x PhoneArena is looking for new authors! To view all available positions, click here.

Sony Ericsson Xperia X8 User Reviews

8.1 Based on 20 Reviews

Overal user rating

The overall rating is the average of all user reviews, while the overall alternatives are the ones that has been listed most.

UI speed8.4/10
Camera6.7/10
Multimedia8.3/10
Internet8/10
Call quality8.7/10
Battery6.8/10
Reception8.9/10
Display8.3/10
Build quality8.6/10
Text input7.8/10
Everyday usage8.7/10

Alternatives



Post new review

Please note that each user review reflects the opinion of its respectful author and not of Phone Arena.

DavorČaušević
posted on 24 Dec 2013, 17:32 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Dec 2013)

7

Sony Ericsson Xperia X8

DavorČaušević has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

Its a great phone for somebody that want simplicity, and a smartphone in the same time...A small phone...Stylish...kinda too old because of that 2.1 android...but for a light user its a great phone overall..

Build quality 8/10 Too small..A very tuff phone..
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 Never had any bad experiences with that..
Internet 6/10 LAAAGG...
Multimedia 9/10 I like the music player its very tidy and stylish..
Camera 6/10 If you're a camera guy this is not a phone for you...good for some pictures here and there..
UI speed 7/10 LAAAGGG...
Everyday usage 8/10 pretty laggy...when you want to make a quick call...sometimes it takes forever to load
Text input 7/10
Display 6/10 Too small...and not scratch ressistant at all...
Battery 7/10 it could take up a day of not heavy usage...if you had this phone for a while the battery is malfuncioning....ex. when you lock it its 8%, but when you're unlocking it its 11%...

Pros

  • everyday usage
  • for users that like a good phone but not something complicated
  • cheap
  • one of the best mid rangers

Cons

  • Out of time
  • Bad camera
  • too small
  • lacks front facing camera
  • lacks internal storage

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

kolipok71
posted on 08 Dec 2013, 09:25 (Posts: 0; Member since: 08 Dec 2013)

4

X8

kolipok71 has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

overall the x8 is a good low-end phone but it lacks. now it's aging since it has been released over three years ago... processor and memory are very poor and phone is not very unibody since it fells and the battery cover comes out

Build quality 8/10 build quality is very good
Reception 6/10 has a good reception and in all places
Call quality 1/10 the speaker is lame... i can't here anything and i have to put it in loud speaker or headphones mode in order to listen
Internet 2/10 very slow
Multimedia 7/10 multimedia, music and video are very good on this phone and i was pretty amazed how good sound quality was through headphones and speakers... (regardless the quality of the speakers)
Camera 4/10 for the year that it was released the camera was great but now aging it lacks auto focus, flash and front facing camera
UI speed 3/10 a little slow but usable. it often crashes
Everyday usage 8/10 it's very good for everyday use as it's interface has easy and quick access and has a very good help support center
Text input 2/10 very difficult to enter text due to small screen
Display 3/10 the display is good, good lightning but is a little bit small
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • very portable and affordable

Cons

  • small display
  • low internet quality
  • low memory
  • sound during calls is weak

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

santad
posted on 25 Mar 2012, 14:12 (Posts: 0; Member since: 25 Mar 2012)

7

Good, small, usefull.

santad has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I recomand you to turn off 3G, Wi fi, mobile data and all unnecessary stuff when don`t need it. It is not a business phone, can be usefull for regular users. I charge it every 4-5 days and only realy bad thing is camera- has no flash and there is no focus (!?!?). It is not good phone for "widget maniacs", buy it if you need occasional fun and internet from time to time.

Build quality 7/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 6/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Ady5449
posted on 18 Feb 2012, 21:27 (Posts: 0; Member since: 18 Feb 2012)

5

My Xperia X8

Ady5449 has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

I guess X8 is pretty good now with the rom i used. Stock rom not interesting at all. By the way, it still the best for me cause this is my first android phone I have. I had many experience with this phone and I discover all its function. From the others user of this phone, most of them is not satisfied because of several lacking of this phone. Everyone want multitouch or dual touch on x8 phone, also pinch zoom on camera mode.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10 Clear sound
Internet 7/10 Depends on network
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 2/10 3.2 megapixels is pretty good but this device cannot zoom in photo mode
UI speed 9/10 smooth and fastest
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 8/10
Display 7/10
Battery 4/10 always drain my battery usage so I must charge twice a day

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

XPERIA ALL DA WAYY
posted on 26 Jun 2011, 03:23

10

I LOVE THIS PHONE

XPERIA ALL DA WAYY has owned it for more than one year before publishing this review

This phone is the best thing that has ever happened to me i loveeee lovee loveee

Build quality 10/10 Bcs its a sexy fone
Reception 10/10 Bcs its true
Call quality 10/10 im a busy person so i always call and txt and its perfect and quck
Internet 10/10 always facebooking so its really good for that
Multimedia 10/10 Have lotss of music on it
Camera 10/10 better than my old phone
UI speed 10/10 dont know what that is but i bet is worth a ten
Everyday usage 10/10 OMG i cant stop using it all the time its always in my hands unlike my old phone which is nowhere to be found
Text input 10/10 <3 it i cant stop texting its greattt
Display 10/10 OMGGG itss the bomb digidy itttss really good its crisp and clear
Battery 8/10 this is when it goes bad i have to charge it everyday bcs of heavy usage but thats my fault

Pros

  • Everything beside camera and battery

Cons

  • Camera no flash
  • Battery

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

sujan
posted on 12 Jun 2011, 07:02

7

Wow

sujan has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

ITs like a candy to me.....but any way its nice phone it fits in my pocket......it has srs sound output.....overall its nice phone..
................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Build quality 7/10
Reception 7/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 2/10
Multimedia 4/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 6/10
Everyday usage 4/10
Text input 2/10
Display 3/10
Battery 3/10

Pros

  • sound quality

Cons

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

kiki
posted on 07 May 2011, 03:16

9

its one of the best chep smartphones authere

kiki has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

its a great phone .the price tag is prity low for a smartphone .it has andriod opereting system .The only problem is that you cant uptedet to 2.2.its thik but not to hard to fit in pocket .vutrual keybord beter then the x10 mini.great media player 3.2 .mp camera is great wen the sun is up but not so great when the sun is down.

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Pros

  • great display
  • lots of back covers to chuze from
  • price
  • loud spekar
  • games
  • expirience

Cons

  • thik
  • no flash light or af
  • 2.1 not 2.2

kiki alternatives:

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

rkodestructor
posted on 22 Apr 2011, 15:27

8

Better than wildfire...

rkodestructor has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I love this phone, it's cheap and powerfull, the proccesor is better than the HTC desire !! I think that it is the best mid-range phone, only need a best battery, flash and more internal memmory (only 128 mb).

The price is awesome (over 200$ if you get it free)

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 7/10 In places with lots of noise the quality is bad
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 7/10 3.2 mpx.... not bad, but no autofocus and flash
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 9/10
Battery 6/10 hav to be charged once or twice a day if you use it frecuently

Pros

  • Price
  • Display

Cons

  • Battery
  • Not flash...
  • Internal memmory

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

Sherry
posted on 20 Apr 2011, 18:52

7

Sony Ericsson x8 can beat alot of other Android phones

Sherry has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

Over all its a great phone with good abiloty of multimedia and connectivity . Go for its i hope it can meet your pocket requirement :) beside it has a battery time problem try to turn low brightness and also turn off all background services so that you can save your battery. i hope in the future Sony Ericsson will be updated x8 to Andriod 2.2 version. I read so many reviews the battery management is good in 2.2 version. Also you can save your application in the sd cards.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 5/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Exellent Display with reasonable Resolution
  • Cheap Andrioid Phone with good features
  • Sound is perfect as Walkman series
  • Play the videos with higher bitrate with maximum resolution at 720x480

Cons

  • Internat memory is very low
  • Less Ram
  • Out dated 2.1 Android is the last update for x8
  • Battery timing is horible need to chage 3 times a day if you are heavy user
  • Stand by timing atleast 2 days

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

SC
posted on 22 Mar 2011, 11:17

8

Xperia X8

SC has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

I was contemplating to get IP4, but it was overly priced by network provider. So, i decided to check out SE Xperia models. X8 was reasonably priced, a good touch-screen phone! and lightweight even it looked thick, overall i am satisfied with its functions and UI speed.

Build quality 8/10 Large display screen!
Reception 8/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 5/10 No flash
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10 Easy to use
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 7/10 Battery has to be charged daily

Pros

  • Good value
  • Light weight

Cons

  • Thickness
  • Battery

SC alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

fhaelmarinho
posted on 23 Feb 2011, 07:07 (Posts: 0; Member since: 23 Feb 2011)

9

Easy and entertaining Android smartphone

fhaelmarinho has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This one is very stylish and powerful smartphone, better than samsung Galaxy 5 or Galaxy 3
The music quality is also awesome like the Walkman technology, and the camera is also awersome like the Cybershot technology
A bettre phone for a cheaper price would be the Sony Ericsson X10 Mini Pro. But that it, if you are able to use the small screen

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 8/10
Battery 5/10

Pros

  • Design
  • Screen size (bigger than X10 mini)
  • Cheap
  • Android 2.1

Cons

  • Battery Duration
  • No flash
  • No autofocus

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

gml
posted on 22 Feb 2011, 07:36

9

excellent

gml has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

an excellent phone in my opinion. a very smooth user interface, fast speed, intuitif touchscreen, and a large number thing that make me satisfied. its notification tell all about new event occuring. beside the android market, it give me all comfort feature that make me so satisfied. i like its way running.
the only things that make me dissapointed is the camera. no flash light and no autofocus.

Build quality 10/10 it has great build. nice to hold.
Reception 10/10 yeah, android and very good hardware (processor and ram) make it be the best.
Call quality 10/10 i'm like to get call with my handsfree. allphone is good to call withhandsfree.
Internet 10/10 i like to browse the internet with wifi. mobile network has too expensive cost of data transmission for me. via wifi. everything is excellent.
Multimedia 9/10 its excellent, but it could play the flac format
Camera 7/10 i'm satisfied, but its not the best. no autofocus
UI speed 10/10 two thumbs up
Everyday usage 10/10 yeah its good
Text input 10/10 cool qwerty virtual
Display 10/10 large display. very cool things
Battery 6/10 why does it has to being charged once a day?

Pros

  • fast
  • elegant design
  • cool messaging
  • i always appreciate in conversation style
  • okay there many more, i can't tell all of them

Cons

  • no autofocus
  • no flash light

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

Neki_tamo
posted on 30 Jan 2011, 14:57

10

Great phone...

Neki_tamo has owned it for less than year before publishing this review

It's a great phone...
real breaktrough after LG Cookie.
Camera is better in sport mode.
It's fast, even faster after 2.1 update.
Really loud speaker.
Proxsimity sensor works really well.
Everything is nice and snappy.
I really like changeable masks.
Cant' wait for 2.2 update and maybe multiuch.
That's it from me.
Bye!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

bobby
posted on 19 Jan 2011, 16:37

10

Excellent phone in every pocket

bobby has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

Truly a very good device to hang out with...

Lags in 2 parts..
1.) Battery is not upto the mark
2.) Android Update is not available after 2.1

Very stylish and excellent response with the touch...

One of the best phones available in the market with reasonable price tag

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

lala19
posted on 29 Dec 2010, 20:14

9

I love my x8

lala19 has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I love the phone.. Just got it last month as a birthday present.. Cheap price for an android pine. Big screen.. Im ok with the camera but not satisfied with the video recording since it doesnt have the option to pause while recording.. I got an app for the bluetooth on the market.. Wifi is great as well..

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 9/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 9/10
Display 9/10
Battery 9/10

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

JS
posted on 27 Dec 2010, 23:17

9

Not bad.....counted as the best mid-range phone...

JS has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

It is stylish and comfortable though it is thick a liitile bit......Good music clarity and picture too......3.2mp isn't too bad (if in enough light condition).....it is smooth to touch and quite easy to use......Contained 256 ram (not like the other site said that it only got 168ram......confirmed by the SE moderator)and 600mhz processor....quite smooth and fast!!! To those who is low budget to buy the smartphone, highly recommend about it!!!

Build quality 9/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 9/10
Internet 9/10
Multimedia 8/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 9/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 8/10

Pros

  • featuring good screen display with 320x480 resolution
  • Nice music clarity and photo quality
  • Fast speed for internet browser
  • Contain 256ram that maybe can upgrade to android 2.2 in future
  • Most important......it is cheap!!!

Cons

  • stand-by time a little bit low (means low battery capacity)
  • no autofocus and flash (not very interupted)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

svenphone
posted on 12 Dec 2010, 17:17 (Posts: 0; Member since: 12 Dec 2010)

8

Great Value!

svenphone has owned it for less than 3 months before publishing this review

I have used the Xperia X8 for about six weeks now and I think it's a wonderful little buddy that really works well. Since it was updated to Android 2.1 it's even better. It's my first Android phone and I can't understand how I made it without one in the past. If you are thinking of picking one up please note that you will benefit from changing from the standard SE launcher into one of the free launchers available on Android market. The excellent and (for the price-range) high resolution screen really deserves a chance to show what it can do! Have fun!

Build quality 6/10
Reception 9/10
Call quality 8/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 6/10
Camera 3/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 8/10
Text input 6/10
Display 9/10
Battery 7/10

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

unknown
posted on 07 Dec 2010, 11:58

9

good phone

unknown has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

my old phone the samsung is star fell in the toilet and this is the phone i have right now. it is miles better than my old phone. i am so glad i dropped my old phone in the toilet even though i got in trouble. my parents don't buy expensive phones so this phone is definitely worth its price. the only thing i don't like about this phone is its bluetooth but upgrading the phone to android 2.1 improves the bluetooth functionality

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 8/10
Multimedia 9/10
Camera 8/10
UI speed 9/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 8/10
Display 10/10
Battery 9/10

Was this review helpful? Do you?

Report

OverratedChild
posted on 18 Nov 2010, 07:31

7

Pretty Decent

OverratedChild has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

This phone is pretty good, considering its price. I much preffer it over the Samsung Galaxy 3, which is essentialy its direct competitor. I enjoyed using the phone, as it is a relatively smooth experince, with essentially no lag.
I really love the Creatouch thing, as it lets me create really unique wallpapers for my phone, and show it off to my mates with x10's. Overall good feel to the phone, doesnt feel TOO cheap, but still a bit plasticky, but only as much as an iPhone 3G; reading= Perfectly fine.
Flash (as mentioned below, by vishu) would make the phone overall, a more atrractive device. The 3mp shooter is good, but photos come out a bit blurred.smudged. Color reproduction is great.
A bettre phone for a cheaper price would be the SOny Ericsson X10 Mini Pro. But that it, if you are able to use the small screen; but frankly, the screen is only marginally smaller than the X8.

Build quality 8/10
Reception 8/10
Call quality 7/10
Internet 7/10
Multimedia 7/10
Camera 6/10
UI speed 8/10
Everyday usage 7/10
Text input 7/10
Display 7/10
Battery 7/10

Pros

  • Cheap
  • Good screen (eg resolution)
  • Looks and feels good
  • Android is nice

Cons

  • No FLASH! WHYYYYY?!?!?!?!

OverratedChild alternatives:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report

vishi
posted on 29 Oct 2010, 10:06

10

this phone rocks,its a must buy!!!!!

vishi has owned it for less than month before publishing this review

it is a very stylish and powerful phone,better than any samsung,lg or nokia in this range.the music quality is also awesome as it is a sony phone but it is a shame that it does nit has a flash but this is overshadowed by the features it has!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Build quality 10/10
Reception 10/10
Call quality 10/10
Internet 10/10
Multimedia 10/10
Camera 10/10
UI speed 10/10
Everyday usage 10/10
Text input 10/10
Display 10/10
Battery 10/10

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Do you?

Report
You must be a registered user to post a user review

Latest stories