x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Xperia E User Reviews

9.3 Based on 3 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Multimedia9/10
Internet9.3/10
Call quality10/10
Battery10/10
Reception8.7/10
Display9/10
Build quality8.7/10
Text input9.7/10
Everyday usage10/10
UI speed9.3/10
Camera7.7/10

Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

madmotouk
posted on 28 Jan 2014, 16:13 (Posts: 0; Member since: 28 Jan 2014)

10

THE Budget Smartphone to have

madmotouk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I bought is handset as a second phone. It came unlocked so it was ideal to take abroad and put in a local Sim card. Certainly saves me worrying about losing my Xperia M which would cost more than twice the E to replace.

This is a good basic smartphone and I would recommend it to anyone as their first touchscreen handset. It's just the right size to hold comfortably, not too heavy and yet not so light it feels cheap. It feels better to hold than any iPhone. The battery life is amazing, even with regular use I've only been charging it every 8 days or so. I don't use the many apps you find on smartphones these days and I don't use the internet if I can help it. Most of the factory installed apps were disabled or uninstalled immediately when I got it out of the box, all I left was the sat nav app for use in emergencies but I've not had to call on it yet.

I've only used this phone as a phone (ie; calls, texts, picture messages) but it works flawlessly. It does what I ask of it and has plenty in reserve.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 8/10 3.2MP these days is poor. However I didn't buy the phone for it's camera so it's not really an issue.
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10 forget qwerty layout, use the phone keyboard layout it's much easier.
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

Pros

  • Ideal first smartphone
  • Battery lasts forever and a day
  • Comfortable to use and lightweight.

Cons

  • Camera could be better

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

blackknight
posted on 07 Nov 2013, 06:44 (Posts: 0; Member since: 07 Nov 2013)

10

sony experia E

blackknight has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

the battery life is amazing everyone should buy this phone its a decent cheap smart phone that you can do everything on that you can on the latest phones i would recomend this to anyone the sound is quality

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Eduardo0207
posted on 03 Nov 2013, 13:36 (Posts: 0; Member since: 03 Nov 2013)

8

Very satisfactory phone for its cost.

Eduardo0207 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

The Xperia E phone is one the best option for people who do not want to spend too much money on a smartphone, but still want to have one of their own. With a 1Ghz snapdragon processor, the overall performance of this phone is very pleasant, keep reading for more specific information.

Build quality 6/10 Although its design is visually pleasant, the materials used to build this cell phone are somewhat fragile, but still, it's ok given the price.
Reception 6/10 The phone's reception is very good for calls and text messages. It has a decent reception range for wifi networks too, but if the cellphone is on suspension mode (screen turned off) you may not get all of your apps notifications.
Call quality 10/10 With the Xperia E you won't have troubles during your calls. Both speaker and microphone work just fine.
Internet 8/10 With the appropriate wifi conexion or data plan, you can surf on the internet and download media at a very fast speed.
Multimedia 7/10 Album and Movies functions on the Xperia phones are very organized and easy to understand, 100% ok with them. Can't say the same of the walkman app which lacks of a friendly search method and a decent equalizer.
Camera 5/10 The worst function on the Xperia E is definitely its camera. With a poor (for this days) resolution of 3,2 mpx and without an incorpored flash, you probably won't get the job done when it comes to capture your memories or views on photography. It's also too basic, lacks of functions such as focus selection and there are some white balances choices missing.
UI speed 8/10 For a single core based phone and 1ghz of processor speed, this handset is truly fast if you give it a normal use (web browsing, calls, chatting). If you install too many apps and run them simultaneously, the phone will not respond as fast as you'd like. Also, it support semi-heavy games.
Everyday usage 10/10 Nothing to complain in this aspect. The utility apps of Sony are very friendly and does not have major problems.
Text input 9/10 The screen keyboard of this phone can bear fast texting and comes with a swift-like option that works surprisingly well. It is a QWERTY virtual keyboard that also gives you appropriate suggestions based on the input language you choose.
Display 7/10 Not the best resolution nor the worst either. Although it doesn't have a light sensor to automatically adjust the brightness of the screen, you can use an stock-widget called "back light" which changes drastically the screen brightness and makes it visible even on sunny days.
Battery 10/10 Take it from a guy who uses this phone to chat 1/4 of the day and spends other 1/4 playing heavy games: the battery of this phone (maybe not only this phone but all of Sony's) is one of the best!

Pros

  • Very elegant design
  • Support external cards up to 36gb
  • It has android 4.1.1 (which allows you to use the best apps)
  • Scratch ressistant glass
  • Very light cellphone

Cons

  • Very poor camera
  • It is kinda fragile
  • Low store-in capacity (2 gb)
  • Missing flash for the camera

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories