x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia acro S User Reviews

9.3 Based on 16 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Call quality8.9/10
Battery8.1/10
Reception9.7/10
Display9.8/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input9.4/10
Everyday usage9.5/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera9.3/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.6/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Shail890
posted on 04 Sep 2013, 08:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Sep 2013)

10

Best And Best

Shail890 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

It is best phone no one can fight with it no one can be near to it battery is not good but this phone make it good bacuse when i use this phone it is like my plesure to use it . The best mobile in the world

Build quality 10/10 It has some mistake there but it is the best
Reception 10/10 Not any problem
Call quality 10/10 Fine
Internet 10/10 Very good
Multimedia 10/10 Many fun with this mobile
Camera 10/10 Love this
UI speed 10/10 Fine
Everyday usage 10/10 Just fine
Text input 10/10 Very easy
Display 10/10 Best
Battery 9/10 If i keep it charging at night it is okay

Pros

  • Water proof
  • Good smart phone

Cons

  • Goog but battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sahrotta
posted on 28 Apr 2013, 17:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Apr 2013)

5

Bad call quality - low voice

sahrotta has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Low volume during call. which made unexpected bad quality.
x loud does not work. When I press on it, it make the chick box but there is no different in sound.
I compare it with my wife's phone Sony Ericsson Arc S which we bought last year. the sound on the sony ericsson is perfect. and this is why I choose Sony.
but really I get disappointed.

Build quality 8/10 it seems to be a hard working phone. but my baby didn't drop it yet. so I am waiting.
Reception 9/10 it seems good. no problem.
Call quality 1/10 disappointed. low volume during call. Xloud did no different.
Internet 9/10 good
Multimedia 5/10 the loud speaker give low volume. and the xloud not working.
Camera 9/10 it seems to be perfect as it is 12 MP
UI speed 7/10 it is not as I expect. it take a while to open when you press on the "phone" to open the contact, log, favorites and groups.
Everyday usage 9/10 it seems to be nice
Text input 9/10 it seems to be good
Display 9/10 it seems to be excelent
Battery 8/10 fair

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

buccob
posted on 03 Jul 2013, 09:25 (Posts: 1048; Member since: 19 Jun 2012)

10

One of the best phone in its category.

buccob has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone can be compared to many other phones thanks to its features, size, and release date... But even if its not the best at everything, nor have the latest hardware for its age... it excels on key features that, at least to me, are important.

This is a flagship phone waterproofed, something that no other manufacturer has done yet.

It might be a cross between the Galaxy S2 and S3 in hardware features... but it definitely has unique ones.

Please read the specific comments on the features of this phone.

Build quality 9/10 The only things flimsy in this phone are the port covers and SIM tray. But the phone has a great build feeling, and even though I try to take care of it, my baby drop it on hard floor and it landed on a corner, and it survived. Some people dont like the shatterproof cover on the screen, but from experience that thing is very very useful (dont take it off, try to live with the scratches) The plastic used for the back is great, it handles wear and fingerprint doesnt show. UPDATE. After almost 7 month with it I think its great and it has a great quality. I recommend not to use it in salt water (beach), but it is ok to use on a pool...
Reception 10/10 No drops since I got it, nice reception
Call quality 10/10 It has great call quality, it only needs a bit more volume
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Coming from the S3, the screen feels small, but it is by no means bad for multimedia... Images and videos look awesome with nothing to be jealous of amoled display. (Bravia Engine ON) And this is HANDS DOWN the best stock Music App to be put by a manufacturer. Maybe the old walkman app was not great, but this version is AWESOME Simple, pretty, intuitive. Full of features like extensions, UI customizing, EQ, Tag Editor and of course great sound quality. HDMI port with CEC capability, which allows you to control the phone straight from the TV Remote... (most manufacturers are compatible) Not every TV has the function, and sometimes you have to manually activate it in the TV settings and sometimes it is only allowed on a specific HDMI port, but it is worth it. No more getting up from the couch/bed to pause a movie
Camera 9/10 This is a great camera. Period. I had the Galaxy S3 and this one is comparable. I shows a bit of noise, but the extra megapixels balance it out. Colors are accurate, and features are nice. Even though this has the worse implementation of panoramic picture today, the results are among the best stitched pictures... You really cant tell where one picture ended and the next begins... 3D tilt pictures get a lot of "Wows" Quick launch with capture, is very useful Front camera is very good for sel
UI speed 10/10 This phone is fast. JB fixed the occasional lag in the UI. Even if the chip is a couple of years old, it still feels fast and Sony has optimized it well...
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 The display is simply great. Huge ppi for a year old phone. Nice accurate colors with option to make vibrant on multimedia. Good size vs phone's footprint Nice responsiveness with the awesome addition of Wet Tracking feature only by Sony.
Battery 9/10 Well, this is one thing that this phone is not so good at. Battery is average, but it seems to be kind of on purpose. Minimum voltage is usually at around 3.6V. while my old moto Atrix lasted until it got 3.2~3.3 V. This is probably to preserve the battery lifetime a little longer, thus making the phone less disposable.

Pros

  • Nice feeling in hand
  • Great Cameras (both front and back)
  • Awesome display (if you dont mind viewing angles)
  • Charging dock included (free the USB port for something else like USB OTG)
  • Waterproof (confirmed many times)
  • Great sound quality and Music app (Walkman)
  • Nice enough chip. Good app compatibility
  • HDMI CEC. Please look it up. Awesome feature. ONLY Sony Phones
  • Wet Tracking display
  • Camera button, with quick launch
  • 4.1.2 Brings Small Apps, which add a lot of productivity. Also feels smoother and faster through UI

Cons

  • There is lag sometimes
  • Battery life could be better. I am getting ~13hrs a day
  • 4.1.2 Update broke 1080p recording. Waiting for a fix

buccob alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karanprasar
posted on 09 Mar 2013, 20:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Mar 2013)

10

Nice phone in this range fro Sony

karanprasar has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am a fan of Sony product, used many phone of SE and now just owned the Xperia Acro S, this is a nice phone with all feature in this range, display and camera was grate. I love this phone............

Build quality 10/10 nice build quality, very good finishing, no thickness matter in this phone...
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 very nice call clarity...
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 can run HD video, good display with good brightness, good music play in ear phone but the speaker was not so good but i think this is due to IP57
Camera 9/10 some time take time in focus, good in the day light, HD recording was very good...
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 in everyday use this phone was good but there are some other phone which was grate...
Text input 10/10 no problem in text input
Display 10/10 good brightness, high ppi, good in outdoor use.
Battery 8/10 battery was not so good, but u can use it for 2days in normal use

Pros

  • display
  • water & dust resistance
  • mini sim

Cons

  • battery
  • heating
  • hard to access SIM or card slot

karanprasar alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

AndrewRockie
posted on 01 Jan 2013, 10:48 (Posts: 6; Member since: 26 Dec 2012)

10

Moved on from my very very old X10i

AndrewRockie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Alright this is gonna be my review, The Sony Xperia Acro S is a perfect smartphone especially with its IP57 certification (Water and Dust resistant). The phone has a Dual Core 1.5GHz Snapdagon S3 processor with Adreno 220 Graphics. It's rear camera is powered by a 12MP sensor with Exmor R sensor for improved low light performance. The HD screen is just so sharp (342ppi) that a single pixel can't be spotted, it's also powered by Mobile BRAVIA Engine that makes colors look more natural and colorful. I guess that's all I can say.

Build quality 10/10 The IP57 certification just makes this phone awesome
Reception 10/10 Very good, no issues on this part.
Call quality 10/10 Very good on this part also.
Internet 10/10 Browser is fast, scrolling and zooming is smooth.
Multimedia 10/10 Great media performance and quality, can play 1080p vids very well, color reproduction is very good with the help of Mobile BRAVIA Engine.
Camera 9/10 The 12MP camera does a very good job at pics but sometimes pics are out of focus in dark conditions and fair amount of noise is present. 1080p videos are very good also!
UI speed 10/10 With Sony's Timescape UI on top of ICS 4.0.4 everything just feels snappy and smooth, with slight lags at some points.
Everyday usage 9/10 Sony's apps are very good but its full of bloatware, had to root in order to remove them.
Text input 10/10 Sony Xperia keyboard is just perfect, responds quickly and the swipe feature just works like a baws!
Display 10/10 The HD reality display is just very good, 342ppi is damn sharp, sunlight legibility is also very good, colors look real and natural than those oversaturated AMOLED screens.
Battery 7/10 This is the bad part, Battery life, we all know it is powered by a 1910 mAh Li-Po battery and THAT IS HUGE for this smartphone BUT STILL THE BATTERY LIFE IS TOO DAMN HORRIBLE! My bet is something's wrong with software optimization, probably need more kernel tweaks from Sony, hope they do good with Jelly Bean update.

Pros

  • 720p HD Reality Display powered by Mobile BRAVIA Engine
  • 12.1MP Camera w/ Full HD 1080p video recording
  • Chipset - 1.5GHz Snapdragon S3 Processor w/ Adreno 220 GPU
  • Software - ICS 4.0.4, Sony's Timescape UI
  • IP57 certification (Water and Dust resistant)
  • Design - Thick, good for my big hands
  • Regular SIM support
  • Expandable storage - microSD card up to 32GB
  • USB OTG support
  • Accessories (Dock, In-ear earphones, Smart Tags)
  • Others - HDMI, DLNA, NFC, BT 3.0, more connectivity...

Cons

  • Battery life (Huge capacity but poor optimization)

AndrewRockie alternatives:

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SmartUser
posted on 19 Nov 2012, 03:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Nov 2012)

10

Great competitor of S3 and 4s/5

SmartUser has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

the only feature that makes this phone challenging is the battery. s3 and iphones have a little more life on daily normal use but this is the only feature i can see that competitors' phones are better. adding up all pros of this acro s versus only 1 con, sony acro s supasses samsung s3 and iphone 4s/5.

Build quality 10/10 Build is really great, waterproof feature surpasses the plastic-looking case of S3 and very vulnerable to water case of iPhone.
Reception 10/10 Call reception is as great as other smartphones. No prob with Sony's.
Call quality 10/10 Calls are very clear.
Internet 10/10 Browsing the internet is as fast as 1-2-3. thanks to its fast proc and ram.
Multimedia 10/10 video and audio recording and playback run smoothly.
Camera 10/10 a 12MP cam is really awesome. acro s captures a real-life true color of photos, unlike in S3.
UI speed 10/10 you can swipe to every screen without lags. UI is a lot better than that of S3.
Everyday usage 10/10 perfect for everyday normal use.
Text input 10/10 no problems with text input. been used to the UI of keyboard.
Display 10/10 display is really better. with real-life colors on all photos.
Battery 8/10 this however is the challenging part of sony acro s. you can survive a day of normal use but it would be much better if the battery is more than 2000mAh. also it is not removable. charging the phone every night solves your prob.

Pros

  • UI display - real life color
  • phone is easy to hold, thicker phones are better than thin ones
  • waterproof and dustproof features top it all
  • fast response, fast proc, big ram

Cons

  • better if battery has more than 2000mAh but overall the phone is really great!

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karl888
posted on 16 Nov 2012, 18:24 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Nov 2012)

4

Rubbish, Sony used to mean quality, not anymore

karl888 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Bought an Acro S 4 months ago. Two days ago it just dies. I was using it one moment next time I look at it it is dead. Treated it very carefully always kept in a protective case. Same thing happened to my girlfriends Xperia Pro, exactly the same thing dead. Summary Sony is dead no wonder they are losing money their product quality doesn't live up to their reputation any longer and I would never buy any Sony product again and advise all to keep away from Sony. This is what happens when companies last too long they get corrupt and full of money hungry corporate players that eventually ends in product shortcomings for the sake of their paychecks.

Build quality 2/10 failed product
Reception 6/10 average nothing special
Call quality 2/10 so so voice quality always need to ask people to repeat what they said
Internet 5/10 bit slow browser
Multimedia 6/10 average mostly the gps worked pretty well
Camera 2/10 almost ever picture looks blurry like a dirty lens even when it is actually clean when the picture was taken
UI speed 2/10 seems to suffer from memory leaks after a day of use the icons etc when switching blank out and need to wait
Everyday usage 5/10 nothing special the loudspeaker for voice calls is rubbish can barely hear it
Text input 3/10 hard to type on my xperia mini pro far better and cheaper to bad it's quality was bad to and died just after a year and the warranty expired. Sony equals poor quality.
Display 8/10 nice while it lasts
Battery 2/10 if you use it as a smartphone battery dies rather quickly doesn't live up to the reviews in real life.

2 out of 39 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aymanfarra
posted on 18 Oct 2012, 11:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Oct 2012)

10

if cant purchase i phone go to sony

aymanfarra has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

strong mobile good quality and finishing nice screen fast to open any application , every month i received update for software , all specification very nice , you will like it . don not hesitate to purchase one

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 the battery with heavy use lost in fast time

Pros

  • quality building
  • water proof
  • high resolution
  • nice camira

Cons

  • battery not like quality of it

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ahmed.soltan
posted on 29 Sep 2012, 08:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Sep 2012)

10

Finally Upgraded to Xperia Acro s :D

ahmed.soltan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got the Sony Xperia Acro S yesterday for 600$ , ( a friend sent it to me from U.S ) It's Powered by Android 4.1 Jelly Bean out of the box , not ICS 4.0.4 i loved this phone very much , its awesome
water resistant i have tested it with water
scratch resistant i have tested with apin
no scrathc or no compliant for water

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Android 4.1 out-of-the-box
  • 12.1 MP Camera
  • GLONASS
  • Anti-Water & Dust

Cons

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

XZ55555
posted on 19 Sep 2012, 10:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Sep 2012)

10

It's Time for Sony

XZ55555 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I switched from Galaxy S to Xperia Acro S and this is my review :
the phone is 11mm thin and hot IP57 certified - dust and water resistant + Scratch-resistant shatter proof glass
have 342 ppi pixel density & 1280*720 HD Screen with Mobile Bravia which will give very clear and impressive view
got Regular Sim and microSD up to 32 GB
Internal 16 GB storage 1 GB RAM
The WiFi Signal is very good even long range
got USB On-the-go support , which you can plug in Flash Memory
got 12 MP Camera 4000x3000 pixels impressive image quality even in night + FullHD 1080p Video Recording
Android OS, v4.0 (Ice Cream Sandwich) i wish 4.1 Jelly Bean comes available
Dual-core 1.5 GHz Scorpion S3 Adreno 220
Got A-GPS support and GLONASS
Standard battery, Li-Ion 1910 mAh non-removable

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • dust and water resistant
  • 342 ppi pixel density & 1280*720 HD Screen with Mobile Bravia
  • Regular Sim
  • microSD up to 32 GB
  • USB On-the-go support
  • Strong WiFi Signal
  • 12 MP Camera 4000x3000
  • GLONASS very fast GPS
  • UI

Cons

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

diago
posted on 19 Sep 2012, 09:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Sep 2012)

10

Impressive !!

diago has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

this smartphone is excellent in everything , i got it and i'm very happy
Nice Design + High Quality Camera and Display + Very Strong WiFi Signal + Very Nice UI + Water Resistant
The only cons is the non-removable battery

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 12M Camera - excellent camera
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Very Clear Display - the best display i had ever seen
Battery 9/10

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mhmoudko
posted on 16 Sep 2012, 05:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Sep 2012)

10

THE BEST SMARTPHONE EVER !!

Mhmoudko has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i tried Galaxy S2 , S3 , HTC One X , One S , Motorola Razr Maxx before i buy my Xperia Acro S
and i found that the Sony Xperia Acro S is the best , Price is very good
and i advise everyone to try it ( im not a fanboy of xperia at all , this is my first experience with it , trust me )

Build quality 10/10 Very nice design ,, very strong & feels very premuim in your hands i though its not thin before i buy it (11mm) but when i bought it and get my hands on it its very thin
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Thanks to Mobile Bravia Engine and the 342ppi , this well help you to view photos & videos in a mind-blowing quality
Camera 10/10 F/2.4 , 12MP Camera , Very Nice Quality , 0.5 seconds to take photos , startup 1.5 seconds , it have a multifocus mode and touch focus and single focus and many other modes . Man it's sony camera :D
UI speed 10/10 Very Fast , No Lag at all better than Touchwiz never feel boring
Everyday usage 10/10 Excellent
Text input 10/10 I liked the customization availabe , you can change the skins the colors whatever you want
Display 10/10 OUTSTANDING QUALITY , i compared it next to the Galaxy S2 & S3 , the Sony Acro S is better & the galaxy is nothing . the galaxy display feels green . but acro s have very good & clear sharp colors
Battery 10/10 for me , the battery lasts after 2 days i use camera . 3G calling , facebook , reading ,, it's good and if you want to get more than 2 days try not to use the wifi too much you will get better result

Pros

  • CAMERA
  • DESIGN
  • DISPLAY
  • Regular SIM
  • Memory card
  • and a lot of things
  • water resistant

Cons

  • non-removable battery

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

XperiaPower
posted on 15 Sep 2012, 00:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Sep 2012)

10

Best rugged phone for 2012

XperiaPower has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My waiting is over, since ive' seen this xperia acro s on their website sonymobile.com i was amazed and decided to wait till but since here in middle east most of the people they are using iphone and trending samsung the release date became so late. The first day i used this acro s the first thing i observe is the performance well i can give it a 9 coz there is no perfect phone anyway, battery wise... just use Juice Defender to help you with your battery coz if your heavy user like me the battery charged over-night can only stand till 7-2pm then after that i am charging it again from 2-4 kinda silly but yah i am doing it. The Shatterproof laminated installed is kinda pissing me off coz that is not a scratch-free lamination. Waterproof ohh yeah it is! but i want to test this one over the pool this coming weekend.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Best rugged phone you can defy - water and dust

Cons

  • battery
  • facebook app very slow

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nick0laz
posted on 09 Sep 2012, 01:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Sep 2012)

10

Sony's Very-Able Swimmer

Nick0laz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

In Q3 2012, Sony released six phones in the South East Asia region, mainly to name the Sony Xperia ion, Sony Xperia acro S, Sony Xperia go, Sony Xperia miro, Sony Xperia tipo and last but not least, the Sony Xperia neo L. One particular handset that captures my eye is the IP57 water rugged Sony Xperia acro S.

The acro S is very alike and can be worthy of being called brother of the famed Xperia S. They both sport very fast 1500GHz dual-core processors, beautiful TFT display (720x1280 pixels) with a pixel density of 342ppi, among many other similar features to name.

When i went to Xperia's showroom near my house, I was greeted with a shop with only two patrons. Most people, with that amount of money, would rather vie for big names like Samsung and Apple instead.

Upon my request, the promoter put the Xperia acro S into a tank of freshwater (which was placed there exactly for this purpose) and left it there for two minutes. (The acro S can withstand 30minutes of submerging for up to 1 metre of freshwater). I dipped my hand into the water and scrolled the screen with my wet fingers. The wet-finger-tracking technology is truly a one-off.

The 12.1mp camera does the job perfectly, although you have an option of shooting in lower mega-pixels according to your liking. The Exmor-R for mobile CMOS sensor is felt in the pictures taken. With Auto focus, Digital image and video stabilizer, Face detection, Smile detection, White balance, Digital zoom, Geo tagging, and Self-timer, the...  

Build quality 9/10 The soft matte plastic back cover feels professional and comfortable in the palms. The bulkiness of the phone is just a minor problem.
Reception 10/10 Took calls with breeze. Not much problem for me with the excellent signal receptors of the acro S.
Call quality 10/10 Noise cancelling is an added bonus. Clarity in conversations is felt.
Internet 10/10 The HSPDA of 14.4 Mbit/s is very fast. Rarely feel any hiccups in browsing.
Multimedia 8/10 Loudspeakers are muffled, even with xLoud, maybe because of waterproof features. Video and pictures are above-average.
Camera 10/10 Sony’s Exmor™ R for mobile CMOS sensor, 3D sweep panorama and 1080p of HD video recording is one of many titles the acro S's camera have under it's belt.
UI speed 10/10 1500MHz dual core processors can be felt when using few apps at a moment. Tends to slow down the system if too many apps are running.
Everyday usage 10/10 Comfortable phone that can be taken to anywhere and everywhere. Capable of chasing all your boredom away.
Text input 10/10 QWERTY on the multi-touch scratch resistant screen is smooth. Could even use Swype style input if you download it from Google Play.
Display 10/10 High pixel density and stunning visuals fitted with mobile Bravia Engine makes the acro S's display deserve a perfect 10.
Battery 8/10 1910 mAh battery with 290 hours for 2G and 310 on 3G is quite below average for a smartphone. Could be better if it's user accessible though.

Pros

  • Fast processor
  • Excellent camera (12.1mp)
  • Stunning visuals (mobile Bravia Engine)
  • Sony PS certified 3D and motion games
  • NFC-enabled

Cons

  • Bulky build
  • Hard to access Micro SD slot
  • Unaccessible and underperforming battery

Nick0laz alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

wind96xx
posted on 04 Sep 2012, 08:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2012)

10

The ultimate waterproof phone

wind96xx has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Sony Xperia Acro S is the best phone I ever had. I was looking for a replacement for my Xperia Arc S and this one proved itself worthy. Unlike the new flagships which push the limits of comfortability with their huge screens, 4.3" screen on this phone is just fine. Great phone, I recommend it to everyone!

Build quality 10/10 Amazing. It's good to see that being waterproof doesn't take its toll on the looks.
Reception 10/10 No problems here.
Call quality 10/10 Very good sound quality. No issues here.
Internet 9/10 Flash isn't preinstalled but can be used if downloaded separately. Personally I prefer the HTC browser but this one does the job too.
Multimedia 10/10 Great for multimedia, especially for games. Adreno 220 is still very usable and NOT OUTDATED AT ALL.
Camera 10/10 It's a 12MP camera and it has great potential. I often use the 9MP mode because I prefer 16:9 photos but still it lives up my expectations.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 I just LOVE Sony's UI with its fancy, fluid animations. There's no lag at all, perfect.
Text input 9/10 I prefer physical keyboards but this phone has one of the best virtual keyboards on the market.
Display 9/10 The pixel density is AMAZING. However, since only SuperAMOLED Plus deserves a 10, this LCD gets a 9, and is one of the best LCDs.
Battery 8/10 Now, I can't call the battery life great because it isn't. However, it's not that bad either.

Pros

  • Waterproof and dustproof
  • Very good specs, real-life performance is great too
  • Impressive pixel density
  • Timescape UI is one of my favorites
  • microSD slot

Cons

  • Battery life does not impress, 1910mAh is too little for a non-removable battery
  • Capacitive keys could have been better
  • A bit overpriced

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Darkstone82
posted on 31 Aug 2012, 10:37 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Aug 2012)

10

Amazing tough phone

Darkstone82 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

To me this is the perfect phone. It has some very high end features 1.5 dual-core processor, 12.1 megapixel camera, 4.3" LCD screen 342ppi, nfc, glonass gps, 1gb ram, and arguably the best manufacturer UI. All this wrapped in a very tough water proof casing.

I agree with the phonearena review that the capacitive buttons are too small, but after getting used to them that goes away.

Also I went the rooted unlocked bootloader route and makes this even better. Overall this is a great replacement for my last tough phone Motorola Defy, and I am extremely happy with my purchase. Will be buying Sony phones for a long while now for the homerun they hit with this phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Thicker body, a pro for me(big hands)
  • Water proof for a limited duration
  • Very fast
  • Great photo quality
  • Charging station
  • Xperia smart tags

Cons

  • Battery could be bigger
  • Support for T-Mobile 1700/2100 band

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories