x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia ZL User Reviews

9.3 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.1/10
Display10/10
Build quality9.6/10
Text input9.7/10
Everyday usage9.7/10
UI speed9.8/10
Camera8.9/10
Multimedia9.9/10
Internet9.9/10
Call quality8.3/10
Battery9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Jorgemerino97
posted on 31 May 2014, 14:43 (Posts: 5; Member since: 05 Apr 2014)

9

A very good phone with some problems in the paradise...

Jorgemerino97 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone its the best alternative in his category... I chosse this for the bezzels, the display (is better than Xperia Z) and for the design... I want that all user of this device can share his experiences...

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 There is to much noise on the pictures...
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chinnu
posted on 16 Apr 2014, 13:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Apr 2014)

9

great one

chinnu has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

amazing mobile super look...it's the Cadillac-driving kind..Slick...Sexy...and stunning look...good for eneterprenaur...sync software is good...backup is smooth,,..Xperia ZL coexist with its better-looking, and ultimately more prominent

Build quality 9/10 nice
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 great
Internet 10/10 wifi speed
Multimedia 10/10 sound effect great
Camera 7/10 not great in low light
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 1080 is looking pic as real
Battery 9/10 nice

Pros

  • great one

Cons

  • camera

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sravan007
posted on 11 Jan 2014, 03:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jan 2014)

10

mind blowing

sravan007 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Nice job sony!!!! Really superb smart phone!!! Even though it gets heated up at times!!!! But its meant for good perfomance!!!!!!! If u have got 30k!!! Then u a gotta go for a blindrr xperia zl!!!! its well built too!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lymos
posted on 17 Nov 2013, 12:20 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Nov 2013)

10

Great phone.

lymos has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

If you feel like this phone is not for you, then you are not a man enough.. It's the best you could get. And real men don't regret their decisions. Man up and get the God dam' phone, or at least try it out in your hand..

Build quality 10/10 Everything is well screwed and doesn't make cracking noises when pressed.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10 great call quality, however you might wanna stick to some basick settings, without using some of the fancy options, like noise reduction, but it's something personal for each one..
Internet 10/10 Great browsing experience.. also great wi-fi, always automaticly connects to a provider to which you connected previously, without having to go through all the process again..
Multimedia 10/10 No complain here too.. Great sound, great video and pictures quality display.
Camera 9/10 Could be a bit better in low light conditions, but it's great because it shows true colors, not fake tints like in the Samsung Galaxy S4 or the other competitors..
UI speed 10/10 It's space ship fast.. all of my friends were blown off by how smooth and fast the UI and touch sensor is.
Everyday usage 9/10 Great experience, but the battery discharges quite fast if you launch a game an play it for a long time..
Text input 10/10 The best so far..
Display 10/10 Who the hell cares about viewing angles? The display is mesmerizing.. 5 inches of happines and stright masculinity along with the square edges of the phone and thin edges..
Battery 8/10 Gaming on it while the battery is a bit low is a bad idea..

Pros

  • Crystal clear display
  • Beautiful colors
  • Great sound
  • Smooth UI and usage
  • Fast and powerful
  • Girls like it
  • Frineds will envy
  • IR blaster, you know that bar that always has a tv swithced off? well now you can walk in like a man and switch it on whenever you like and whatch whatever you like

Cons

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

pablosav
posted on 16 Nov 2013, 10:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Nov 2013)

9

Excelent phone, no problems at all

pablosav has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I come from the sgs3 and this phone is superior, much more. It have a great battery, radio fm, and micro sd (which the most of top phones leaks), great screen in the same space than 4.7 screen phones. And other thing important, great sunlight

Build quality 9/10 it is great! only i wish softer edges
Reception 8/10 In Argentina are very poor phone signal by low investment, and many dropped calls
Call quality 7/10 Audio quality on calls is not very good, with headphones on the street do not listen very well, nor I listen very strong. When I pull out the headphones start functioning noise cancellation, and is best heard on the other side. But also not excellent
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 I love that with the screen locked can skip the tracks of music. I wish all players can browse folders, not only artist, playlist, etc. The installed lacks
Camera 9/10 I dont see too much definition when i zoom the image. It have too much noise. But great menu controls, and options. And it have great colors
UI speed 9/10 I note a few lags swiching screens, but it is not too bad. esperaba que con un quadcore funcione todo un poco mas fluido. Aunque son solo unos detalles
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 great keyboard, can be optimized. lacks of auto space between known words.
Display 10/10 Great, Bigest Screen at comfotable phone size.
Battery 10/10 With stamina on, lasts all day with intense use, up to 24 hs!!!! I love a phone that never turn off because of the battery.

Pros

  • screen sunlight
  • battery for all day
  • fm
  • micro sd
  • nice optimization of android
  • nfc
  • Much better than my Galaxy S3 whith was full of lags, and it was slow (I check and all the other SGS3 work just as badly)

Cons

  • call quality specially with headphones
  • get warm after long usage
  • not have gorilla glass
  • camera could be better

pablosav alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

llRoMll
posted on 12 Nov 2013, 04:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Nov 2013)

9

Design masterpeice

llRoMll has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

My first touch-screen phone was Iphone4 . really not paying much attention to phones as long as they call and text....but the apple style didnt suit me.

from Architectural way of view i searched for the best looking mobile out there.
and landed on this baby. love the diamentions, texture and design.

mabye the only 2 downs i could put up is
-it gets bit warm after long usage (never had that on iphone4)
-compared to its functions, the phone call could be the lowist, somtimes its hard to hear the other person...not too sure about this.

Hope this helps anyone!
Arch.Rom

Build quality 10/10 Art in design and proportions
Reception 6/10 compared to its other aspects this is like other phones.
Call quality 5/10 The speakers could've been better i guess.
Internet 10/10 really fast
Multimedia 10/10 Just lovly
Camera 9/10 feels more than 13...Sony always had the thing for camera's but when u go hard on zoon pixels start up...i am not a pro on cam's but i think thats normal.
UI speed 9/10 above good
Everyday usage 10/10 Mabye cause i just bought it one month ago? but i love it and like to show it off. fantastic design and size-to-screen is the best ive seen so far. have not failed me yet.
Text input 10/10 very comfortable to write and feels like i can type faster. cant explain
Display 10/10 Just brilliant (remmber to dis-able auto sensor thingy from brightness)
Battery 10/10 i use the stamna mode= internet/bluetooth etc off when screen is off. and the brightness sensor off (as i have very bright screen) and if i dont use the device much i get 2% off battery in the whole day. but if i use it much i re-charge 1 time a day

Pros

  • Battery, Battery and Battery
  • Proprtions (screen-to-front display)
  • Design(simply brilliant)
  • Internet speed
  • Easy to clean
  • Really high resolution
  • Camera+
  • size(not too big-not too small)

Cons

  • Speakers (on phone calls) mabye the only down compared to rest functions
  • Gets warm on mid-back on long usage (videos/games) not too hot tho
  • phone covers? cant find any
  • many built in Apps-have no clue what they do(poor tutorials/introduction to basic apps)

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

The_Original_Zon
posted on 25 Sep 2013, 14:49 (Posts: 12; Member since: 23 Jan 2012)

9

Awesome phone. Good job Sony.

The_Original_Zon has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I absolutely love the small bezels on this phone. The great 5" screen really pops. The camera takes amazing pictures and all the multimedia apps are great. The phone runs like a champ. Very smooth and I never encounter freezing or stuttering or anything. The only beef I have is with the earpiece. The volume is way too low, I just use the headphones for calls now. Also the loudspeaker could be better. Overall a great phone, a great daily driver. Very pleased with this underrated phone.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10 Earpiece is unfortunately weak.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Best camera on a smartphone I have had. The only thing where my Nokia Lumia 920 had an advantage was with OIS. If Sony would add the stabilization there would be no competition.
UI speed 10/10 Power is more than adequate. I cannot recall ever noticing a stutter or slow down.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 I did not like not having the period or option for numbers on the main screen. I use Swype now.
Display 10/10 Personally, the viewing angles don't affect me at all, I don't even notice. It's really a great screen.
Battery 10/10 Even with heavy usage, the phone will last at least a full day.

Pros

  • Phone is buttery smooth
  • Awesome camera
  • Battery lasts at least a full day
  • Multimedia is great
  • IR Blaster is a cool and functional feature

Cons

  • Earpiece is weak
  • Speaker could be better

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ryuichi
posted on 20 Aug 2013, 09:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Aug 2013)

10

Very good phone for very good price

ryuichi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I bought this phone in Taiwan and use it a lot.The camera is good and keeps getting better with updates.Very fast internet,everything you need for decent price(cheaper than galaxy s4 mini with better price).It has very good viewing angels and I am satisfied with it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • fast internet

Cons

  • hard to find protective covers

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

k700i
posted on 30 Apr 2013, 12:17 (Posts: 1; Member since: 28 Aug 2011)

9

SIMPLY THE BEST..XpeRia.nce

k700i has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it's the Cadillac-driving kind..Slick...Sexy...and stunning look...good for eneterprenaur...sync software is good...backup is smooth,,..Xperia ZL coexist with its better-looking, and ultimately more prominent

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Easy Access
  • Voice typing..love it..no more use of hand..
  • Display is crYstal
  • HD Video good
  • Call Quality good
  • it take 9 sce. to start
  • Mutli Task is very easy
  • Processor is fast and no glitch or ERRORS

Cons

  • ** Battery need to Charged 2 times in 24 hours
  • Battery Heast up/back cover gets warm.. if you use longer then TWO hr. constantly..liek watching Video or surfing the web
  • Non user-replaceable battery
  • •Dubious back panel build quality and aesthetics

13 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories