x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

T-Mobile Sidekick User Reviews

6.7 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Text input8/10
Build quality10/10
Everyday usage6/10
UI speed5/10
Camera4/10
Multimedia10/10
Internet4/10
Call quality9/10
Battery6/10
Display9/10
Reception8/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Skittles
posted on 22 Nov 2010, 17:11

7

Good phone, Providing the battery and sim port work.

Skittles has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I was a third owner of this phone. It was a pretty good phone. I didn't like that the internet browser didn't have tabs and the sucky quality of the apps. However, what's the most I was supposed to expect from a three year old phone? Anyways, for a while I liked it quite a bit. No T-9 word, the spell check was really nice, and I loved using the notes functions to write school papers on. Signal isn't the best as it is with some of the other phones I've owned from t-mobile, but it's a whole lot better than nothing. The camera is not the best. There's no editing options or self timer. Not even light settings (ex. sunny, cloudy, flourescent) However, you can rotate photos.The music player is great! It can play pretty much anything and it's all sorted out. Its also easy to load up, just drag and drop. You can even make playlists on it! There's shuffle and repeat functions too.I prefer it to an ipod anyday. However, after about half a year of owning this phone, the battery stopped holding a charge and it stopped reading my SIM card. :(

Build quality 10/10 This phone had THREE owners before me, and it finally broke after I had it half a year... It had been dropped, submerged and burnt. It still worked until one day like a month ago...
Reception 8/10 Rarely cut out before the sim card reader died. However, it has a weakness under metal rooves and all. It's not the almighty hulk as far as reception goes, but its good enough.
Call quality 9/10 The few times I did use it to call people, everything went through and came out crystal clear.
Internet 4/10 No tabbed browsing, can be slow. No flash player. Hard to sign into websites like formspring.
Multimedia 10/10 I absolutley loved this phone's mp3 player. I'll miss it for a long time.
Camera 4/10 No editing options, no flash, no self timer. Not the best quality. Video camera records no more than 30 secnonds :( It's nice to have a camera, though.
UI speed 5/10 It seems fast at first, but over time it loses its speed. It's not horrible though. This is most common with the camera and music apps, but every once and a while you'll find yourself typing faster than the phone can handle.
Everyday usage 6/10 Wonderful! Except for over time, a long time, the battery and sim card reader may just stop working. Be careful!
Text input 8/10 Awesome for 2008, a little old compared to what we have today. On the bright side, it's a million times better than using T9 word or an oldschool number keypad.
Display 9/10 I always liked how my phone looked and the colors on the screen when it worked :)
Battery 6/10 When the battery works, it's really nice. It lasts a day. When it lasts no more than 25 minutes at a time, that means the battery's shot. Warning to everyone, don't overcharge your phone. 3-5 hours a day. No more!

Pros

  • Keyboard
  • Awesome Music Player
  • Customizable Skins
  • Hole for lanyard/ bracelet so you can keep your phone close!
  • Themes!
  • Durable
  • Email is great!

Cons

  • Battery goes bad, new battery is expensive :(
  • SIM card reader on mine went bad
  • Camera app is a bit sluggish and lacking.

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

nina
posted on 03 Oct 2009, 16:05

4.7

- uqhhhhh !

Theres madd iish yew can sayy abt the Sidekick 2OO8 .
To beqin i wass madd happy tew qet thiss foneee, when i qot it i waas still happy till like the 3rd month i hadd it !
Thats when i hadd my first problemm , well it wasnt really a prob but the screen wasnt closingg all the wayy ! !
Im still usinq my replacement & its not badd but i've lost internet connection for 3days in a row which is annoyinqq !
but i'd advise yew to not qet this fonee , muchless any of the sidekicks cause their all the samee !

Design 8/10
Features 4/10
Performance 2/10

Pros

  • keyboard .
  • no-T-9 .
  • pictures .
  • internet .
  • cataloq .
  • etc ...

Cons

  • trackball ,
  • slow ,
  • battery life ,
  • video ,
  • email (sloww] x-cept tmail !
  • phonebook ( sloww with internet ]
  • music player ( not loud enough ]
  • etc ...

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Cotton, Soencer
posted on 06 Jul 2009, 23:19

4.7

Great Features, But Terible Phone W/O Internet.

T-mobiles Sidekick is a good phone actually for its phone reception and good for fast texting. but if you have to learn the hard way like I did, if you cant afford to get the phone with internet access, then i wouldnt reccomend this phone for you. If unequipped w/ internet it deletes all contacts, text messages, and all the tasks and skills that you had setup on the phone. i cant wait to get rid of this Sidekick because w/o internet its a piece of junk!

Design 5/10
Features 6/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Decent Camera
  • Fun Game (Bobs Journey)
  • Good Music Player
  • Great For Texting
  • Full Keyboard
  • Call Quality

Cons

  • Constant Freezing
  • If not equipped w/ internet it deletes all contacts, previous texts, and etc.
  • Can't have custom ringtones only T mobile standard ringers.
  • Terrible Signal
  • Battery life isnt all that great.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Debrice Lewis
posted on 15 Jun 2009, 09:56

3.7

Sidekick Lx 08. nothinq special

the sidekick lx 08 model. is not what the media made it out to be. in all actuality its not qood at all. now i will admit when i first qot the phone i was so excited. many of my friends had the phone and my brother also and i really liked it. i even wanted it after my touch screen verizon wireless phone, the lq voyaqer; at first the phone seemed okay. i liked the way the trackball liqhted up and features were qood. despite the apps beinq very expensive; but i even liked playinq with bob(the qame). but as time proqressed i started to realize how muchh this phone was a piece of crap; not even two months after ive had the phone the trackball beqan to qet stuck or sometimes it would only move in one or two directions durinq which i had to learn the jump shortcuts. not lonq after that the trackball liqhts would turn for no reason makinq me think i had a text messaqe when in fact i didnt; and also the phone would cut off for no particular reason; sometimes it would reboot and other times i would have to turn it on manually. This is what really qot me. i was playinqq zuma one day and the phone just cut off in the middle of the qame. i turned it back on; it cut riqht back off; i let it sit. and turned it back on then the trackball liqhts beqan to flicker as if someone was callinq when infact i had no servicee; the trackball then qave out and the screen froze about seven minutes later the phone rebooted itself and it seemed to be workinq fine for a minute then the trackball qave out aqain...  

Design 5/10
Features 5/10
Performance 1/10

Pros

  • Good Desiqn
  • Nice Features

Cons

  • Small Screen
  • Screen Defects
  • Trackball Problems
  • D-Pad Problems
  • Battery Life

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 26 Mar 2009, 11:31

9.3

good phone that provides fast texting
i highly reccomend

Design 10/10
Features 9/10
Performance 9/10

Pros

  • swivel screen
  • fast texting
  • internet
  • QWERTY keyboard
  • music player

Cons

  • not good camera

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Veevo
posted on 21 Feb 2009, 15:06

5.3

The Worst Phone Ever

This is not the best phone. It gets very hot when you make a phone call and the batery life is horrible. The music player is okay, but drains the battery. The internet is actually somewhat fast and easy to use but the apps and such are very expensive. The texting is very nice with the full qwerty keypad. But the worst of all is that the phone constantly needs to reboot itself. It has a message that you must contact customer care, but customer care does nothing about it. I've been through five of these and they've done nothing to help me. Instant messaging is also very slow and drains the battery fast. The camera has horrible quailty and sometimes I never recieve picture messages.

Design 6/10
Features 7/10
Performance 3/10

Pros

  • Great for texting
  • Internet is fast
  • Music player

Cons

  • Camera and video quality is terrible
  • Constant rebooting
  • Slow IM
  • Expensive apps
  • Bad battery life
  • Constant freezing
  • Slow e-mail
  • Giant, screen is small.

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Earliie
posted on 17 Feb 2009, 22:07

10

This is the best phone I have ever had

I've had this phone for a week now and I have had no problems what so ever. The keypad is amazing beyond anything I've had before from Blackberry Curve to the LG 10000 and 10000s. Plus i never have dropped calls. Who cares about wifi you have a great phone with a amazing fetures.
Yea the bat isn't as long as other phones but thats because people USE it all the time. I mean omg people are telling me to get off the phone all the time. I'm always texting on it. So thats what an extra bat is for so please don' t complain about it. If you do then go out and make another one that has all the fetures that you want it to have.
This is one amazing phone.

Design 10/10
Features 10/10
Performance 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • Nothing

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KateyK
posted on 29 Oct 2008, 13:49

8.3

Sidekick 2008...much better than Sidekick iD

I got the new Sidekick 2008 two weeks ago and I have to say, I am really pleased. I liked having a Sidekick before, but I wasn't very pleased with the iD that I bought last November. The 2008's camera isn't awesome, but it's doable, and I always have my digital with me anyway. I like the music player option on the new one as well, and basically everything else is the same on this one, with a few cosmetic details. Another thing that is good is that you can have POP/IMAP mail in addition to the tmail.com address that you choose when signing up, instead of only being able to use tmail only. The D-pad seems more responsive on this one, as well. The Sidekick will always be one of, if not my absolute favorite for its full QWERTY keyboard that isn't crammed all together, like on a Blackberry. The operating system is the same, if not slightly upgraded. I wish the internet was faster though, but what can you do? Still waiting for 3G to roll around...any day now...and when that happens my qualms will be obsolete.

Design 9/10
Features 9/10
Performance 7/10

Pros

  • Full QWERTY keyboard
  • Stereo Bluetooth
  • Comes with 256gb microSD card
  • Camera and Video Player
  • Music Player
  • POP/IMAP mail

Cons

  • slooooooow internet...but that's EDGE's fault, not Hiptop/Sidekick
  • Battery life not stellar, but it has a lot of features to run

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 06 Oct 2008, 14:01

5

im really dissapointed with the sidekick they need to produce a sidekick touch with touch screen and still have the option to navigate with the ball they also need to make the camera better and have more options like wifi because t mobiles internet sucks

Design 9/10
Features 3/10
Performance 3/10

3 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 31 Aug 2008, 10:14

7.7

So I definately just traded in my (horrbile) sidekick slide in for this awesome 2008. I'm in love. This is definately the best sidekick thus far (even better than the lx (which I also had)). It's small, tres chic, and very user friendly. It is fun to play with and great for messaging. Great for the teenieboppers we all are at heart. I'd recommend this to anyone because it's just that great.

Design 9/10
Features 6/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • tres chic design, great for messaging, battery life, and best sidekick thus far

Cons

  • speakerphone isn't all that great and the internet could be a bit better

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

J Juvenile
posted on 28 Aug 2008, 17:12

7.3

You call THIS a Sidekick?

Apart from the fact that this phone is simply "Sidekick" in form and feature, I would say that the LX trumps this phone.  The screen is smaller on this device than the LX, and the LX update is now out to most LX users so you still get all of the same features if at a little steeper price.
This phone has reported reception issues, and a few screen defects that when the swivel is used the phone will power off, although it seems this has only affected a few users.  Upon actually seeing one of the devices, look at feel is a Sidekick 3 and a Sidekick LX put together, with a touch of Sidekick iD.  Overall, decent phone, and with updates could DEFINITELY improve, but for now I'll stick with my Hawk LX.

Design 7/10
Features 7/10
Performance 8/10

Pros

  • Screen, Keyboard, Camera, Trackball and D-pad

Cons

  • Battery, Speaker, Shells

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

c money
posted on 25 Aug 2008, 11:48

6.2

not very good

When i first got this phone i was pretty excited becuase it sounded so cool on the internet however this excitment quickly faded. First of all to really get this phone working you need to get an additional sidekick plan to your already existing one which costs an extra 20 dollars a month. If you dont then you get an error message every time you turn your phone on that never goes away. The next thing i didnt like was that i couldnt save sounds as ringtones. So i had the choice of either paying the extra 20 a month to download them or just deal with the T jingle for the rest of my life. The texting on this phone is really sweet except i ran into a ton of problems transfering my contacts over so instead of a name next to a text all i get is a number which can get annoying if you dont remember everyones number. Finally to use this phone you pretty much always have to use two hands which is ok if your just relaxing but hard if your doing something. Personally i didnt really like this phone and i returned it.

Design 8/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 7/10
Value for money 4/10

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Anonymous
posted on 20 Aug 2008, 01:38

8.2

everything the sk3 wasnt

i like it, its smaller then the current models out there .. faster, and stable then the lx .. didn't need to wait a year to get the firmware update to use video .. and it fits better and i just like it... i wish it had a bigger front screen but i guess thats asking for the lx then huh? other then i just really enjoy my new sk08.....its better then the slide and its alright compared for what you are paying for .. for the lx.

Design 8/10
Features 10/10
Sound Quality 8/10
Signal Strength 8/10
Value for money 7/10

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Yo Daddy
posted on 12 Aug 2008, 16:31

6.6

Oh man

This phone's nice but I'd like it more if it had wifi.

Design 10/10
Features 5/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 5/10

0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

michelle
posted on 08 Aug 2008, 16:42

6.2

the same thing

For anyone who has a sidekick, dont wast ur money buying the same thing... this is just the new face of the LX the only thing this phone has is that its video compadible, just that, im a dealer at a t-mobile store and have had the chance to play wit it, its just about 1 inch samller than the LX and as thin as the slide. the only difference with this phone and the older one is it has a little grip to make the screen swierl easier and u can change its face... in the end its the same as the its older versions.

Design 6/10
Features 6/10
Sound Quality 7/10
Signal Strength 6/10
Value for money 6/10

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories