x PhoneArena is hiring! Reviewer in the USA

Sony Xperia S User Reviews

9.5 Based on 42 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.7/10
Display9.7/10
Build quality9.5/10
Text input9.6/10
Everyday usage9.6/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera9.6/10
Multimedia9.9/10
Internet9.6/10
Call quality9.8/10
Battery8.3/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Apoorvtheman
posted on 21 Jan 2014, 12:44 (Posts: 42; Member since: 25 Jun 2012)

9

Simple and Beautiful

Apoorvtheman has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I am using it for almost two years now and will own it till it stops working but apart frombattery, the phone performs great. My main reason to buy this phone was to play powerful games but it can't play gta vice city but it plays gta san andreas perfectly. I hope it stays with me another year or two. Love walkman love simplicity and its beauty :-)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

  • screen,camera,design,build quality,speaker output is great

Cons

  • no 4.3,4.4 ,can't play vice city,battery drains very fast

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Basharhd99
posted on 17 Oct 2013, 11:33 (Posts: 75; Member since: 05 Jul 2012)

9

Tipical awesome Sony product

Basharhd99 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

A really good smartphone with an amazing camera and screen. I do realize that it's plastic build quality is questionable but it does not bother me at all. The only problem is battery life, it's not the thinnest phone in the world that's for sure, so you'd expect that the battery takes a lot of space, but it doesn't! overall love it and proud of it :D I'm switching to a nexus 5 though :( I'm gonna miss the Exmor R camera and it's night shooting features.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 xLOUD is a killer feature if you ask me.
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 SwiftKey does a slightly better job overall
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Exmor R camera is fantastic at night.
  • Display is crisp and clear.
  • Awesome design.
  • Love the transparent strip, makes the phone look elegant.
  • xLOUD is Fantastic!
  • Love the addition of a dedicated camera button.
  • Has an HDMI port.

Cons

  • Build quality could be better.
  • Battery life is a bit disappointing.
  • Capacitive buttons are not as sensitive as you would expect.

Basharhd99 alternatives:

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

mr2009
posted on 26 Mar 2013, 09:54 (Posts: 34; Member since: 26 Mar 2013)

7

okish after all the problem sorted out....

mr2009 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

first day got it, the screen spoilt.... after get it back from warranty claim, the antenna faulty.... enter sony service center twice within 1 month of getting it.... kinda expected sony quality is s**t but seriously never expected it to be this bad.... however the phone is certainly best bang for buck... 720p screen is crisp and video playback supports 1080p... the UI seems a bit laggy to my taste.. not that bad but just a little.... guess the ui a bit heavy... can get through a day without problem.... camera is ok...

Build quality 3/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 7/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • excellent display
  • come with android so a lot of video file support
  • 1080p video support... but not sure about 10bit 1080p..
  • fast service by service centre...
  • good camera

Cons

  • sony build quality is questionable... seriously....
  • enter service centre twice within a month of usage...
  • UI a bit laggy but not too bad... Jelly bean should sorted this out...

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Darkerm
posted on 27 Nov 2012, 21:08 (Posts: 308; Member since: 31 Jan 2012)

9

A true HD Phone

Darkerm has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Xperia S good but its not the best. I love my Xperia S.
Playing Games with S is Awesome and the Camera is really good and full HD recording too.
Although its Battery life is bellow average when Playing games or Browsing but in standby mode its perfect.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • 12 MP camera
  • Big Screen
  • Walkman Player
  • Sony UI/Launcher
  • BRAVIA ENGINE
  • 1.5ghz Dual Core CPU
  • 1ghz RAM

Cons

  • Huge Battery Drain
  • Loud Speaker is not much Loud
  • Micro Sim only
  • Can't remove Battery
  • Flash is not Bright Enough

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nsnk86
posted on 24 Sep 2012, 14:46 (Posts: 43; Member since: 18 Jun 2012)

10

Xperia S AWESOME PHONE

nsnk86 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

This phone is THE BEST PHONE. am in luv with every feature its got especially its HD display. Colors r really bright &its really gr8 while watching movies. When compared the display with S2 i really luv dis display. Battery in this phone is really gr8!! I dnt knw y people hv been saying battery isnt upto d mark. I updated it to ICS & with 3g connection on always i can use this phone on single charge for a solid full day, at times i can get more than a day. What more can you expect frm a smartphone. Only issue is at times when phone gets stuck, gotta wait til phone restarts by itself, if not dis the best phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 am using Chrome &its d best
Multimedia 10/10 super
Camera 10/10 its got 12MP &i dnt think so there is anything to say
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10 gud batt backup

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • non removable batt

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hosam
posted on 07 May 2012, 11:49 (Posts: 11; Member since: 01 Apr 2012)

10

incredible

hosam has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Well done Sony! In my opinion Sony is just owning in every market they are working in. From televisions, LED tv's to mobile phones. And yet again Sony astonished us with this beautiful device. I do accept the fact that the phone has some done-sides, but looking to the positive sides of it, the phone blows away the cons like a tornado blowing away the cows on a farm. Finally it's already known that it defeated Samsung's Galaxy S2 in all fronts...

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10 It erased Samsung's Galaxy S2 in the benchmarks and it destroyed the iPhone's 4/4S screen pixel intensity.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 The browser seems a little bit basic to me. Could have been made a little adventures.
Multimedia 10/10 Great and clear sound. Thanks to Sony's xLoud engine.
Camera 10/10 It's a 12.1 megapixel camera, enough said.
UI speed 10/10 Some sweet stuff like HTC's UI would've been nice.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 It's very responsive, but yet again Sony shows use how basic 'basic' really can be...
Display 10/10 342ppi Full HD 720x1280p 4,3'' inches screen, again enough said.
Battery 9/10 That's the major down side of the Xperia S, it's battery :'(

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

darknight307rc
posted on 01 Apr 2012, 18:36 (Posts: 7; Member since: 26 Feb 2012)

10

A Soild Android phone from Sony which proves that it's not just another Smartphone on market with Sony Label

darknight307rc has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It has been more than a month since i bought this amazing phone. From the first time I've put my hands on it, i really felt i'm holding a piece of art. The design: is very unique, soild & sexy. The back is curved to make it more comfortable in hands. The plastic isn't light & weak at all. it has a strong plastic cover coated with anti-stain black matte layer which really feels good in hands. The transparent bar down the phone is giving the design an iconic shape which make many people ask me to hold it or even ask which brand this phone when they see the phone in my hands...it catches the eye. In the same time it's the antenna which provides a better perception. If you received a call in dark you'll see the transparent bar lights go on..it giving the phone a very cool look.The side buttons plus the lock button are so well reachable & solid.
The Camera: It's totally different & cannot be compared any other cam out there. Quality & speed are well provided by this cam in the xperia s plus the 3D panorama & multi-angle capturing which makes you can have a lot of fun with it. For the ongoing capturing videos or pics , this is the perfect camera phone for it. you can capture a photo in less than 1.5 secs from sleep mode. that is a huge advantage in my opinion to be in a 12Mp cam. i used that option a lot which called the "Quick launch" mode & it gives clear photos. the cam got a numerous options & all works so well like smile detection, auto focus, image stablizer, metering, auto scene...  

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • 342ppi Full HD 720x1280p 4,3'' inches screen
  • 12MP Cam Exmor R, fast capture from sleep mode in less than 1.5 secs
  • Iconic, Sexy & Unique Design
  • Extremly responsive Screen
  • Upgradable to ICS
  • Playstation certified (A different gaming experience)
  • Large internal storage 32GB plus 50 GB cloud storage exclusively for it by Box app
  • Unique Media experience (Music, videos or Gaming)
  • DLNA certified (Play your media on a TV or Speakers with one touch)
  • NFC (near Field Communication) with Sony SmartTags
  • Fast Charging

Cons

  • Battery Life

darknight307rc alternatives:

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Aaron_R96
posted on 18 Mar 2012, 07:19 (Posts: 198; Member since: 22 Jan 2012)

10

Sony Xperia S Review

Aaron_R96 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Sony's first attempt to go it alone, without Ericsson, is a huge step forward for the company, the phone is a brilliant piece of kit, very well constructed despite the use of plastic it feels very high quality and the matte plastic backing feel very comfortable in the hand, the phone itself is very comfortable to hold and fits nicely in the palm (i was worried it would be too big, having never owned a 4.3'' device before, but it isnt too big at all and took no getting used to whatsoever) the device is very aesthetically pleasing and ive had a lot of admirer's already - always a good sign. Love the translucent bar and the capacitive buttons, which by the way, take some getting used to but after a few days use work flawlessly. The phone also feature a very useful dedicated camera button and notification light in all different colours at the top of the device for texts, battery, apps etc.

Moving on to the OS it is very smooth with the dual core processor and the live wallpaper is very fluid, the overlay over the standard android interface is very minimal but effective and the phone, despite running Android 2.3 will shortly be upgradeable to 4.0 ICS, which it is evident the phone was made for (hence the three capacitive buttons) finally, I personally prefer the customization that the android OS offers over iOS, the device home screen feels cleaner than all of the iOS folders on my iPod. However, if you're an iOS user the Android interface may take some getting used to, but is not...  

Build quality 9/10 Build quality is strong, but materials used couldve been better, despite this phone has a nice weight - not too light but definately not heavy either
Reception 10/10 Reception is good wherever I am, and very rarely has it lost connection totally.
Call quality 10/10 Brilliant and very clear both ends
Internet 10/10 Internet browsing is fluid thanks to its fast dual core processor - why do we need quad core?
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 Best smartphone camera I have seen, even compared to galaxy s2 and iPhone4S
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Superb and can do anything you throw at it, battery is also decent for a phone of this calibre
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10 Same BRAVIA engine as used in Sony's TV range makes for excellent viewing experience, especially alongs such a high pixel density mobile screen
Battery 9/10 Solid performance for an Android device, could be better but still capable of 1 to 2 days used conservatively.

Pros

  • Camera 12.1MP Exmor R
  • 342 ppi HD screen
  • Fluid interface
  • upgradeable to ICS
  • Gorgeous Aesthetic design
  • Huge 32gb Internal Storage

Cons

  • Non removeable battery

Aaron_R96 alternatives:

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

spioners123
posted on 10 Oct 2015, 15:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 13 Sep 2015)

6

Not happy

spioners123 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Yes, its an very old phone, but it doesn't mean that it needs to lag on every possible move. Camera button option is very nice, but the battery life is so disappointing - it barely lasts for half day with average usage till i need to charge it and 12 hours if i dont use it

Build quality 8/10 Nothing to blame here, but the power button could be on side not on the top. The bottom isnt a bad thing, but is it really necessary? It only makes the phone bigger, but not better
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 6/10 Not close to normal 3g speeds
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10 Camera isnt bad, but theese dont count as 12mpix anymore
UI speed 2/10 It was awful, it was a major headache
Everyday usage 7/10 Camera button is great, but its too slow
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10 Could have been brighter. Quite hard to brak
Battery 1/10 awful. poor battery needs to last for one day with average use!

Pros

  • Camera button

Cons

  • battery life

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Subscriber
posted on 26 Apr 2014, 16:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 26 Apr 2014)

10

Only Battery Problem

Subscriber has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I am completely satisfied with this phone and i have decided to use it for few years,
because i am pretty used to it now. I love to use Wifi and Play games but battery
won't stand anymore.
Btw i bought it because i love Sony Products and i can compromise, no big deal :)

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Best android Phone as far as i know that has pretty good price.

Cons

  • Battery is bit disappointing

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Aness
posted on 03 Jan 2014, 05:53 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Nov 2013)

8

xperia s (9 months)

Aness has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

very good phone , i only hate his battery
and app management is difficult on android ( phone memory , intern memory ) notifications ... nice and clean camera ,

Build quality 5/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 2/10

Pros

Cons

  • battery

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Umer256
posted on 24 Dec 2013, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Dec 2013)

8

Its just fine!

Umer256 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I loved this phone but now I think that I must switch to another one because its irritating me because of its lagging. The phone lag for no reason, more than 150MB RAM is free but it still lag. Whenever I connext WiFi the phone starts to lag and responds too late.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 5/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

urskkk
posted on 18 Sep 2013, 02:15 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Jan 2011)

10

Best Phone EVER !!!

urskkk has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Best Phone EVER !!! Hope only CON raised by phonearena doesn't valid after loaded with 32 GB :) of internal memory.On top of it we can use Cloud memory like BOX etc., Sony products are excellent.SONY Xperia S is AWESOME !!!

Build quality 10/10 Looks Solid
Reception 10/10 Wifi Reception is excellent
Call quality 10/10 Sound clarity is superb
Internet 10/10 No need to download any other browser the inbuild 1 very good.
Multimedia 10/10 Xcellent
Camera 10/10 Awesome
UI speed 10/10 Super Fast
Everyday usage 10/10 Don't miss to carry
Text input 10/10 Inputs are very helpful
Display 10/10 Crystal clear
Battery 10/10 Good

Pros

  • All features are made to perfection

Cons

  • Sony releases Firmware and Andrios updates very late.Hope in India only :)

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gianniskir128
posted on 17 Jun 2013, 05:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Jun 2013)

10

xperia s value for money

gianniskir128 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Very nice aluminium body . Its display is ingredible you cant see any pixel.Most strong dual core which never lags at any game .Also its camera is as good as you can imagine as you see 12 mp .All in all for 300 euro xperia s is the best choice

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

aesalaw
posted on 16 Jun 2013, 04:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Jun 2013)

10

Realy nice phone

aesalaw has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

It's a really nice phone after the JB update the phone has no lagging at all. the display is realy cool bright even in outside, it dosent even lack a SD card because it has 32gb in it so no cons for me at all

Build quality 10/10 build quality is superb
Reception 10/10 coz its good
Call quality 10/10 really good an clear
Internet 10/10 really fast even on mobile and wifi
Multimedia 10/10 speaker quality is also good
Camera 10/10 camera is perfect
UI speed 10/10 superb after updating to JB
Everyday usage 10/10 clean an cool
Text input 10/10 easy
Display 10/10 really great, smart, clear and bright
Battery 10/10 last for about a day an half

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

majdy
posted on 14 Jun 2013, 02:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 May 2013)

10

Xperia S is realy smart phone

majdy has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

realy smart phone and have stable work
The price is not high and the performance is great.
it is batter than galaxy S3

Build quality 10/10 stronge and heavy and more sold
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 very fast
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • large data stroge 32GB
  • fast prosser 1.5 dual core
  • large screen
  • fronte camera
  • price

Cons

  • no SD card

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

shyam9394
posted on 12 Apr 2013, 11:31 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Apr 2013)

10

Fascinating!!!!!!!

shyam9394 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

So Sony has paid Ericsson off with a nice little divorce settlement and is now single and ready to rock - and the result is the 12.1MP-camera, HD screen-toting Sony Xperia S.

Obviously, it's a line carried over from the Sony Ericsson era which saw the maker release an Xperia handset on what felt like a weekly basis. But we get the feeling that this is something a little more special.

Specs wise, it's pretty high end so should give us a great experience if we're judging it on paper. A fantastic 4.3" screen with Sony's Bravia HD technology, 12MP Exmor R camera, DLNA, Android Icecream Sandwich 4.0 and so forth.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • HDMI
  • NFC
  • 342ppi
  • Walkman
  • 12.1 Megapixels
  • Acres of storage(32GB)
  • Good built design
  • Sharp screen

Cons

  • Very poor battery life
  • Inadequate shutter sensitivity
  • Sony doesn't seem to concentrate on 2012's FLAGSHIP(where is my jellybean?????)

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kamil1308
posted on 21 Mar 2013, 18:13 (Posts: 1; Member since: 21 Mar 2013)

10

Best phone i had

kamil1308 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I have this phone for over a year now. I never got bored of it and never even though about changing it. It still works perfect and its still fast unless you put a lot of apps on it that you dont need. I have droped this phone into a bath while i was in it took it out very quickly and dried it after a while it was perfect and i turend it back on the things at the back got red but the phone still works perfectly. I would highly recomend any Sony phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Quality
  • Design
  • Price
  • Camera

Cons

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sudhindrakv
posted on 03 Mar 2013, 08:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Mar 2013)

10

Excellent phone...

sudhindrakv has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Sony Xperia S, a beautiful phone to have in your hand.. Its got all the good features and i faed ZERO lags in it using ICS, which actually is a buggy OS.. U can see a lot of lags in ICS, fortunately i faced none. Games work flawlessly, personally tested NFSMW, COD Zombies, Real Racing 3, DownHill Xtreme, Batman Dark Knight Rises and few more.. None of them lagged even once.. So the phone is extremely fast for a Dual Core.. QualComm and Adreno combination has provided the best performance.. It is no less than a SGS3 except for a Quad Core.. But the only con i can point out is Battery Life.. I was happy with SGS2's battery life which was 200% better, but Sony has to improve on that one aspect which will no doubt attract more users.. Since Jelly Bean brings better battery life to Sony, users can be relaxed on that issue.. Otherwise its performance is at its best.. Camera, no doubt is crystal clear with pictures and even 1080p videos also very good clarity.. Love my phone.. :D

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Fast Processor
  • 1GB RAM
  • 32GB Memory
  • 12MP Camera
  • XLoud Music Superb Quality
  • Crisp Display
  • Bravia Engine
  • Sony UI
  • Multimedia

Cons

  • Battery Life

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

somefish
posted on 29 Dec 2012, 04:50 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Oct 2012)

10

A phone that Shines...Literally

somefish has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

When i first opened the box, i was created by a phone that looked not like a phone, but more like a Masterpiece. The screen was pitch black,blending into the thin bezel that surrounded it, creating an elegant statement when it was turned off. The transparent strip at the bottom screamed innovation, accomponied by a anti-dust back that felt sturdy and solid. Next was its UI, i was greeted by a Stock Vanilla like OS, customised and tinkered at some points which made it feel SONY, but still giving me a STOCK android experiance. Of course the screen helped alot, Its super natural colours blew my eyes, and i even traded watching shows on my Computer to watching it on my phone, the beautiful colours and high resolution screen made viewing movies spectacular. The camera was perfect, capturing detailed photos fast and smoothly, it was the perfect social companion. The battery however was dissapointing, I had to charge it twice daily, even with my screen set to the lowest. Possibly because i couldnt put it down, using it almost the entire day.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • great screen
  • awesome UI
  • NICE design
  • beautiful camera
  • innovative

Cons

  • poor battery

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

dmalk1
posted on 09 Dec 2012, 14:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Dec 2012)

9

Really Good Phone

dmalk1 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

This is a really good phone but SONY has decided to go the way mass production of several models per year so that software upgrades are not a priority. There are slight software glitches that I've experienced since my first droid so this may be a problem with Android itself. The battery is a waste of time- not as horrible as the iPhones and OneX but its sad that I can't use the phone to it's full potential without walking around with my charger :(. The speaker is also unreasonably soft.

Fortunately this is a speed demon; the display is BEAUTIFUL; and browsing, playing games, using the incredible WALKMAN app, NFC (with SmartTags), 32Gb + 50 with free Box account, the cool Xperia native apps, a wicked awesome camera, a unique design, Timescape, and others make this phone one of the best phones around. It's sad that so many sites gave such poor reviews (CNET...cough) when the reality is that the phone is really really good.

Build quality 10/10 This is a very sturdy phone. After quite a few falls in the road there are only a few spots where the paint cracked.
Reception 10/10 At the end of the day the most important features of a phone are its ability to dial and receive calls. It does a really good job- no poor signal issues etc, calls are clear.
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10 WALKMAN player is awesome! Beautiful arrangement of galleries and playback is really good. Wide range of capabilities.
Camera 9/10 Very very good 12.1mp camera and awesome video quality BUT the slow focus can get tiring at times. Another good feature is the quicklaunch option. There is a wide range of stock editing options and modes. Panoramic, 3D-ish mode add to the fun
UI speed 10/10 The thing does not slow down
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 Swype-like function and dual language mode are great
Display 9/10 Quite possibly the most gorgeous display I've seen on a phone BUT there are obvious viewing angle problems that can't be ignored. There are times when I'd like to glance across to see information in the car for example and can't see much. However playing games, watching pictures and videos are incredible- I'm not exaggerating when I say it is a beautiful screen. The BRAVIA engine and Reality Display also help a lot.
Battery 7/10 The battery life is TERRIBLE and there is no way to remove the battery unless you 'modify' the parts below the battery cover ie do some cutting.

Pros

  • Great camera
  • Awesome display
  • Fast
  • Good bit of storage (80Gb including Box)
  • Beautiful phone
  • NFC plus SmartTags is really intuitive

Cons

  • Battery is not the best- not the worst- but not the best
  • SONY does not appear to be dedicated to updates

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BattlfieldDC
posted on 25 Nov 2012, 21:48 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Sep 2012)

10

Simplemente el mejor celular

BattlfieldDC has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Primeramente su precio es increíble si vemos todas las funciones con las que cuenta este súper smartphone, me encanta la velocidad de su procesador, su pantalla tienen un tamaño perfecto, la memoria es perfecta, creo que en todo el tiempo que lo he tenido apenas conozco un 60% de todo lo que tiene y son funciones básicas, y vaya que lo uso mucho tiempo, simplemente este celular es hermoso, su cámara me encanta, los colores, lamentablemente lo tengo en color blanco y se notan mucho las manchas, pero creo que eso no le quita nada de genial.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Todo (everything)

Cons

  • La pantalla aunque sea Gorilla-glass se raya un poco

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

DonRepakolz16
posted on 12 Nov 2012, 05:17 (Posts: 2; Member since: 11 Nov 2012)

10

SONY my Favorite

DonRepakolz16 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

SONY is from Japan so i like it so much., better thn Samsung,. because Samsung phones Sucks... Japan made are more Quality than others .. Japan is better than Korea. Japanese are Smart and Innovative. new Thinkings and Projects to be Done

Build quality 10/10 because its SONY
Reception 10/10 Good
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10 Fast and Better than samsung s2
Multimedia 10/10 SONY is Good at that
Camera 10/10 better for SONY brands. hs Branded lenses
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • because its SONY and Better. Faster than any smartphones

Cons

DonRepakolz16 alternatives:

6 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gustavfangryan
posted on 22 Oct 2012, 04:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Feb 2012)

10

I never regret getting this phone

gustavfangryan has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i have no lag issues since day 1..sreen is large and resolution is great, more than the retine display..battery life is not bad..the walkman feature helps you to easily manage your songs, the phone gives you more storage with 32 gb

Build quality 10/10 sturdy and nice to be held in the hand..you can text using one hand
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 i can get up to 2 days of normal use

Pros

  • camera 12.1 mp
  • powerful processor 1.5ghz dual
  • screen 342 ppi
  • walkman feature
  • storage 32 gb

Cons

  • none

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xeshan88
posted on 18 Oct 2012, 14:54 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Aug 2012)

10

Best of Best Xperia S

xeshan88 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Very outstanding phone from Sony only battery life is not good as needed for this kind of phone. Video display is extra Amazing. Brightness is very good. Camera work fine with customization and good result for closeup.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Display 342DPI with BE and Good brighness.

Cons

  • Battery

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories