x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia ZR User Reviews

8.9 Based on 15 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception8.9/10
Display8.9/10
Build quality9.3/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage9/10
UI speed9/10
Camera8.3/10
Multimedia8.9/10
Internet9/10
Call quality8.7/10
Battery8.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

fleon836
posted on 02 Aug 2014, 21:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Aug 2014)

10

Xperia zr is excellent phone

fleon836 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Es un tremendo telefono, llevo mas de 6 mese con el y hasta ahora nada de problemas. La pantalla mejora bastante las fotos por su calidad y soporta bastante agua. Es muy fluido con respecto a la navegacion en internet y en las graficas al maximo. Lo recomiendo.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • La pantalla tiene excelente calidad.
  • Se siente muy fuido.
  • Se puede sumergir a 1.5m.

Cons

  • El material de fabricacion es deplorable
  • la camara no tiene tanta calidad

fleon836 alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vipervoid123
posted on 09 Jun 2014, 07:51 (Posts: 138; Member since: 27 Aug 2013)

9

Great phone for its price ~

vipervoid123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is 1st phone review ~
The phone itself is having other Z series spec ,
While the camera average like the other Z series ~

But the phone itself does not have any problem , waterproof tested ..
Even the flap for charging and 3.5mm audio jack also have good quality ,
I have a great time using the phone, with kitkat update , so far no problem , it even solve the problem from the latest Jelly Bean update
I didnt have any storage problem regarding the internal storage as I didnt play much games on my phone so that is minor problem for me ~
With memory storage support up to 64GB is more than enough for my audio files ~

Build quality 10/10 The best , I have dropped my phone twice right in front of my screen , no scratches found , and waterproof is working like charm ~ But will need to dry up the speaker after a dive with dry cloth
Reception 9/10 So far no this problem ..
Call quality 8/10 Average But would like it to be louder
Internet 10/10 I have a great experience with this phone surfing internet
Multimedia 9/10 The earphone included with this phone have give a great experience , but the loudspeaker is average
Camera 9/10 It given more enough picture detail , but would like Sony improve the low-light performance
UI speed 10/10 Really smooth even after 4.4 kitkat update ~
Everyday usage 10/10 It given everything that I need for a smartphone ~
Text input 10/10 Xperia keyboard have serve me well , but would like the spacebar to be bigger ~
Display 8/10 The TFT screen is the only that pulling the phone away from top~
Battery 10/10 It can give me at least 4 days for minor usage everyday.

Pros

  • The Build quality top notch
  • The UI smooth
  • The Internet experience so far the best
  • The Best battery ~

Cons

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nikgang
posted on 26 Mar 2014, 10:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Mar 2014)

2

xperia zr PROBLEMS PROBLEMS PROBLEMS

nikgang has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

faced issues within 4 days ,
guys never buy a sony. pathetic service ,
i bought a sony xperia zr and faced problems within 4 days...and the service is pathetic...its a almost a month i have submitted my phone to sony and still have not got it back....
go for note 2 or nexus instead of sony

Build quality 3/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • literally nothing

Cons

  • many issues
  • bluetooth auto start
  • wifi problems
  • dialler problems
  • hanging

3 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lazarovidio
posted on 16 Feb 2014, 15:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

10

very good

lazarovidio has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

meglio dei samsung che ho avuto!!ho avuto 4 modeli di samsung,ma preferisco questo di gran lunga,le personalizzazioni di sony sono molto meglio di quelle degli altri,grande sony continua cosi!!sicuramente e il miglior telefono che io abbia mai avuto,e il fatto che sia ip 58 e solo un punto a suo favore

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

reyon
posted on 06 Feb 2014, 11:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Feb 2014)

10

its a smart phone very smart performance

reyon has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

its a good phone from sony.720p hd display crisp,good battery life battery remove water proof.in sony water proof only zr can battery removing...
xperia z,zl,zr both same spec and board.
perfect to use easy handling..4g lte support fast processor 1.5ghz quad core
andreno 320 gpu smooth gaming no lag tested asphalat 8 air bone,high settings,modern combact 4.

Build quality 9/10 its clean 4.6inch its perfect to hand..
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 its good call quality.perfect in hand..ear phone sound to want more sound go to hear aid settings.and click
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 camera full hd crisp in hdr 13mp
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 awesome bravia engine 2..and colour notification light.
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • water proof,battery removing
  • crisp clarity opti contrast
  • perfect to hand
  • smart battery life

Cons

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PadamJain
posted on 04 Dec 2013, 23:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Dec 2013)

9

Value for Maney in compare to the blackberry Z10

PadamJain has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have used almost all brand's mobile, Xperia ZR is comparable with HTC mobiles only in this prise Z10 is not at all comparable Xperia, It is best mobile after HTC one or other higher model. Internet speed is also good, I didn't seen any markable cons.

Build quality 10/10 compact and sleek
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10 speed
Multimedia 10/10 resolution and play response
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • All leatest feature
  • battery life
  • connectivity with Sony bravia TV

Cons

PadamJain alternatives:

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

randeep
posted on 16 Nov 2013, 07:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Nov 2013)

6

Hands on experience

randeep has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am really upset with the battery of Xperia ZR. I have bought it about a month back and now it doesn't give me a talk time more than 6 hrs against Sony's specification of 11 hrs. why make false specs when product cannot delivery. I am really upset and lost trust with the Brand SONY.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 2/10

7 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

veerraka
posted on 19 Oct 2013, 09:59 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 Oct 2013)

9

Best at this price

veerraka has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

One of the best of sony. its compact. water and dust resistant. have dropped it twice with just minor scratches. csreen quality is nice with very little viewing angle problem. biggest con is the memory of 4.59 gb. i have experienced no lags, and the phone has never hanged. being aheavy user the phone works for a day. an awesome midranged phone with frequent software updates.

Build quality 10/10 Waterproof, drug resistant. omnibalanced design
Reception 9/10 Very rare wifi and call quality problems
Call quality 9/10 Speaker volume is a bit low. could have been better
Internet 10/10 Best
Multimedia 10/10 its awesome
Camera 10/10 i own one of the best cameras
UI speed 10/10 No lags. sony has the lightest of the launchers.
Everyday usage 10/10 use it 24x7.
Text input 9/10 keyboard is also very nice nad clean. swipe features are thre. multiple dictionaries
Display 8/10 face some difficulties when i tilt the phone while playing games
Battery 9/10 with the stamina mode. battery works great. on efull day of heavy usage

Pros

  • Camera, water and dust resitant, build quality

Cons

  • Internal memory is only 8 gb. can use only 4.59 gb. have to think twice while installing a heavy game.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

karanprasar
posted on 15 Oct 2013, 00:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Mar 2013)

10

The Father of all the phone in this range

karanprasar has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

No phone can beat this phone in this range. This was my best phone till now. Looking of this phone was very GOOD. No lag till now. I have also checked this phone under water video recording and it done well.

Build quality 10/10 Build quality was very GOOD. U will fill GOOD in ur hand
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Good call quality, no problem at all.
Internet 10/10 Fast downloading, and opening of pages.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Good in a day light, but need some improvement in a low light
UI speed 10/10 No lag till now, phone was running smoothly.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Display was good, but not as my last phone xperia acro s. But u will not Find any difference untill u will see both at the same time.
Battery 10/10 Good for daily use. Consume 15% battery when playing Templerun2 for 1 hr, and in night it consume 3 to 4% in 7-8 hr.

Pros

  • water resistance
  • camera
  • built quality
  • killer look
  • HD screen
  • good UI speed
  • fast processor
  • lot's of ram
  • good battery backup
  • smooth runing

Cons

  • 4.5GB user available memory
  • front camera

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

KlamKhowder
posted on 04 Sep 2013, 01:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Aug 2013)

9

amazing phone

KlamKhowder has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

for most of this review i will be comparing this phone to my previous phone, the HTC One X, which i came to loath by the end my ownership of it. Now in the spirit of fairness it is important to point out two unfair advantages in this comparison. First of all being the Obvious fact that the ZR is one year newer than the One X, however i feel that it is fair to compare this years midrange to last years flagship. The second unfair advantage is my own personal bias against the OneX, after all the frustration i had over it after one year, i have little good to say about it. It is possible that after one year i might hate my ZR just as much, however in this review I will try to explain why I don't think that will happen.

Overall i feel like this phone is light years ahead of my OneX, but in a user experience way rather than a spec upgrade way.

The main reason I am writing this review is because i feel that the phone arena review was unnecessarily harsh to this amazing device.

Build quality 10/10 The outer shell is very well manufactured, especially for a phone with a removable back panel. It isn't quite as nice as my Unibody OneX but I gave it a 10 because that removable back grants access to a removable battery and expandable storage, which are some of the most elusive features on Android phones these days.
Reception 10/10 Not much to say other than i have had no problems yet. This is opposed to my Hox which had wifi and 3g problems from day one.
Call quality 9/10 not much to say, the speaker is a bit quiet but that's mainly because this phone is literally water tight. This opposed to my HOX on which the Speaker Grill would get clogged every month or so, and require cleaning.
Internet 10/10 again, not much to say, it all loads well, and because it is a rather efficient phone, i can browse on battery power for quite a while.
Multimedia 8/10 Music sounds good, and pictures/video look great with the mobile Bravia engine. My only complaint is that Apps can't be moved to the SD card natively which is quite a hassle for gamers.
Camera 8/10 13Mp is pretty good, the actual picture quality is average. Its much better than my HOX but that's not saying much. I have a theory that the camera sensor takes pictures that are optimized to look good in conjunction with the Mobile bravia engine.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Love the customizable Sony Keyboard.
Display 8/10 about the same ppi as my Hox but the tft screen produces noticbly worse viewing angles compared to the super lcd2 screen in the Hox.
Battery 10/10 Super efficient in daily usage, and user accessible. It doesn't get much better than this.

Pros

  • Mobile Bravia Engine makes pictures look great
  • S4 Pro is still going Strong and I expect some longevity from the Adreno 320
  • Very efficiant with battery, i can get about 60 hours of usage with 3 to 4 hours of screen on time (but don't take my word, look at the battery test results that one of this websites competitors did)
  • Expandable storage
  • removable battery
  • comes in some cool colors
  • Stamina mode has some cool features
  • Sony UI feels like a useful supplement to the Android UI, rather than a total UI replacement like Sense.
  • stays very cool, even under load
  • water proof (although I will probably never test this)

Cons

  • slightly outdated CPU/GPU
  • limmited AOSP support that likely won't get much better
  • lots of Bloatware, not all of the Sony Apps are worthless, but there are enough that are
  • TFT screen doesn't have the best viewing angles
  • Can't move apps to sd
  • screen does not appear to be Oleophobic in any meaningful way.
  • walkman app is mediocre

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

theINEVITABLE
posted on 02 Aug 2013, 05:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Aug 2013)

10

Beast From The East

theINEVITABLE has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

So Far So Good. Its a complete Macho phone. I mean talk bout build quality, Feels awesome in your hands. What else can u ask for when its dust/shutter/water/scratch proof(though i will never try taking it under water. Walkman music needs no boasting, use a good quality sennheiser earphones and enjoy the BEATS AUDIO effect:). No second thoughts required to buy this mean hand machine. REMEMBER:- SMARTPHONES ARE LIKE ALL IN 1 PACKAGE....DON'T EXPECT THEM TO BEHAVE LIVE SLR CAMERA OR FREAKIN GOOD MUSIC PLAYER. Beauty lies in the Use and the Eyes.....
A HD Reality Display with monstrous 323ppi supported by Sony Bravia Engine2 GIVING 1280X780 of resolution. Display is just clear, bright with high contrast.

Qualcomm Spandragon S4 processor with 2 GB RAM and 8GB internal means extremely fast machine.
GPU 320 supports play station as well as 3d games. What else do i want.."NOTHING"
2300mAH of juice supports it the whole day.
Call quality is though average especially on loud speakers.
Will add another review after one month. But as i said earlier....SO FAR SO GOOD

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything
  • Whooping fast S4 processor
  • Macho build quality
  • Walkmann Music
  • Huge 2GB RAM
  • HD Reality display with 323ppi
  • Shutter/Water/Dust/Scratch proof
  • Beautiful screen & a beautiful beastly phone

Cons

  • To name one. i will say the average quality back panel
  • Apps not supporting their move to external memory
  • Camera is good but not exceptional

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

istitch
posted on 26 Jul 2013, 11:59 (Posts: 171; Member since: 19 Mar 2013)

10

Shines as a midranger

istitch has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The ZR provides so much for a midranger, It has the highest rating for the capability to resist water, which is good when you can not only wash it whenever you want, but also bring it to the pool and have fun with some snapshots. The very first time I hold it, I could feel the quality, not as good as the Xperia Z though.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • incredible speed and ram
  • water resistant
  • great built quality

Cons

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Danielf4
posted on 21 Jul 2013, 19:31 (Posts: 2; Member since: 19 Jul 2013)

10

Xperia zr review

Danielf4 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Just see! This phone is one of the best i know! I like it so much, xperia zr is fast he as a high pixel camera. I Think this phone os better than xperia z And zl! ..................................................​.....................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Danielf4 alternatives:

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rejaz
posted on 14 Jul 2013, 18:13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Jul 2013)

10

Sony Xperia ZR

Rejaz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This is the best phone I ever had.am using ZR for month and it's awesome in all angles ....You don't lagging at any phase cause of its quad core and 2gb Ram and the camera is awesome and battery is too great in stamina mode .....Better than s4 and HTC one reasonable size but a 65mm width would be great and perfect for my hands.The removable battery also means that this is a phone that I can keep for a while. The battery is already listed as an accessory on the Sony website so it should be possible to have two batteries that I can swap out when I absolutely need more juice.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

17 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rohit9rocker
posted on 01 Jul 2013, 00:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 May 2013)

9

SONY XPERIA ZR

rohit9rocker has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The smartphone that lets you live a little
Constantly on the lookout for new adventures? Then say hi to Xperia ZR, the super durable Android smartphone that loves a good time. And since it’s the only waterproof* phone that can film HD underwater, it’s always ready to make a splash and then capture all the fun in the sharpest visuals possible.

Mobile BRAVIA® Engine 2 automatically optimises images, making them sharper and brighter. It also offers you the best in contrast and colour management.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • GOOD DISPLAY
  • LOTS OF RAM
  • FASTER CPU AND GPU
  • HAS CAMERA SHUTTER KEY
  • BRAVIA ENGINE 2
  • OPTI CONTRAST PANEL
  • EXMOR RS SENSOR
  • NFC

Cons

  • LAKCS GOOD CAMERA

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories