x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia Tablet Z User Reviews

9 Based on 6 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Everyday usage9.2/10
UI speed8.8/10
Camera8.2/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet9.5/10
Call quality8.5/10
Battery8.2/10
Reception9.3/10
Display9.2/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input9.5/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

matthewsingh
posted on 27 Dec 2013, 05:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Dec 2013)

7

there are better tabalets average

matthewsingh has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Rather have ipad air note 10.1 2014 and the surface but all in all average tabalet battery needs work lags outdate specs but is light and feels high quality alsp nice feature that its water proof . This tabalet to me is the third best overall tied we ith surface pro and google nexus with ipad air and galaxy note 10.1 2014 all which are 10 inches on

Build quality 9/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • water proof
  • Nice build
  • good camera

Cons

  • battery life
  • specs
  • ui lags

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

keefa79
posted on 20 Dec 2013, 07:39 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Jul 2013)

10

Good deal

keefa79 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

nice Powerful Tablet but some very important Points and Daily Needs are Prevent the full Rate these things are messed up like small battery and back flash the worst is Phone Call Feature, nice Powerful Tablet but some very important Points and Daily Needs are Prevent the full Rate these things are messed up like small battery and back flash the worst is Phone Call Feature

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • powerful Perfromance

Cons

  • no phone call feature
  • no flash
  • small Battery
  • High Price

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anleoflippy
posted on 03 Nov 2013, 09:39 (Posts: 226; Member since: 03 Jan 2013)

9

Best 10" tablet at this moment

anleoflippy has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I have this tablet for about 5 months and I got to say it exceeds my expectations. The screen, sound and build quality are just top notch. In my country, the Tablet Z is cheaper than the iPad 4/Air and the Galaxy Note 10.1/2014 edition so it is a great buy. I have a black 16gb WiFi model.

Build quality 10/10 A solid piece of machinery. I don't feel like I'd be doing something harsh on it just because it's the thinnest tablet on the market. The IP57 is a plus for me, not needing it but it's good to know that it's there. It's very light too, I don't feel strees on my arm on one handed use.
Reception 10/10 WiFi drops was an issue in Android 4.1 but since the latest Android 4.2.2 update, I haven't got the problem anymore.
Call quality 8/10 The microhpone is good at picking up sounds but the noise cancelation could be a bit better. Not to say it is bad, but my Xperia ZL can do it better.
Internet 10/10 Excellent browsing experience. It was smooth and no hiccups. This might be due to the processor or that Chrome is just getting better.
Multimedia 10/10 The screen and sound quality
Camera 7/10 Average at best, My ZL can do a lot better. However, this is a tablet we are talking about and tablets aren't famous for haing good quality picture. However, the camera does capture pictures very fast and the video recording is pretty decent as well as audio recording. But then again, I only use the camera for documents and barcode scanning.
UI speed 10/10 When it was still Android 4.1, the UI has a sluggish interface especially the home screen. It tends to stutter when swiping theough home screens. After the update to 4.2.2, the stutter is now gone and it is fluid as ever. Maybe just a hair behind the fluidness of Nexus devices.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Good on screen keyboard, in Android 4.2 you can actually shrink down the keyboard for one hand input which is a nice feature for me. The keyboard has a swipe gesture when you can slide through alphabets for quick and easy input. Good word prediction as well.
Display 10/10 The best display I have ever seen on a Tablet. Great viewing angles. Rich colours and thanks to the Bravia Engine 2 for making pictures and videos more jaw dropping.
Battery 9/10 Pretty good. Not a heavy user but it manages to withstand 2 and a half day of use. However, my only gripe is the charging time. It take much of it time to charge it to 100% from 0%. Most tablets with bigger battery chrages quicker.

Pros

  • Good Screen
  • Good Speakers
  • Fast UI speed in Android 4.2.2.
  • Lightest tablet

Cons

  • Takes too long to charge
  • Noise cancellation could be better

anleoflippy alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

naoenche
posted on 26 Jun 2013, 07:15 (Posts: 1; Member since: 26 Jun 2013)

10

Nice tablet

naoenche has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have a 16Gb Wifi version. it's a Nice tablet, nice build quality. Nice screen. But it's a little bit expensive. Goes perfectly with CM 10.1, as sony permits to unlock bootloader and provides opensource drivers for its components.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Karriope
posted on 15 Jun 2013, 13:32 (Posts: 77; Member since: 07 Jun 2013)

8

Great Android tablet in almost all metrics

Karriope has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm using the Japanese S-03E, which packs 32GB with LTE in white. Seems mostly the same, but there are DoCoMo apps, the (imo) superior AOSP browser, extra system apps (such as full size calc) and some different icons (mainly on small apps). Plus it has a pullout 1seg antenna. The STAMINA mode is oddly missing (standard Android power saving is available) and the JP XPERIA keyboard has downloadable skins. For most part I'll say the JP tablet model is better.

Build quality and design, great. Impressively light, but it can flex slightly and that triggers touches detected on the screen. Water resistance works , at least under a tap so far. I love the grippy frictiony rear texture, I can place it on my hand at a 75 degree angle and it doesn't slide. Plus, the whole clean white look is extremely classy. It's also less revealing of the fingersmudges you get there, and the back is also surprisingly dirt resistant.
The screen isn't a PLS or IPS or anything fancy sounding, but it may as well be one. For a TFT panel, it is remarkably saturated, sharp and contrasty. Brightness is good, but I find it overblows bright areas and loses detail sometimes. The app Screen Adjuster helps resolve this though. Color reproduction is also impressive. I prefer to turn off the BRAVIA Engine since it is really just screwing with my pictures rather than improving the screen.
To clarify on the speakers, some equalization and tuning is needed but they can sound surprisingly good. They are however NOT quadraphonic,...  

Build quality 9/10 Solid, rigid, good texture and design. Ingress protection works! Feels weighted yet light, making for a good solid feeling and it can be held comfortably. Not a 10 because it can flex a bit.
Reception 9/10 Reception appears to be problem free. But due to being a non-international model the APNs have minor issues.
Call quality 6/10 The microphones don't seem too good, and the video front camera is passable, decent at best. Of course, a headset is usable.
Internet 9/10 AOSP Browser works well. Chrome too, chipset's powerful enough to handle all kinds of desktop pages. Enough RAM for multiple tabs. Flash sideloading works in AOSP B. Note: International version has Chrome only! WiFi and 3G (4G uncertain) speeds are good.
Multimedia 9/10 Stereo speakers are always good, but the quality of its speakers are also decent. The double openings help avoid obscuring them and the auto-reverse. Screen is great: contrasted, saturated and sharp. Gaming works well, Sony's media apps are capable and visually appealing. Bluetooth performance is good.
Camera 4/10 Soft, fuzzy, noisy, looks like a watercolor at 100%. Nontheless, one of the better -tablet- cameras. The lack of flash is annoying, but I usually only use flash as, well, a torch.
UI speed 7/10 Some bumps, like occasionally unresponsive System Bar. Some of Sony's apps have lag (Socialife in particular).
Everyday usage 8/10 Definitely a traveler, lightweight and does all the stuff you want a tablet to do. Definitely a daily driver. Outdoor visibility suffers a bit due to reflectivity, but brightness can overcome it.
Text input 9/10 I'm satisfied with the keyboard. JP layout could do some work, but the keys are easy to hit and comfort is good. Typing reasonably fast on it, typed this whole review on it! Keyboards are skinnable. Unfortunately there's no haptic feedback (the tablet has no vibration motor).
Display 8/10 Impressive screen despite being a TFT. May as well be an IPS; viewing angles are excellent, colors, brightness and contrast all good. Tendency to blow out bright areas though, losing detail. Also some blemishes. (tiny, hard to notice bright spot on mine and backlight is bleeding a little on one side.) Resolution is perfect, and sharp. Screen is a near-mirror however, and it is noticeably warmer than normal (a yellow cast can be noticeable).
Battery 6/10 Impressive lifetime for a 6,000mAh cell this thin. Just that other tablets can last longer (e.g. the iPad I have). Got 9hrs out of it at time of writing at 14% with 5.5hr screen on. Should last a day or two of moderate usage, one whole day of heavy udage. Charges faster (about 4h or less) via the cradle.

Pros

  • Good performance
  • Decent /Good battery lifetime
  • Good, stereo speakers
  • Great screen
  • Amazing weight and thinness, great build quality
  • IR blaster
  • Traditional System Bar UI, Small Apps
  • Good keyboard
  • Ingress protection IP57!

Cons

  • Small battery
  • Traditional System Bar (a con for some)
  • Android 4.1 on launch
  • Camera is bad, no flashlight
  • NFC sensor is weirdly placed
  • APQ8064 somewhat behind

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kamil1308
posted on 02 Jun 2013, 10:16 (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Mar 2013)

10

Sony Xperia Tablet Z: A Strong Contender for Best Tablet,

kamil1308 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I HAD to have one of these as I've been looking for my ideal Android tablet for some time, and so far, the majority of the pro websites have given the Sony Xperia Tablet Z very positive reviews. Not wanting to wait several weeks, as Amazon states for their shipping times, I bought one straight from Sony...and I couldn't be much happier! Just about every tablet I've tried has had defect issues, build issues, too low screen resolution (or underpowered when it was hi rez), etc., etc. Although it's not perfect, with everything I'd LIKE to see in a tablet, I think it's overall the best tablet currently available.

BUILD:
I know it's been said in many reviews, but seriously, this thing is amazingly light and well balanced. At roughly the equivalent in weight to an iPad Mini, it's a remarkable feat of engineering. Yet it's also quite solid and exceptionally well made. There is no tablet lighter and thinner than the Z...period.

SPECS:
Powered by a quad-core Snapdragon processor, the Z scores a remarkable Antutu benchmark of 20,000+ straight out of the box, readily defeating the Nexus 10. That's some serious power, and it shows in smooth and responsive controls, whether surfing the web, running apps, or playing graphic-intensive games. The GPS locked onto 15 satellites INDOORS within seconds using GPS Test. WIFI is rock solid and supports dual-channel wireless speeds of 300 mbs. It links up with a PS3 Dual Shock controller through a USB host adapter at first, then wirelessly after being...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

25 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories