x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia P User Reviews

9.1 Based on 22 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Reception9.1/10
Display9.5/10
Build quality9.7/10
Text input9/10
Everyday usage9.3/10
UI speed8.7/10
Camera9/10
Multimedia9.6/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality9.5/10
Battery7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

alymir
posted on 09 Dec 2014, 08:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 01 Dec 2014)

9

The longest I have ever kept a phone.

alymir has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I still remember when i bought this phone out of choices of, Nokia E7, Samsung SII Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc and Apple iPhone 4s who got my attention. I had been using a Nokia C6, E75, Nokia 5800, 5310 etc earlier. This phone was cheaper than the other options I had. I didn't even know Sony makes phone in its name.

Having served me for two and a half years. Received my Sony Xperia Z2 a couple of hours earlier. Was doing a factory reset on Xperia P and thought this phone deserves a good farewell. Will still keep it. :) My first phone was Sony CMD Z7 back in 2003. Then shifted to Nokia and believed I would never shift again. As for most of the people, shift from Nokia wasn't easy. Samsung, LG, Moto etc seemed either too flashy with strange lights, grills, design or not so subtle UI. Iphone always seemed too pricey for what its worth. So Nokia it was all the way. Accordingly, I was totally getting a E7 which got delayed because of stock shortage.

However, saw it and drooled over it. Verge's gallery photos of Xperia P sold me out. I held it and it was such an amazing phone to hold, totally neck to neck with any Nokia or Apple iPhone 4s. This phone made the shift so easier and the purchase of 325$ was totally worth every cent. It will be tough to move to any other brand for a while I believe.

Thank you Sony,

A satisfied customer.

Build quality 10/10 I have dropped it a lot many times during 2.5 years of usage. Even while travelling on a bike, on concrete, wood, water puddle, etc.. Still solid..
Reception 10/10 No issues whatsoever.
Call quality 9/10 Phone's call software is a bit laggy at times.
Internet 10/10 Never had any issues.
Multimedia 9/10 Could've supported more multimedia formats.
Camera 8/10 Camera was really good when I purchased the phone. Good-enough for a mid-range device. However, with time and better devices the photos are not that amazing when compared. Deducted 2 points because of lousy front cam.
UI speed 8/10 1 Gb Ram and Dual Core processor may not be enough and one may experience lag at times. Especially with NFS, Asphalt 8 etc on board.
Everyday usage 9/10 When you know what to expect from this device, it gives you far better. However, I ve experienced a few missed calls due to screen unresponsiveness when the phone's memory is heavy.
Text input 10/10 The best on any device ever used second to only the Iphone or phones with slide out keyboards. Gesture input / Swype on Sony works like wonders on a 4 inch screen.
Display 10/10 Love it.. Totally gorgeous. Wonder why they didn't put whitemagic on more devices. :/
Battery 9/10 We all know it has very low battery capacity. For its price and battery capacity, it uses it very efficiently. On screen time is low, Standby time is average. Goes through the day easily. I never carry a charger or a cable. Have to charge daily though. The reason for a 9 is because after a whole 2 and a half years, battery backup is the same.

Pros

  • Great build quality
  • The most appealing design on a phone of its time
  • Reliability and durability
  • Good sharp screen
  • Phone kept getting better through updates from Sony till 4.1
  • Served two and a half years easily.
  • Rich multimedia features for a mid-range phone
  • Camera (for a mid-range device of its time)
  • Physical camera button
  • Easy managing of media through Sony PC Companion

Cons

  • Battery should have been at least 1.5x more
  • Loudspeaker isn't very clear.
  • Should have had front cam resolution
  • Phone application stutters when you have low free space.
  • No MicroSD slot

alymir alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Fenomenon
posted on 14 Nov 2014, 19:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Nov 2014)

8

smart and elegant but poor battery

Fenomenon has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I use Xperia P for 1.5 years. Aluminium uni-body is just great and screen (with whitemagic) is awesome.
Internet speed is avarage. I got 1900ms on sunspider test. Poor when compared to new phones but sufficent for surfing, social media and e-mail.
Camera is overall good but panorama mod isnt working nice and vga front-camera isnt enough for selfie.
It doesnt support SD card (has 13gb storage tho) and have very poor battery. I charge it 2 times a day.
Stock user interface and keybord are laggy. I tried CM11, PA and slimkat. they are fast but have some bugs, also no stamina mode and radio.
Thus my advice is just stick with original JB (4.1.2) and use some 3rd party apps.
I use Zero launcher, fleksy keybord, contacts+ etc. NO LAG on main screen, keybord, messaging and calls.
Also root your phone and install GO backup and greenify. I freeze all unnecessary sony&google apps, my phone has 400mb free RAM atm. I also recommend Power Toggles, myMail and SD maid.

Build quality 10/10 uni-body aluminum cover
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 xLoud
Camera 8/10
UI speed 5/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10 whitemagic
Battery 2/10

Pros

  • Whitemagic technology
  • Uni-body aluminium cover
  • walkman - xLoud
  • Bravia Engine
  • 8 mp camera
  • Scratch ressistance display
  • FM Radio

Cons

  • poor battery
  • no sd card slot
  • vga front camera

Fenomenon alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

charbelkfoury.ck
posted on 02 Jan 2014, 08:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Jan 2014)

9

the greatest mid-ranger you would get at a reasonable price

charbelkfoury.ck has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I bought this phone with ics out of the box it was the perfect dual core 1ghz ,1gb ram android phone to get with a great camera and awesome speaker and it's perfotming well with the most recent jellybean update ,in my opinion.if you want a compac package full of android goodies go for it

Build quality 9/10 Aluminium crafted unibody
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • fast-ish processor
  • amazing caamera
  • superb screen
  • awesome design
  • aluminium crafted unibody

Cons

  • battery life

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

waqar89
posted on 24 Dec 2013, 03:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 24 Dec 2013)

9

Best phone of its price.

waqar89 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is a brilliant of its price range because of so many reasons. The processor is 1 gz dual core, i would say good but not best as compared to other similar phone's processor. The camera has awesome result real feel of 8mp - best macro result. The call quality is good with noise reduction capability. Internet is very good unless bad internet connection, smooth browsing fast webpage loading, Best downloading speed. Sound is not very loud but has a quality- jellybean update has enhanced the sound features. I would recomend this phone over all other in this range.

Build quality 10/10 I hate round corners so it has got a pure rectangular shape with metallic body and a transparent strip makes it unique.
Reception 9/10 it can make call in indoor where other phones have no signals at all.
Call quality 10/10 satisfied quality.
Internet 10/10 Smooth browsing. It rarely lags when loading large size webpages (2 out of 100 times)
Multimedia 10/10 The Sound quality is awesome but sound level is not that high as compared to other smart phones of similar range. however Headphones are good at it. headphones =10/10 but on external speakers 9/10
Camera 10/10 8 MP Brilliant result. Front camera is not that good.
UI speed 9/10 It depends on user, if you have installed so many apps and running so many background apps then it will obviously affect its performance. I have 125 apps installed and it rarey lags. I am satisfied.
Everyday usage 10/10 Yes it is good.
Text input 10/10 Great. Swipe feature, voice typing - voice recognition is very responsive, jellybean update has included new skins. Auto word correction will become more better with the usage of time.
Display 9/10 WOW! Awesome brightness. Xperia P is the brightest phone in the world- the light sensor is quick enough to respond in sunlight. Bravia engine brings great colors. I would give 10/10 if the phone had a bit bigger display like 4.7".
Battery 7/10 ahhh! Bad battery backup. I charge my phone twice a day if i am using wifi most of the time, listning to music and browsing the internet. Still not worst.

Pros

  • Compact & stylish design
  • Display pixel density is good
  • Very responsive sensors e.g light sensor -gyroscope-compass
  • Camera 8.0, 2 step capture and front camera
  • Very high Brightness
  • dual core 1 ghz processor with 1 gb ram
  • 2 microphones
  • HDMI output- Support USB flash drive, mouse, keyboard via OTG
  • Flash light - video flash
  • 1080p video recording

Cons

  • More battery consumption
  • Bluetooth and FM radio non-responsive at sometimes
  • Front camera is bad.
  • No SD card slot (expandable memory)
  • Underpowered processor.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Apian
posted on 26 Apr 2014, 22:21 (Posts: 8; Member since: 12 Sep 2013)

10

Brilliant Phone

Apian has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I would recomend this phone to anyone who is looking for a reliable phone that has got NFC and a good screen and who likes to play a lot of media.And best of all it is very attractive.
It is exremely good looking and everyone asks me what have I got in my hand.The 16Gb memory is enough but if you want more you can get the Xperia Z2

Build quality 10/10 great
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10 it will be great if 1750mah or more

Pros

  • All

Cons

  • Batteray

Apian alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

damien2014
posted on 14 Oct 2013, 16:25 (Posts: 1; Member since: 14 Oct 2013)

8

A powerful yet undercooked middle-class phone

damien2014 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

When the Samsung Galaxy S II was a bit out of my range, I decided to pump my hard-saved money into the Sony's discounted powerhouse, the Xperia P. The first impression was awesome and it lasted for about three months. What has changed after a Jelly Bean uplift? Read on...

Build quality 10/10 The aluminium enclosure... a pattern for high-end devices. Feels solid and is solid - my phone fell a couple times and it still looked as if nothing had happened.
Reception 8/10 The device is able to lose its Wi-Fi signal once in a while. All in all, it was enough for my tasks. However, the GPS signal was mostly unreachable.
Call quality 8/10 I hardly make calls with it. The speaker is audible nonetheless.
Internet 7/10 Text looks quite sharp and readable, which does not make up for sluggish browser performance if you load a few full sites simultaneously (even one could be a serious challenge).
Multimedia 6/10 Music options leave most of the competitors behind. 1080p recording is a joke (when you see video jumping every 2 seconds in a film you took). The Sony's update policy lags behind other manufacturers.
Camera 6/10 Excessive image compression proves to be a major drawback resulting in washed-out pictures. Megapixels and a Exmor-R sensor do not matter in ths case.
UI speed 7/10 The UI is zippy unless you install a few apps or set a live wallpaper. My experience became worse and worse with each subsequent OS update.
Everyday usage 7/10 There was nothing to complain about until JB arrived. It was when the ecosystem fell apart with phone freezing every six hours.
Text input 7/10 The processor is unable to recognise my entire letter input.
Display 9/10 The WhiteMagic technology rocks. In sunny terms, it outpaces the rest of the smartphone universe.
Battery 6/10 I often manage to save my power for a whole day, but it requires significant sacrifices. Normally, I need to charge my device twice a day. Also, it is quite frequent that the processor is not in standby despite the screen being turned off, which causes my phone to discharge from 100% to zero in three hours.

Pros

  • Good quality screen with astonishing brightness
  • Solid design
  • Sony's Android UI distinguishes itself form the other phones

Cons

  • Battery life is a deal-breaker
  • Underpowered processor
  • Camera quality sucks
  • Obsolete Android version

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

salty1985
posted on 31 Aug 2013, 06:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 31 Aug 2013)

9

Fantasic phone at a great price!

salty1985 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Recently purchased the Sony Xperia P and have nothing but praise for this superb handset. After owning an Iphone for the past couple of years I though i'd give the xperia range a try. I researched the phone beforehand and read nothing but good reviews. The features that come with the phone are fantastic, games, apps, music run smoothly without any hitches and the sound quality is very good. The only real downside to this phone is the battery. Fantasic piece of equiptment Sony!! And at a resonable price :-)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10 Needs charging regulary.
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Good amount of features
  • Android operating system
  • Great camera
  • Fast

Cons

  • Poor battery life

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

baruch33
posted on 12 Jul 2013, 14:30 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Jul 2013)

10

Best Movile I ever Had

baruch33 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I love Sony and all its products, I just install the 4.2.2 Jelly Bean version, and works pretty fast with it. 100% recommendable.

camera and multimedia was fantastic sounds and camera resolution and clarity exceeds my expectation text input at some point are frustrating coming from lumia 800 but i started to get use to it.. everyday use will not worry you for it performs better that any other mid range phone at this point

Build quality 9/10 Best Size, slim and light
Reception 9/10 I close area lost signal
Call quality 10/10 Best Sharpness
Internet 10/10 Fast navegation
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Takes sometimes a lot of time, on focus, and if you are recording something, you may lost some time.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Fantastic
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10 Pretty well display, but with the light of the sun, lost some sharpness
Battery 9/10 Depends on the usage.

Pros

  • camera
  • White Magic Technology
  • impressive and stylish build!
  • 8mp camera and 1080p recording

Cons

  • No Sd Expandible

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gundamexia450
posted on 02 Jan 2014, 23:34 (Posts: 26; Member since: 21 Dec 2011)

9

The best mid range sony smartphone for 2012

gundamexia450 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

One of the best mid range smartphone that Sony produced. The unique design and strong spec. The downsides are that no memory slot and slow operating system update. There is no lag or speed in UI. Basic usage such as texting, calling, listening music, gaming and browsing, provide like at least 8 to 10 hours. Using White Magic technology, the battery lasts longer.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 The battery does not last a full day with basic usage.

Pros

  • White Magic Technology
  • Fast Browsing Online
  • Nice aluminium cover feel

Cons

  • No memory slot
  • Poor battery life

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Genersis
posted on 30 May 2013, 22:39 (Posts: 206; Member since: 29 May 2013)

8

One of the Best Mid rangers, if not *the* best of 2012

Genersis has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Overall I think the device is a great midrange phone, as suggested by my title.

It's still aged pretty well, but I would recommend the Motorola Razr i or Samsung Galaxy S III Mini if you want a better battery and can stand using an AMOLED screen, as they should be around the same price as the Xperia P.

Build quality 10/10 Flawless and Premium in design and materials .
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10 Works well, but sometimes it feels like a bigger screen would make the internet experience more enjoyable.
Multimedia 10/10 Video and audio playback is great on this phone.
Camera 8/10 Great camera, would like better low light performance though.
UI speed 5/10 Functional; never slows down, but does seem to drop frames regularly.
Everyday usage 7/10 Held back by screen size and battery life, but it's compact size makes it well suited for regular use.
Text input 8/10 When vertical, it works. When the phone is horizontal, it's very easy to use.
Display 8/10 Great display. Only issue is sometimes the screen gains a yellow tint. Especially when the bravia engine is turned on, as it makes the screen appear warmer in general.
Battery 3/10 Really poor. My only major issue with the phone. To get a mediocre battery life, power saving functions must be taken full advantage of.

Pros

  • Good display
  • Great for the price
  • Good connectivity
  • Great build quality and design
  • Good Camera

Cons

  • Battery life
  • Below average GPU

Genersis alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Bozhino
posted on 18 Apr 2013, 05:43 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Apr 2013)

10

Awesome phone

Bozhino has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I'm very pleased with the phone, except minor camera bugs etc. the battery is not very good, it's weak to average, but overall it's a great, stylish phone that i recommend to everyone who wants a quality phone, quality camera and quality screen.

Build quality 10/10 Beautiful build
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10 Small bugs like shadow on the left side when capturing 8 megapixel photos, or capturing photo via instagram, i expect Sony to fix that with Jelly Bean update. Not a big deal.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 6/10 This is the only thing that's bothering me with this phone.

Pros

  • everything

Cons

  • battery

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Osama.Bin.Masood
posted on 14 Apr 2013, 16:21 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Apr 2013)

10

Brilliant Phone

Osama.Bin.Masood has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I would recomend this phone to anyone who is looking for a reliable phone that has got NFC and a good screen and who likes to play a lot of media.And best of all it is very attractive.
It is exremely good looking and everyone asks me what have I got in my hand.The 16Gb memory is enough but if you want more you can get the Xperia S.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10 Call quality is excellent on both sides and on the other side you can hear no background noise at all!
Internet 10/10 Internet reception is as good as a laptop.
Multimedia 10/10 Brilliant due to its good loudspeaker and ability to play full HD video
Camera 9/10 Pictures tend to be noisy in dark conditions but the flash makes up for that problem.
UI speed 9/10 Verry responsive interface but a little bit of lag can be seen but it will be fixed in the Jelly Bean update.
Everyday usage 9/10 Battery life could be a bit better but overall great phone.
Text input 10/10 Good keyboard!
Display 10/10 The screen is high resoulution and is by far the best screen in terms of daylight usability.The colours seem a bit washed out when compared to the screen on the GSII but colours a overall good.
Battery 8/10 Battery life is good but could be better.

Pros

  • Screen
  • Build Quality
  • NFC
  • Camera
  • Design
  • Interface
  • HD video
  • Video playback
  • Attractive
  • Call quality

Cons

  • No Cons

Osama.Bin.Masood alternatives:

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

stitch
posted on 21 Feb 2013, 06:26 (Posts: 3; Member since: 14 Feb 2013)

9

Great Mid-ranger

stitch has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Own this phone for half a year, been doing great, and no major problem with it so far.
I do recommend this mid-range smartphone if you are tight on your budget but wanna enjoy a high-end-like smartphone, You should definitely get the Xperia P! not to forget it's great design.

Build quality 9/10 It's sleek and premium, a little scratches do form when being dropped
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Premium feel as aluminium back
  • Good camera for it's price range
  • qHD bright display
  • Reasonable price.

Cons

  • not so good battery capacity

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

areeeeez
posted on 13 Feb 2013, 04:00 (Posts: 16; Member since: 01 Jul 2012)

8

Best Mid-Range

areeeeez has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

The phone is great for everyday usage, almost can play any music & video format i throw at it.
Build quality are great, with unique transparent strip ala NXT series and metal body, very rare nowadays, and sony get the design very great.

Build quality 10/10 Have unique design with transparent strip. love metal material, very rare nowadays..
Reception 6/10 Death grip issue, especially indoor. But still can make call.
Call quality 10/10 Excellent.
Internet 8/10 Sometimes it wont conect to mobile data, but a little trick can fix this issue.
Multimedia 10/10 Almost can play any media format i throw at it
Camera 8/10 In sufficient light, the result are amazing, color reproduction, contrast, detail are good. But on low light condition, noise are very noticeable.
UI speed 8/10 Slightly slower in ICS version
Everyday usage 9/10 Enough for my everyday usage
Text input 9/10 A little bit tricky to use
Display 10/10 Veeery sharp, punchy color, good outdoor visibility & love the Bravia engine
Battery 8/10 Small capacity

Pros

  • great design & build quality
  • great display
  • great loudspeaker
  • amazing 8MP camera
  • fast cpu
  • great spec for its prize

Cons

  • death grip issue, indoor only
  • no MicroSD slot
  • non-removable battery
  • small battery capacity

areeeeez alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Goximus
posted on 11 Feb 2013, 14:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Feb 2013)

8

Great smartphone, but poor scratch ressistance

Goximus has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I have Nokia N8, and have had a Galaxy SII. This is a great phone for its price, and is the right size, not to small or to big. Camera is not as good as N8 or SII, display is not amoled, so black is not black in the dark. Everything else is as good, or better. Except, it's screen is not scratch resistant at all. I have it for 2 weeks (bought it new), and it already has a lot of scratches. I use it normally, i don't carry it with keys in my pocket. I use it as I use my N8, and have used SII. Nokia N8 is two years old, while I had Samsung for about a year, and screen of Xperia p now looks worse then them. No wonder that the leather bag is in the box.

Build quality 8/10 Plastic bottom loosens with time.
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 7/10 Little narrow for portrait input.
Display 6/10 Great display, poor scratch resistance.
Battery 7/10 Battery could be better, but it doesn't bother me to much.

Pros

  • nice design
  • decent speed
  • HDMI conector and cable
  • good pricing
  • micro USB type A - can use both connectors
  • metal
  • etc.

Cons

  • scratch ressistance
  • battery life
  • non user replacable battery

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Saeedblack
posted on 05 Feb 2013, 11:38 (Posts: 0; Member since: 05 Feb 2013)

10

Very Very Likely Smartphone

Saeedblack has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love it very very much since i have it.
real high quality display.
real high quality build matrials.
real high quality camera
real high quality all you thinging about it.
I dont have any problem with it in 2 month that its mine.devloping there software is not bad and since now release miui and cyanogen mod rom for it and also andriod 4.1 official will release for it.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

monmon77
posted on 22 Jan 2013, 09:22 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Nov 2012)

10

xperia p

monmon77 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i adore xperia p itsa amazing phone the best mobile i have ever had
how ever ,, sony mobile rocks and bravia engine rocks :D

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

ryanaryee
posted on 09 Jan 2013, 20:23 (Posts: 3; Member since: 09 Jan 2013)

10

Best Android I've used

ryanaryee has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have had the Sony Xperia P since about October 2012 and it is the best Android smartphone I have ever used. Before the Xperia P I had 2 Samsung's which were of the low range of the Android Market so having the Xperia P is a big step up. I got it with the ICS update already installed which was handy. The design definitely stands out from many of its other rivals. It is an overall fantastic phone and I would recommend it to anyone looking at it

Build quality 10/10 excellent design.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 9/10 Wifi can be a bit glitchy sometimes but nothing major
Multimedia 10/10 plays many different media types, and converts them when transferring files from computer
Camera 10/10 great camera especially when there is good natural light around
UI speed 10/10 best i have used
Everyday usage 10/10 Perfect for everyday useage, handles everyday tasks with ease.
Text input 9/10 can be a bit difficult sometimes
Display 10/10 whitemagic helps a lot in the outdoors
Battery 8/10 could've been a bigger battery as I find it hard stretching the battery over day trips

Pros

  • bright display (whitemagic display)
  • stand out design (really catches my eye)
  • 8mp camera and 1080p recording
  • powereful dual core processor
  • runs apps with high graphics and has no problem
  • HDMI connection to HD dispaly
  • great set of specs for it's price
  • NFC
  • is compatible with many different media formats

Cons

  • battery (could've been bigger)
  • no SD slot for expanding memory
  • would've liked burst shot for camera

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Xperiap
posted on 29 Dec 2012, 08:34 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Dec 2012)

10

Good product from Sony love it

Xperiap has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Excellant product from Sony.i'm a first time smart phone user so that ,battery consumption is very high.touching experiance good.everything well.
i'm a first time smart phone andriod user. anyway feel better in my new phone.xperia Rockz.......want to buy more xperia's.....

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

NIJMAN
posted on 16 Dec 2012, 23:19 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Dec 2012)

9

Xperia P

NIJMAN has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought it Nov 2012, and this is what i think .
Overall , its a high quality product , the best phone i've had if you can live with the tiny battery , i have used it for a day ... if it gets better [If you are going to buy a SONY Xperia Between 250-350$ please consider also Sony Xperia S]

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10

Pros

  • NFC
  • 1080p@29FPS Video Rec. [awesome]
  • Whitemagic Tech.
  • 275ppx 4.0' Display

Cons

  • No memory card
  • The Battery is killing me

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

REYNER
posted on 21 Oct 2012, 12:24 (Posts: 187; Member since: 10 Feb 2012)

9

it exceeds my expectation

REYNER has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

i just got this phone with ICS in it so i was not able to experience the battery life that is said to be pathetic.. the update seems to be very very helpful esp. in battery department. i am a power user so i always see to it that i have a spare battery on my phone that has a removable battery but in the case of xperia p for me it always last for almost a day in 3g network with active mail and notification but my advice is to turn off the data consumption when your not using it for it will even extend the battery lif of your xperia p..

next build was fantastic its eyepopping and most of the people who are not familiar with this phone leave breathless. UI is good and snappy lag can be found at some area but it will not ruin the entire experience still its a breeze and blazing fast

camera and multimedia was fantastic sounds and camera resolution and clarity exceeds my expectation text input at some point are frustrating coming from lumia 800 but i started to get use to it.. everyday use will not worry you for it performs better that any other mid range phone at this point

this phone is good 16 gb is enough for me and i thing with the price tag in it and the quality of specs its a win-win to any buyer i consider this phone as an upper mid range.

Build quality 10/10 wow this really is a phone for a dude!! metalic and the transparent strip was an innovation and eye catching!
Reception 10/10
Call quality 8/10 some calls outside our country seems to be too delayed though its clear sometimes it also has some echo
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10 terrific! cam though absence of burst shot is sad the quality of pic are really good focusing in the dark takes longer but at least youll have a good result
UI speed 9/10 very usable though there still some lags its too minimal and with the price of it its really not that bad actually its not a lag but hiccups lesser widget in the home screen will help
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 7/10 not that good if you been from a good text input phone such as lumia 800 but for the 1st timer i guess it will be very good!
Display 10/10 it will leave you breathless!! :)
Battery 9/10 it last almost a day with me with constant viewing of mails and with active notification but how i just hope that they extend the battery to a 1500 mAh for even longer battery life though ics update makes it really better in consumption

Pros

  • camera!!
  • multimedia
  • impressive and stylish build!
  • white magic display!
  • ui speed and experience ( for the price of it its really not that bad!)
  • snappy cpu

Cons

  • auto focus at night or when dark
  • no burst shot
  • text input
  • call reception when calling abroad
  • front facing cam how i hope they use at least 1.3mp not vga

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

stole38
posted on 17 Oct 2012, 09:24 (Posts: 14; Member since: 01 Sep 2012)

8

my eXperience with the P

stole38 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Bought it yesterday , and this is what i think .
Overall , its a high quality product , the best phone i've had if you can live with the tiny battery , i have used it for a day ... if it gets better , i'll correct this .

Build quality 10/10 Metalic finish on the back makes it a pleasure to hold , and the transparent strip makes the phone look really cool
Reception 8/10 It's ok i guess , but sometimes i saw the coverage drop significantly
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10 It's stress free with Chrome
Multimedia 10/10 Really love the Album app , Video playback is fine , Walkman app is also nice
Camera 9/10 Shots with alot of light are jaw dropping , but those unfortunate without light are not very pleasing to watch . Video recording is superb tho the motion could be better.
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10 Very easy to use , intuitive
Text input 10/10 Snappy
Display 10/10 OUTSTANDING display , its handsdown the best thing about the phone. Love the extra brightness but im afraid the display eats up the battery the most.
Battery 3/10 I am really dissapointed from the battery, tho it charges fast , that kind of shortage can make you feel like you have a crappy phone. It didnt even make it made like a 4.5 hours of screen time.

Pros

  • Metalic finish on the back
  • Camera is superb compared to the price
  • display,display,display,display
  • Fast-ish CPU

Cons

  • Batterylife , terrible
  • Front camera quality is bad

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories