x PhoneArena is looking for new authors in New York! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia arc User Reviews

8.9 Based on 10 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

Build quality8.9/10
Text input9.1/10
Everyday usage8.6/10
UI speed8.5/10
Camera9.5/10
Multimedia9.3/10
Internet8.6/10
Call quality9.1/10
Battery7.7/10
Reception9/10
Display9.4/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

Arkorium
posted on 29 Oct 2013, 09:06

7

Was this really supposed to be a flagship ?

Arkorium has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I'm posting this review, after using this phone for over 2 years.
Not sure anyone will ever read this but I feel I might as well contribute to the website.
This was my first smartphone, and phone for that matter, still I feel that after having it for so long I know what I'm talking about.
This phone has definitely got an interesting design, a great camera (for it's time) and beautiful display (even though it's not HD of FHD like newer phones). I wouldn't recommend it now, as it is a slow and aging device. For a flagship smartphone of a major company this phone is weak, with little ram and a poor single-core it stumbles through even some of the UI animations. The battery life is average, so is cellular reception, but the real problems are internet speeds you get, 3G is slow, wifi connection is really bad too. The camera and display are definitely redeeming qualities though. After 2 years, many falls, many ROMs; it still works, so no I do not regret having bought this phone.
It has an original look, but it is outspeced now (duh), if you find it for less than 150$ (still a little expensive imo) go for it if you don't need performance but want the rest.

Build quality 6/10 You have to give credit to the interesting design, but the materials are cheap, both the plastic shell and the "faux chrome" which will brake or wear off. By no means does it feel of quality when you pick it up.
Reception 6/10 This phones antenna is bad... I've got fine coverage in my area, and I rarely loose connection but the real issue is wifi. Check benchmarks over at Anandtech to see what I'm talking about (terrible speeds).
Call quality 7/10 Call quality is good but not great, earpiece should be louder and clearer, mic is ok but has never amazed anyone I ever called.
Internet 5/10 3G download maxes out at 7Mbps which is pretty terrible, pages take ages to load... Web browsing isn't really that fluid, but I've seen worse.
Multimedia 7/10 Great for watching 480p videos (anything above is useless and lags like hell). This phone is great for music, speaker is loud enough, sound from a headset is also pretty good but the audio jack has a weird compatibility issue with certain cables (long story).
Camera 9/10 Got an Eisa award for it, need I say more. You can indeed get better snappers now but this one is still really good.
UI speed 6/10 The single core not a great performer, it hasn't aged well either... The stock UI is quite laggy however a custom ROM will help. Still not enough RAM :/
Everyday usage 7/10 The phone lags through animations and is terrible for 3D gaming. Which is a shame for a flagship device, but it does work great as a phone and camera, it also a nice multimedia platform. Internet is pretty slow however...
Text input 8/10 Text input is fine, stock keyboard is good. I have missed keys but then again I'm not a fast typist.
Display 9/10 Gorgeous display, this phone is old but the screen is still a pleasure to look at. Doesn't have that retina density but a Sony panel is still a Sony panel. Bravia mobility does improve quality but it's not that big of a deal.
Battery 7/10 The 1500mAh gets me through a day, but just about, if you play games on it or do other intensive applications the batterie will die quickly. Still no real complaints. Also custom ROMs and Kernels improve the battery life a bit.

Pros

  • Camera
  • Design
  • Screen
  • Lightweight
  • Xperia UI (clean, no real bloatware)

Cons

  • Performance
  • 3G speed (7Mbps max)
  • Build quality
  • Power button (poor location and small)
  • Audio jack doesn't work with headsets with remotes that are Apple compatible (different arrangement of the connectors)
  • Lack of a front facing camera
  • Poor Wifi connectivity

Arkorium alternatives:

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Atlas
posted on 29 May 2013, 10:22 (Posts: 157; Member since: 15 Apr 2012)

9

My First Sony Ericsson And Not My Last.

Atlas has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

I got this phone back in June of 2011 and I have loved it since. I was going around shops not really knowing what to buy because I wasn't really into phones back then. I walked into my local VM store and on the shelf was the Xperia Arc and I immediately went for it and to this day it is still my daily driver( well at least until Sony releases the i1 phone). And on another note I guess this phone is what got me into phones as a hobby of some sort.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 10/10
Display 9/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • Bravia Engine
  • Camera
  • Display
  • Music Player
  • Slim
  • Light
  • Good To Look At

Cons

  • Slow Updates
  • Battery
  • Power Button
  • Viewing Angles
  • Plastic Back

Atlas alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

hardikkchavda
posted on 25 May 2013, 09:56 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 May 2013)

9

:( Nice N Loaded :)

hardikkchavda has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Device is Gr8 with Good Display with Bravia Engine Enabled and XLoud.

The Only Problem is Battery and Lags in ICS Rest is Best.
I Tried Ginger Bread, ICS, Jelly Bean Unofficial CM10.
GB and JB were really Gr8.

Build quality 10/10 Slim and Sexy looks holds eyes.
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 Speaker Quality is Good.
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10 Bravia Engine Enhancement takes it to new levels.
Camera 9/10 8.1 MP is Superb But Led is not so Great in Night Shots.
UI speed 8/10 Lags and Lots of Lags in ICS, But Jelly Bean is Awesome if update is Available. I Used CM 10 (JB) and is working GR8.
Everyday usage 8/10 Looks Gr8 Fits Best.
Text input 8/10 Easy and Good.
Display 9/10 Would be gr8 if it is AMOLED.
Battery 7/10 The worst that it Long Lasts 5 Hours in 3g.

Pros

  • Bravia Engine is Great for Album and Movies.
  • Camera is Good in Daylight and HD Recording is Superb.
  • Sexxy Looks with an Arc Shape is Gr8.
  • HDMI Connects Cool.
  • Supports USB OTG, Keybord and Mouse (Rooted).

Cons

  • Front Facing Camera is Not there.
  • Battery should be 2000 MAH.
  • Camera key is poor in capturing snaps.
  • There should be soft keys for back and menu button as they were used a lot in android devices.
  • 512 Internal Memory from which user gets less than 200 MB.

hardikkchavda alternatives:

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

focal86
posted on 27 Dec 2011, 21:47 (Posts: 0; Member since: 17 Dec 2011)

10

Great phone

focal86 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Had this phone for about 8 months but unfortunately I had a car crash just before christmas and the phone was damaged. None the less, this is a great phone that I would recommend to friend or family. Not the fastest processor and battery is quick to go but lets face it, what do you expect from a multifunction media device like this. Is it so hard to plug it to an charger over night, well not for me, I don't use it much while I'm sleeping. I upgraded to the Galaxy SII, primary because of the processor and I wanted to try some thing new, but all in all, just a fantastic phone.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 9/10 Would be great if had an faster processor, little slow there and there but didn't bother me much.
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10 Some people complain about the battery but for me it was enough if lasted through the day and little bit more. Sony Ericsson could have put a bigger in but it didn't give me any problems.

Pros

  • About everything

Cons

  • UI speed little slow there and there.
  • Short battery life for some people.

focal86 alternatives:

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

RamyRamz69
posted on 17 Dec 2011, 06:18 (Posts: 390; Member since: 12 Dec 2011)

10

The amazing SEX Arc

RamyRamz69 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

Basically, the device is awesome. It can be your everyday device with no problem. It may perhaps lack some stuff that the vanill Gingerbread has, but SE gives you A L O T more features than any other Android phone in the market.

Build quality 9/10 It's made by plastic, not the best. but it's good enough
Reception 10/10 Overall its amazing
Call quality 10/10 Never had a problem while calling with it. The noise cancellation works just fine
Internet 9/10 A bit slow sometimes, but the speed is great and its not laggy.
Multimedia 10/10 Best multimedia device ever. Offers you everything
Camera 10/10 Lens are perfect, modes are perfect, video is perfect, camera quality is perfect overall
UI speed 9/10 A bit laggy sometimes
Everyday usage 10/10 It does all my needs
Text input 9/10 Original keyboard isn't that good
Display 10/10 So bright, so clear, so crisp
Battery 10/10 Lasts for 2 days straight with normal usage

RamyRamz69 alternatives:

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

anshul879
posted on 09 Dec 2011, 04:23 (Posts: 1; Member since: 09 Dec 2011)

10

Best Phone..

anshul879 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It has a very slim and curvy body. phone processor is not so fast but its features makes the phone best. battery is also not too good. camera quality is always a plus point. Overall it's a good phone.

Build quality 10/10 Because it has a very good and slim design.
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rishi_msk
posted on 30 Oct 2011, 01:10 (Posts: 0; Member since: 30 Oct 2011)

8

an "ARC"full experience!

rishi_msk has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

one of the best Android smart phone in the market...looks awesome..camera is great..
Bravia engine really works well...
Display being a SLCD is still comparable to Amoled screens..Phone is sleek..easy to carry..very light and slim..Good back up support offered by sony ericsson..already got 2 updates in a month..3d sweep panaroma upgrade is already out on my phone before the launch of the xperia arc S...
the only major flaw-BATTERY!!!drains out very fast..hope sony ericsson provides a powerful battery..
if u wana stand out in the CROWD....go for this phone!!!!

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Looks,Camera,Display,Music Player,
  • Smooth Ui,Fast Browser

Cons

  • Battery life is average,power button is too small,

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

nikfal
posted on 23 Sep 2011, 04:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 22 Sep 2011)

10

ali

nikfal has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

it handsetis very beutifull and very smile. it display not pure agry i have it is about 2 months and i dont see it handged.
in my country sony ericsson brand very friendy. and the androids phones it very good.

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Giuliano
posted on 09 Aug 2011, 06:55

8

Very good indeed

Giuliano has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I think the SEricsson Arc can be considered one of the most beautiful phones SE has made till now and surely one of the most beautiful smartphones in the market today. It works like magic and has got a huge display. Immages and video are sharp. It is amusing and very useful in every condition and situation, may you read, write, view, play or shot a photo and film. As nothing is perfect on earth, the Arc, too, gets its cons. For instance, its battery is just sufficient and its power depends on what you are doing on the phone. Maybe its memory could be increased and I think it overheats almost easily when working. All in all, that smartphone is really good and effective. I like it.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Shah
posted on 26 Jul 2011, 02:31

8

Better but not the BEST

Shah has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Everything is fine less BATTERY, The battery time for this giant is one day + or - ( despite the best possible tips gathered on battery issues ). If switched to 2.3.3 Android version then it is really fast and one can notice alot. Picture Quality is great and specially with BRAVIA engine you can enjoy alot.
Over all a BETTER choice.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 6/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 4/10

Pros

Cons

  • Battery is like awakening a DEAD

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories