x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z2 User Reviews

9.2 Based on 44 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.1/10
UI speed9.2/10
Camera9.1/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.4/10
Call quality8.9/10
Battery9.5/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.2/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.1/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

el7deRaul
posted on 18 Mar 2015, 20:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Mar 2015)

10

Almost perfect

el7deRaul has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The phone is great, display, design, sound is awesome, the front speakers really make a difference, when you use a phone with the speaker on the back it's really annoying when you want to leave it on the table and the sound gets blocked, that never happens with the Z2. The camera is very fast and takes great pics, even night, low light, doesn't matter how the light is the picture will look great.
However, if I had to choose something bad, I'd say the call quality, it isn't that great, you can't hear the other person cristal clear if you're on a busy street, you can with a phone like the the Moto X. and the heat issue, after you use heavy games for a while it heats up a lot but I guess that's normal for every phone.

Build quality 10/10 outstanding build quality, I have the white model and even though finger prints stick to the back, it's barely noticeable. the power button is very nice and camera button is something every premium should have
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 not great when you're on the street, Moto X is better in this. Though you can still hear the other person, it's not that great
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 great quality, just wish HDR on auto mode was a bit smarter and use it without having to go to manual mode
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 it can heat up a lot when using certain games. In my case, it gets hot with Real Racing 3 but not with Dead Trigger 2
Text input 8/10 I personally prefer Swiftkey, but I think standard xperia keyboard isn't bad
Display 10/10 awesome, just awesome
Battery 9/10 could be better, I've used it for ma 7.5h screen time, it easily makes it through the day

Pros

  • camera
  • display
  • battery
  • design
  • power and camera buttons
  • white back

Cons

  • call quality

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

umerarain90
posted on 20 Feb 2015, 06:26 (Posts: 8; Member since: 19 Feb 2015)

10

Excellent Phone

umerarain90 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone worth every penny. Excellent performer packed with powerful processor and great camera. I have been using this phone from two weeks and already had Xperia Z1. One who is looking for premium design+stable performance should go for it :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Excellent Battery
  • Superior Build Quality
  • Outstanding Performance
  • Premium Design
  • Exceptional Display
  • Enormous Multimedia Experience
  • Great Camera Indeed

Cons

  • Large Bezels

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ritul14
posted on 09 Feb 2015, 10:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Feb 2015)

10

Very good.. More than good. Wonderful device. No cons only pros. Nothing more to say.

ritul14 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Camera, battery life, built quality, software everything is Wonderful..... Water resistance really working. Call quality wonderful. Gaming experience unbeatable. An ultimate smartphone experience. Must buy...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

raviyasas
posted on 04 Feb 2015, 09:09 (Posts: 4; Member since: 02 Feb 2015)

10

Amazing phone

raviyasas has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is an amazing phone that I have ever used. But when you buy it, please buy a back cover also. It may protect the frame from accidental drops. You may think, this is a very heaver phone with its size and weight. But it makes a premium feeling on your hand. Camera is amazing. This is not a money wasting phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 I get more than one day of battery life. (36h or more)

Pros

  • Premium look and feel
  • Amazing camera
  • Good water proofing
  • Weight and size make its premium look
  • Sounds with stereo speakers and noise cancelling headset
  • Gaming is nothing

Cons

  • Normal heating problem

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

MadhuPv
posted on 08 Jan 2015, 07:00

10

Best Smartphone of 2014

MadhuPv has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is the best phone i have used so far.

Elegant look, Great Disply, Powerful Battery, Camera, Sterio Speakers, Built Quality, Speed etc etc.

No cons found so far; the only problem is to remove the flaps to charge.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

G4l4xio
posted on 07 Jan 2015, 07:06 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jan 2015)

10

Great phone!

G4l4xio has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Amazing phone, before it I had HTC One M7, having it only for a month but still I can't find any cons. Great camera, battery, display, processor, amount of RAM, build quality and looks all that in a waterproof phone!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

deanylev
posted on 11 Dec 2014, 01:14 (Posts: 106; Member since: 11 Mar 2014)

9

Absolutely Perfect

deanylev has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Build quality is top notch, feels like a jewel. Screen is amazing, rich reds and greens, deep blacks and feels like its on top the the glass. Camera is awesome. Speakers are great, if M8 is 10, Z2 is an 8. Waterproofing is useful. Some people have build quality issues, mines flawless. Wish the back glass was deeper black, it's a weird bluish tint. WiFi sometimes drops out. Performance is on par with Sense 6 and stock android. UI is nice. Battery life for me is around 4.5-5 hours, which is low for Z2.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Dat Screen...
  • Build Quality
  • Speakers
  • Camera
  • Waterproofing
  • Price
  • UI
  • Speed
  • Dedicated Camera Key
  • Magnetic Wireless Charging

Cons

  • Battery life could be better
  • Back glass has a weird blue tint
  • WiFi drops out sometimes
  • Heavy (I personally like the solid feel)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sharnouby99
posted on 02 Dec 2014, 06:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Dec 2014)

10

Great Phone

sharnouby99 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is absolutely great. no lagging, no overheating.
Incredible cpu speed and an inspiring ram.
Puts a lot of great usable options, very easy to use similar to an IPhone, accessibility to everything. Its just great.
I totally recommend this phone, if anyone is hesitating to buy, don't, just go ahead and buy it!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PsxOwner
posted on 19 Oct 2014, 10:00 (Posts: 3; Member since: 09 Sep 2014)

10

Top !!

PsxOwner has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great Phone !.................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​............

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • The reflective screen

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kamran_
posted on 06 Oct 2014, 09:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Oct 2014)

10

the PHONE

kamran_ has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

one of the greatest phones people ever seen. with its dynamic display and brilliant camera ability, sony xperia z2 tooks itself to the higher places of smartphone history. firstly, design of z2 just what i've been looking for. second, camera is the main point of this phone, as 4k makes perfect every photos u've captured

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

stechguru
posted on 27 Sep 2014, 18:34 (Posts: 1; Member since: 27 Sep 2014)

9

Sony Z2 still have bugs and they need to fix it

stechguru has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I brought this phone on july and less then 2 months the phone started to have some issues. First there is bug in screen option if you use your mobile photos for wallpaper it will expend automatically after some time you press the home button. Second slim/charger slot open very frequent (less then 20 minutes) automatically. So, its not safe to use when rain or in pool....they have to fix these bugs. I am planning to go service center next week, but don't know what they will say :(

I wouldn't recommend this product if you want to buy smart phone then buy some other brand.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Good battery life
  • good photo quality
  • awesome internet speed
  • no gags
  • best of sony mobile
  • stylish design

Cons

  • slim slot opens frequently
  • sim & charger slot have to be separate
  • wallpaper photo expend after some time
  • not a water proof like they claim
  • common heating problems

4 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

boobeez
posted on 26 Sep 2014, 15:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Sep 2014)

10

THIS IS GOD

boobeez has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've been through many phones in the last year. Most have crapped out on me over several months or so. The original Samsung Galaxy S4 I had, the motherboard fried completely because you'd have to clear the ram before moving from one app to another. It overhead at 4months in. They claimed I voided warranty because of third party software, which doesn't make much sense. This excuse was also used for the next S4 I had which wouldn't read any Sim card. I decided to upgrade to a phone that had good specs and was not a Samsung or an iPhone (iPhones are just terrible), had it since it came out and I'm overly happy with it, longest I've had a phone not break on me.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alambe1998
posted on 24 Sep 2014, 11:50 (Posts: 2; Member since: 08 Jun 2014)

10

After using xperia z2 (my opinion)

alambe1998 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The xperia z2 is an amazing device. With it's hardware and software I found it very fantastic. First, the design is convenient in your hand ,stunningly beautiful look. Second, the software is simple, fast and incredible! Yet ,I haven't dealt with any problem ,but the heating while playing or using the camera for long time...

Build quality 10/10 The xperia z2 is premium (especially the white color), feels very convenient in your hands (especially the place of power button and volumes, also I love those nice flaps) , the design gives the phone a good look (but I haven't droped it yet, so I don't know so much about the durability of the device, but I think it's fine).
Reception 9/10 I had an iPhone and held in my hand galaxy, and when I compare it to my xperia, I could say that I love mine pretty much! Eventhought there are specific features that aren't found on the xperia z2, it has all the necessary features and more entertainment options, so I have no problem with that...
Call quality 10/10 I compare the call quality to my old iPhone 4 ,and there is significantly a big deffirence! The quality is prefect!
Internet 9/10 When using wifi on the device ,it heats a little bit after a long usage ,but it is very swift! I didn't experienced the 4G on it because I use only wifi. Overall I haven't faced connection or internet issues.
Multimedia 10/10 First the design of the operating system is the most beautiful and premium one I have ever seen! Sony media apps are the best since they have unique features and options that fit perfectly with the hardware design. I'm very impressed with the double front speakers! The multitasking is great and fast especially when using these small apps.
Camera 9/10 First, the quality of the camera is amazing ,but it has a software issues like heating ,crashing (but rarely). Sometimes the camera finds it hard to focus on a close object ,and sometimes I really don't get that 20.7m.p experience when using surperior auto mode when using the camera in strong light. Despite this ,it stills great for me!
UI speed 10/10 The operating system is swift, accessible and designed well, aditionally I find it the most beautiful operating system!
Everyday usage 10/10 I can't wait until I put my hands on the phone when I wake up! Personally, while using it everyday I didn't faced any problem or issue but heating if you'll use for a long time.
Text input 10/10 Xperia international keyboard is the best one I've seen! And because of the emoji and the international languages input ,also the simplicity of the keyboard you can get great results while using it. In addition to the ability to auto save words you've typed previously so that makes typing faster, it's very useful feature!
Display 10/10 I enjoy the display of the xperia z2 when watching stuff on youtube or the internet and pictures! I don't need more than this accurate and vivid display!
Battery 10/10 If you know how to save battery on your xperia using battery stamina mode ,you won't charge it throught the day... I go to school with 90-100 and return with 68-78% after a lot of usage and mid brightness and stamina mode actived... it's great!

Pros

  • Premium design
  • Nice speaker quality
  • Acessible software
  • Sony entertainment media apps
  • Unique camera features

Cons

  • Heats if you use for long time
  • Crashes at camera (rare)

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nino2010tiger
posted on 24 Sep 2014, 02:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Sep 2014)

6

Good

nino2010tiger has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is okay, but it still couldn't be compared to nowadays iPhones. Good design and speed. Good processor but sometimes behaves a bit bad. Battery is good. I love the water and dust proof functions in this phone. But I suggest you should bring fingerprint sensors to these Xperia phones like Apple and Samsung did. But, learn Apple's, not the Samsung, ok? Feel a bit bad in hands.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FCBarcelona
posted on 15 Sep 2014, 16:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 15 Sep 2014)

10

AWESOME

FCBarcelona has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

the phone's been with me for about 2 months now and everything about it is awesome the only problem is that the screen is very sensitive so, when i put it in water it becomes difficult to control, but generally i think it's the best smartphone of 2014

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • the extra sensitive screen under water

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Mohanr
posted on 13 Sep 2014, 02:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2014)

10

Outstanding phone

Mohanr has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Superb phone. Love it. Good and worth for money. ultimate and astonishing phone. Superb experience. Just experience it for god sake. recommend it to all those who wish to have a phone of great substance and great image. I can not find any fault

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 Superb reception
Call quality 10/10 call quality is better
Internet 10/10 Good batttey
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Superb phone with all goodies in hand
  • Well deserved sony
  • Love to have this phone

Cons

  • no cons yet

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Peltsi97
posted on 10 Sep 2014, 11:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Sep 2014)

9

Amazing Xperia

Peltsi97 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have used this Phone soon month and i can say its amazing. Z2 is well built and IT feels very good. And IT is really water proof :) Battery performes well And screen is amazing. And then my favorite part And reason why i bought IT Camera. Its amazing IT really shows every detail, IT haves good colors and video is super good. And then bad things. You can see one of them if u read this. All those IT and And words. This Phone does them and i cant do anything to them :D and other minus is that im too late for freebies ;( and maybe headphones arent Best but still good ones.

Build quality 10/10 Its well made and its made from good materials.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 Well i can hear everything that my friends say and they hear All well.
Internet 10/10 Very fast thats All ;)
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • Quality
  • Battery
  • Android
  • water- and dustproof

Cons

  • Text input

Peltsi97 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xinsane
posted on 03 Sep 2014, 13:04 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Sep 2014)

4

lots of BUGS and problems

xinsane has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

call drop alot !! and call quality is soo bad comparing to samsung or any other phone , checked with the dealer and they didnot do anything , OS LAG + keeps redialing last number !! , weird sounds during the call like you are touching the screen sound , hard to deal with not friendly even it is android , the only good thing is the camera and yea the battery ,, otherwise its garbage

Build quality 5/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 3/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 2/10
Display 5/10
Battery 9/10

6 out of 71 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Leonard-Davis
posted on 15 Aug 2014, 04:20 (Posts: 5; Member since: 13 Mar 2012)

9

I think I found my next Daily Driver

Leonard-Davis has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone, the Sony Z2 D6503, wow. I am using a nexus 5 as my daily, and have a note 3, and Z Ultra as alternatives.

Size - The phone is larger, but coming from the nexus which has squared corners, its very usable. If you don't mind using the nexus 5 you won't mind the Z2.

Display - clarity seems the same as the nexus, but better that the note 3, and z ultra. The colors are so much better than the nexus5, and the Z ultra, and not near as artificial as the AMOLED on the note 3.

Processing power - even though it has the snapdragon 801 chipset, and the other 3 have the snapdragon 800, it feels about the same, if not a tad slower (the other 3 are all rooted and running stock KitKat) sometimes when I pull down the notification tray and i get a stutter.

Camera - I knew what I was getting, a 20.7MP sensor, but it still blew me away, I took photos with all 4 phones, the same photo, the Sony Z2 using superior auto, which yields an 8MP image, the nexus 5, and Z Ultra at 8MP and the note 3 at 13MP. The Sony destroyed them all, better color reproduction, more detail, and less noise, especially when cropped. All images where viewed on a 1080p 27" monitor. When I set the Z2 to manual and used the full 20.7MP setting I noticed zero improvement over the 8MP sampled pic.

Build quality - not quite to the level of my old HTC one M8, or iPhone 5/5s, but very much the same quality of the iPhone 4/4s and HTC one m7.

Sound - the front facing speakers are not any louder than the other phones,...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Processing power
  • Camera

Cons

  • front facing speakers are not any louder than the other phones

Leonard-Davis alternatives:

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xxCearxx
posted on 07 Aug 2014, 17:34 (Posts: 6; Member since: 11 Apr 2014)

10

BEST PHONE SO FAR!!!

xxCearxx has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I´have owned many phones. Coming from a Galaxy s5, I am flabbergasted with the Xperia z2. The areas where the Galaxy s5 were flawles are covered in the beautiful Body of the Z2. I owned a HTC One (m7) last year, and I was in love of the front facing speakers. Now, I am boomed with the speakers of the Xperia. They are pretty good, and clear. Even wet, the speakers are good! So far, I think I have found the perfection in this Slim phone. THANKS SONY!

Build quality 10/10 Outstanding frame with back and front pannel being glass
Reception 10/10 Antennas are good
Call quality 9/10 Speaker could be better
Internet 10/10 FAST AS HELL!
Multimedia 10/10 SIMPLY AWESOME
Camera 10/10 Do you want the best cameraphone with android? This is it
UI speed 10/10 Clear, light, simple.... loving it!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 They used LCD panel with their special tech, which produces good colors in every area and lightning condition, at least in my case.
Battery 10/10 HELL YEAH! As I said, I´m coming from Galaxy s5, and it has great battery.... but the z2 kills it in this area

Pros

  • Battery
  • Camera
  • Screen
  • Design
  • fast UI

Cons

  • NONE!

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Belirsiz
posted on 07 Aug 2014, 16:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2014)

10

Best Android Smartphone

Belirsiz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Z2 have good battery life, good camera (even better than DSLR auto mode in daylight.), good sound quality. It have all the things that someone wants. Sony corrected the wrongs that made in other Xperia series.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Have all multimedia components. Good music player, good quality.
Camera 10/10 The best camera after Lumia 1020.
UI speed 10/10 No lags, good processor.
Everyday usage 10/10 Good for daily use.
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Best screen after G3.
Battery 10/10 Best battery life among the S5, M8, G3 and all others.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FilippoBriganti
posted on yesterday, 12:35 (Posts: 1; Member since: 03 Aug 2014)

9

One of the best of 2014

FilippoBriganti has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

i love the glass and the aluminum on the smartphone so the build quality is absolutely awesome! It also is certified IP58!
The reception is not the best but pretty nice, and it has a nice call quality...
The web browsing is pretty good but it isn't comparable with HTC One M8
The multimedia is incredible, the best camera i've never seen on a smartphone, the speakers aren't as nice as the ones on the HTC One M8
I hate the text input the keyboard and the feedback!
Display: 1 OF THE BEST! but:the z2's display isn't the best for brightness (max and min), and WTF is the grid of pixels under the glass( you can that see outdoor ), the pros are obviously the color reproduction, the contrast with an excellent viewing angle and the blacks are very deep

Build quality 10/10 i love the glass and the aluminum on the smartphone so the build quality is absolutely awesome! It also is certified IP58!
Reception 8/10 It is not the best but pretty nice
Call quality 8/10 the same thing of the reception
Internet 8/10 So good with chrome web browser! But sometime it isn't as fast as a nexus 5 or a htc one m8!
Multimedia 9/10 Pretty awesome, the camera, the speakers, but i can't say which this smartphone is the best for gaming or other thing because there are a lot of smartphone without lag or glitch differently from z2( nexus 5 is faster for 2/3 second in Real Racing 3, and the galaxy s5 too).
Camera 9/10 amazing, but not the best in low light
UI speed 10/10 nothing awesome, faster than a galaxy s5 , but absolutely not as fast as an htc one m8 or a nexus 6
Everyday usage 8/10 very good
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • build quality
  • display
  • camera
  • battery

Cons

  • feedback
  • keyboard
  • pixel's grid

FilippoBriganti alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

chair
posted on 27 Jul 2014, 16:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jul 2014)

9

z2

chair has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very good phone no flaws. Just the speakerphone is a little bit low. Aside from that it is an excelent phone. I recommend it! Solid phone indeed. Better tahn LG G3 for sure. Water proof 4K video, 3giga ram and a fast hardware.

Build quality 10/10 Glossy looking phone. Very attrative
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great cameera
  • large screen

Cons

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

taptaptaptap
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 13:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jul 2014)

7

"A camera phone than can not function as a camera due to over heating"

taptaptaptap has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have used many Sony phone I have always liked their Z line up. But this is the nail in the coffin for me with Sony Xperia Z line.

I have used the Z and Z ultra and they both were great devices to use. Despite a customer service issue with the Z which took forever, but it got handled.

The real issue with the Z2 is the Design of the hardware. The phone heats up so hot after mild usage and the phone will shut down camera features or Shutdown entirely to prevent overheating.

If your don't believe me, just search youtube or google about the overheating issue of the phone.

But my anguish is coming from their horrific customer service. First they have me wipe my device and use a larger SD card. In which I do and it MADE NO DIFFERENCE.

Then I sent them an reply stating that it did not work, they did not reply. And then had a third attempt, they still don't reply.

If any one have any suggestions, please let me know.

Thank you

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 1/10 Because just using the camera causes the phone to over heat and shutdown
UI speed 7/10 Lags abit
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Waterproof

Cons

  • Overheats

7 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rain017
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:37 (Posts: 43; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

8

i had it!! but i was so disappointed i returned it!

Rain017 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i like the phone but i ended up with my 2nd choice m8 but i think its a smarter choice than z2 if you are up to photography go take z2 but YOU HAD BEEN WARNED with OVERHEATING ISSUES but if performance of the ui and an average camera go for m8 it has no problem with UI and no OVERHEATING issues i got disappointed with the phone though gaming is a nice experience

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 mushy sounds heard at the background
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10 the quality is good to fantastic but the main problem is the OVERHEATING ISSUE THAT IT STOPS THE CAMERA!! its useless to take photos and even 4k vids for longer that 2mins
UI speed 5/10 tends to be laggy when your using some widgets in my case calendar,watch,notes,photos, some folders for social and productivity but still it lags!!! not what i expected
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 good when you are not using the phone but the moment you use it it drains fast like ordinary case

Pros

  • built
  • screen
  • earphone
  • visual UI is pretty cool

Cons

  • over heating in camera and vid. taking resulting to force close of camera app
  • lags in home screen you have to remove most of the widget to keep it lag free

Rain017 alternatives:

7 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories