x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z2 User Reviews

9 Based on 26 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage8.9/10
UI speed8.9/10
Camera8.7/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality8.8/10
Battery9.3/10
Reception9.5/10
Display9/10
Build quality9.4/10
Text input9.2/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Leonard-Davis
posted on 15 Aug 2014, 04:20 (Posts: 5; Member since: 13 Mar 2012)

9

I think I found my next Daily Driver

Leonard-Davis has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone, the Sony Z2 D6503, wow. I am using a nexus 5 as my daily, and have a note 3, and Z Ultra as alternatives.

Size - The phone is larger, but coming from the nexus which has squared corners, its very usable. If you don't mind using the nexus 5 you won't mind the Z2.

Display - clarity seems the same as the nexus, but better that the note 3, and z ultra. The colors are so much better than the nexus5, and the Z ultra, and not near as artificial as the AMOLED on the note 3.

Processing power - even though it has the snapdragon 801 chipset, and the other 3 have the snapdragon 800, it feels about the same, if not a tad slower (the other 3 are all rooted and running stock KitKat) sometimes when I pull down the notification tray and i get a stutter.

Camera - I knew what I was getting, a 20.7MP sensor, but it still blew me away, I took photos with all 4 phones, the same photo, the Sony Z2 using superior auto, which yields an 8MP image, the nexus 5, and Z Ultra at 8MP and the note 3 at 13MP. The Sony destroyed them all, better color reproduction, more detail, and less noise, especially when cropped. All images where viewed on a 1080p 27" monitor. When I set the Z2 to manual and used the full 20.7MP setting I noticed zero improvement over the 8MP sampled pic.

Build quality - not quite to the level of my old HTC one M8, or iPhone 5/5s, but very much the same quality of the iPhone 4/4s and HTC one m7.

Sound - the front facing speakers are not any louder than the other phones,...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Processing power
  • Camera

Cons

  • front facing speakers are not any louder than the other phones

Leonard-Davis alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xxCearxx
posted on 07 Aug 2014, 17:34 (Posts: 3; Member since: 11 Apr 2014)

10

BEST PHONE SO FAR!!!

xxCearxx has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I´have owned many phones. Coming from a Galaxy s5, I am flabbergasted with the Xperia z2. The areas where the Galaxy s5 were flawles are covered in the beautiful Body of the Z2. I owned a HTC One (m7) last year, and I was in love of the front facing speakers. Now, I am boomed with the speakers of the Xperia. They are pretty good, and clear. Even wet, the speakers are good! So far, I think I have found the perfection in this Slim phone. THANKS SONY!

Build quality 10/10 Outstanding frame with back and front pannel being glass
Reception 10/10 Antennas are good
Call quality 9/10 Speaker could be better
Internet 10/10 FAST AS HELL!
Multimedia 10/10 SIMPLY AWESOME
Camera 10/10 Do you want the best cameraphone with android? This is it
UI speed 10/10 Clear, light, simple.... loving it!
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 They used LCD panel with their special tech, which produces good colors in every area and lightning condition, at least in my case.
Battery 10/10 HELL YEAH! As I said, I´m coming from Galaxy s5, and it has great battery.... but the z2 kills it in this area

Pros

  • Battery
  • Camera
  • Screen
  • Design
  • fast UI

Cons

  • NONE!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Belirsiz
posted on 07 Aug 2014, 16:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Aug 2014)

10

Best Android Smartphone

Belirsiz has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Z2 have good battery life, good camera (even better than DSLR auto mode in daylight.), good sound quality. It have all the things that someone wants. Sony corrected the wrongs that made in other Xperia series.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Have all multimedia components. Good music player, good quality.
Camera 10/10 The best camera after Lumia 1020.
UI speed 10/10 No lags, good processor.
Everyday usage 10/10 Good for daily use.
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Best screen after G3.
Battery 10/10 Best battery life among the S5, M8, G3 and all others.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FilippoBriganti
posted on 03 Aug 2014, 05:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Aug 2014)

8

One of the best of 2014

FilippoBriganti has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i love the glass and the aluminum on the smartphone so the build quality is absolutely awesome! It also is certified IP58!
The reception is not the best but pretty nice, and a nice call quality...
The web browsing is pretty nice but it isn't comparable with HTC One M8!
The multimedia, so the camera, speakers, and hardware are incredible, the best camera i've never seen on a smartphone, the speakers isn't nice as the HTC One M8 speakers, but the camera and music software are awesome.
The UI speed... nothing of incredible.
I hate the text input the keyboard and the feedback!
Display: 1 OF THE BEST! but:the z2's display isn't the best for brightness (max and min), and WTF is the grid of pixels under the glass( you can see outdoor ), the pros are obviously the color reproduction, the contrast with an excellent viewing angle and a pretty nice black and a pretty nice white!

Build quality 10/10 i love the glass and the aluminum on the smartphone so the build quality is absolutely awesome! It also is certified IP58!
Reception 8/10 It is not the best but pretty nice
Call quality 8/10 the same thing of the reception
Internet 8/10 So good with chrome web browser! But sometime it isn't as fast as a nexus 5 or a htc one m8!
Multimedia 9/10 Pretty awesome, the camera, the speakers, but i can't say which this smartphone is the best for gaming or other thing because there are a lot of smartphone without lag or glitch differently from z2( nexus 5 is faster for 2/3 second in Real Racing 3, and the galaxy s5 too).
Camera 9/10 amazing, but not the best in low light
UI speed 7/10 nothing awesome, faster than a galaxy s5 and lg g3, but absolutely not as fast as an htc one m8 or a nexus 5
Everyday usage 8/10 very good
Text input 5/10 the feedback is horrible, the feedback is infinite when you write quickly a message!
Display 9/10 the z2's display isn't the best for brightness (max and min), and WTF is the grid of pixels under the glass( you can see outdoor ), the pros are obviously the color reproduction, the contrast because the color are vibrant and contrasted with an excellent viewing angle and a pretty nice black and a pretty nice white!
Battery 9/10 awesome, but the g2 is better

Pros

  • build quality
  • display
  • camera
  • battery

Cons

  • feedback
  • keyboard
  • pixel's grid

FilippoBriganti alternatives:

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

chair
posted on 27 Jul 2014, 16:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Jul 2014)

9

z2

chair has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very good phone no flaws. Just the speakerphone is a little bit low. Aside from that it is an excelent phone. I recommend it! Solid phone indeed. Better tahn LG G3 for sure. Water proof 4K video, 3giga ram and a fast hardware.

Build quality 10/10 Glossy looking phone. Very attrative
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • great cameera
  • large screen

Cons

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

taptaptaptap
posted on 14 Jul 2014, 13:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Jul 2014)

7

"A camera phone than can not function as a camera due to over heating"

taptaptaptap has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have used many Sony phone I have always liked their Z line up. But this is the nail in the coffin for me with Sony Xperia Z line.

I have used the Z and Z ultra and they both were great devices to use. Despite a customer service issue with the Z which took forever, but it got handled.

The real issue with the Z2 is the Design of the hardware. The phone heats up so hot after mild usage and the phone will shut down camera features or Shutdown entirely to prevent overheating.

If your don't believe me, just search youtube or google about the overheating issue of the phone.

But my anguish is coming from their horrific customer service. First they have me wipe my device and use a larger SD card. In which I do and it MADE NO DIFFERENCE.

Then I sent them an reply stating that it did not work, they did not reply. And then had a third attempt, they still don't reply.

If any one have any suggestions, please let me know.

Thank you

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 1/10 Because just using the camera causes the phone to over heat and shutdown
UI speed 7/10 Lags abit
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Waterproof

Cons

  • Overheats

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Rain017
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:37 (Posts: 7; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

8

i had it!! but i was so disappointed i returned it!

Rain017 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i like the phone but i ended up with my 2nd choice m8 but i think its a smarter choice than z2 if you are up to photography go take z2 but YOU HAD BEEN WARNED with OVERHEATING ISSUES but if performance of the ui and an average camera go for m8 it has no problem with UI and no OVERHEATING issues i got disappointed with the phone though gaming is a nice experience

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 mushy sounds heard at the background
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 3/10 the quality is good to fantastic but the main problem is the OVERHEATING ISSUE THAT IT STOPS THE CAMERA!! its useless to take photos and even 4k vids for longer that 2mins
UI speed 5/10 tends to be laggy when your using some widgets in my case calendar,watch,notes,photos, some folders for social and productivity but still it lags!!! not what i expected
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 good when you are not using the phone but the moment you use it it drains fast like ordinary case

Pros

  • built
  • screen
  • earphone
  • visual UI is pretty cool

Cons

  • over heating in camera and vid. taking resulting to force close of camera app
  • lags in home screen you have to remove most of the widget to keep it lag free

Rain017 alternatives:

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ArtSim98
posted on 28 Jun 2014, 03:53 (Posts: 2443; Member since: 21 Dec 2012)

10

Amazing device!

ArtSim98 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

If you buy this, you definitely won't be disappointed! Everything in it is made with such thought. Everything from the design to the camera and the internals is close to perfection.

The build feels so sturdy and it looks so beautiful with the aluminium and glass. The waterproofing works like a charm for me. The display is big, super sharp and has very nice colours and viewing angles.

Even with heavy use the battery lasts easily a full day. With lighter use is possible to get even two full days with it! With the snapdragon 801 it runs blazingly fast and smooth through both the UI and any of the newest games.

The camera is very good, though the processing could do a bit better job. Still the pictures are very detailed, have super accurate colours and is nice to have that 4:3 aspect ratio got a wider field of view. Slow motion and 4k video work very well, though with 4k the device can heat up a bit too much if you record for several minutes.

Everybody is bragging about the call quality, but in my opinion is very good. At least on my side. The voices are clear and very loud. Nobody has complained on the other side either.

Z2 is the perfect multimedia device with the stereo speakers, awesome display and the Sony Walkman app. Noice cancelling is also a must have after using it!

If your getting a new phone, don't overlook the Z2! It's an amazing device with little to no cons and it looks so beautiful! Just fantastic!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Camera
  • Build/design
  • Speed

Cons

  • Nothing much!

ArtSim98 alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SanteriAT
posted on 24 Jun 2014, 20:05 (Posts: 3; Member since: 24 Jun 2014)

10

Never Had Better

SanteriAT has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

My experience with the Z2 has been great this far. Everything has been at least great and underwater shots taken with the Z2 are beautiful. The display is gorgeus and the size is great (could be bigger). This far I've had no problems with the phone and I'm confident I don't have to worry about having problems in the future. Sony has done great job with Z2.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Display
  • Size
  • Design
  • Waterproof
  • Camera
  • Battery
  • Speed

Cons

  • Position of Camera

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

WestcoastGuy
posted on 16 Jun 2014, 23:43 (Posts: 4; Member since: 16 Jun 2014)

6

Xperia is horrible as a cellphone

WestcoastGuy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The Sony Xperia Z2. What can I say - everything good about a smartphone EXCEPT the microphone - which you might think would be important to a cellphone. 5 out of 5 calls made in last 2 days told me to dump the unit as it had virtually unintelligle sound - no tones, no bass, my voice sounded processed with muffled high & low frequencies.

Build quality 6/10 The microphone is cack. Everything else is wonderful.
Reception 10/10 Everyone I showed it too was amazed. The cellphonre & WiFi worked all over town, in underground parking lots, etc.
Call quality 1/10 horrible, horrible microphone. Yes, tried various settings - only made it sound even worse. You can;t make out high/low frequnecies, sylibles are 'run-on'.... just a horrible experience.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10 hesitations between screens, after making changes & Saving, features that don;t work (make a phone call - try to find a Name... good luck)
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 6/10 Touch screen is tempermental. Delay is responding, having to tap several times to get a response....
Battery 10/10

Pros

Cons

  • The microphone is cack (that's not a good thing).

1 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mohammed88
posted on 13 Jun 2014, 06:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jun 2014)

9

very disappointed

mohammed88 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

because of the gaps between the frame and the glass and that let water enters my phone from over the camera lens at a depth of 7cm only and dont say that i didnt close the flaps frimly.very disappointed with the camera its quality even in the manual mode after selecting the 20.7 mp mode its not like a 8 mp camera even i mean my xperia p pictures is way more better than that and that is not the broblem the camera heats up very quickly even while recording 1080p videos i mean that is ridiculous and the camera app turn off all the time beacuse of the heat

Reception 10/10 the reception was good compared to other phones in most of the times
Build quality 8/10 because of the gaps between the frame and the glass and that let water enters my phone from over the camera lens at a depth of 7cm only and dont say that i didnt close the flaps frimly.
Call quality 10/10 the call quality is very good nothing else to say
Internet 9/10 when browsing on any browser the phone gets really hot but its acceptable
Multimedia 10/10 I always loved sony multimedia apps but on the z2 its even beter
Camera 4/10 very disappointed with the camera its quality even in the manual mode after selecting the 20.7 mp mode its not like a 8 mp camera even i mean my xperia p pictures is way more better than that and that is not the broblem the camera heats up very quickly even while recording 1080p videos i mean that is ridiculous and the camera app turn off all the time beacuse of the heat
UI speed 9/10 the ui is very smoth and there is no lagging only when the phone becomes hot
Everyday usage 8/10 not very good for every day usage because of the heat issue is affecting on the battery life
Text input 10/10 i have no problems with that at all
Display 10/10 it is very beautiful the colours is vivid but i had little problemes with touch sensitivty
Battery 9/10 it is good but because of the heat issue it drains very fast compared when it is cool

Pros

  • display
  • multimedia
  • call quality

Cons

  • he heat issue is very annoying
  • the camera

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

CookieMonster4
posted on 03 Jun 2014, 11:52 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jun 2014)

9

The best Xperia to date....

CookieMonster4 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I fell in love with this phone as soon as I got it. The phone was just gorgeous, with the subtle curves and attention to detail. The screen was vivid, sharp, the colours were vibrant and the viewing angles were brilliant. The Digital Noise Cancelling technology worked like a charm with the Sony MDR-NC31EM earphones i had also bought. The camera took great pictures, with good colour reproduction and detailed shots.
The only problems I had were the background defocus shots. Theblur was all over the place, and it didnt work half the time. The phone would also overheat quite quickly, but luckily i could just run it under the cold water tap due to the IP rating!
Overall, this phone is an absolute beauty and I would whole-heartedly recommend it!

Build quality 10/10 Rugged yet stylish. Survived drops from about 5 feet with no internal or external damage made.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10 Slick and beautiful!
Everyday usage 7/10 I found myself fidgeting with the phone a lot to reach the top of the screen. Also, it overheated quite quickly when playing games or watching videos
Text input 10/10 Typing was a breeze with the easy to input keyboard. The large screen size helped of course!
Display 10/10 Vivid and bright. Vibrant colours and brilliant viewing angles.
Battery 10/10 Lasted for ages!

Pros

  • Great screen
  • Beautiful design
  • Comfortable to hold
  • Great photos taken with the 20.7 MP camera

Cons

  • Overheated when gaming or had lots of apps running
  • Background defocus didn't work most of the time

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

T.Law
posted on 29 May 2014, 11:07 (Posts: 139; Member since: 10 May 2014)

8

Giant

T.Law has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Elegant, fast, responsive, this phone is one of the best phone atm. Moreover, it's IP certified. I can consume media while relaxing in the tub without worrying about my phone getting wet.
Not a fan of the UI though and it could have more useful features, like my previous Note3, to really get the most out of Android.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 8/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

Cons

  • Thick bezels

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

HMiMiH
posted on 29 May 2014, 04:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Mar 2014)

10

One of the best phones

HMiMiH has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Sony Z2 is very good, one of the best phones..

You have to give your opinion of it after trying everything inside it, you must know all of its contents ..
Quality is good, clear communication, the Internet okey it work, the camera is clear and high quality (able to control the quality by yourself), do not give your opinion on the battery from the first day & you should learn how you can control it to save more life..
& Soon I will try use stereo speakers
& I will not drown my phone in the water, because I love it ❤

Finally you should enjoy using it.. シ

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • The best thing is the battery life
  • 20.7MP Camera, good quality
  • The voice clarity during calls
  • I liked its sheer size

Cons

  • Nothing

HMiMiH alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Weetek
posted on 23 May 2014, 07:16 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 May 2014)

9

Great phone... BUT

Weetek has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Great phone with a strange SIM connector. It has amazing battery, display and sound. It's fast and really nice. BUT... The call quality is just horrible! I don't understand why they made it without any bass. And finally, walkmann app can't play folders... FAIL.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 3/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

droidhead
posted on 19 May 2014, 23:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 19 May 2014)

10

Better than the iphone will ever be

droidhead has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This is an AMAZING phone and my only complaint is the overly reflective screen. The speakers are great and the UI is clean and crisp. The camera heats up when recording in 4K for extended periods of time but why wouldn't it. I can't tell how thankful i am to Sony for bringing such a lovely phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Everything

Cons

  • The reflective screen

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

unmaskedfalesh
posted on 18 May 2014, 14:41 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 May 2014)

9

Best Flagship of 2014 till date

unmaskedfalesh has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It is simply the best of the Sony till date.
The glass body is gorgeous.
The camera is awesome.
The waterproofing is another best thing about the device.
Those plastic crap and metal hot heads just don't come any where near the awesome Z2.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10 just because no Superior auto at 20.7MP.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Hefty 3GB RAM
  • SD 801 2.3Ghz
  • 20.7MP Camera
  • Stereo Speakers
  • 5.2" FHD IPS display with better viewing angles
  • Dust and waterproof

Cons

  • A little big in size due to large bezels

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

FaisalWibowo11
posted on 03 Jun 2014, 01:28 (Posts: 95; Member since: 12 Aug 2013)

10

The best flagship phone of H1 2014

FaisalWibowo11 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Design: so sexy, elegeant, and sleek. Plus it has IP58 waterproof certification and camera shutter button, which offer humongous advantage.

Overall Specifications: It has IPS 1080p screen, Snapdragon 801, 3GB of RAM, 20.7MP camera, 3200mah battery.. Definitely top of the line specs

Screen: I am generally very pleased with the 5.2" IPS TRILUMINOS screen as it has wide colour gamut, pleasantly saturated colours, and excellent viewing angles. But the screen struggles a bit in direct sunlight, but nothing drastic.

Processing power: with snapdragon 801 which is currently the fastest chipset on the market and 3GB of RAM, the overall performance is lag free and buttery smooth even if intensive apps and games are running

UI: user interface is very elegant, simplistic, simple, and very close to stock android interface. And addition of user friendly features such as double tap to wake, bring to ear to answer calls, glove mode, pencil stylus, etc input are great and very much appreciated.

Camera: The image quality is one of my most important aspects in terms of reviewing a phone. And thankfully, I am very astounded with the image quality. It has plenty of detail, even in low light. Great spot on exposure, accurate colours, great dynamic range, and very good noise levels with no chroma noise and only finely grained luminance noise. In comparison, The camera of Xperia Z2 is able to totally obliterate the best 13MP cameras such as galaxy S4 and note 3. And it is on par with the galaxy...  

Build quality 10/10 Sexy, sleek, elegant, waterproof, and that shutter button
Reception 10/10 Not much to talk about, it depends on the carrier
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 Audio quality of the stereo speakers is second only to HTC M8, but the quality of digital noise cancelling headset is unpararelled. With X-Reality engine, watching videos and seeing photos are a complete pleasure
Camera 10/10 Great detail in both good light and low light, good noise levels, great dynamic range. 4k video is amazing with good stabilization, and accurate colours, plus great detail
UI speed 10/10 The UI is elegant, and simplistic.
Everyday usage 10/10 Great design, great camera, great screen, great battery life, the best chipset available, plus 1 more GB RAM than any of the competitors, stereo speakers and noise cancelling headset. What more could you ask?
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Wide colour gamut, pleasant saturation, superb viewing angles
Battery 10/10 No matter how hard you try, you just can't drain the freakin huge battery in one day. This phone can go to about 2-3 days of normal usage and 4 if you turn on the stamina and power saving mode.

Pros

  • Great, sleek design with waterproofing and shutter button
  • Great camera quality in both good light and low light
  • 3GB of RAM
  • The best chipset available
  • Outstanding battery life
  • Perfect multimedia capabilities
  • One of the best display on the market
  • A set of user friendly features

Cons

  • noise cancelling headset and magnetic charging dock isn't available on all retail units
  • no option for 32GB internal storage
  • a bit big for people with small hands

FaisalWibowo11 alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

philansel7
posted on 16 May 2014, 10:51 (Posts: 27; Member since: 14 Aug 2013)

10

Best of sony

philansel7 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Well all i can say that i really love the Z2. Since Xperia Z came out wanted to buy the sony phone . but after that Z1 came out and i was still unsure if i should buy it! then Z2 came out !! a beauty, a monster and a beast of phone !! Just funking love it ! the Display is awesome, it will blow your eyes :) well camera is really good compare to Z1 et the speaker is awesome, all those who are complaining about the speaker are hater ! try it yourself and make your opinon about the phone !

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Quality
  • Display
  • Sound
  • Fluid and smooth
  • Camera
  • water and dust proof
  • noise cancelling

Cons

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jjbbww
posted on 16 May 2014, 09:00 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 May 2014)

6

Touch screen very bad!

jjbbww has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone has been using for almost a month !The phone is not very comfortable feel! Call the results were OK!System optimization is not OK。 Screen display is really not!Speaker phone without you described so well。

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 1/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Exterior

Cons

  • System optimization is not OK

7 out of 53 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sourav007
posted on 09 May 2014, 22:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 May 2014)

10

MY NEW LOVE

sourav007 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

ultimate smarty...ooommmppphh. what a camera!!!how awesome is that display on z2?oh God, i am amazed....best smartphone...excellent photos in daylight and low light...nokia be careful...excellent display in sunlight...love sony...love xperia...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 best camera phone
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • display
  • camera
  • performance

Cons

  • none

15 out of 22 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baibhav93
posted on 09 May 2014, 22:26 (Posts: 3; Member since: 09 May 2014)

10

ULTIMATE SMARTPHONE

baibhav93 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

SONY has made the ultimate smartphone...i love the display and the camera...the camera is the best i class, even better than my nokia lumia 1020...the build quality is again out of the world...great speakers...photos and movies look terrific on that vivid display...WAY TO GO SONY,THE XPERIA WAY...

Build quality 10/10 excellent build
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 great multimedia features
Camera 10/10 world's best cameraphone
UI speed 10/10 best ui
Everyday usage 10/10 excellent performance
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 best display, even outdoors
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • camera
  • display
  • performance
  • stereo speakers

Cons

  • pricey.

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anmotor
posted on 09 May 2014, 02:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 May 2014)

10

SUPER SMARTPHONE

anmotor has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I am very happy - are really excited about the quality of the beauty and power of this great smartphone. I recommend it to all those who wish to have a phone of great substance and great image. I can not find any fault

Build quality 10/10 excellent
Reception 10/10 excellent
Call quality 10/10 excellent
Internet 10/10 excellent
Multimedia 10/10 excellent
Camera 10/10 excellent
UI speed 10/10 excellent
Everyday usage 10/10 excellent
Text input 10/10 excellent
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

14 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ConstipatedNinja
posted on 07 May 2014, 16:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 May 2014)

10

King of Flagship Phones 2014

ConstipatedNinja has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The absolute only issue that I have with this phone is the fact that Sony didn't ship it out as planned. The phone feels both solid and light, like it's a folded up piece of paper that could withstand the apocalypse. The calls are crisp and I don't feel like there's anything missing. Same goes for music, especially with the great headphones provided. As far as reception goes, I got this phone shipped from Asia to the US and am currently hooked up through T-Mobile, and I have all the bands for t-mobile. I work in a datacenter in a basement, so I'm basically in a Faraday cage. This is the only phone of the office that can connect to regular data and not just our WiFi. Not just that, but I get full bars 4G LTE in all but the most crowded of corners. The camera is capable of absolutely stunning and detailed pictures. When I first messed with the camera, it was pointing at one of my knuckles. I could see with clarity the texture of the skin in the grooves of my skin, like the texture of a texture! Everything is smooth as butter, even when tackling the sorts of tasks that would have murdered my old phone. It really shows just how useful the 3GB of RAM is. This is the best phone that's likely not out there for you yet, but when it hits your market you'll be glad that the phone is protected for up to five feet of your drool for half an hour. Seriously, I would buy this phone again in a heartbeat. I can't possibly feel dumb from this decision.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

PhotoPixel
posted on 17 May 2014, 09:21 (Posts: 13; Member since: 11 Feb 2014)

8

Good, but not great

PhotoPixel has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

IMHO, Z2 it's only error correction Z. Camera still not better than the old iphone 5S and SGS4. Camera in terms of photo quality, between Z2 and Nokia 808 Pureview huge difference. 808 still king. Communication quality is decent, sometimes hard to hear the interlocutor. Wi-fi catches not very good, not as strange it may seem ...

Build quality 9/10 Very good
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 6/10 Photos when zoom you see blurring details and on 100% crop we can see pixels. I don't see the real changes vs Z1 and Z1 copmact.
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10 Finally Sony Z2 has good, but not the best display on the market .. Colors - unreal saturated and lacks brightness.
Battery 7/10 very well hold a charge

Pros

  • Build quality

Cons

  • Very big
  • Photo quality, not so good
  • I noticed another feature of the camera! Smartphone began to warm even when photographing!and it happens fairly quickly, several times the camera turns off itself . So, IMHO Z2 can not be called - cameraphone. My old Nokia 808 could shoots many hours and camera never turned off. And this Sony - it`s one big marriage! Very disappointed with the purchase, I threw in trash my 900 bucks (

3 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories