x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z User Reviews

9.2 Based on 42 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.3/10
Everyday usage9.2/10
UI speed9.4/10
Camera9.5/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery8.7/10
Reception9.4/10
Display9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

wahajahmad
posted on 23 Mar 2014, 13:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Mar 2014)

10

The bes phone I have ever used

wahajahmad has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a beast which blows all ather phones away its battery time is excellent and its camera,screen,graphics are awsome.But its speed (in user interface) is not that good as compared to iphone 5s or LG G2 but overall its a great phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Waterproof

Cons

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ashref
posted on 18 Mar 2014, 19:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Mar 2014)

10

Very Fast Phone

Ashref has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I own it for 5 months. It is a best beast! It is slim sturdy and even Faster than Samsung Galaxy S3. As it is a waterproof, The phone becomes hot. Display is good. but it keeps me saying close all the external connectors even though I've closed them all.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ijanic
posted on 29 Jan 2014, 12:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

10

Sony Xperia Z - My Side Review.

ijanic has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Let me start from the beginning. I have not so good history of cell phones. Xperia Z is my second smartphone. Before him I had SE Xperia X8 and while I had this mobile phone more and more I researched about cell phones. Before buying my second smartphone I wanted something what will satisfied all my needs. I became a PRO with everything what has to do with smartphones.After long research I bought Sony Xperia Z because it is one of the best smartphones in the world with a very reasonable price. It provides a lot like Galaxy S4 or HTC One but Sony is much cheaper. Sony is at some things even better! In shortly it has sharp 5" full HD display, 13mp camera and also great front camera with 2.2mp. Sony Xperia Z has the best build quality and also he is dustproof and waterproof. I recommend to all of you to buy Sony Xperia Z, it is and for few years still it will be at the top among the best smartphones in the world!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 The keyboard is more suitable for writing with both hands than with one. But with one hand writing is not a problem.
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Bright screen
  • Great camera with sensors
  • Classy look
  • Fast speed
  • The best media viewing
  • Power button
  • Very durable

Cons

  • Only photos, videos (movies) and music can transfer to SD card

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

popeha
posted on 24 Jan 2014, 13:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jan 2013)

9

Amazing thing from SONY

popeha has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have the version c6603 4G LTE with 4.2.2 pre-installed on it ... im very satisfied from having this phone .. and waiting the update 4.3 release for the middle east .... the power lock key is very nice .. the phone has a very good shape

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • no lags ( using about 900 MB RAM )
  • big amazing display
  • quad core processor

Cons

  • low speaker sound

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mukomiel
posted on 13 Jan 2014, 14:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jan 2014)

10

Great product!

mukomiel has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had about ten of eleven all different phones before but this is the best. Better than computer! I've had Siemens, Samsung, Nokia, Casio but this is the best and I'm planning to keep it as long as it will last or as technology would get improved so that I'll have to buy better one.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • All Pros

Cons

  • None

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sab3awi
posted on 06 Jan 2014, 02:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Jan 2014)

10

sony xperia z

Sab3awi has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it is one of the best phone i have ever used , you should really try it guys. it's camera is really perfect , with 13.1 megapixel , WOW really good ,, i recommend with this phone really , but i think that the battery is quickly empty

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vada80
posted on 22 Dec 2013, 08:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Dec 2013)

6

thought it was a great phone .. 1 month and all i have is problems

vada80 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

in less than 1 month since i got my xperia Z i'm facing those problems:

1- the screen freezes and then the phone restarts on its own.

2- i have to swipe the screen more than once to unlock it.

3- as i use the phone or even when it's idle i hear a long vibration and i wait for it to ring or a message to show up but that's it .. it just vibrates for no reason.
4- as i type to chat i press the letters.. i see word suggestions .. but what i'm typing doesn't really show up in the chat box .. i try pressing send and nothing comes up.

i tried:
1- updating the phone.
2- doing factory reset.
3- software repair.

AND NOTHING HELPED

i managed to capture one of the problems i'm facing with my ''new'' xperia z on cam .. please check it and let me know if you have any suggestions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2tGI7ad2NxQ

Build quality 7/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 2/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • phone hangs and restarts on its own

0 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KINGJUAN27
posted on 18 Dec 2013, 17:52 (Posts: 190; Member since: 02 Jul 2012)

10

Excellent!

KINGJUAN27 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Smart sleek and durable. I'm lovin every corner piece and pixel of it. Best phone I've ever had so far! It's very gorgeous, my friends and officemates even love its design and looks. I love how I can multitask in the shower. Hahahaha. And I don't have problems using my phone in the rain, in the pool and in wet places -- definitely a show-off feature which is very useful! It very modern minimalist in aesthetics, it looks timeless. Never lagged so far, processor and innards are exceptionally great. Great multimedia phone I must say. Call quality is good, thanks to secondary noise cancelling mic. Overall, it's a great smartphone by Sony! Totally worth owning. :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • waterproof and dustproof
  • gorgeous premium design
  • fast and fluid ui
  • Walkman app and trackID are wonderful
  • stamina mode

Cons

  • speaker not very loud enough
  • camera is not the best
  • Music & Video Unlimited and PlayStation Mobile are not available in most countries, including mine

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RandTarek
posted on 10 Nov 2013, 15:59 (Posts: 1; Member since: 24 May 2013)

9

Good Phone... 4.5/5

RandTarek has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Awesome phone, sexy look, great display, marvel camera, and of course Waterproof.
But its speaker is tiny, not loud doesn't work good after getting in water for like 1 hour. The battery not great, 2 days and half maybe 3 if you don't use it, 1 and a half day if you use it a little (just phone calls and messages), 1 day if of average using (phone calls and messages, some apps, maybe playing a game), a 3 or 4 hours of using it without letting it rest. I also think it can get scratched and smashed easily.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Great camera.
  • Really good looking.
  • Awesome display.
  • Waterproof.

Cons

  • Tiny speaker, not loud.
  • Battery not that great.
  • No camera button
  • Get scratched easily.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Andrew0769
posted on 15 Oct 2013, 01:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Oct 2013)

6

Sony Xperia Z

Andrew0769 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

HI, Yes you always take a chance when buying a new phone and I did have a look at the reviews so I was limited with Android choice and size. So I bought the Xperia Z ..
I had problems with the sound quality from day one also when using the speaker phone sound quality and volume was very poor.
Sent the phone back to have possible replacement speaker( as Manufacture admitted they had problems with a batch of speaker as told to by Selling Agent).
Phone came back no fault found and system upgrade done --That's it
Phone cant be used where background noise is high as I cant hear the conversation and I have had my wife use the phone so its not just me and she had same problem..
Also on speaker phone sound volume disappointing ..

Overall I liked the phone although disappointed when primary used of the phone is to converse and to do that you have to be able to hear the other person..

If you work in noisy area or have any industrial deafness I would not recommend buying this phone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 6/10 Sound quality and uncomfortable design for one handed operation
Reception 4/10 Blue tick phone for better regional reception although not as good as reception as my Motorola
Call quality 1/10 Poor sound quality to ear piece on phone and to loud speaker
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 3/10 Everyday use when you cant hear people talking through the phone is frustrating
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

Cons

  • Very poor sound quality when on phone in ear speaker and when on loud speaker Max volume sound quality is too soft and low.. Needs a better speaker /ear peice speaker or take out the waterproofing that maybe muffling the sound

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anthonio360
posted on 14 Oct 2013, 20:24 (Posts: 6; Member since: 30 May 2011)

4

Its quite below average

anthonio360 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Let me start with the pro,well the premium feel of the phone is quite unique especially with the glass material of the rear but @ the same time the rectangular shape makes it very uncomfortable to hold or type with thereby making it look bulky when held compared with other rivals like s4 & htc one
Then comes the greatest con of the device it's display,the display is so poor that you could barely read or see HD photos properly,the display could be compared to the samsung galaxy s2 or worst still htc vivid.
In recent devices like its rivals there are lots of feature and innovations or should I say functions of a device that make one marvel @ or interested in such as the blink feed of the HTC one or the many numerous of the S4,the sony xperia z got NON!

Build quality 5/10 The device with its rectangular display looks bulky when held
Reception 10/10 After all no modern device got poor reception
Call quality 9/10
Internet 6/10 Due to the poor screen display,words on pages doesn't look vivid or sharp compared to its rivals
Multimedia 8/10 Not outstanding,same O! same O!
Camera 4/10 Since screen display is poor like wise its photo shots
UI speed 8/10 Nice but still not faster than the samsung galaxy s3
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10 Except for large hands,the rectangular shaped slows your speed in text typing
Display 2/10 Very very very poor display
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Unique android design
  • premium design

Cons

  • very poor display

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jnsx3nds
posted on 09 Oct 2013, 12:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Oct 2013)

10

Great Phone, Great Feel

jnsx3nds has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is a phone with great feel. It is really a masterpiece which made most of the other phones to take its path. I can say that the dust and water resistance plays a really good role here! I love the Xperia Z

Build quality 10/10 It is excellent. There's a really nice feel to it.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 It's great but there are is a tiny bit of noise issue..
Internet 10/10 It's clean clear and extremely fast
Multimedia 10/10 Clear Audio+ makes the music so delicate and Mobile Bravia Engine 2 in the other hand does a great job in videos
Camera 10/10 You can't ask for more in a mobile device
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 that massive 1080p display takes my mind away
Battery 10/10 I use it for about 2 days with a single charge.

Pros

  • Great Feel
  • Extremely Fast
  • Camera
  • Music and Video rendering
  • Water Resistance

Cons

jnsx3nds alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

minsns
posted on 18 Sep 2013, 15:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Sep 2013)

10

awesome,just awesome

minsns has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is simply a beast,smooth interface,good multitasking,awesome gaming experience and awesome camera, i'm using this phone three month and i have almost no complaint except the speaker which was very disappointing because i expected a better quality but other than that the phone is absolutely awesome

Build quality 10/10 the glass back gives it a premium feel and the water and dust proof is just a awesome bonus
Reception 10/10 very good reception compere to other phones i had
Call quality 9/10 one of the best call quality but little troubled in a noisy locations
Internet 10/10 very fast browser experience Although i'm not big fan of chrome browser on android
Multimedia 8/10 good Walkman experience but the music quality is poor and really low
Camera 10/10 one of the best cameras on the market today Although its not the best
UI speed 10/10 really smooth and snappy i had no lags in all the three month i'm using this phone
Everyday usage 10/10 i absolutely love Sony's interface,its one of the best in my opinion and all Sony's little gadgets really make a good experience
Text input 10/10 I love Sony's keypad its one of my favorite on smartphone
Display 10/10 i love Sony's realty display and bravia engine, and the and the 1080p display and the pixel density ,all of this makes the display very very awesome
Battery 8/10 the battery is little bit disappointing but its can last a day and a half of normal usage

Pros

  • very smooth
  • high pixel density 441
  • really sharp display
  • very good gaming experience
  • awesome camera
  • premium building quality

Cons

  • bad quality speaker
  • poor battery life

minsns alternatives:

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CozyZest
posted on 09 Sep 2013, 04:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2012)

10

An Eye Catcher for Tech Geeks

CozyZest has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

3 months done with phone. An awesome device with eye catching details. Removed the shatterproof film which is not resistant to scratches. Now it\'s beautiful than before. Waiting for the Android KitKat!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Awesome Camera
  • Brilliant Build Quality
  • Water Resistant
  • Good Rear Camera
  • Scratch Resistant

Cons

  • Speaker

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ratioexmachina
posted on 01 Sep 2013, 15:37 (Posts: 3; Member since: 08 Dec 2011)

9

Better than what the official reviewers say

Ratioexmachina has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Overall I'm very happy with my Xperia Z. It showed some minor quirks here and there, but I've noticed those on my buddy's Galaxy S4 and on a colleague's iPhone 5 so they're normal when it comes to this type of tech.
The only thing I find a little bit disappointing is the battery time, which get depleted daily based on how I use it. However, there are battery packs out there (like the ones offered by Mugen) and I might get one of those.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Fluid UI
  • Good camera
  • Great build quality

Cons

  • weak battery

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FaisalWibowo11
posted on 13 Aug 2013, 12:25 (Posts: 39; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

10

A Damn Near Perfect Phone

FaisalWibowo11 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Okay so here is my review about Sony Xperia Z. In short, it is a damn near perfect phone that leaves only one or two things to be desired.

Design and Build Quality: The design looks and feels so premium and elegant. The build quality is astounding as well thanks to the glass fibre polyamide and water proofing comes as a mega advantage which means you can drop your phone in water without any worry of getting the phone damaged, record videos in the water, and take pictures in the water (but you have to use timer because camera shutter key is absent)

Display: The full HD display is amazing, sharp, and perfect for watching movies and seeing photos because of the colour accuracy and bravia engine. But the black levels could have been better though, and viewing angles aren't great but it isn't a problem for me because I look at my phone from the front.

Camera Performance: I'm a little disappointed with the camera performance. In short, the camera performance is good but not very good or great. The camera of Xperia Z is able to outperform most of 8MP shooters such as samsung galaxy S3 and iphone 5 but when compared to 13MP shooters such as samsung galaxy s4 and lg g2, the camera of xperia z performs poorly. The camera of Xperia Z suffers from great loss of detail (compared to 13MP shooters) in any light caused by aggresive noise reduction and despite the aggresive noise reduction, the noise levels are not in the low side either. The good things are the colour rendering, dynamic range,...  

Build quality 10/10 Looks so premium and elegant. Build Quality is Pretty damn solid and waterproofing is one humongous advantage
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Great WALKMAN and Movies APP plus the Great audio quality
Camera 8/10 The Camera is good but unable to catch up with the best 13MP shooters such as galaxy s4 and lg g2
UI speed 10/10 Fast, smooth, no lags, and better than octa core samsung galaxy s4
Everyday usage 10/10 The phone performance is fast plus the waterproofing, the great multimedia capabilities, and decent camera
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 The display is sharp, amazing, and perfect for watching movies because of its bravia engine and accurate colours. Black levels could be better though
Battery 7/10 Greatly depends on usage. But my kind of usage drains the battery so fast

Pros

  • Sharp Full HD Display with Mobile Bravia Engine
  • Great Multimedia Capabilities
  • Great Chipset and Processor Performance
  • Outstanding Design with Waterproof Certification
  • Good Video Recording
  • Simplistic Near Stock Android Interface
  • Great Audio Quality
  • Expandable Storage Up To 64GB
  • SONY is Getting Faster with Firmware Updates

Cons

  • 13MP Camera Only Performs Slightly Better than The Most Capable 8MP Shooters
  • Battery Life Could be Better
  • No Camera Shutter Button
  • Capturing Image While Video Recording Can Only Capture Images with only 1MP of Resolution

FaisalWibowo11 alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ivanprskalo
posted on 02 Sep 2013, 07:14 (Posts: 102; Member since: 09 Dec 2010)

9

Great smartphone.

ivanprskalo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

As I said, smartphone is great, no lags, high build quality, quality and premium materials, water resistance (I took it to swimming on 5 or more occasions, and it is still live to tell the story). Call quality is also very good, reception also so for everyday usage is perfect.
Only few minor things are preventing me to say that it can't get any better, and those are:
Battery could be bigger (at expense of slimness).
Screen could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe...

Build quality 10/10 Phone is really strong and quality built. Glass and sturdy plastic, with some rubbery feeling on touch, sharp edges to have better grip on the phone, and there is no bending or any disruption on body of the phone.
Reception 10/10 No complains here. Everything works well and with new update even better.
Call quality 9/10 Voice from other side is clear, loud, and I wish only it could be better directed to ear. I feel that there is sometimes sound dissipation presented, like all of sound that comes from phone isn't well directed to ear. Maybe it is because of small earpiece grill.
Internet 10/10 No complains, only praises here. Surfing the web is pleasant experience with this phone.
Multimedia 10/10 With Bravia engine 2 everything looks better than in nature, and watching pictures, movieas, clips is really nice experience.
Camera 9/10 One of best cameras in phones. Sure is not perfect, but it is on top 5 or 10 cameras on all cell phones, and it serves me well.
UI speed 10/10 Sony's own launcher isn't bad, it is really good, nice on eyes, solid performer, but what I really like is to put Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this kind of phone. With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP) I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my every-days usage. That is thanks to fast Snapdragon S4 PRO processor and lots of RAM.
Everyday usage 9/10 As I said, thanks to fast quad core processor, lots of free RAM, big beautiful screen, awesome design, intelligent option of Stamina mode to preserve battery plus Apex (and Nova before) launcher on top of this phone - With so many options (that most of them should be in AOSP)---> I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
Text input 9/10 Sonys keyboard is nice, but a bit slow for me. I like Smart keyboard, it has similar skin like Sonys.
Display 9/10 Bih FHD screen, I wish it could be OLED or at least with warmer colors, more contrast and saturation but that is just me maybe... Don't get me wrong, this is fine screen.
Battery 8/10 Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
I find my phone configured to almost perfection to my everydays usage. Only if battery could be 3000mAh or something like this, so I can torment my phone even more... But most users will find this battery just fine.
-->

Pros

  • Beautiful design
  • Awesome build quality and used materials
  • Fast perfomance
  • Water resistance
  • Good camera
  • Great multimedia
  • Expandable storage
  • Sony is getting faster on updates
  • 1080p FHD 5

Cons

  • Battery could be bigger
  • Screen colors could be warmer
  • I would really like dedicated camera button (xperia ZL has one)
  • Loudspeaker should be louder, and elsewhere placed.

ivanprskalo alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Zakriya
posted on 05 Aug 2013, 04:56 (Posts: 11; Member since: 05 Aug 2013)

10

Great Design And Awesome Build Quality! A Masterpiece!

Zakriya has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

very good phone in every aspect.great camera great screen and awesome build quality.very beautiful design...the only con for me after the latest update 4.2.2 is just the feeble loudspeaker other than that the phone is awesome.....DISplay Is Way Awesome After Addition Of White Balance In 4.2.2Recommend This to anyone ...Great Device by SONY :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Hardware
  • Screen (White Balance Rocks)
  • CLoser to stock jellybean ( No useless customizations from SONY)
  • All Glass Body.Awesome Quality
  • Great Design

Cons

  • Feeble loudspeaker only.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shaaaaanu
posted on 01 Aug 2013, 05:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Aug 2013)

10

it has competitive edge! (water and dust proof)

shaaaaanu has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

a good fone! must have product!
I was choosing between the Xperia Z, Galaxy s4 and the HTC ONE.
the 13 mp camera is good i enjoy taking pictures with it..
The UI is nice and clean, and it works fluently. It switches fast through the homescreens. Typing is also easy, thanks to the big and effective keys.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xperiaDROID
posted on 02 Aug 2013, 23:30 (Posts: 4812; Member since: 08 Mar 2013)

10

Experience the best of Sony in a smartphone. The Xperia Z.

xperiaDROID has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Ah, the Xperia Z......When I first took it out of the box, I first noticed that the Xperia Z is very sexy and elegant, I just can't keep my eyes off it. The Xperia Z has a reflective glass surface on the back, so it gives you premium feeling. Don't think that the glass surface on the Xperia Z is fragile, but actually, it's durable, I accidentally dropped the Xperia Z two times on the floor, and there's no crack whatsoever. And since the Xperia Z is water-resistant, I always wash the Xperia Z when it's dirty, but remember, close the flaps if you want to wash or dunk it into the water. The performance on the Xperia Z is fast, you can barely notice any lag and especially when playing games (like Asphalt 7, Dead Trigger and Real Racing 3. But graphics on Real Racing 3 is mediocre). Browsing the internet (Chrome) on the Xperia Z is excellent, there's no lag on scrolling and pinch to zoom. Same goes to the UI, it's fast and smooth. The screen on the Xperia Z is wonderful, it's sharp and crisp, I don't have problems with the viewing angles, and using it in direct sunlight. The camera is excellent. Call quality is good, the earpiece is loud and clear, but not in a noisy location. Watching videos on the Xperia Z is pretty satisfying, thanks to the Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Speaker is loud, thanks to the XLoud and ClearAudio+ technology, but it will sound crackling on the loudest volume. The battery life is average, it can last a whole day of normal usage. So overall, the Xperia Z is an...  

Build quality 10/10 Durable and premium.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 Good but you may have some trouble when in a noisy location.
Internet 10/10 Fast.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Excellent camera. The burst shot is amazing.
UI speed 10/10 Fast.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Keyboard is very easy to use. This keyboard is the best I've ever used.
Display 10/10 Sharp and crisp.
Battery 9/10 Can last a whole day of normal usage.

Pros

  • Water and dust resistant
  • Fast performance
  • Screen
  • Camera
  • Design
  • Durable

Cons

  • Speakers will sound crackling on the loudest volume
  • Battery life

xperiaDROID alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ucancallmenickk
posted on 13 Jul 2013, 01:24

9

Sharp looking phone

ucancallmenickk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So far, after owning a Xperia X10 a while back, I am back with Android. In 2010 I bought a slow and sluggish X10 and hated every bit of it, soon trading it for an iPhone 4. I thought I'd give Sony another chance when looking at the new Xperia Z. I really love the water resistance and the sleek/modern design. It's come a far way from the days of old and insecure Android. After having iPhone, Android, MeeGo, Maemo, and more in between both my Androids, I can say this phone is a really awesome choice for a phone lover and someone who cares about customization.

Build quality 10/10 It's solid as a rock and water/dust resistant.
Reception 8/10 No LTE makes it frustrating at times with AT&T, but nothing too bad.
Call quality 7/10 A little low on volume for my ears, had the same issue on my X10.
Internet 10/10 Great browser with chrome.
Multimedia 8/10 Great UI, media can be a bit frustrating to upload to and from a Mac though.
Camera 9/10 Great camera and features. Makes my friends with iPhones really jealous. Night photos aren't the best though, go for the Lumia 920 if you're looking for that (previous phone, which I loved)
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10 Super easy to use, wish voice commands was easier to access.
Text input 10/10 Awesome customizable keyboard with swype features.
Display 9/10 Sharp display, can be hard to see outside
Battery 10/10 It's never died on me and I use my phone a lot.

Pros

  • Design

Cons

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MrTzr
posted on 26 Jun 2013, 11:26 (Posts: 69; Member since: 26 Jun 2013)

8

Xperia Z (C6603)

MrTzr has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I was choosing between the Xperia Z, HTC One and the galaxy S4. Eventually I picked the Xperia Z, beacause it was cheaper. When I was waiting for my phone to arrive I was a bit worried that i was going to regret my choice beacuase I read a lot of negative reviews about the Xperia Z (e.g. bad screen, slow etc.)
But when I turned on the screen for the first time I was really impressed. The screen is very sharp and colors are reproduced very well. The viewing angles are indeed not the best out there, but as long as you don't shift the phone too much, it doesn't matter. Overall I was very satisfied with the screen. I only don't like the big softkeys, so the screen looks more like a 4,7" one. (But of course you can do something about that.)
Internet works great, google chrome works really well and it loads pages fast. At least noticeably faster than my old galaxy s2. Everything is going very fluently.

The 13MP camera is good, but indeed, not the best. You can take great pictures with it in auto-mode, but it catches less deatail than the galaxy s4 with the same sensor. This is also because Sony uses agressive noise reduction. I hope this will be fixed in 4.2.2 or other updates. But picture quality is still amazing for a phone, and the camera catches still more detail than the HTC one.

The UI is nice and clean, and it works fluently. It switches fast through the homescreens. Typing is also easy, thanks to the big and effective keys.
It also has a good music player (the walkman app)....  

Build quality 9/10 The build quality of the phone itself is very good, it does not break easily when you dropp it. But I didn't include the waterproofness in this rating, otherwise it would have been much lower.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10 It's fast.
Multimedia 9/10 It is a nice experience watching images/movies on the wonderful 5" screen.
Camera 8/10 It is a good camera, but it could have used better software..
UI speed 9/10 Fast
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10 Texting is easy
Display 9/10 Coming from an S2; simply amazing
Battery 6/10 Could have been better.

Pros

  • screen
  • camera
  • internet
  • design
  • call quality
  • sound quality of the headphone

Cons

  • Batery
  • Camera software should be more optimized
  • Mine doesn't deserve its IPX7 rating

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

skyguy7567
posted on 18 Jun 2013, 10:08 (Posts: 148; Member since: 17 Nov 2012)

10

Best phone ever. -- Just for reference, I'm using the Sony Xperia Z C6603 Hong Kong version with 4GLTE --

skyguy7567 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The best phone in the world. Even with all the Samsung Galaxy S4 and the HTC ONE. Great speedy internet with a wonderful screen and very beautiful beautiful exterior. Packed with a very powerful CPU and GPU. Camera? Flawless. Despite the imperfections others have stated, they are only visible when zoomed to max. You won't be doing that, would you? Imperfections are very minor, not as serious as Phonearena stated. Photos match up with high-tier digital cameras ( Without lens zoom, of course) and colors are extremely real and attracting. Gaming? Not in question. Beast CPU and GPU packed with 2GB of RAM. Cannot be smoother. NO lag or whatsoever even when playing games like Frontline Commando. The UI is so smooth, not at all laggy as Phonearena stated. Maybe Phonearena guys aren't up to date with the latest Sony software. The smoothness and color contrast increased by a lot since the first firmware was out. (When everyone stated that the Xperia Z's screen is washed-out) Now it is completely fixed. If you're interested totally go for the dock. The home screen goes horizontal too! The dock is extremely helpful in watching videos or movies. UI is excellent. The wallpapers, the details, the nice look... The best UI for me. Samsung's UI is laggy and wallpapers look too 'blueish' and always related to water or sky. Believe me, you would NEVER want to change to a wallpaper that is not provided! Mobile Bravia Engine is just excellent. It makes a TFT screen beat AMOLED and LCD completely....  

Build quality 10/10 Obviously. Beautiful power button and wonderful glass design. The glass design does not worry me for the slightest bit. Dragontail Glass from Sony? - Unbreakable! Samsung S4's Gorilla Glass 3? Go to Android Authority's S4 vs iPhone 5 drop test.
Reception 10/10 Although this heavily depends on the provider, mine's good. I'm using 3HK (Hong Kong) and no problem with calls. (Of course, in regular malls and streets and the subway)
Call quality 10/10 Many people did raise concerns about the call quality. Being waterproof, it's hard to maintain both sound quality from speakers and the waterproof function. I have no problem with unclear calls.
Internet 10/10 Speed, speed speed! 4G LTE lets you stream HD videos from YouTube! 3G only lets you stream HQ, or 480p in the settings of the computer YouTube. Lightening fast internet makes browsing web pages just as enjoyable as browsing on a computer. Hitting 24 Mb/s (Depends on where you live. Hong Kong is the third fastest in 4/3G internet just behind Korea and Japan. Downloading Temple Run 2 or Frontline Commando? The only thing to worry about is not to reach the 'fair use amount' of 5 GB and slow your in
Multimedia 10/10 From the Album to Walkman to Movies to Sony Select, it has been a wonderful experience. exclusive Album interface presents a simple yet capable interface. Walkman is professional and also has ideal basic settings for beginners. Movies app is smooth and Mobile Bravia Engine 2 has the videos and movies you have there up and running immediately. (Depends on your storage speed. In this case it is speedy in both Class 4 and Class 10 SD cards)
Camera 10/10 Wonderful and completely comparable camera with professional shooting cameras. Superior Auto does all the calculations. That is great for 'Launch and snap' to take a quick photo, since it can quickly adjust with the lighting and the scene and take a photo. HDR does delay the shot by a bit, but of course, fixing the image and its contrast. I prefer Normal mode, where you can just tweak with any settings yourself. Sometimes Superior Auto might not be able to adjust to the lightening around. (I'm j
UI speed 10/10 Speedy UI, does not lag like hell like in samsung phones. Quad Core 2GB RAM makes the ideal speed for a smooth UI. Scrolling is not at all laggy and exiting an application does not require the home screen to generate again at all. Very quick!
Everyday usage 10/10 I'm still a secondary student now, but this phone is useful to any people in any occupation. There are many office apps from Google Play and probably the best from this phone is the quick launch Google Now feature. Just hold down the home button slightly quicker and swipe up. To cancel, return to the home button position. Many people don't know about Google Now just cause the Google Now app is called 'Google' in the apps menu. The quick launch lets you go to Google now and check on the status o
Text input 10/10 I text a lot. Screw Swiftkey. I'm saving those dollars. Xperia Keyboard is the best vanilla keyboard in the world. It's probably the best in the world, to. Compared to other keyboards. I live in Hong Kong, so obviously I need to type Traditional Chinese. Xperia Keyboard is the rare type of keyboard that offers free Traditional Chinese typing with a swipe and very capable English keyboard. Most keyboards can only type Simplified Chinese (The written language used in mainland China which I have no
Display 10/10 100% deserves a 10. Wonderful screen. 443 ppi. Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Gaming feels awesome. Text reading is extreme clear and smooth. Media display wonderfully. All thanks to Mobile Bravia Engine 2. Don't you dare look down on TFT screens. They last much longer than AMOLED and LCD screens.
Battery 10/10 As a student, I do not raise concerns about the battery. My phone is off for quite some time. Going to school and back home with an additional 1 hour lunch, all either using 4G LTE or gaming. Back home there's at least 30% left. Considering that I'm browsing with 4G all the time (4G drains a lot more battery than 3G because additional power is required to receive information so quickly) And be mindful, the beast screen means quite a bit of battery drain. So heavy using for 4 hours or so with abo

Pros

  • Beast Screen
  • Extremely smooth
  • Excellent camera
  • Wonderful keyboard
  • Speedy Internet
  • Extraordinary Media viewing
  • Professional music player
  • The trademark of Sony-- The Power Button.
  • Pre-loaded wallpapers are one of the EIGHT wonders of the world
  • Great texts!
  • Best build quality in the world.

Cons

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nimish
posted on 16 Jun 2013, 02:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jun 2013)

10

awesome phone

nimish has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

awesome phone best camera then all its rivals and i have in love with this phone this phone has high battery life and its awesome i should recommend all of you to buy this phone for best use .............

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera is awesome
  • body is stunning
  • awesome colors available
  • good qualty

Cons

  • sound need to be loud

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rashz06
posted on 12 Jun 2013, 13:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Mar 2012)

10

All Respect#

rashz06 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

great device and best i ever used so far, after used Samsung, i know that i west my time with bad brand..... Sony have a good finishing, good quality and soo soo soo classy phone. I cant stop looking to the screen, coz it had a high definition screen I ever seen

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

4 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories