GIVEAWAY: win 1 of 3 honor 5x phones

Sony Xperia Z User Reviews

9.1 Based on 68 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.5/10
Battery8.6/10
Call quality9/10
Display9.2/10
Reception9.3/10
Text input9.2/10
Build quality9.3/10
Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

chunkybeats
posted on 14 Oct 2015, 19:28 (Posts: 9; Member since: 15 Nov 2011)

9

Nearly 3 years old and still going strong

chunkybeats has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

What a great phone, I jumped from an iphone 4 all them years ago and havent looked back. It awesome that it is still getting supported by Sony. Now rocking 5.1.1 and probably since 4.2 the best version since then! Sony fixed the bugs that were in 5.0.2! I will probably hold on to this phone until next year and upgrade to the Z5 compact next. This phone has been money well spent!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Easy to use
  • Still gorgeous to look and hasnt outdated

Cons

  • Eventually the waterproofing of the phone will eventually weaken over time as I learnt the hard way but it did drop into the ocean and its still all good and no damage but it has lost its waterproofing.

chunkybeats alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sesameopen
posted on 08 May 2014, 16:09 (Posts: 106; Member since: 02 Aug 2013)

8

Now that I look back at it, it just wasn't for me

Sesameopen has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've had the privilege of owning the xperia Z ever since it came out, since it was basically the only "waterproof" phone out there at the time, and it also happened to be on my carrier, T-Mobile. I remember my first week with it. It overheated quite easily, and soon, within the first year, the back plate started melting. You can read quite a lot about that problem on forums, and even worse sony didn't warranty it. Overall, My expierence with it was more or less decent. One handed operation wasn't easy, and now that I have the Moto X, I don't even use it anymore. Sure the front and back glass feels and looks good, but it just doesnt give you the grip.

Build quality 8/10 Front and back glass feels premium. The melting backplate was a huge minus since Sony didn't even have that under warranty.
Reception 9/10 Had a couple of wifi issues
Call quality 8/10 Loudspeaker and earpiece aren't the best, but useable.
Internet 10/10 LTE + Chrome = Speed
Multimedia 7/10 Screen isnt good, and loudspeaker sucks dick
Camera 9/10 The camera app is very fast, and pictures are pretty good, but I'm not a professional photographer, so don't take my word for it.
UI speed 9/10 Fast, but I don't think this is going to get any more updates
Everyday usage 8/10 The poor shape of the phone and mediocre battery life makes this meh.
Text input 6/10 Never liked it, used google keyboard
Display 8/10 Sometimes awkward colours, VERY poor viewing angles. Too cold
Battery 8/10 Meh is all I can say. The small battery does make it slim and looks good, but really?

Pros

  • Looks good
  • Supports tmobile's LTE
  • Camera UI is great
  • Display is good if viewed head on

Cons

  • Gets too hot
  • Expected more from battery
  • Loudspeaker sucks dick

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KINGJUAN27
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 17:52 (Posts: 210; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)

10

Excellent!

KINGJUAN27 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Smart sleek and durable. I'm lovin every corner piece and pixel of it. Best phone I've ever had so far! It's very gorgeous, my friends and officemates even love its design and looks. I love how I can multitask in the shower. Hahahaha. And I don't have problems using my phone in the rain, in the pool and in wet places -- definitely a show-off feature which is very useful! It very modern minimalist in aesthetics, it looks timeless. Never lagged so far, processor and innards are exceptionally great. Great multimedia phone I must say. Call quality is good, thanks to secondary noise cancelling mic. Overall, it's a great smartphone by Sony! Totally worth owning. :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • waterproof and dustproof
  • gorgeous premium design
  • fast and fluid ui
  • Walkman app and trackID are wonderful
  • stamina mode

Cons

  • speaker not very loud enough
  • camera is not the best
  • Music & Video Unlimited and PlayStation Mobile are not available in most countries, including mine

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anthonio360
posted on 14 Oct 2013, 20:24 (Posts: 7; Member since: 30 May 2011)

4

Its quite below average

anthonio360 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Let me start with the pro,well the premium feel of the phone is quite unique especially with the glass material of the rear but @ the same time the rectangular shape makes it very uncomfortable to hold or type with thereby making it look bulky when held compared with other rivals like s4 & htc one
Then comes the greatest con of the device it's display,the display is so poor that you could barely read or see HD photos properly,the display could be compared to the samsung galaxy s2 or worst still htc vivid.
In recent devices like its rivals there are lots of feature and innovations or should I say functions of a device that make one marvel @ or interested in such as the blink feed of the HTC one or the many numerous of the S4,the sony xperia z got NON!

Build quality 5/10 The device with its rectangular display looks bulky when held
Reception 10/10 After all no modern device got poor reception
Call quality 9/10
Internet 6/10 Due to the poor screen display,words on pages doesn't look vivid or sharp compared to its rivals
Multimedia 8/10 Not outstanding,same O! same O!
Camera 4/10 Since screen display is poor like wise its photo shots
UI speed 8/10 Nice but still not faster than the samsung galaxy s3
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10 Except for large hands,the rectangular shaped slows your speed in text typing
Display 2/10 Very very very poor display
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Unique android design
  • premium design

Cons

  • very poor display

2 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FaisalWibowo11
posted on 13 Aug 2013, 12:25 (Posts: 160; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

10

A Damn Near Perfect Phone

FaisalWibowo11 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Okay so here is my review about Sony Xperia Z. In short, it is a damn near perfect phone that leaves only one or two things to be desired.

Design and Build Quality: The design looks and feels so premium and elegant. The build quality is astounding as well thanks to the glass fibre polyamide and water proofing comes as a mega advantage which means you can drop your phone in water without any worry of getting the phone damaged, record videos in the water, and take pictures in the water (but you have to use timer because camera shutter key is absent)

Display: The full HD display is amazing, sharp, and perfect for watching movies and seeing photos because of the colour accuracy and bravia engine. But the black levels could have been better though, and viewing angles aren't great but it isn't a problem for me because I look at my phone from the front.

Camera Performance: I'm a little disappointed with the camera performance. In short, the camera performance is good but not very good or great. The camera of Xperia Z is able to outperform most of 8MP shooters such as samsung galaxy S3 and iphone 5 but when compared to 13MP shooters such as samsung galaxy s4 and lg g2, the camera of xperia z performs poorly. The camera of Xperia Z suffers from great loss of detail (compared to 13MP shooters) in any light caused by aggresive noise reduction and despite the aggresive noise reduction, the noise levels are not in the low side either. The good things are the colour rendering, dynamic range,...  

Build quality 10/10 Looks so premium and elegant. Build Quality is Pretty damn solid and waterproofing is one humongous advantage
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Great WALKMAN and Movies APP plus the Great audio quality
Camera 8/10 The Camera is good but unable to catch up with the best 13MP shooters such as galaxy s4 and lg g2
UI speed 10/10 Fast, smooth, no lags, and better than octa core samsung galaxy s4
Everyday usage 10/10 The phone performance is fast plus the waterproofing, the great multimedia capabilities, and decent camera
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 The display is sharp, amazing, and perfect for watching movies because of its bravia engine and accurate colours. Black levels could be better though
Battery 7/10 Greatly depends on usage. But my kind of usage drains the battery so fast

Pros

  • Sharp Full HD Display with Mobile Bravia Engine
  • Great Multimedia Capabilities
  • Great Chipset and Processor Performance
  • Outstanding Design with Waterproof Certification
  • Good Video Recording
  • Simplistic Near Stock Android Interface
  • Great Audio Quality
  • Expandable Storage Up To 64GB
  • SONY is Getting Faster with Firmware Updates

Cons

  • 13MP Camera Only Performs Slightly Better than The Most Capable 8MP Shooters
  • Battery Life Could be Better
  • No Camera Shutter Button
  • Capturing Image While Video Recording Can Only Capture Images with only 1MP of Resolution

FaisalWibowo11 alternatives:

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ivanprskalo
posted on 02 Sep 2013, 07:14 (Posts: 123; Member since: 09 Dec 2010)

9

Great smartphone.

ivanprskalo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As I said, smartphone is great, no lags, high build quality, quality and premium materials, water resistance (I took it to swimming on 5 or more occasions, and it is still live to tell the story). Call quality is also very good, reception also so for everyday usage is perfect.
Only few minor things are preventing me to say that it can't get any better, and those are:
Battery could be bigger (at expense of slimness).
Screen could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe...

Build quality 10/10 Phone is really strong and quality built. Glass and sturdy plastic, with some rubbery feeling on touch, sharp edges to have better grip on the phone, and there is no bending or any disruption on body of the phone.
Reception 10/10 No complains here. Everything works well and with new update even better.
Call quality 9/10 Voice from other side is clear, loud, and I wish only it could be better directed to ear. I feel that there is sometimes sound dissipation presented, like all of sound that comes from phone isn't well directed to ear. Maybe it is because of small earpiece grill.
Internet 10/10 No complains, only praises here. Surfing the web is pleasant experience with this phone.
Multimedia 10/10 With Bravia engine 2 everything looks better than in nature, and watching pictures, movieas, clips is really nice experience.
Camera 9/10 One of best cameras in phones. Sure is not perfect, but it is on top 5 or 10 cameras on all cell phones, and it serves me well.
UI speed 10/10 Sony's own launcher isn't bad, it is really good, nice on eyes, solid performer, but what I really like is to put Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this kind of phone. With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP) I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my every-days usage. That is thanks to fast Snapdragon S4 PRO processor and lots of RAM.
Everyday usage 9/10 As I said, thanks to fast quad core processor, lots of free RAM, big beautiful screen, awesome design, intelligent option of Stamina mode to preserve battery plus Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this phone - With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP)---> I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
Text input 9/10 Sonys keyboard is nice, but a bit slow for me. I like Smart keyboard, it has similar skin like Sonys.
Display 9/10 Bih FHD screen, I wish it could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe... Don't get me wrong, this is fine screen.
Battery 8/10 Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
-->

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Awesome build quality and used materials
  • Fast perfomance
  • Water resistance
  • Good camera
  • Great multimedia
  • Expandable storage
  • Sony is getting faster on updates
  • 1080p FHD 5

Cons

  • Battery could be bigger
  • Screen colors could be warmer
  • I would really like dedicated camera button (xperia ZL has one)
  • Loudspeaker should be louder, and elsewhere placed.

ivanprskalo alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zakriya
posted on 05 Aug 2013, 04:56 (Posts: 11; Member since: 05 Aug 2013)

10

Great Design And Awesome Build Quality! A Masterpiece!

Zakriya has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

very good phone in every aspect.great camera great screen and awesome build quality.very beautiful design...the only con for me after the latest update 4.2.2 is just the feeble loudspeaker other than that the phone is awesome.....DISplay Is Way Awesome After Addition Of White Balance In 4.2.2Recommend This to anyone ...Great Device by SONY :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Hardware
  • Screen (White Balance Rocks)
  • CLoser to stock jellybean ( No useless customizations from SONY)
  • All Glass Body.Awesome Quality
  • Great Design

Cons

  • Feeble loudspeaker only.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xperiaDROID
posted on 02 Aug 2013, 23:30 (Posts: 5629; Member since: 08 Mar 2013)

10

Experience the best of Sony in a smartphone. The Xperia Z.

xperiaDROID has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Ah, the Xperia Z......When I first took it out of the box, I first noticed that the Xperia Z is very sexy and elegant, I just can't keep my eyes off it. The Xperia Z has a reflective glass surface on the back, so it gives you premium feeling. Don't think that the glass surface on the Xperia Z is fragile, but actually, it's durable, I accidentally dropped the Xperia Z two times on the floor, and there's no crack whatsoever. And since the Xperia Z is water-resistant, I always wash the Xperia Z when it's dirty, but remember, close the flaps if you want to wash or dunk it into the water. The performance on the Xperia Z is fast, you can barely notice any lag and especially when playing games (like Asphalt 7, Dead Trigger and Real Racing 3. But graphics on Real Racing 3 is mediocre). Browsing the internet (Chrome) on the Xperia Z is excellent, there's no lag on scrolling and pinch to zoom. Same goes to the UI, it's fast and smooth. The screen on the Xperia Z is wonderful, it's sharp and crisp, I don't have problems with the viewing angles, and using it in direct sunlight. The camera is excellent. Call quality is good, the earpiece is loud and clear, but not in a noisy location. Watching videos on the Xperia Z is pretty satisfying, thanks to the Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Speaker is loud, thanks to the XLoud and ClearAudio+ technology, but it will sound crackling on the loudest volume. The battery life is average, it can last a whole day of normal usage. So overall, the Xperia Z is an...  

Build quality 10/10 Durable and premium.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 Good but you may have some trouble when in a noisy location.
Internet 10/10 Fast.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Excellent camera. The burst shot is amazing.
UI speed 10/10 Fast.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Keyboard is very easy to use. This keyboard is the best I've ever used.
Display 10/10 Sharp and crisp.
Battery 9/10 Can last a whole day of normal usage.

Pros

  • Water and dust resistant
  • Fast performance
  • Screen
  • Camera
  • Design
  • Durable

Cons

  • Speakers will sound crackling on the loudest volume
  • Battery life

xperiaDROID alternatives:

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

skyguy7567
posted on 18 Jun 2013, 10:08 (Posts: 148; Member since: 17 Nov 2012)

10

Best phone ever. -- Just for reference, I'm using the Sony Xperia Z C6603 Hong Kong version with 4GLTE --

skyguy7567 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The best phone in the world. Even with all the Samsung Galaxy S4 and the HTC ONE. Great speedy internet with a wonderful screen and very beautiful beautiful exterior. Packed with a very powerful CPU and GPU. Camera? Flawless. Despite the imperfections others have stated, they are only visible when zoomed to max. You won't be doing that, would you? Imperfections are very minor, not as serious as Phonearena stated. Photos match up with high-tier digital cameras ( Without lens zoom, of course) and colors are extremely real and attracting. Gaming? Not in question. Beast CPU and GPU packed with 2GB of RAM. Cannot be smoother. NO lag or whatsoever even when playing games like Frontline Commando. The UI is so smooth, not at all laggy as Phonearena stated. Maybe Phonearena guys aren't up to date with the latest Sony software. The smoothness and color contrast increased by a lot since the first firmware was out. (When everyone stated that the Xperia Z's screen is washed-out) Now it is completely fixed. If you're interested totally go for the dock. The home screen goes horizontal too! The dock is extremely helpful in watching videos or movies. UI is excellent. The wallpapers, the details, the nice look... The best UI for me. Samsung's UI is laggy and wallpapers look too 'blueish' and always related to water or sky. Believe me, you would NEVER want to change to a wallpaper that is not provided! Mobile Bravia Engine is just excellent. It makes a TFT screen beat AMOLED and LCD completely....  

Build quality 10/10 Obviously. Beautiful power button and wonderful glass design. The glass design does not worry me for the slightest bit. Dragontail Glass from Sony? - Unbreakable! Samsung S4's Gorilla Glass 3? Go to Android Authority's S4 vs iPhone 5 drop test.
Reception 10/10 Although this heavily depends on the provider, mine's good. I'm using 3HK (Hong Kong) and no problem with calls. (Of course, in regular malls and streets and the subway)
Call quality 10/10 Many people did raise concerns about the call quality. Being waterproof, it's hard to maintain both sound quality from speakers and the waterproof function. I have no problem with unclear calls.
Internet 10/10 Speed, speed speed! 4G LTE lets you stream HD videos from YouTube! 3G only lets you stream HQ, or 480p in the settings of the computer YouTube. Lightening fast internet makes browsing web pages just as enjoyable as browsing on a computer. Hitting 24 Mb/s (Depends on where you live. Hong Kong is the third fastest in 4/3G internet just behind Korea and Japan. Downloading Temple Run 2 or Frontline Commando? The only thing to worry about is not to reach the 'fair use amount' of 5 GB and slow your in
Multimedia 10/10 From the Album to Walkman to Movies to Sony Select, it has been a wonderful experience. exclusive Album interface presents a simple yet capable interface. Walkman is professional and also has ideal basic settings for beginners. Movies app is smooth and Mobile Bravia Engine 2 has the videos and movies you have there up and running immediately. (Depends on your storage speed. In this case it is speedy in both Class 4 and Class 10 SD cards)
Camera 10/10 Wonderful and completely comparable camera with professional shooting cameras. Superior Auto does all the calculations. That is great for 'Launch and snap' to take a quick photo, since it can quickly adjust with the lighting and the scene and take a photo. HDR does delay the shot by a bit, but of course, fixing the image and its contrast. I prefer Normal mode, where you can just tweak with any settings yourself. Sometimes Superior Auto might not be able to adjust to the lightening around. (I'm j
UI speed 10/10 Speedy UI, does not lag like hell like in samsung phones. Quad Core 2GB RAM makes the ideal speed for a smooth UI. Scrolling is not at all laggy and exiting an application does not require the home screen to generate again at all. Very quick!
Everyday usage 10/10 I'm still a secondary student now, but this phone is useful to any people in any occupation. There are many office apps from Google Play and probably the best from this phone is the quick launch Google Now feature. Just hold down the home button slightly quicker and swipe up. To cancel, return to the home button position. Many people don't know about Google Now just cause the Google Now app is called 'Google' in the apps menu. The quick launch lets you go to Google now and check on the status o
Text input 10/10 I text a lot. Screw Swiftkey. I'm saving those dollars. Xperia Keyboard is the best vanilla keyboard in the world. It's probably the best in the world, to. Compared to other keyboards. I live in Hong Kong, so obviously I need to type Traditional Chinese. Xperia Keyboard is the rare type of keyboard that offers free Traditional Chinese typing with a swipe and very capable English keyboard. Most keyboards can only type Simplified Chinese (The written language used in mainland China which I have no
Display 10/10 100% deserves a 10. Wonderful screen. 443 ppi. Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Gaming feels awesome. Text reading is extreme clear and smooth. Media display wonderfully. All thanks to Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Don't you dare look down on TFT screens. They last much longer than AMOLED and LCD screens.
Battery 10/10 As a student, I do not raise concerns about the battery. My phone is off for quite some time. Going to school and back home with an additional 1 hour lunch, all either using 4G LTE or gaming. Back home there's at least 30% left. Considering that I'm browsing with 4G all the time (4G drains a lot more battery than 3G because additional power is required to receive information so quickly) And be mindful, the beast screen means quite a bit of battery drain. So heavy using for 4 hours or so with abo

Pros

  • Beast Screen
  • Extremely smooth
  • Excellent camera
  • Wonderful keyboard
  • Speedy Internet
  • Extraordinary Media viewing
  • Professional music player
  • The trademark of Sony-- The Power Button.
  • Pre-loaded wallpapers are one of the EIGHT wonders of the world
  • Great texts!
  • Best build quality in the world.

Cons

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pyradark
posted on 17 Apr 2013, 03:53 (Posts: 821; Member since: 10 Jun 2012)

10

So Far Best of SOny Mobile

pyradark has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is phenomenal. first the phone itself is a rugged phone but in a handsome looks and super light despite its a 5inch screen. it feels premium in hand, the glass is a stunner looker. Display is So-So but in viewing media files, so far its the best handset youll ever had.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Tough Build Quality
  • Best Design
  • Very Attractive UI

Cons

  • Viewing Angle
  • Color & Contrast Low
  • OK Battery

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

cheetah2k
posted on 01 Apr 2013, 23:19 (Posts: 1474; Member since: 16 Jan 2011)

9

Great phone, Better than my Nexus 4

cheetah2k has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Sony XZ is a very good Full HD phone, the physical dimensions about the same as the Nexus 4 which is what suckered me in. In Australia can get the 16gb version outright with Telstra firmware for around $590 (best price) so certainly in a good range considering an equivalent 16gb iphone 5 is in the $700+ range. It’s IP57 dust and water proof which benefits me on site and on a motor bike to and from work and on wet days my bag usually ends up soaked thru.

The internal hardware CPU (Qualcomm S4 Pro 8064 quad), RAM (2Gb) is the same as the Nexus 4, but the Z has MicroSD expandability (supports 64gb SDXC cards) and has a spectacular 13MP cam. I find the screen much brighter overall than the Nexus 4 (I have the Sharp LCD in my Z), and the battery seems to last much longer than the N4, getting more than a day even with my constant Hotmail and FB push. On speedtest.net the XZ was as fast as the N4 over H+ (between 10-16mbits/sec on Voda HSDPA), but was much faster over a 5G wifi connect topping out at about 65Mbits/sec - my N4 does about 35-40Mbits/sec – both phones were tested at the same location and same time with full bars

For me as a techie, its a shame that Sony didnt equip the XZ with the latest Qualcomm 600 CPU (The 600 is similar to the S4 Pro but optimised to 15% quicker) however it still seems to handle everything generally lag free and easy - I found that even with the better 1080 FHD, the Z seems slightly quicker than the N4 at times too.

The only real...  

Build quality 9/10 USB port door going to take a hammering!
Reception 10/10 Reception better than other phones I've used
Call quality 9/10 Above average and no weird modulation issues as experienced by PA. PA probably had a test unit not a final production handset, or their cellular network has cheap a55 equipment therefore making it sound bad - or they were just doing it wrong.
Internet 10/10 Quick on H+, but untested on LTE
Multimedia 10/10 Awesome screen.. music is good too
Camera 10/10 A real winner!
UI speed 9/10 Some very minor lag, but really good considering all the extra pixels the S4 Pro has to push for the 1080 FHD screen. Quadrant benchmark is good too, 8000+
Everyday usage 9/10 So far so good
Text input 10/10 easy
Display 10/10 Super good. I have the Sharp made LCD screen, which is very crisp and bright, and blacks are very reasonable.
Battery 8/10 Stamina mode doesnt work properly on the 350 firmware. Waiting for 434 to come out.

Pros

  • Great 13MP camera
  • MicroSD expansion up to 64gb
  • Water/dust resistant
  • Good use of handset size to match form factor of equivalent of some 4.7” phones
  • Excellent 5” screen with 1080 resolution, can’t see any pixilation, excellent visibility in/out doors
  • Reasonable hardware (1.5ghz S4 Pro + 2Gb DDLR3 RAM)
  • Supports 2G/3G/3G+/H/H+/LTE (4G) globally!
  • Instant on from standby when pressing home button (SGS3 takes 3 sec to do this)

Cons

  • Questionable on Firmware updates? – Latest minor bug fix update for 4.1.2 released 25th March 2013 for Global LTE – not yet available for Aus Telstra - tick tock
  • This phone should have induction QI charging!!
  • IP57 doors everywhere – even the MicroUSB charge port has a door which will be heavily used (~daily) – hopefully replacement parts available when this wears out
  • Camera can take 2-3 seconds to open on first start after a boot (bug fix coming says Sony)
  • No Snapdragon 600 :(

cheetah2k alternatives:

25 out of 28 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Esf_Kid
posted on 21 Mar 2013, 16:17 (Posts: 49; Member since: 28 Feb 2013)

10

Experience the best of Sony in smartphone

Esf_Kid has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i think this review can help those who have some dilemmas for buying this phone.
first i must say that right now i have three flagship phones. S3, IP5 and XZ. to begin with, i will choose XZ as the best of this pack and as its a 2013 flagship and those two are 2012, it can't be weird. the display gives you rich and most real colors. viewing angle is not an issue for me and i found it pretty good in it although its not as good as S3 and IP5. the UI is gorgeous and it never lags. the screen is very smooth, the camera is perfect (better than S3 and IP5) specially when its at Superior auto mode, design is gorgeous, it not heavy and the grip is good. the only thing that somehow disappointed me was loud speaker. if you listen to music with head set the quality is perfect but without it, the story changes. the battery lasts pretty good and i have no problem with it. it has rich multimedia, great Wi-Fi speed and Walkman is a great music player.
the hardware performs very well and never let you down in any game or high tasks but it gets hot and i think its natural for Qualcomm chips.
overall i must say that Sony enchanted me with its design and great engineering.
this phone will never let you down and if you want to experience the best of one of greatest mobile manufacturer, you must go for this beauty.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • design
  • display
  • multimedia
  • internet speed
  • water proof
  • camera
  • hardware
  • smoothness
  • build qaulity
  • battery

Cons

  • loud speaker
  • getting hot (not annoyingly)

Esf_Kid alternatives:

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

emadshiny
posted on 17 Mar 2013, 06:03 (Posts: 1144; Member since: 05 Dec 2012)

10

beautifull beast!

emadshiny has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

man this is just perfect. its about a week that i have this phone and it didn't let me down in any aspect. the UI is damn beautiful and smooth. with Sony's new engineering which omits an air layer from the screen, the smoothness becomes perfect. hardware is perfect. display is the best i have seen so far and i didn't notice any problem with viewing angles. the battery lasts about 30 hours with above average usage which is satisfactory. the camera is excellent and sound quality is good specially with headphones.
overall, i think this is the best phone so far.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • perfect display with good viewing angles
  • super smooth UI without any lag
  • sexy design
  • good battery life (mine lasts at least 35 hours with average usage)
  • excellent camera (way better than what PA claimed)
  • good call quality
  • watter proof
  • high speed processor
  • rich multimedia

Cons

  • audio could be more powerful

emadshiny alternatives:

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SonyFan
posted on 14 Mar 2013, 15:48 (Posts: 22; Member since: 22 Jan 2013)

10

Xperia Z the best of best in a smartphone

SonyFan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought that beauty weeks ago and i must say it...i didn't expect that the display would be so wonderful...i would consider that over the HTC One...very fast CPU...no lags...even at games like(wild-blood,deadtrigger at high, Bladeslinger,God of Blades...overall very good performance...Camera is better than i though...even the apple-fanboys said that its better than the one on the iphone 5!!!!
just buy it...i think u won't be disappointet with that phone...
p.s i held the device abouth 30times under water to show my friends that...they were said: WOOWWW

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Very sharp and good Display
  • Very good Cam 13mpx
  • good front cam
  • excellent performance
  • Waterressistant
  • Micro-Sd up to 64GB
  • Fast CPU/GPU
  • no lags
  • wonderful build quality
  • excelent handling

Cons

  • loudspeaker is on the wrong place

SonyFan alternatives:

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shem2409
posted on 06 Mar 2013, 08:05 (Posts: 11; Member since: 16 Feb 2013)

9

Xperia Z, what a beast

shem2409 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have owned the Xperia Z for the past few days. Before I purchased the device I spent 2 weeks reading every single review and watching every single video that appeared online. I simply wanted to get the best phone that is available out there. I reckon that Xperia Z is better than HTC One for my needs. Even though though the one has better processor and better speakers, I love the simple yet stunning design of the Xperia Z. The fact that it is waterproof and much more durable than other phones in this class only makes it stand out even more. First thing I noticed when I switched the device on was a beautiful screen. It really is something you would not have seen anywhere else. I have to mention here that I don't like the skin that Sony implemented on the device. A grey notification and navigation bar just make it look as if the blacks on the device where that poor. The black however are beautiful. I have previously owned 2 devices with an Amoled screen and even though there is a difference it is not very big and Sony did a great job in this area. This screen makes up for the blacks when you use it in direct sunlight as the screen brightness allows for the display to be easily read. When you go to your gallery or video and see how Bravia Engine 2 performs you wish you could have it switched on at all times.
The internet speeds are very good and the browser performs well.
Call quality is good, but the speaker could be not loud enough in busy places. This is probably due to an...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Screen
  • Camera
  • Sound quality on headphones
  • UI Speed
  • Gaming performance
  • Micro sd support

Cons

  • maybe battery could be bigger
  • speaker could be louder
  • otherwise NONE

shem2409 alternatives:

24 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Lisergiko
posted on 12 Feb 2016, 10:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Feb 2016)

10

Strong and Efficient

Lisergiko has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I've dropped this phone a hundred times, yet not a single scratch. It's incredibly amazing how it functions on the software context. Hardware lacks some effort: Camera and Speaker. Although this is the best phone I've ever had and I'm sorry I have to buy another one because of the two most important things according to me. I've never been eager to play games and run huge and cheesy applications, but for anything else it has been a savior!

Build quality 10/10 Incredibly durable, just use a plain simple rubber case and you will never brake this phone.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 Sometimes the earpiece wont work, and you have to switch to loudspeaker to keep up your call, I don't know why I've had this problem, obviously cause by some glitch or software error.
Internet 10/10 Never had problems, amazingly efficient.
Multimedia 9/10 One single loudspeaker which turns out to be very lousy, lately it has lost half of it's volume.
Camera 9/10 Wonderful pictures, like none of it's rivals at the time. Unfortunately one day it got blurry, and I worsened it by trying to clean the lens :(
UI speed 10/10 Great :D
Everyday usage 10/10 Nothing to say. plain accurate.
Text input 10/10 easy and really functional
Display 10/10 Great colors, great quality, great resistance.
Battery 9/10 Not the best, but hey, you can't pretend to have it for the entire day if you stick to surfing the web, watching videos and playing games all day long.

Pros

  • Incredibly strong and durable
  • Wonderful camera for pictures and videos.
  • Great display and colors
  • Gorgeous and fast UI
  • Sony will never let you down on updates and fixes
  • Waterproof

Cons

  • One single lousy speaker
  • Battery could be better

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Nshimbi
posted on 27 Jan 2016, 09:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jan 2016)

5

I wish I'd chosen another phone

Nshimbi has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

On the surface excellent specifications, but has many flaws. I can't bring myself to get another Sony now as I don't trust the glitz will last. For a company that built their reputation on media devices this is distinctly average in terms of sound and vision.

Build quality 5/10 Whilst much of the phone is premium the little doors are poor. After a while they won't close and the tiny rubber seals come off. Sony fouled up on the layering of the protection of the glass, putting the shatter proof film (which scratches) on the outside. The screen is failing too after less than 2 years. Finally Sony put in a colour changing damp sensor inside the doors, but it's too sensitive (reacts the same to sweaty finger or being dropped in the bath). Once it changes colour your phone i
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10 Very slow to open
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 3/10 With a failing screen annoying beyond belief
Display 4/10 Much poorer than I expected from Sony. My old Samsung Galaxy SII was clearer
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Sturdily built

Cons

  • Little fiddly doors
  • Failing screen
  • The damp sensor

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Hooooss
posted on 06 Jul 2015, 18:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jul 2015)

10

The Xperia Z

Hooooss has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Moderate price, pretty nice specification and water resistant , awesome hardware under the hood ;) plus android support and camera
Makes The "Xperia Z" a dream device since 2013
Just look at the votes and fans, there is no doubt that it's enough good to stand in second place between all user rated phones.
I love my device very much

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Just awesome

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

crunkgrunk
posted on 17 Feb 2015, 01:26 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Sep 2014)

10

Good phone

crunkgrunk has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Good daily driver. Heats up during prolonged web browsing or gaming however. Battery could be better but lasts about a day with moderate usage. Doesn't lag or stutter much and handles most things thrown at it (not literally). I got it pretty cheap so I'm happy with it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Waterproof
  • Nice Design
  • High resolution screen
  • Will be updated to Lollipop

Cons

  • Heats up with moderate to heavy use
  • Viewing angles could be better
  • Low screen to body size ratio

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Arcticwarrior
posted on 16 Feb 2015, 14:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2015)

10

Best Phone!

Arcticwarrior has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is a beast :D i have it for 6 mounts and i never get a problem! camera quality is verry good...battery 2 days..screen is the best.i don t regret the decission to buy this phone :D....i hope my next phone is Z3 :D

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

prashantkhot
posted on 20 Nov 2014, 03:08 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Nov 2014)

10

AWESOME phone

prashantkhot has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price. Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.Itw awesome phone with all aminities with least price.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • Low speaker voice

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
posted on 13 Oct 2014, 11:28 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Oct 2014)

10

Addition

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have almost every Xperia smartphone. I have the Z2, Z1, Z1 Compact, Z3 compact, etc. I would say that the Xperia Z performs the best out of all of them. The Z2 heats up sometimes, the Z1 is just a messed up Z2, but the Z, on android 4.4.4 is beautiful. I really like this phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Applesucksalot
posted on 13 Oct 2014, 11:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Oct 2014)

10

I dont care, I love it

Applesucksalot has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone is better than every Xperia phone. EVER. Its better than the Z2, Z1, Z Ultra, etc. Hopefully Sony's Xperia Z4 or Z5 will be more like the Xperia Z because that phone is beautiful. I would give it 11/10 if I could.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Androidfanboyyyyyy
posted on 13 Oct 2014, 11:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Oct 2014)

10

With 4.4.4, this phone is a beast

Androidfanboyyyyyy has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is excellent. Sleek, beautiful, fast, etc. It offers so much that most smartphones dont. Everyone is going and buying samsungs or htcs, but im all sony because of the xperia z. Soon the xperia z will be an old phone, so I will probably replace it with the sony xperia z4 in the future.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Androidfanboyyyyyy alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SamsungGalaxyS4
posted on 13 Oct 2014, 11:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Oct 2014)

10

Sony Xperia Z

SamsungGalaxyS4 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love this phone. I honestly think its better than my S4. I used it for about a week because my S4 was for repairs from water damage. Anyways, having lent this phone, I loved it. I felt that the S4 was nothing compared to this phone. So when I got my S4 back I replaced it with an Xperia Z. I use this phone as my daily driver and hope to buy a 6" smartphone from sony. The Z ultra is good, but the Xperia Z offers more.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything about It

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories