x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia J User Reviews

6.8 Based on 17 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Camera5.4/10
Multimedia6.9/10
Internet6.9/10
Call quality7.7/10
Battery7.8/10
Reception7.2/10
Display7.8/10
Build quality7.6/10
Text input6.6/10
Everyday usage6.3/10
UI speed5.8/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

nomi49
posted on 29 Sep 2014, 20:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Apr 2012)

1

Worst touch screen phone in the market.

nomi49 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Worst touch screen phone ever. Touch doesn't work well. It takes hundred tries to even type a little text message. Very low memory. Apps load data too slow. Poor battery time. It drains within a day even without any use.

Don't buy this piece of crap.

Build quality 2/10
Reception 1/10
Call quality 2/10
Internet 1/10
Multimedia 1/10
Camera 1/10
UI speed 1/10
Everyday usage 1/10
Text input 1/10
Display 2/10
Battery 1/10

Pros

  • none

Cons

  • Bad Touch
  • Low RAM
  • Very slow app performance.
  • Slow internet
  • Poor Battery Timing
  • Too Big

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

anonim
posted on 11 Jul 2014, 05:03 (Posts: 0; Member since: 11 Jul 2014)

7

Sony Xperia j My review

anonim has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Aceasta este parerea mea despre acest telefon pe care lam avut un an si 2 luni.
La exterior telefonul arata foarte bine.
Apelurile se desfasoara foarte bine.
Unele jocuri merg foarte prost.
Camera e destul de buna.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 6/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 7/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Pureman
posted on 02 Feb 2014, 03:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 02 Feb 2014)

8

Egyptian Review

Pureman has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

toooooo bad cam
not bad texting
very good battery
too low RAM
good screen
I bought this phone cause I only love sony and hate samsung and this was the only one for this price in sony its an entry mid-range phone don't buy it and go for huawei G610s or alcatel Snap DON'T BUY THIS PHONE

Build quality 10/10 good quality considering the cover it dosn't keep finger prints and the shiney silver under the cover is goood.
Reception 10/10 Receiving calls is good
Call quality 10/10 call quality is perfict
Internet 8/10 not bad
Multimedia 7/10 does not support many video extensions
Camera 1/10 too bad it's more like a 3.5 P cam for steady pics and you don't want to know the quality of the video cam. bottom line I can honestly say that Xperia J don't have a cam at all only led flash.
UI speed 7/10 not bad
Everyday usage 8/10 good but some times become slow although for its price its very good
Text input 8/10 not bad
Display 10/10 very good
Battery 10/10 very good can last 2 days and half by heavy average usage.

Pros

  • battery
  • "Sony Brand"
  • Design
  • Good screen
  • good software

Cons

  • low RAM
  • very pooooor cam

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Dylan14
posted on 03 Jan 2014, 15:57 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Jan 2014)

10

Briallant

Dylan14 has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Briallant phone excellent internet best phone ive seen for this price thought about galaxy ace 2 but this phone is way better.Best phone could hope for absolute class camera.Exellennt design and no lag really fast internet

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Super Fast
  • battery lasts ages

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Chokofuriku
posted on 14 Nov 2013, 07:58 (Posts: 0; Member since: 14 Nov 2013)

5

Not Worth It

Chokofuriku has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Yes, this phone is a Budget phone as it is indeed cheap. But trust me, instead of buying this phone, just forget it and keep stacking your money for a better model. Here are some of the reasons:

1) SLOW
Even a snail could win a race against it! For the first two months of usage, i thought this phone was sent by angels - I mean, it's so cheap and working very smoothly. I'VE NEVER BEEN SO WRONG. Third month - everything changed. As I have used up around 1.2 GB of it's internal storage for applications and avoid installing any games since people say that this is not a phone for games, I was so surprised to see the speed of the phone. Even closing an app could cost me more than half a minute! Well, not all the time, but MOST of the time. Sometimes it restarts itself when there's more that 3 apps active. So, forget multitasking.

2) KISS GOODBYE CAMERA(fragile camera)
Never once had this phone fell on any hard surface, yet the camera died... literally! This happened also on the third month. I doubt it was damaged physically. Istead, i think it's the build. Ever since it updated itself into 4.1 Jellybean, the camera stopped working immediately. unfortunately, technical support wasn't much of help as they claimed it was broken. How is a phone camera supposed to be broken if it never fell on anything but my cozy matress? Now all I can use is the 0.3 mp front facing camera. How about... no? P/S: the camera is terrible even if it works fine. Even my old Sony Ericsson W8's 3.2 mp camera...  

Build quality 5/10 Thanks to the build change, My camera died. but on the other hand, the interface turns more user-friendly.
Reception 9/10 I guess I had no problem with this one
Call quality 9/10 This one's also doing fine
Internet 3/10 Meh... Just use the computer for browsing. This phone is too laggy for it.
Multimedia 4/10 Since it's a budget phone, unable to play HD stuff is acceptable. But my walkman issue makes my downrate this one.
Camera 2/10 way too fragile. And even if it's alive, it loses to a 3.2 mp camera of another phone. a dissapointment.
UI speed 3/10 Terrible... just terrible. Too laggy.
Everyday usage 4/10 With all these problems and damages, Who'd expect me to use it for purposes other than calling and texting?
Text input 5/10 Laggy and unprecise. Predictive text is not bad, but when it goes wrong, it can be really annoying.
Display 8/10 For a budget phone, it's clear and pretty enough. The colors are also kinda rich.
Battery 6/10 Watching too much video or browsing too much internet will kill your phone battery. Watching youtube can cause the battery to turn into a volcano. Gaming is not an option.

Pros

  • very cheap
  • slim and quite light
  • trendy design
  • good display(for a cheap phone)
  • good music especially using handsfree

Cons

  • laggy and slow UI
  • unprecise and laggy keyboard
  • terrible camera quality
  • battery issues
  • unable to play HD stuff
  • Gaming is a taboo
  • LED notification light is too small

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ianfox
posted on 17 Oct 2013, 11:51 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Oct 2013)

10

good

ianfox has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................​..................................................

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Libby
posted on 06 Oct 2013, 11:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 06 Oct 2013)

10

Sony Xperia J vs. Samsung galaxy ace II

Libby has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I got the samsung ace II and found it clumsy to hold; the touch screen was too sensitive; and worst of all the battery life sucked BIG time. So I exchanged it for the Sony J. This phone is comfortable to hold; battery is excellent; screen is clear and very easy to use. I love this phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Great phone

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

xmaloba
posted on 19 Sep 2013, 17:10 (Posts: 3; Member since: 30 Dec 2012)

8

good phone

xmaloba has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

good phone with a lot to be desired but good has a lot of potential If you weren't particular impressed by the Sony Xperia Tipo or Sony Xperia Miro phones, and have a bit more cash to spend on your mobile, then the company is hoping to tempt you in with the Sony Xperia J instead. This mid-range Android handset carries over the curved back from the old Sony Ericsson Xperia Arc models and adds it to updated innards. You can buy it online for around £170,

Build quality 10/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 4/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 4/10
Display 9/10
Battery 10/10

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

ZebraP
posted on 03 Sep 2013, 16:01 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Sep 2013)

2

A disappointment...

ZebraP has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I've had trouble with this phone for months, and I would not recommend it to anyone else.

In the start, December 2012 - January 2013, I didn't have a single issue, but after then, a lot things've happened; the lock button has become so sticky it's almost impossible to unlock the phone, the phone is laggy, has too little space+ram and the phone has way to many bugs. I've experienced multiple restarts - with +60% battery - even when just receiving a call! The screen has been unresponsive a few times as well. Each time the phone is shut down, the media files doesn't load up, and I have to use a file explorer-app to find the files. The repair feature in the PC Companion Software have not fixed any problems. I do, however, think the look of it is really good, and I really like the look of the newest software version.

Build quality 3/10 It's build okay, but have too many gaps where dust can gather, especially around the lock button. Afterwards, it's impossible to get out.
Reception 6/10 This is the only thing I haven't had an issue with, apart from with the FM Radio, which has almost no signal.
Call quality 5/10 Fine, when it works.
Internet 5/10 Also fine, when it works.
Multimedia 2/10 Files doesn't load up automatically for me. Equalizer is a big plus though.
Camera 4/10 The quality is okay, but is nothing to brag about.
UI speed 1/10 It's really slow.
Everyday usage 2/10 Well, it can be used.
Text input 5/10 It works.
Display 4/10 Okay display.
Battery 3/10 Could've been longer, but it's just okay.

Pros

  • Reception (w/o FM Radio)
  • The look.
  • Software-look.

Cons

  • Tendency to get sticky lock-button.
  • Software bugs.
  • Too little memory/RAM.
  • Random shutdowns/restarts.
  • Slowness.

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sumantitu
posted on 25 Jul 2013, 18:26 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Jul 2013)

3

not satisfied with my " sony xperia J ST26i"

Sumantitu has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

About 7 months ego i bought a " sony xperia J ST26i" , Android version 4.0.4 , market price Rs.16,500. From the beginning it has so many defects like automatic change of sound quality, worst picture quality in 5 megapixel i have ever seen & its like a press phone rather than "Feather touch" phone, not capable as a normal gaming device,both open and headphone sound is very low & its difficult to hear the sound even in room & at the time of browsing or net surfing it automatically restarts.

Build quality 3/10 too slow
Reception 2/10
Call quality 4/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10 worst picture quality in 5 megapixel i have ever seen
UI speed 2/10
Everyday usage 2/10 its like a press phone rather than feather touch phone
Text input 3/10
Display 2/10
Battery 7/10

Sumantitu alternatives:

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nickytanbo
posted on 29 Jun 2013, 01:35 (Posts: 0; Member since: 29 Jun 2013)

10

amazing phone

nickytanbo has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

love it ok it is not the best for gaming but if you are like me like to play temple run subway surfers whers my water cut the rop it is a briliant phone and amazing batery life and it hase lods of briliand little fitures

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • amazing batery life
  • sexy phone
  • large screen
  • amazing resolousion

Cons

  • lags from time to time but what phone doesont

nickytanbo alternatives:

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

BillZ
posted on 03 May 2013, 09:40 (Posts: 2; Member since: 03 May 2013)

2

a shocker of a phone.

BillZ has owned it for less than year before publishing this review


do yourself a favour and look somewhere for a phone.

i had a sony phone about 15 years ago and it was also a waste of space.

the salesman convinced methat the sony xperia j was the best value for money in early 2013, so i went against my gut feel and bought one.

the keyboard seems to be over sensitive. it doesn't always auto sleep after 15 seconds when i drop it into my shirt pocket and then i will pull it out some time later and it has reset settings, it can call or send texts, whatsapps, etc.

i use and love predictive text in all messaging. but this phone doesn't have predictive text it use random text! and it fails to learn new words for Xmas for example!

i end up having to type and retype aqnd then get so frustrated i turn predictive text off.!!

what a night mare of a phone. i will most likely buy a samsung for twice the proce of this "thing" just to get piece of mind and a useful device.

oh, also, i changed the ring tome from some lame sony standard ring tone to a "ring ring" but when a call came in all i got was a "ring ring" just once, it failed to continue ringing if i didn't pick up.

so i am forced to use the lame sony standard ring tone.

i upgraded from a samsung wave 525 bada phone.

sony - what a disappointment!

also while i think of it, the clarity of the caller's voice is poor and scratchy!

and the contacts just awful, just try deleting some!


Build quality 2/10 it's a solid enough phone.
Reception 2/10 ok.
Call quality 2/10 borderline
Internet 2/10 ok, it works as expected. difficult jumping b/t apps.
Multimedia 2/10
Camera 2/10 i cant find out how to zoom the camera. so i take the pix and use software on a laptop to crop and enlarge the pix.
UI speed 2/10 rubbish.. it hangs and in a darken environment it jumps all over the place.
Everyday usage 2/10 poor.
Text input 2/10 totally rubbish.
Display 2/10 ok,
Battery 5/10 the battery life is acceptable.

Pros

  • none.

Cons

  • too many to list,

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

IliyaBeshkov
posted on 21 Apr 2013, 13:49 (Posts: 243; Member since: 09 Jul 2012)

7

Not bad for this price tag!!!

IliyaBeshkov has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Ok the phone is not too bad, but is not too good. The processor and RAM nowadays is outdated. This specs are for 2010 flagship phone, not for 2013 mid-ranger. The display is very good, but the lack of light sensor is very uncomfortable when viewing in direct sun light. The camera is good for 5MP, but the video capture had to be 720p. The battery is decent and the call quality is very good.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 5/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 6/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 6/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Cool design like the Xperia T(L)
  • The speaker is excellent
  • The camera is good for 5MP
  • The 1750mAh battery is good
  • UI is very beautiful
  • Jelly Bean
  • Call quality is good
  • 4GB internal storage
  • microSDHC card up to 32GB

Cons

  • 1GHz A5 processor is now outdated
  • 512MB RAM is too little
  • 480p recording is now old fashion
  • Not good for gaming
  • 480p video playback

IliyaBeshkov alternatives:

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Ranjana
posted on 04 Feb 2013, 19:02 (Posts: 0; Member since: 04 Feb 2013)

7

hardware issue in the head set

Ranjana has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Xperia J that I purchased came with a hardware issue in the head set.

Call voice was not clear and it was difficult to continue a call. Voice over the phone was vibrating. So even it is phone, it was impossible to make calls. I used it only for two days. However this issue was there from the day one. It is disappointing to know that a company like Sony can’t detect this type of basic hardware failures before sending them to the market.

I bought this with a warranty. However as the seller is unable to rectify the issue, they replace the phone with the used repaired phone (saying that it is a brand-new. However it was a phone which was fixed using parts. For sure main circuit was extracted from other Xperia J). Now I’m fighting to get a refund. For the time been I had paid brand new price for a used phone.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 5/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 5/10
Text input 5/10
Display 9/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Good image qulaity and resolution
  • Battery life not satisfactory

Cons

  • Call voice is too low
  • Power button is too small, difficult to acess

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

clauz
posted on 09 Jan 2013, 08:42 (Posts: 0; Member since: 09 Jan 2013)

9

AMAZING

clauz has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The phone it's perfect for everyday usage and the battery healts for very long time! the camera is not the best but enought for snappshots.
the multimedia is amazing. with the new sony album app and the walkman app.
it becomes also an update for android 4.1 jelly bean!
i can only recommend it!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 7/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • good quality at all
  • super multimedia
  • long time battery

Cons

  • not the best camera

clauz alternatives:

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

abboud_eng
posted on 01 Jan 2013, 04:58 (Posts: 2; Member since: 09 Nov 2012)

9

its very nice phone

abboud_eng has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its so nice phone for normal usage i like it you can easy love this phone for its lovely design and good quality and suitable price it can run application good but not heavy one for normal use its really very good

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10 its good camera
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • very good display
  • big battery
  • sexy design
  • nice audio
  • good quality
  • its SONY made

Cons

  • single processor
  • better with more RAM

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

irvinpinto
posted on 16 Dec 2012, 01:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 16 Dec 2012)

8

A multimedia freak's dream phone!

irvinpinto has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

The xperia J might not be the processor powerhouse which is expected from most mid priced droids today.
It might lag a lot..but doesnt affect the android experience
HOWEVER and a BIG HOWEVER...it does set out to do exactly what sony expected it to do..and that is to cater to a large but diminishing audience whom multimedia playback dispay and battery is of crucial importance.
The audio is clear well balanced..the video is simply mindblowing.
The display looks upmarket and feels really responsive
Standard apps and games run without a hitch..temple run takes time to start, but being a first time android user, or upgrading from a lower specd droid, ul hardly notice
Fruit ninja and Angry birds ran perfectly..
Why'd i buy it
For awesome media capabilities, a large beautiful display and a great battery
i dont care about camera quality..im a photographer by passion and own a DSLR..i feel photography is better done on professional camera's with dedicated image processors
I prefer gaming on my laptop..not my cell..it makes more sense...so i didnt need a dual core
Im an audiophile and audio quality is my deciding criterion..and the xperia j was the perfect answer..
so if ur like me..go for the J..trust me u wont regret it
Gamers..please look elsewhere

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • Stunning Design
  • Great Build
  • Awesome Screen
  • Mindblowing Audio and VIdeo playbacks
  • Great web browsing

Cons

  • Lots of lag

19 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories