x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Z1 User Reviews

9.4 Based on 51 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.4/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed9.6/10
Camera9.2/10
Multimedia9.4/10
Internet9.6/10
Call quality9.4/10
Battery9/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

XperiaMan
posted on 09 Oct 2014, 13:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Aug 2014)

10

Xperia Z1 and only

XperiaMan has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

The Xperia Z1 is a capable succcessor to the Z . It sports an accurate , vivid , sharp, bright , big , beautiful 5" LCD display , a quad-core monster under the hood , 16 GB of internal memory with an SD card slot , 2 GB of RAM , 20.7 MP camera with Full HD camcorder . It is made of aluminum and tempered glass ( made by Dragontrail ) covered by a shatterproof film . It is one the best smartphones SONY has ever made

Build quality 10/10 Tempered glass and aluminum frame <3 The best combination
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10 VERYYYYYYY fast.
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10 VEEEEEEERY fast.
Everyday usage 10/10 NO PROBLEEEMS :) :)
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10 Can last almost 2 days with normal use, you know , browsing , calling , and gaming for a little while ;)

Pros

  • 20.7 MP camera
  • Snapdragon 800
  • 2 GB RAM , 16 GB internal
  • Very accurate and sharp 5" Triluminos display
  • Shinyyyy
  • Omnibalance design
  • Waterproof
  • Dustproof
  • Shatterproof
  • Its a SONY

Cons

  • hmmmm
  • lets see ...
  • NOPE

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sicoman2010
posted on 05 Oct 2014, 17:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 Sep 2014)

9

nice phone

sicoman2010 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

v.good nice phone Great phone and loving it! andGood build quality especially the waterproof featureDisplay is brillant... Who cares about good viewing angles? I always view my phone's screen facing me.
audio during calls


Build quality 10/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Good build quality especially the waterproof feature.
  • Display colors are superb
  • good camera

Cons

  • Battery life could be better

sicoman2010 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

MahanteshMeti
posted on 16 Sep 2014, 10:05 (Posts: 1; Member since: 16 Sep 2014)

2

Sony Service is patetic

MahanteshMeti has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When Sony Service is patetic, why you want to go for expensive handsets, even sony handsets are made in China, If you give it for Service, then Sony will provide you refurbished handset, that means you are paying good amount of money for 2nd hand Mobile

Build quality 2/10
Reception 2/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10
Text input 2/10
Display 2/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

Cons

  • Very bad experiance with Sony Service

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Khasan
posted on 04 Aug 2014, 09:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Aug 2014)

10

the best Xperia Smartphone

Khasan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Sony Xperia Z1 second best smartphone in his class. the best is Sony Xperia z2.The 20MP camera makes transfer of documents so easy. You will no longer need a scanner, I swear.This is phone is now the best phone in the market .. 2.2 ghz . 2Gb ram , 20 MP camera with bionz , awsome display.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • high quality camera
  • long lasting battery

Cons

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ethanusha
posted on 31 May 2014, 09:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 May 2014)

10

"The best of Sony for the best of you" is the best way to describe this phone...............

ethanusha has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have been owning this phone for more than 6 months now. But still I'm amazed by the way this works and performs. The waterproof feature has made my life totally different. Camera performance is incredible. 5 inch screen gives you a almost perfect picture with great color and contrast.The Team Sony has has done an incredible job on this phone.

Build quality 10/10 Aluminium and glass finish is lovely, The positions of the buttons are just awesome. Even though the phone is a bit big (Because I have small hands) Omni Balance design is just perfect for me.
Reception 9/10 I never got the chance to try out the LTE feature. Thats why I rate this as 9.
Call quality 10/10 Clear. The Slow talk and equalizer settings for calling has made it brilliant.
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10 Had some issue with the external speaker when the initial 4.4.2 update was released. Now it has been fixed. Sony apps are doing a great job when it comes to Multimedia.
Camera 10/10 You don't need a fancy DSLR anymore. The Digital zooming is clear as you can imagine.
UI speed 10/10 Fast and light weight.
Everyday usage 10/10 Rain or shine it will keep on working. (If its raining and your going to get your self and your phone wet, Make sure to seal the covers first)
Text input 10/10 Always keeps up with your speed.
Display 10/10 Clearest and best color on a phone display I have ever seen. Not over saturated like some other displays. with 441 PPI this one of the best.
Battery 10/10 3000mAh and advance Sony Stamina mode.... What can you expect.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Display
  • Battery

Cons

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

arvind_cs
posted on 10 May 2014, 00:45 (Posts: 0; Member since: 10 May 2014)

4

Not a worthy phone - Just hardware specs are good

arvind_cs has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Phone failed within one month of mild usage. Has heating issues and the software is not optimized for the hardware. What is the point in having a good hardware if you cannot use any functionality to the fullest. 3000 mAH drains faster even with mild usage and won't last 12 hrs though i keep constant watch in the apps running in background. Not completely waterproof though you have all the flaps covered. Charging flap gets damaged easily. So buy a Sony magnetic charging dock. Taking the phone from the pocket scratches the glasses so buy a sony bluetooth headset and smartwatch 2.

Build quality 4/10 Glasses tend to get scratches easily.
Reception 6/10 occasionally no signal can be seen from the power manager
Call quality 4/10 Heat heat heat. Can burn your ears in 5 mins
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 5/10 Walkman application needs refinement. Kitkat killed managing files from SD card
Camera 5/10 Can't take more than 5 pictures at a stretch.
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 3/10 Take a power bank and try to use air conditioned rooms due to the heating issue
Text input 8/10
Display 4/10 Heating issues when display is used.
Battery 3/10 Just the rating is 3000mAH. Competitor phones are better.

Pros

  • looks beautiful and light weight

Cons

  • Heating issues
  • more heating issues
  • After sales service has become pathetic from sony
  • Expect 10 - 15 days to fix your phone if your phone has bricked.

3 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

versantos
posted on 08 May 2014, 23:40 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 May 2014)

9

excellent phone but......

versantos has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

sony's anti shatter screen gets scratched extremely easy , is annoying, and nobody tell you, not even this site, so if you buy it, you need to put a protector or it will be scratched beyond your immagination. the problem is you can remove it, but if you remove it you loose the warranty, loose the sony logo, and if you are reckless you can break the water seal because is strongly attached. but i had to remove it, it scratched extremely easy, and looks terrible, i have to put another one. this is a major issue for me, the phone is amazing, why doesn't it have a regular gorilla glass instead of this shield. beside this, I can tell you , this is a huge upgrade from samsung g3

Build quality 8/10 sony's anti shatter screen gets scratched extremely easy
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

Cons

  • antishattered screen ,scratches extremely easy,

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lozazg
posted on 02 May 2014, 09:29 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 May 2014)

10

Best smartphone

lozazg has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Im using this phone for 2 month and it is awesomeIm using this phone for 2 month and it is awesomeIm using this phone for 2 month and it is awesomeIm using this phone for 2 month and it is awesomeIm using this phone for 2 month and it is awesomeIm using this phone for 2 month and it is awesome

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • everything !!!

Cons

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yashah1990
posted on 02 May 2014, 08:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 May 2013)

10

Xperia Z1 - A Beautiful Phone

yashah1990 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Excellent Designed Black Phone. Superb gaming phone, can play any heavy graphics game with out any hanging problem. Waterproof, dust resistant phone. Mind blowing camera with variety of options. Nice display quality. Best part is even my 32GB Micro USB Pen drive is working which is not working on nexus phones.
Worth Buying Phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Best Camera Phone
  • Premium Design Quality
  • WaterProof, Dust resistance
  • Very Smooth UI
  • Superb Graphics
  • 2GB RAM
  • Not Hanging
  • Expandable Memory Slot
  • Dedicated Camera Button
  • Wireless Charging

Cons

  • No cons

yashah1990 alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RuiBacelar
posted on 16 Apr 2014, 11:31 (Posts: 138; Member since: 25 Feb 2014)

9

Comming from Xperia Sola, T, Z

RuiBacelar has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone was a great improvement over Xperia Z, and I bet Z2 is gonna be flawless, I allways want more battery life and some more goodies in software and camera department.

By the way, over half a year of everyday use and abuse and scratch free.

Build quality 10/10 What do you want more? its a masterpiece of craftsmanship. really robust, feels Premium.
Reception 8/10 My carrier should take the blame
Call quality 8/10 as stated above
Internet 9/10 no complains
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Really great potencial but could be better explored
UI speed 10/10 Absolutly clean and lag free
Everyday usage 10/10 Simply love it
Text input 10/10 No problems at all
Display 7/10 It's actually pretty good but there's better out theres, hopefully Z2 will fix this
Battery 8/10 Battery is really decent, it lasts me for 2 days regular use.

Pros

  • Camera, Walkman, Battery, Build quality and so on

Cons

  • Maybe the Display

RuiBacelar alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

tasfiq.anamul
posted on 22 Feb 2014, 22:23 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Feb 2014)

10

THE BEST SMARTPHONE EVER NONE CAN COME TO IT

tasfiq.anamul has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

SONY has really done it this time

dominyte has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I allocate phones for different country I'm in, with Z1 being assigned to my home country. Since I only travel home once every month, I use iPhone 5S and Samsung the most of the time. Everytime I start up my phone in the airport, I would always stand frozen in awe of it's graphics (aesthetics aside, no joke). The 5S and other Samsung devices are no where near what Z1 has to offer. The smoothness and intelligence of the UI never cease to make me whisper, "s**t, if only I made this my main phone."

The 20MP camera makes transfer of documents so easy. You will no longer need a scanner, I swear.

The reason I bought this phone was because of the aesthetics and trust in SONY (aside the premium materials that supercede its rival, namely Samsung). However, the phone has never ceased to amaze me in every other aspect. Being the underdog, SONY has really proven themselves in this race.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

praveen305
posted on 07 Mar 2014, 12:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Feb 2014)

10

Sony Xperia Z1 - A Beast. The Best In The Market. Amazing device.

praveen305 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have no words to describe the sheer excellence, build quality and camera of the phone. The battery life of this phone is just amazing and I love to watch videos and play games. Many say that the viewing angles are poor but really who watches videos or uses his phone 170 degree tilted. Its not a matter at all.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Supersono
posted on 15 Feb 2014, 06:09 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Feb 2014)

8

Xperia Z1: durable & elegant multimedia device with horrible camera and ergonomy

Supersono has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I am positively surprised with Xperia Z1's durability and sound quality. However, quality of the camera is terrible. Furthermore, positioning of the buttons makes it a phone for a left handed person. Read comments for each section to get more info.

Build quality 8/10 + aluminium frame + really waterproof + unbreakable screeen - screen easily scratched - terrible button placement
Reception 8/10 Usually extremely fast, but sometimes stutters.
Call quality 8/10 + good overall quality - minor problems with position detection (ear/pocket/speaker mode)
Internet 9/10 + good reception + fast browsing + handles many pages at once
Multimedia 10/10 Exceptional video and sound quality. Original headphones are state of the art! However, loudspeaker is only average.
Camera 4/10 - I feel cheated, camera is terrible, night pictures have film grain visible with naked eye!
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 7/10 + fast - not very handy - terrible button placement
Text input 7/10 + good word prediction with "swiping" - difficult input with one hand
Display 8/10 + superb display quality - wasted space (screen is only 5 inches, phone is 6'3)
Battery 8/10 2 days of normal usage with wi-fi connection, about 4 hours of skype video talk (during which it heats up a lot)

Pros

  • waterproof and generally durable
  • superior processing power
  • brilliant media quality
  • elegant

Cons

  • HORRIBLE CAMERA
  • not handy
  • tons of useless sony firmware

2 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ayub407
posted on 14 Feb 2014, 08:56 (Posts: 6; Member since: 16 May 2013)

9

Xperia Z1 Review

ayub407 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Overall, the phone is good as expected. But also, there are few problems I've encountered. The Wi-Fi connection is really really poor. The Camera is amazing thanks to it's 20.7 mega pixels sensor. But also, Due to it's slow shutter speed, The image taken in night is really bad.

Build quality 9/10 The Omi-Balanced body design is quite impressive. The entire body frame is made up of aluminium while the back is made up of glass.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10 The Keyboard UI is sleek and clean looking and simple to use. But, there are few problems encountered like a full stop is added when I enter space.
Display 9/10 Overall, The triluminos display does make the image jaw dropping. But it has poor viewing angles.
Battery 8/10 The battery last like only 9 hours after heavy usage.

Pros

  • 2.2 GHz Quad Core
  • 20 Megapixels
  • Waterproof
  • 16 GB + Expandable Storage upto 32 GB

Cons

  • Viewing Angles
  • Bad Low Light Quality Camera
  • Heavy

ayub407 alternatives:

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Smokin
posted on 10 Feb 2014, 08:20 (Posts: 120; Member since: 10 Oct 2013)

9

Amazing, few problems

Smokin has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought this phone around late November, i bought the black one for me and my sister bought the white one. Since day 1 we were amazed with it's build quality. Even my sister who was an iPhone fans said that she would ditch any iPhone for this (no lie) me myself was and still amazed by the camera performance. The only cons are the weight and viewing angles (and battery life). That's it!

Build quality 10/10 Amazing, though can be a little smaller and lighter. But still its the best out there.
Reception 9/10 I had a little bit problems though.
Call quality 9/10 Good.
Internet 10/10 4G LTE. Blazing fast.
Multimedia 10/10 Walkman music app? CHAMPION.
Camera 10/10 The second best after L1020/808
UI speed 10/10 No lag whatsoever
Everyday usage 9/10 I'm rating this a 9 because of the batt.
Text input 9/10 Good enough
Display 9/10 Viewing angles. duh
Battery 6/10 Honestly, it sucks.

Pros

  • Build quality
  • Camera
  • Display
  • Performance
  • Durability
  • Waterproof
  • Lots of storages
  • No lag whatsoever
  • No stuttering even at the most graphical intense games

Cons

  • Viewing angles
  • size and weight

Smokin alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mokhtar
posted on 05 Feb 2014, 08:19 (Posts: 245; Member since: 06 Jan 2014)

10

best in the market ..

mokhtar has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is phone is now the best phone in the market .. 2.2 ghz . 2Gb ram , 20 MP camera with bionz , awsome display , incredible build quality and waterproof .. you cant find now a phone with this specs in the market , the build quality is just awsome many times falls from me and he still works fine and no crack at all .. the camera is insane exepct some blur in a difficult situation .. it's just need a good update , and i like also the audio systeme when i put my headphones it's really really powerfull .. generally this phone will makes you happy all time .. waiting for the z2 .. i will upgrade for it for sure :D

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • camera
  • display
  • UI
  • build quality
  • waterproof

Cons

  • need and update to fix the blur images

mokhtar alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

jm3lh4d0
posted on 04 Feb 2014, 10:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Feb 2014)

10

Xperia Z1

jm3lh4d0 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I registers just to make this review. Been waiting since launch day, saving money. Its funny to me that amazon, ebay, and any other online store increases the monetary value of this phone by 50 to 100 dollars, while Sony Online store has it at the same value since the beginning. Decreasing mostly only taxes by $50 when purchased. I don't live in the US thats why I made that statement.

Build quality 10/10 Premium High-End
Reception 10/10 Full Always
Call quality 10/10 Excellent
Internet 10/10 Flawless
Multimedia 10/10 Exquisite
Camera 10/10 Leviathan
UI speed 10/10 Extremely Fast
Everyday usage 10/10 Excellent
Text input 10/10 Impeccable
Display 10/10 Excellent
Battery 10/10 Learn to manage it, and it will last you forever

Pros

  • I have it

Cons

  • Poor me (from the past that hadn't)

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Jkennedy
posted on 26 Jan 2014, 16:24 (Posts: 9; Member since: 29 Dec 2013)

9

Monster of a phone

Jkennedy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When I fisrt took my Z1 out of the box, it's shear size and weight were a bit hard to deal with, however I was used to it within a few days and have no problems with it at all now.

On the hardware side, 2 gigs of RAM and a more powerful processor than my desktop make any task quick and easy. The camera is quite good (amazing considering how small it's footprint is in the phone), however I am disappointed with it's low light performace. The design is very attractive, and being waterproof is a great bonus too. I always take this phone into the shower (although the touchscrean is quite sensitive to droplets from the showerhead, so it can be quite difficult to actually use), but have yet to use it fully submerged.

The screen is also great in all regards, although the large bezels are a bit annoying.

On the software side, Running 4.3 Jellybean is great, and Sony's preinstalled apps are very good. The ui is also one of the more attractive and useful ones of non-stock android handsets.

All considered, this is a spectacular phone, and I have no hesitation recomending it to prospective phone buyers.

Build quality 10/10 Very high qaulity and attractive glass and metal design.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10 Needs to be improved.
Internet 10/10 No problems.
Multimedia 9/10 The screen is perfect for playing games and watching videos, however the loudspeaker sucks, and it's positioning is terrible (the phone is difficult to hold in landscape without blocking it).
Camera 9/10 Among the best, but not THE best.
UI speed 10/10 Snappy and lag-free, thanks to the monstrous amount of power under the hood.
Everyday usage 10/10 Perfect for everything I do day-to-day.
Text input 10/10 Not a problem here, but I still choose to use a third party keyboard.
Display 10/10 Incredibly clear, great colour reproduction. Viewing angles are more than satisfactory, but could be much better.
Battery 8/10 Despite it's size, the battery of the Z1 doesn't perform as well as I would like. It's not a problem, but it could deffinately be improved. Phone standby time specifically could be a lot better (I can't get it nearly as high as advertised).

Pros

  • Ui is very good, but could be improved
  • Great camera
  • Powerful hardware
  • Waterproof!
  • Beautiful design
  • Amazing display

Cons

  • huge bezels
  • Battery life kinda sucks considering battery size
  • Loudspeaker quality and placement

Jkennedy alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

alexcraiova2014
posted on 13 Jan 2014, 01:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Jan 2014)

10

The best of Sony, the best smartphone

alexcraiova2014 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Ss a great phone in all respects, phone pendant, solid, strong.I hold for almost a month and amazes me every day.I tested the S4, G2 and other top phones but honestly it does not compare with this. I reccomand it!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dominyte
posted on 08 Jan 2014, 07:11 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Jan 2014)

10

SONY has really done it this time

dominyte has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I allocate phones for different country I'm in, with Z1 being assigned to my home country. Since I only travel home once every month, I use iPhone 5S and Samsung the most of the time. Everytime I start up my phone in the airport, I would always stand frozen in awe of it's graphics (aesthetics aside, no joke). The 5S and other Samsung devices are no where near what Z1 has to offer. The smoothness and intelligence of the UI never cease to make me whisper, "s**t, if only I made this my main phone."

The 20MP camera makes transfer of documents so easy. You will no longer need a scanner, I swear.

The reason I bought this phone was because of the aesthetics and trust in SONY (aside the premium materials that supercede its rival, namely Samsung). However, the phone has never ceased to amaze me in every other aspect. Being the underdog, SONY has really proven themselves in this race.

Build quality 10/10 It's premium, scratch resistant, and attention seeking. Plus having it in a jar of beer gets the conversation going. Your friends will never speak of smartphone dares.
Reception 10/10 Clear crisp voice calls with the least problem with reception. Great outdoors.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Speedy. Definitely faster browsing than the iPhone 5S.
Multimedia 10/10 Check out the video gallery, you'll be amazed.
Camera 10/10 20MP makes document sending so easy. You no onger need a scanner.
UI speed 10/10 Yes, too good to be true but its the best. The UI pampers you to the point where you won't be bothered with others.
Everyday usage 9/10 Battery consumption is above average but they offer effective, smart power managements.
Text input 10/10 International keyboard definitely enchanced my experience. Predictive text is better than iOS7 as well. Samsung is out of the picture.
Display 10/10 FHD experience coupled with high density ppi and bravia technology. The color contrast and clarity gives you a slight sense of depth.
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Water proof changes the way you use your phone.

Cons

  • Fiber glass flaps could be obvious in comparison with aluminium body
  • Habits of having water proof phone puts your other phones in risk.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

thesufiyan
posted on 07 Jan 2014, 17:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Jan 2014)

10

I'm Amazed

thesufiyan has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I recently swapped an s4 for this. I am in love. The UI is close to pure android with some UI customizations. The phone competes in specs of every top android phone out there and on top of that, water proof and shatter resistant. Looks beautiful too.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Almost Everything

Cons

  • Viewing angles.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

omurt
posted on 01 Jan 2014, 16:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Jan 2014)

10

Beast of a phone. Perfect in almost every way.

omurt has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Excellent phone. Unbelievably fast, beautiful design and extremely well built. Camera is great. Screen is crystal clear, viewing angles are only ok but its not such a big deal. Flaps over ports are a little delicate but I would recommend buying the docking charger (Sony dk31) as well to fix that problem. Battery lasted me about 2 full days with medium use, there are some clever power saving features which are really good. I hope I will never need to test the waterproofness but I'm glad its there. Expandable storage is very useful. Its a little on the large side as phones go but its easy to get used of after a little while. If you buy this phone you won't be disappointed. Overall its very nearly perfect and few come close.

Build quality 10/10 no compromises
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Frighteningly fast
Multimedia 9/10 Excellent, although some videos do not seem to play in portrait mode. third party apps can fix that though.
Camera 10/10 Brilliant. Love the physical shutter button and burst mode.
UI speed 10/10 Fastest thing I know. Its faster than my computer
Everyday usage 9/10 Excellent but slightly on the large side, I got used of that very quickly though. Messages do not show up on lock screen but no big deal.
Text input 10/10 Keyboard is great and very customisable. Easy to type fast on that big screen
Display 9/10 Crisp and sharp. Viewing angles not great but not too much of an issue, no one can look at your phone over your shoulder.
Battery 10/10 Two dye on heavy enough use. Great power saving features.

Pros

  • Speed
  • Build Quality
  • Clarity of screen
  • Battery
  • Waterproofness
  • Power saving features
  • Looks
  • User interface, Operating system, Skin
  • Camera
  • Many more.......

Cons

  • Viewing angles
  • Flaps on ports
  • Size
  • Speekers

omurt alternatives:

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bahyyyyyy
posted on 28 Dec 2013, 06:55 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Dec 2013)

10

the perfect phone 2013

bahyyyyyy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have been using this woderful phone for 1 week now & here is my review : first of all i adore sony product the build quality of this one is awsome a bout some who are talking about camera here is my experience with camera at day ( the bessssttttttt king of android ) at night or low light ( noise is hight to some extent but the quality & colours are awsoooooooome u cant some times notice the noise ) the best i have ever handeld one last thing my friiend has nexus 5 & i took pics with it at low light for my z1 much better than nexus of course at day light cant be compared other things call quality excellent battery for heavy usage 1 day good for mderate usage 2 day & maybe 3 days gaming is a awseome thx sony u are the best

Build quality 10/10 awseome bulid quality except the bigger size sony should work on bezels
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 perfect call even if noise exist
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 display exceleeeeeeeeeeeeent one :)
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • camera is awseome
  • call quality perfect
  • battery is good

Cons

  • sony should work on size

bahyyyyyy alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Qawi94
posted on 27 Dec 2013, 15:12 (Posts: 9; Member since: 13 Jun 2013)

10

Perfect phone

Qawi94 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's the best all-round smartphone out there.With a 5 " full hd screen,snapdragon 800 processor,adreno 330 gpu,20.7 mp g lens and last but not least..ip58 rating.If you're looking for high end specs,waterproof and android os..this phone is for you

Build quality 10/10 Glass panel front and back.It looks elegant
Reception 10/10 good enough for 10 rating
Call quality 10/10 many feature just for calling.deserve a 10
Internet 10/10 super smooth browsing..10/10
Multimedia 10/10 full hd.great walkman application
Camera 10/10 20.7mp is not just a talk
UI speed 10/10 are you kidding me? 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 uhm.. 10/10
Display 10/10 full hd bro (some said viewing angle is not good,well fuck you)
Battery 10/10 good enough if you know how to managed it

Pros

  • 20.7mp

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Phontron
posted on 21 Dec 2013, 08:44 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Dec 2012)

10

The best Xperia so far,,,,very good Sony.

Phontron has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

To create such a phone is by all means an engineering wonder,,,,, I never thought that the Z1 is going to blow me up with such extreme specification...from top state of art design to bottom high end internals. This is a sign that Sony hadn't yet lost its touch for making a competitive product.And the Z1 is the answer no sure.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 8/10 Screen is very good, but poor viewing angles and color saturation processing could be better.
Battery 9/10 battery is super good,,it will for sure stand a whole day even with above average usage.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories