x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia T User Reviews

7.7 Based on 9 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception7.7/10
Display8.2/10
Build quality7.9/10
Text input7.7/10
Everyday usage8.3/10
UI speed7.9/10
Camera7.6/10
Multimedia8.1/10
Internet7.6/10
Call quality8/10
Battery6.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

XperiaMan
posted on 27 Aug 2014, 14:18 (Posts: 0; Member since: 27 Aug 2014)

8

Xperia T

XperiaMan has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Xperia T is a very good and beautiful smartphone with a bright display, a fast processor , a good camera and very beautiful UI and apps. Its battery isnt the best but it doesnt disappoint me at all . It doesnt have a premium build quality but I believe its design is magical....

Build quality 6/10 Pastic.....plastic.....PLASTIC ????
Reception 7/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 9/10 Blazingly fast and very good ppi
Multimedia 10/10 Its a Sony what do you expect ?
Camera 7/10 A bit washed out photos, very good video BUT its focus is disgusting
UI speed 10/10 zero Lag
Everyday usage 9/10 Comfortable, fast and many functionalities
Text input 9/10 Very good especially with one hand
Display 7/10 Very natural colors , very accurate but they could be a bit more saturated . Very Good pixel density and ...... YELLOWISH WHITE ?
Battery 7/10 It depends ... When gaming for more that 10 minutes the battery drains extremely fast. When I dont use the phone heavily it needs charging every 2 days

Pros

  • Very fast
  • Beautiful
  • Its a Sony
  • Comfortable
  • Great LED Flash
  • Sharp screen
  • Good sound quality
  • Very good at gaming
  • It is a little water-resistant , I accidentaly spilled a glass full of water on it , no damage (PLEASE never try it )
  • Very bright outdoors

Cons

  • Video Focus
  • Small battery in my opinion,could have a bigger one
  • PLASTIC !!!!
  • Non-Removable battery
  • A bit washed out colors
  • Bad minimum brightness

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

david6cc
posted on 26 Feb 2014, 14:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Feb 2014)

4

rubbish video focus and small photo files

david6cc has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

i bought this phone to use primarily as a convenient camera and video device.
my previous phone was the sony xperia arc s and that took better pictures, no contest.

the xperia t has real trouble with focusing on video capture mode. truly awful. a complete waste of time and money if making short memory clips of daily life or loved one is your thing.

however i recently discovered an app called lgCamera on play store and there is no video focusing problem any more. how on earth can a third party app make sonys video focusing system work when sony cant do it themselves?

another problem with the camera element of the phone is that when you take a 13mp picture, sonys software downsizes it to a 1.3mp jpeg. what the heck is the point of having 13mp if the pics are reduced to postage stamps?

Build quality 6/10 not that special.
Reception 5/10 often drops signal.
Call quality 4/10 call quality poor at times
Internet 4/10 loading slow. data signal drops out
Multimedia 5/10 average. clunky music player ui. could do with an overhall.
Camera 3/10 poor in the area of autofocus.
UI speed 4/10 average
Everyday usage 5/10 previous phone xperia arc s better in most departments.
Text input 4/10 tiny fiddly keyboards.
Display 5/10 ok but could do with a brightness slider control.
Battery 4/10 poor but then they all are now arent they?

Pros

  • biggish screen
  • mini usb charger port
  • mini sd card expansion

Cons

  • useless autofocus on video
  • small photo files
  • clunky ui
  • menus too deep
  • useless led flash
  • poor battery
  • slippery finish

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

VladimirM
posted on 12 Jan 2014, 14:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jan 2014)

10

Great phone!Must have it!

VladimirM has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is beast...Everything works very good, fast and smooth.Camera is fantastic, makes very beautiful pictures, especially on daylight.Processor does its job, very fast since it is dual core 1.5ghz and Snapdragon S4 plus.Ram is 1GB and it is enough for everything.Had S2, and if you ask me, this is two times better then S2.The battery is only thing that i dont like, i mean its not that bad and its not that good.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Camera is perfect!
  • Very fast processor!
  • 1GB Ram memory!
  • 16GB internal memory, plus slot for Micro SD up to 32GB!
  • Great build quality!
  • HD Display is very nice!
  • 4.55" Display!
  • Not expensive at all!
  • Special button for Camera ScreenShot!
  • Great sound and very clear!

Cons

  • Battery

VladimirM alternatives:

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

yasseralkassem
posted on 01 Dec 2013, 11:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Dec 2013)

4

my first ever phone !!!

yasseralkassem has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

it is the worse phone ever with all my respect to sony !!!
i think it is not really 1.7 ghz cpu !!!
it is lag and lag and i didnt have alot of games just three !!!
it is not good at all and sometimes shut down and restart alone !!!
so i sold it and buy sony tx !!!

Build quality 5/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 6/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 3/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 3/10
Text input 5/10
Display 4/10
Battery 7/10

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

theo90116
posted on 20 Nov 2013, 02:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 20 Nov 2013)

6

Delusion revies

theo90116 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Ok so I've read the reviews and either the people that reviewed the phone have almost no expectations or its their first smart phone.

Sensitive to heat: Phone becomes unresponsive when in 34C sunlight.

Walkman app: There seems to be a pause (3 - 60 seconds in length) between certain songs.

Camera: The only reputable feature on the phone is it's CAMERA, NOT the Video camera. Videos jump just as much as a Huawei P6.Excellent daytime photos

Build quality is questionable: shiny trim around 3.5 and camera lens falls of when glue gets warm by say your hand. Phone will survive a few falls though. Phone feels good in hand though.

Phone gets Boiling Hot when you watch a movie at full brightness or play a game for half an hour or so.

Under powered for its release date, Great PPI, Great Daytime photos. Don't get a Sony for its Walkman app.

Build quality 5/10 Build quality depends on what you regard it to be. -Feels good and is robust but trimmings fall off and the plastic plate around the screen chips easily
Reception 3/10 Sometimes signal drops and requires a restart. not too often though
Call quality 8/10 Clear talk or HD voice or whatever sony calls it works well.
Internet 5/10 I dont know what to put in this field. use chrome Browser or Firefox. both work fine.
Multimedia 7/10 speaker is good especially when placed on a flat surface. the back arch of the phone amplifies the sound to a certain degree. Speaker isnt the loudest for notifications though
Camera 3/10 Few effects and when selected entirely to laggy. Horrid Video camera but Good Camera for stills
UI speed 4/10 pretty good but home screen scrolling lags.
Everyday usage 10/10 It still works as a phone
Text input 3/10 Sometimes the keyboard doesnt respond or it lags and you can type out your entire 60 char message before anything pops up
Display 10/10 Love the screen. and why do people want wide viewing angles? Why do you want people to be able to see whats on your screen from an angle? its my screen. But nice and bright with good contrast and great ppi
Battery 5/10 Charge once daily, Twice if you're a heavy gamer or serial youtuber

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

najib1312
posted on 06 Nov 2013, 22:21 (Posts: 102; Member since: 08 May 2013)

9

Cheap, Premium & Satisfaction

najib1312 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This phone came more than a year ago. I admit it's a bit old already. But guess what it's price now in Malaysia? I bought it for US$290. Even Nexus 4 can't beat this price. The same aged S3 & One X still retails for US$380 in here.

Talking about the phone, Man where do I start? The white version is Stunning! No lags after jelly bean updatw, awesome still camera, fulfilling gaming performance, more than enough internal storage, HD screen, feels amazing in your hands etc.

The downside? Battery!! 1850 mAH non-removable for a 4.6" HD smartphone sounds lame. The similar spec'd Xperia SP offers 2370mAH. Nevertheless, I can get 1 full day and sometimes more using the stamina mode but overnight charges are mandatory.

Build quality 10/10 Get the White version. You won't regret. It feels and looks much better than the white.
Reception 10/10 No distortion of any sorts.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10 4G LTE is lacking when most rivals have started offering this spec as a standard nowadays. Nevertheless, 3.5G is more than adequate for devdloping countries like Malaysia.
Multimedia 10/10 Awesome Scree, sound quality is satisfactory, High quality in-ear earphones bundled together with the package.
Camera 10/10 Key selling point of this phone. It performed GREAT!
UI speed 10/10 No sign of lags, maybe due to JB optimizations.
Everyday usage 10/10 Your TRUE life companion.
Text input 10/10 SWYPE keyboard, autocorrect etc
Display 9/10 Great, but not as punchy as FUll HD or SUPER AMOLED
Battery 7/10 Biggest drawback. Its just average. But still can get a day of normal usage.

Pros

  • Stunning looks (for white version)
  • Very Affordable. Cheaper than Nexus 4.
  • Camera
  • Expandable 16GB memory
  • HD screen
  • High Quality Accessories & Ear phones
  • Android 4.3 & 4.4 Supported

Cons

  • Battery

najib1312 alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

king_of_lions
posted on 27 Apr 2013, 14:07 (Posts: 2; Member since: 27 Apr 2013)

10

Xperia T-Rex

king_of_lions has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Wow! This phone is a beast. Physical camera button AND micro sd card slot? These features are becoming more an more hard to find on smart phones nowadays. This phone just has everything I could ask for in an Android smart phone. Great bang for buck. Works well with my Bravia television.

Build quality 10/10 Unibody design.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 Walkman. Bravia Engine 2.
Camera 10/10 13 MP with HDR after JB update.
UI speed 10/10 Jelly Bean update.
Everyday usage 10/10 Curved back for comfortable use all day.
Text input 10/10 Large screen.
Display 10/10 720p goodness.
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Physical camera button
  • Screen size
  • Micro SD slot
  • On screen capacitive menu buttons
  • NFC
  • Build quality
  • Jelly Bean

Cons

  • Viewing angles

king_of_lions alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

damon1478
posted on 12 Dec 2012, 08:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Dec 2012)

9

good

damon1478 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the battery is not quite good , the screen get scratched easily ,and having some software issues like the landscape home screen is not functional and i hope it will be fixed in the next updates ... now the good news : the camera is awesome in both pics and videos , the screen is very sharp and has very natural colors , the design is magnificent

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sy2pie
posted on 06 Dec 2012, 14:14 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Dec 2012)

9

The most under rated phone on the market.

sy2pie has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone on paper doesnt jump out like its rivals such as the S3, but if you actually read in to what makes a great phone then this is easily the phone of the year in my opinion.
The phone design is very sexy. It reminds me of the old Xperia Arc but just a bit fatter. It disributes its weight really well over your hand for good balance. Its got a matt/rubber casing which adds to grip too. Id say its the sexiest phone on the makret yet at the same time has a practicality to its deisng so its not shallow.
Also you will be glad to know that it doesnt have an AMOLED screen. Unlike with the Samsung S3 which has very saturated and unnatural colours, as well as a common problem with screen burn. Sony have gone for using some of their products from their TV department and stuck in the Bravia Engine in their screen. Its subtle rather than flashy and smooths over photos and videos to make the experience a little more polished without trying to blow your brains out. It works great for grainy Youtube videos.
I would have liked to have seen Whitemagic in this phone but sadly it has been missed out. I had White Magic with my Xperia P and it was absolutely sensational!
The camera is incredible. Not only do you have the choice to go all the way up to 13 megapixels if you need it, but they have put in the Exmor R sensor which handles the extra noise very well. Its also supposed to be good for low light level photos but to be honest I notice little difference here.
Sony are famous for having...  

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Doesnt have AMOLED screens
  • Best Android Camera
  • Sexy yet practical design
  • Fantastic Sony software
  • Its new S4 processor beating quadcore procesors in benchmark tests
  • NFC
  • Bravia Screen
  • Turns your TV into a smart TV
  • Very good value for money

Cons

  • Average battery
  • Camera can take a while to focus
  • Released too late.
  • No Whitemagic

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Buy This Phone

Latest stories