Like the phone and apps. Like the Android OS in general

Cons

  • Very slow and crashes a lot.

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CocoaBaby
posted on 14 Feb 2010, 01:29

6

MyTouch 3G

LOVED it at first but now it's starting to freeze & go ridiculously slow. I've done as suggested & removed & re-installed programs that may be the culperate, it didn't work. I've added task killer to kill all programs that were running in the back, it didn't work. I just hope i'm never in a life or death situation where i need to dial 911 cause it takes forever just to be able to open up my dialer.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 4/10

Pros

  • It's small & sleek, the features are great i do love all the apps

Cons

  • it's sloooooow. it drives me crazy, but thats the only real issue i have with it at the moment

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories